Insider's Guide to Costa Brava

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Built above 12 kilometers (8 miles) of beautiful beaches paved with soft, golden sand, the medieval town of Palafrugell has long been a port of some importance. Until recently, it was also the region's top producer of cork, for popping off fine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 266 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

The Big G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Magical Tour to Magical Places. A must if you want to get out of bustling Barcelona for a day and go back, far back in time of the Gerona's and Pals' architecture and cobble stone covered narrow and I mean narrow streets. The highlight of the tour, at least for my wife and I, was the last stop at beach town of Calella de Palafrugell. If you have time and don't mind a bit of uphill walking, visit the Hotel Sant Roc and have a bottle of wine and some appetizers and bread in the hotel's restaurant. Make sure to get a table on their glassed-in veranda. The views from there are breathtaking and food is excellent, although a bit pricey.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Isa B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The placer were beautiful, our tour guide was great and explained a lot of very interesting history making it fun.
Everything in Girona was perfect, we just wished we had more time to walk around the city.
In Costa Brava it is amazingly beautiful we had trouble having lunch since we were there on December 31 and we were a group of 6 and no restaurant would take us in so we could not eat. Although the tour guide was nice enough to stop in a gas station for a sandwich.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Peter G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

good tour - especially to Girona. Veronica, our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Girona is interesting - like Barcelona is, with plenty of history. Costa Brava - as we were there in winter, there were few people there and repairs for the summer were being done. Looks a great place to be in summer.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

JEREMY J MAYO M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

If you had only one day for a trip out of the city, this one should be it. The little seaside towns were like something out of a book or a movie. Our guide Alex did an excellent job and took great care of the group. It was a true taste of the Spanish Mediterranean.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Harvey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I were anxious to see the old town of Girona. In particular, we wanted to see the Jewish museum which was on the site of the old synagogue. The exhibits and artifacts were most interesting.It was definitely the highlight of the excursion. The beauty of the Costa Brava as described in books did not disappoint.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful day, from the narrow stairway paths of Girona, to the golden stones of Pals, to the sparkling sea and wonderful food of the Costa Brava. Our guide was knowledgeable, charming and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tom O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very informative. The tour guide was wonderful.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

robert m United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour to see some of Spain's country side and coast as well as historic towns. The tour guide was very informative and we enjoyed the whole trip. I would recommend this to anyone. Be prepared to walk and there are some steep hills.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lang Eng C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice to spend some time out of the city!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jake C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was wonderful! Our tour guide Josep was the best guide we had during our 11-day holiday and he gave us all the necessary information that we needed for this tour. After the tour he also gave us some recommendations about restaurants in Barcelona amongst others. Both Girona and Costa Brava were wonderful. I recommend this tour to everybody visiting Barcelona!!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Pearline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the most amazing tour , I had such a wonderful time the tour guide was great . I would highly reccomend this tour to anyone visiting in Barcelona. Great resturaunts by the Mediterranean, water is beautiful , cold but very exciting . Girona was beautiful and historical, church is a must see . This place is just amazing I plan on coming back to visit and spend a few days in Costa Brava .

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Every stop on this tour was just beautiful. There was a good balance of guided walking and free time. And the schedule was perfectly timed for lunch on the beach at Calella de Palafrugell. I hope to revisit all of these spots again some day.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Martha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our favorite experience during our eight-day Barcelona vacation. The guide did a terrific job -- I highly recommend this -- an absolute five-star! Sights were amazingly beautiful -- lots of rich history -- exposure to the Roman influence in Spanish architecture and a phenomenal excursion. Loved it!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Iman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of the trip to Barcelona for my wife and I. The ride on the bus was very comfortable, and our tour guide, Carlota, was very good at explaining the history of the sites we visited. She also had excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do during our free time. Although it was raining during our tour, we were lucky in that it only rained during the bus rides between sites, and when it was time to begin walking the rain stopped. The rain did, however, add a little ambiance to the small towns we visited, as it wet the cobblestones and streets, giving them a nice authentic look. The sites themselves were beautiful, and seeing the streets and buildings in Girona that were filmed in the Game of Thrones was very nice. Pals was a nice little town, and the final destination, Calella de Palafrugell, had one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever eaten at called Les Voltes. All in all, I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see parts of Catalonia outside of Barcelona.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alison H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We would have liked it if the guide had taken us to and explained the old ruins of Girona. We stumbled on them and didn't know what we were looking T.
We loved Pals and could have used more time there.
The length of time in last stop was a bit long as we did not want to have lunch

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

James R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really enjoyed this trip. Gerona is a beautiful city ad well worth a visit. Could actually have been doing with a bit longer here. Vsit to Pals was also a treat and again would have quite liked a vist to shops there. They looked very interesting. Veronica our guide was very knowledgable and the whole experience was great!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracey T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! Girona and Pals were lovely to wander around and lunch on the coast was very relaxing!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Linda R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Girona was interesting place. I just thought it was ridiculous to bring us to a coastal town in Costa Brava that was closed except the restaurants. AND the restaurants was just mediocre. It wasn't what I expected. Anna the tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

TravellerP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful part of Spain, great fresh seafood.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Helen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour to some beautiful places with a fantastic English speaking guide Enrique, who was so interesting and informative.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nadia Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Laura was great. Girona had great shopping. And what can I say about Costa Brava.......beautiful...

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was great had a totally awesome time great tour guide very informative and new her history was so lucky to have her and on the tour to Montserrat the day before well ran all on time

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jeannette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide, Alex, let me do my own wandering and gave me a time to meet. She and the other seven members went their way and I got to wander and photograph which was my interest on my one. I liked the fact that it was a small group and Alex did a great job.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message