Castle addicts, hold on to your hats – the jackpot is waiting for you just outside Copenhagen! Full of ornate and amazing structures, you'll feel like you're in a fairy tale come to life.  So where do you start? The picturesque region of North ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 464 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenete M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver and guide, Bruno, were fabulous. We had time to tour the castles and grounds and take pictures. Both had excellent knowledge of the area and history and made sure we enjoyed the tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this trip very much. The castles were great and the drive to get there was scenic and interesting. Our driver and guide Salem and Bruno were super nice, funny, helpful and well informed. 100 satisfied.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

takenarine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely worth seeing the 3 castles on this tour, especially if the weather is good like what we had, blue skies and warm. Lovely to see the countryside and how close the sea was, a good contrast to Copenhagen.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Elaine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative, lovely opportunity to see some countryside as well as castles

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

NICOLA A E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this trip a lot. The guide was very good and worked extremely hard to ensure everyone was happy and had what they needed. The bus was comfortable and it was a nice touch to have the rain poncho's handy when it came down very heavily after lunch. The sandwich provided to eat on the bus was excellent. Loved the castles and also seeing some countryside along the way.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

maurice v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was excellent. He went out of his way to show us areas which may not have been on the itinerary. Good value.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved it, the guide was wonderful

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Linnea P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved the guides and bus driver and it was so convenient to just be able to get on a trip and have the logistics for most of the day all planned out. We enjoyed the drive along the coast to Hamlet's castle and enjoyed all 3 of the castles on the tour. Overall, it was a nice balance between organized time with the guide and time where you could do your own thing and decide what you wanted to explore more.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Diana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fantastic day visiting three beautiful castles. Fabulous locations and a fantastic tour guide was a bonus. We loved the drive along the coast line and seeing the lovely homes by the sea. It was idyllic. Thank you Grayline. Can highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sudipro R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Kronborg Castle was the best among the 3 from the outside, while the interior of Frederiksborg Castle was mindblowing. The Fredensborg palace was nice, but you don't get to go inside. The tour was well-organized and the guide was nice. However, we felt it was a very expensive tour, especially considering it was not a long tour, and the entry fee for each castle is only about 12 euro per person as we found out later. No wonder there were only a few people on this tour with us. At this price, they could have at least included the sandwiches and drinks they sell on board for lunch remember: there is no lunch stop.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very organized trip. Both of tour guide and driver are professional and well-knowledge. Glad we found this tour.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The castle tour was very good, gave us a peek at what it might have been like back in those days. The history of the area and the battles that must have taken place under you feet was memorable.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Tracy L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Pretty good experience. We had difficulty in finding the bus in the first place and the team was waiting for us! Thanks!! Castles and the palace are worthwhile. You can learn a lot Denmark culture from the experience.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Bruce W G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very comfortable coach left on time.
Guide,although only new to the role, was very knowledgable and helpful.
Plenty of time to visit both castles.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kaidi U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a charming program. Some history, some architecture, some nice information about contemporary Denmark. Our tour guide Bruno was fgantastic, friendly and funny, very professional and smart. I gave one star less from the max because I felt I was rushed sometimes, only had 15 min at the Queen summer residence, didnt even have time to reach close enough. But we had to be in time, maybe they should extend the duration a little bit. Anyways a good experience!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

elsa.pconsilium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was a good value, taken us just outside of Copenhagen to tour 2 castles. However, I felt we were a big rushed, not enough time walking on our own. Still recommended.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kathleen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a great and easy way to see some of the Danish coastline as well as three great castles. The tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable, and I appreciated the guided tours at the two castle stops. Getting to see Fredensborg castle was a special extra treat, and we were just in time for the changing of the guard ceremony.

While we had limited time at each stop, I felt I was able to see all I wanted. However, the guides were constantly reminding us of how little time we had, and almost rushing us along. My one complaint would be that behavior. I understand we're on a strict timeline, and maybe won't be able to spend as much time as some would like. But I knew that going in I wouldn't have booked the tour if I didn't think it would be enough time. The guides' frantic reminders really started to stress me out, and make me feel like I was a school kid on a field trip, with the harried chaperones hustling everyone along.

Despite that, I think this is worth doing if you're interested in the castles. It was neat to see some of the typical Danish houses along the coastline and get to see some of the countryside. I think this was easier than trying to get out to the castles on my own via public transit and walking. And the lunch offered was sufficient, not the best but better than nothing. But if you want to take your time and not feel rushed along, maybe just go on your own.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

TVUSA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Hamlet Castle was fun to see and historical. This was a real old castle with great history to learn. The Fredriksborg Castle burned down and was replaced so little disappointed not to see a real castle from 17th century. We ordered sandwiches for lunch and ate the in the bus after the first stop extra 60. You could take your own picnic lunch if you like. Ride was interesting with lots of older buildings to see. Driver and Guide were awesome. We enjoyed ourselves for the day trip.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

jenkinsbrucec

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

the castles were beautiful, but this really is a rush rush tour. not enough time to see all of the castles. would be better if they charged 20% more and it was 8 hours instead of 6.5 hours.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Erin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall it was good. I was disappointed at how rushed it felt, especially at Kronborg Castle. I found myself running back to the bus and 6 minutes for a whole bus to use the bathroom is definitely rushing it!
I would have potentially taken the train myself had I known how rushed it would feel, but probably wouldn't have been able to cover as much that way.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kimmy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

If you could do this tour yourself and in your own time, you'd be better off. This tour covered a lot, but in a short amount of time. We boarded a bus that had audio commentary, and though this provided interesting insights, they were few and far between. Our tour guide did not provide much interesting commentary during the tours of the castles either. Also note there is no stop for lunch, you can only place an order for sandwiches on board the tour, so it may be worthwhile to pack something beforehand. The first castle was Kronborg Hamlet castle which was plain but rich in history. We then had a very brief stop of 15 minutes at Fredensborg Palace, where we managed to see changing of the guards. Frederiksborg was the last castle visit and was a good stand out, but again, the stop was very quick. We only managed to pace the castle and then have a quick peek into the garden. If you have a full day morning till late afternoon or 2 days, you can organise yourself to get to these castles and you may enjoy it more with the additional time. You'll probably be able to pick up more interesting facts from the brochures too.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

realteeguy

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I got lost from the group in the jail cells under the castle. It was a wet and dark place no one should be placed in. I read a review that someone said to bring a flashlight and I helped other people out with it!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Carol J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The Castles were interesting but it was a hurry up process to get from room to room. We seemed to skip a lot of the information because of the lack of time in the rooms.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message