• USD ($)
  • English

Cordoba ATTRACTIONS See all

Mezquita (Mosque-Cathedral)

Originally the site of the Christian Visigoth Church San Vicente, Córdoba’s Mezquita -- or Grand Mosque -- stands as the city's most proud monument and one of the most exquisite Islamic structures in the western world.  Its initial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alastair M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The down side to my trip was the weather. I was told that Cordoba gets about 28 days of rain a year and I got two the two days I was there. The sky absolutely opened and it poured all through the tour. Despite that the guide was very friendly and informative. As an umbrella was the last thing I thought of bringing to a holiday in Spain, she frequently shared hers with me. I found Cordoba an amazing city and would like to return again to see more. I really enjoyed listening to your guide's comments on all we saw. I found the mosque/cathedral amazing. A friend of mine who is Muslim told me that when he visited it he found it a bit ridiculous. It was as if someone had stuck an alter, choir and side chapels in a mosque. I had to agree with him.Despite many centuries as a Cathedral I was more inclined to face Mecca to pray than cross myself.

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were the first passengers to be picked up at our hotel at 615 am. The tour bus was clean and modern. The tour guide, Paco was polite and knowledgeable. He conducted the tour in 3 languages: English, Spanish and German. He was flexible and permitted an unscheduled emergency bathroom stop. We arrived at Cordoba to visit the Mosque Cathedral of Cordoba which is on the UNESCO world heritage site. The Mosque cathedral was very impressive and we were in awe of the magnitude and scale of the building, the different phases and transformation of the mosque into a cathedral. Our local tour guide, Maria Jose was calm, and knowledgeable. She also led us on a walking tour of the Jewish quarter as well as the Arabic quarter. We had some free time to explore the area and to grab lunch. The one thing that caught us by surprise was the prevalence of smoking by tour guides and tourists alike. Being from the Pacific Northwest in the United States, we are not accustomed to second hand smoke. This negative exposure was most noticeable by my 11 year old son. Perhaps this negative experience will make an impression on him to deter him from smoking in the future. With all the other stops along the way to drop off the other tourists, we were the last ones to be dropped off, returning to our hotel after 8 pm.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Well organised and punctual but overpriced for what you get.
While our guide obviously had a good understanding of the history, she had to communicate in both Spanish and English - which contributes to haphazard explanations and inefficient usage of time. Overpriced in my opinion.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Cordoba is a beautiful city and I highly recommend a visit, however, I had a terrible experience with the tour company that was assigned to me through this tour.

The description states that the tour is given in spanish or english. However, on our bus there was a group of french. Therefore the guide gave all descriptions in 3 languages. She would quickly in broken English give a brief description in English, then Spanish and then French. Most of the tour was not spend looking a Cordoba sights, but waiting for her to finish giving the other explanations.

The descriptions/explanations that were given had no color or depth. We were rushed and could not even really ask questions because as soon as she would finish giving English explanations she would tell us to proceed to the next monument while she finished explaining in Spanish and then Frech.

Every person from the tour was complaining.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We so enjoyed the humor and the knowledge of Carlota, she was obvious very proud of her city and it gave us a little peek into the people who live there. She was most kind and considerate, made sure we all were together, even took us to the Taxi stand at the end. It was a morning well spent! Tom and Eunice Goodrich

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

mosque is amazing place and guide was exellent

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A very interesting visit with a friendly and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Just what we were looking for and an excellent local guide in Cordoba.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The mosque/cathedral in Cordoba is worth the effort to join this tour. A good point about this tour is that you will be split into different language groups in Cordoba so that you need not listen to other foreign languages during the guided tour. Also, you will be the last to be picked up and first to be dropped off if you start your tour from Malaga.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good trip. Very smooth.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

One of the best trips in my life! Very good guide, interesting. The Mezquita and the synagogue are amazing! Totally worth it!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you want to visit Cordoba's Mezquita, having a guide is a must. This tour revealed so much of the cathedral-mosque's fascinating history and diverse architectural styles. We also had enough time to walk around take photos on our own, which was nice, as the tour didn't feel rushed. A glass of wine at a lovely nearby restaurant was a great way to end the tour!

Doing what: Cordoba Mezquita Tour with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent english guide in Cordoba.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

One of the "must see" - mezquita of cordoba . Our guide ,Alicia, from Andalus tour took very good care of us. She made sure we understood he history of the place and its surroundings.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The ride from Granada to Cordoba is about 2 hours long. The bus was comfortable and the driver very nice. We had expected that there would be a guide on the bus who would explain the different parts of Spain that you dirive through. The local tour guide in Cordoba was okay but not great. She had basic knowleged of the monuments that we visited but was not very engaged with the group. She seemed a bit rushed and did not provide much information outside of the very basics.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Granada

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message