Castle addicts, hold on to your hats – the jackpot is waiting for you just outside Copenhagen! Full of ornate and amazing structures, you'll feel like you're in a fairy tale come to life.  So where do you start? The picturesque region of North ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 312 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide- super knowledgeable and the tour was well paced. The lunch option was also excellent!! Well done!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were picked up swiftly from the meeting point and transported to the three castles. En route, the tour guide stated we would not have a meal stop, but they had a sandwich shop that could deliver reasonably priced sandwiches to the bus. The tour guide then took our orders and they turned out to be quite tasty for the money (the sandwiches were not included in the tour price). We toured two castles and a had a photo stop at a third. The guide was great for both of the castle tours and had a lot of facts that were delivered in a very witty way (especially at Hamlet's Castle). The drive time was relaxing and the pace of the tours at the castles good. Would definitely recommend to anybody who wants a nice, relaxing day out of Copenhagen.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good value. Comfortable bus. Great castles. You cant go wrong.!

Doing what: North Zealand Day Trip from Copenhagen

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We took this day excursion on Saturday, July 5. The bus was located on the street behind the town hall (not the Hans Christian Anderson side) where all the other sight seeing buses stop. The bus was a double decker red bus (all enclosed). The air conditioning on the upper part of the bus did not work very well and a lot of the older passengers were very uncomfortable throughout the day as a result. Other than that, the excursion was wonderful. Both our driver and guide were great and very friendly and helpful. The drive through the neighborhoods along the coast was delightful on the way to the castles. The castles were beautiful. The sandwich selection for lunch was adequate for the adults and teens in our group. Our 10 year old would have liked a better selection, so if you bring younger children on this tour, you might pack a lunch for them because you don't really have time to get lunch anywhere else. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing the Danish countryside, seeing some amazing castles, and learning about Denmark's history.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Lots of fun! Interesting audio commentary and great lunch on board, then a detailed tour at the caste. I'd recommend it to others!

Doing what: Hamlet Castle Tour from Copenhagen

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour departure was prompt. Bus was clean; driver was extremely professional and incredibly skilled. (Amazed to see him squeeze that big bus through some really tight spots.) Drive along coast was beautiful. Although commentary on bus was nice, I wish the tour guide had actually given us a guided tour of the castles, Kronborg in particular. Because the tour length doesn't permit a lunch stop, sandwiches were available for purchase. Good sandwich and good value. Overall the tour was a good value for the money; enabled me to visit three major attractions outside of the city of Copenhagen quickly and easily. Recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was fine. Finding the location of the bus stop was not. You must be more precise as to the starting location, and some sort of sign, perhaps just a sandwich board, should be located at the bus. An arrow from the square to the bus would have helped in Copenhagen.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Rana H
United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Beautiful scenery. We did not get the castle tour but it was a nice day so spent a lot of time outdoors enjoying the views

Doing what: North Zealand Day Trip from Copenhagen

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Very good tour- bus, driver and guide.

Doing what: North Zealand Day Trip Including Frederiksborg Castle Tour from Copenhagen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Took this tour in June. Enjoyed all the castles.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day of castle touring. Enjoyed the comfortable ride with AC and free Wifi. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice tour. It was interesting to see the countryside and the castles. Guide was very nice. Bus was comfortable.

Doing what: North Zealand Day Trip Including Frederiksborg Castle Tour from Copenhagen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative tour! David , the tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful !

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is in a comfortable air-conditioned bus. We had ample time in Kronborg and Frederiksborg. The drive to Kronborg through the countryside is beautiful. We highly recommend this trip. Several reviewers had a difficult time finding the bus. The following may help: the bus probably will not be a Viator bus, and nor will the Guide be a viator guide. Our bus was the tour operator's bus. The bus meets next to City Hall, but not on the Hans Christian Andersen streetside. There is a bench across the street to wait for the bus, right next to a gold and white sign concerning the bicycle park. It is just down the street from the Palace Hotel.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A wonderful tour, rated at 5 stars due to the outstanding job done by the "guide" David. Although he said he wasn't a guide per se, he led us through many rooms of the castles we visited, and explained everything about those rooms, including the many paintings and tapestries that populated each room. He said he is a history lover, has a degree in history, and enjoys talking about historical sites. If all of your guides are as friendly and knowledgeable, the 5 star rating is genuinely earned.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message