Cordoba ATTRACTIONS See all

Mezquita (Mosque-Cathedral)

Originally the site of the Christian Visigoth Church San Vicente, Córdoba’s Mezquita -- or Grand Mosque -- stands as the city's most proud monument and one of the most exquisite Islamic structures in the western world.  Its initial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant tour, the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.
The only issue we had was the meeting point was a little vague

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Jackson M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. Our guide, Angel, was knowledgeable, friendly and fun. When we moved to the Mezquita, Paki took over as our guide. She really knew her stuff and made the history come alive. No question was left unanswered. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

Ione H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Plenty of time in the palace with an excellent guide. Had time to eat and explore the town. Only suggestion would be to have the guide on the bus gave some background while riding

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Francisco M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide, Silvia, was great. The Cathedral-mosque presents an incredible mixture of Christian/muslim civilization. The Calleja de las Flores, a small, flower-lined street is also worthy of a look.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Doaa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Trip very nice. Cordoba is a must see. Tour guide was nice and friendly

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

rachel c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable. She took time to explain how the different historical periods affected the construction of this beautiful architecture.She also paced out well with a good sense of humor. Even though the conflicts and hostility between the Christians and Muslims had been thousands of years, in this church I witnessed how they embraced each other. It's a good tour!

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Marsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our guide Paci was fabulous. she had all her facts and info down smoothe and she had a fabulous sense of humor. I have seen the Sevilla Cathedral band the Alhambra --- I enjoyed the Mosque at Cordoba the most.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Jennie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent and informative with Rafa who was an excellent guide with a great sense of humour. The group was small and the pace was leisurely before Rafa handed us over to Paqui one of his colleagues for the tour around the Mesquitta which was just terrific. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

Megan I

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The bus ride was comfortable and the sites were great. My biggest complaints are:
-- we are approached almost immediately upon arriving to the Alacazar by women begging for money
-- there were numerous groups and it caused congestion in the streets, thus leaving us getting bumped into and waiting around
-- the break came at the end of the sites, nearly 6 hours after we left Sevilla. Be prepared with snacks or be prepared to be super hungry!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Shreyas N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable... Got to spend a lot of time. Beautiful place. Must visit.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Diane P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour to view the Mesquita, the Alcazar Gardens and the Cathedral of Cordoba. Pick-up information could have been clearer, and hand-off to multiple tour guides was confusing.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Marie Rose A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour itself was good. The local tour guide was knowledgeable. However the administrative end was a bit lacking. I emailed the company more than 24hours before our tour for a hotel-pick up. Rang them 2x only to be told at the 11thHour that we had to walk 5mins away, in the rain, for our pick up.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Rochelle H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Okay, I want to be very honest and fair so I will review the destination and the tour separately. First, the destination. Cordoba is spectacular and a must-see if you have the time. The cathedral/mosque is one of the most beautiful structures I have seen in Europe. The gardens are also very beautiful and well worth a visit. Now, the tour. Unless you have all the time in the world, don't bother. It was easily the worst tour I have ever been on and I frequently do tours. We were picked up at 0810. We switched to a different bus, then I'm pretty sure we drove laps around Seville. We actually left town at 0920. We got to Córdoba at 1100. Not a word was spoken the entire time. However, when the bus stopped in Córdoba, that's when the guide chose to give several minutes of useless information in 3 languages. So, off the bus at 1115 after being picked up 3 hours earlier. The rest of the tour was a disaster. It appeared to be the first time they had done anything. It was so disorganized. We hardly saw anything because the groups were so big and everything was said several times. We finally left the group after entering the mosque and it was the best decision.

Go to Córdoba. Don't use this tour group. Fabulous destination.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

omarviator

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing but they should arrange it so we have time to see the famous Patios while they are opened. We had to wait a while for them to give us the tickets in both instances where we needed for them to give us tickets for the entrance.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

MICHAEL R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

We were first pick-up a long walk via the cathedral to find our guide who took us on a longer walk to the bus, which then took a very slow tour round Seville, picking up the rest of our party. We thus arrived late in Cordoba, where we then hung around for nearly an hour, waiting for our proper guide to arrive, and distribute out audio guides. A bad start.
It got worse. Instead of going to The Mezquita, we were taken on a slow stroll through the Jewish Quarter, and the Synagogue all interesting, but much too slow and long-winded. We finally got to the Mezquita, and the visit was fine - who could not be impressed by such a fantastic construction. The guide was good, but we increasingly noticed that the Spanish explanations were a lot longer than the English version !

The guides then tried to persuade us to have some leisure and lunch. Some of the party insisted that we go to the Alcazar of Don Pedro. We went, and toured the gardens, which were very splendid, but had only a few minutes inside the Fortress. We were then urged to have some lunch - and given only 30 minutes for this - in Spain, of all places ! We found our own way to have a snack, and then it was back to the meeting point for our return.

We thus missed out on seeing the Christian Kings Alcazar, the walk via the Calle de las Flores to the town centre, any opportunity to shop/window shop, and a proper visit to the Alcazar of Don Pedro - all supposedly included in the tour. We were given no maps or guides so that we could find our way around, and find a choice of restaurants.

All in all, a most unsatisfactory tour - rushed and missing out some of the advertised visits/activities - redeemed by the visit to the Mezquita.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip. Steve our guide at gibraltAr was excellent.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Audrey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The local guide at Cordoba was fantastic! She was great at sharing her knowledge and I really enjoyed the tour. However, lunch break was scheduled only past 2pm. It would be nice if we were informed earlier that lunch break would be so late so that we have a heavier breakfast.

And the time scheduled for lunch and DIY walk around was only sufficient for a quick lunch plus a quick walk to the bus. Luckily, the cafe we went were quick to serve our food. The lunch break was very short and stressful to be back on the bus.

We were picked up at Plaza Nueva at 8am and sat on the bus picking up other passengers for an hour. Should have given another pick-up location near our accommodation, a 5 min walk ... this would saved us 30 mins in the morning.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

keesha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was very professional. We have no issues.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Norma I C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour and our guide was excellent. The downfall was that we spent too much time in the gardens waiting for other tour members to arrive from Sevilla, received much info about plants and flowers that was used as a filler of time. When we arrived at the Mosque more people joined oudr tour????

Doing what: Cordoba Walking Tour with Optional Arabian Baths Experience

C M C V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Mosq-Cathedral was absolutely stunning, the Alcazar is also worth seeing, and even the city of Cordoba itself is very nice to walk around, I highly recommend this tour, plus it isn and #39;t too far from Seville. Our guides didn and #39;t speak English very well, but you can still enjoy the beauty of this site!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Aftab

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Overall alright. The guide was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The weather was lousy, which happens. But we ended up in a group of 24 divided between English and Spanish speaker with one bilingual guide. Standing in the rain to listen to the second language explanations was not at all good. The 3 stars is generous. You should have had 2 guides and two groups. If I had realized we were going to have a 2 language group I would not have booked. So I am a dissatisfied customer

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Janet F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Guides not organised, Tour Party was too big, a lot of hanging around waiting for the guides. We went off and did our own thing eventually. Cordoba was excellent.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Peggy O Finland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Do not waste your money on this trip.. take a train instead. We spent the first 3 hours picking up people from various places and getting there, we were there for about 3 1/2 hours, SHORT tour of the cathedral, fast lunch and less than an hour to explore/shop.. then 3 hours BACK!!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message