Cordoba ATTRACTIONS See all

Mezquita (Mosque-Cathedral)

Originally the site of the Christian Visigoth Church San Vicente, Córdoba’s Mezquita -- or Grand Mosque -- stands as the city's most proud monument and one of the most exquisite Islamic structures in the western world.  Its initial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour was good in terms of covering the most important areas near the Mosque and getting a good overview of Cordoba. However, our guide did the tour in Spanish and English at the same time which made it lengthy and he wasn't very clear when speaking in English so we had a difficult time understanding him when he was explaining the importance of some things. It became a bit tiring and boring which took away from the experience of seeing something so exquisite.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well organised tour in an air conditioned coach, a must for the hot weather.
Marie our guide at Cordoba was very friendly and well versed. The Mosque/Cathedral is a must see.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

PATRICIA B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our bus was expertly driven by Israel and the on-bus tour guide Carmen gave a lively and engaging history of the Andalusian countryside on our way to Córdoba. The only complaint we had was the a/c could not keep up the external heat and the BTU's pumped out by 14 or so people inside the bus. Still, we survived and it was utterly worth it. The whole tour was very well organized and our Spanish/English speaking guide at the compound sadly, I forgot her name, but it was for a tour that began on the morning of July 21 was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, animated, and gave intelligent and thorough information every step of the way. Being in the Great Mosque was a long-term goal of mine as an art history professor, and I was thrilled with the shape and length of the tour. It made the sweltering heat insignificant. I was able to assess the space and truly appreciate the rich history of the entire area we visited, including the castillo and the sumptuous gardens.

We made a brief stop at Carmona, which I think all would have been grateful to skip given the heat, but the Andalusur professionals delivered on the package they sold us. I'm glad we stopped even if were wiped out by then.

The best thing about the tour was being able to wander the Great Mosque after the guide finished her remarks. She was awesome, and kept it lively in two languages. My bucket list is shorter now, and that is a good thing. I have already recommended this tour to friends, without hesitation.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Bus on time. Good guide tour.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was wonderful. The sites of Córdoba were so interesting.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Tamas D
Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was lovely

Doing what: Best Cordoba Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good guide was good could have had more in depth knowledge

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was a fantastic way to see the main sights of Cordoba especially if you are not staying in town for long. Our guide was Carmen and she was very knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely worthwhile as you skip all the lines to the main attractions.

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

it was great until we got to the mosque. This tour was supposed to be in English but once there it was in Spanish too. At this time we were all hot and tired and didn't want this tour to take twice as long while listening to it in two languages We left the tour and did it on our own.

Up to this point the tour was ok. There was a group of 3 ladies that we had to keep waiting for which was quite annoying. They had decided to go do something else in Córdoba and would meet up with us later

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Tour was overcrowded. Was in both Spanish and English which was very distracting to both groups. The other group would be visiting while the other language was spoken which made it hard to hear also the tour guide was rushed to get in both languages

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience exploring Cordoba - our guides were very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about Cordoba and its history. Loved the whole tour!

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There can never be enough time for seeing a historical monument like this. The guide did a marvellous job in taking us through different periods of history inside the mosque. Carmona can be totally avoided and that would give the visitors more time to browse through the town.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite searing heat we were treated to the best of Cordoba on this excellent walking tour and our delightful guide Angel was charming, informative and pleasant. The tour commenced at the Real Alcazar, we explored the Palace even the tower hearing such interesting historical info and facts and then through the magnificent gardens with fountains, and exquisite landscaping...just breathtakingly beautiful. Then our walk took us through the Jewish Quarter, so picturesque and historical and we visited the beautiful synagogue. But the best was yet to come......The Mezquita is simply 'off the charts ...it is amazing, we were spellbound by Its size, beauty, architecture, exquisite marble arches and columns, and interesting history with the church inside it, plus how well it has all been preserved. It is an total gem. NOT to be missed! Our guide through the Mezquita was Carmen...she was fantastic, so enthusiastic and very knowlegable. Our 4 hour tour ended at the Mezquita....it is close to the Roman Bridge so very convenient to proceed there straight afterwards. What a fantastic tour...so well organised and comprehensive and so memorable. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Driver was amazing, Tour guide extremely knowledgeable and attentive

Doing what: Private Tour: Cordoba Day Trip from Granada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Awesome walking tour highly recommended!!

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Would have preferred to see the Mosque first.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I enjoyed all of the things that were included on this tour. The Mosque was amazing, and I enjoyed our walking tour around the city. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Despite all this, I think the tour was over-priced. While we were walking around Cordoba there were a number of free walking tours doing the same route as us, and I think you could have a similar experience without spending quite so much money!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Cordoba is an incredible place and this tour took us to all the right places. The guide was very knowledgeable. I am giving this tour a lower grade than it deserves because we did pay for the optional tour of Carmona, was told it would happen, it did not, and the additional fee will not be returned. BE FOREWARNED!!!!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Four hour walking tour with no coffee break a little long otherwise great experience, excellent,very knowledgeable guide and sunshine!

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mr Fernando, the english speaking guide is great. Very detailed explanation of Cordoba.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was incredible. Definitely one of the highlights of our entire trip to Spain. The Mezquita is gorgeous, and our viator tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. Thanks for the great time!

Doing what: Cordoba Mezquita Tour with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip because of our wonderful guide in Cordoba, Pacqui. She was so knowledgeable, interesting and amusing - probably one of the best guides I have ever had.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must have visit when you travel to Andalusia. Excellent mezquita, walk around Jewish quater, visit the christian palace. The Architecture in Cordoba mezquita is really beautiful and breath taking. Our tour leader is excellent too, Alicia and the driver Manuel?. Visit to Carmona is recommended, a small, unique roman city. The tour agent is professional, value for money. Excellent!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message