Built above 12 kilometers (8 miles) of beautiful beaches paved with soft, golden sand, the medieval town of Palafrugell has long been a port of some importance. Until recently, it was also the region's top producer of cork, for popping off fine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was well organized and the tour staff were friendly and cooperative. Taking this tour was a great way to see a bit of the old Spanish towns and coast. We absolutely loved the Costa Brava. Having another hour in the coastal town we visited would be great as its so beautiful. We definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed the day seeing other areas of Spain beside Barcelona -nicko our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable -enjoyed the small tour idea

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best part of my Spain trip was coming to Costa Brava through this small group tour. Loved every part, thank you Ana!! This tour made it easy and I wouldn't have been able to see these towns if it wasn't for this trip! Definitely a MUST-DO when in Barcelona!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour combined the seaside and beach with visiting two interesting towns and seeing the countryside. There was enough time to see lots and relax. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The trip started right on time and out guide Fabio was pretty good too. The first stop was Girona and it was an interesting walled medieval city, we were given enough time to explore the basilica, walk on the stone protection wall surrounding the city and to get briefly lost in the cobblestones winding streets. Fabio did explain us the different options that we could try according to our individual interest.
From here we left for a small medieval fortress city of Pals and had a brief stop over there. It was a lovely little town but we felt that after Girona we did not need to stop at this town because that just cut short our time at the amazing beaches of Costa brava, which we wee dying to experience.
After pals, we drove to the coastal town of Calella-de-palafrugell and then were given just couple hours to swim and enjoy the sun and sand and to have lunch, which felt too short.
Also by the time we finished swimming and were hungry for lunch, we found out that the restaurants were closing for lunch which we should have been told about..
But other than than it was a good time. Lots of new things to see and experience. I probably wouldn't do it again, the next time I would just rent a car and drive to Costa Brava

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The locations visited on this tour were amazing! The tour guide provided good background, but left much of the time at each location for us to just roam on our own. This was excellent in Costa Brava, but in Girona, it was difficult as no map was provided and it wasn't clear what was available to see. Also, for a 12 hour day, not allowance was made for bathroom stops or even access to wash rooms.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The brief time allotted to visit Girona and Pals made the whole trip seem too rushed; just those two destinations would have made for a full day with a consistent theme. Rather, after a short time in Girona (enough to rush through the Cathedral and church of St.Feliu), there was a stop in Pals for about half an hour, then a push on to Calella de Palafrugell where we finally stopped to eat (around 2:30pm) and with time to swim if desired (only 2 out of the group came prepared for that, even though it was in the description of the tour). Apart from its scenic beauty, the stop in Calella de Palafrugell did not have anything in common with the historic side of the first 2 stops, and was basically the last stop to get something to eat and fill out the time before returning to Barcelona. It certainly can't be for lack of places to eat in Pals; for a small village, it's teeming with restaurants. Our guide Anna had difficulty with English, and her accent was difficult to understand by many in the group. She spent the majority of the time on the road listening to pop music on the radio. What information we did get at the stops on the tour was very basic and limited. It made us wish we were in the group being led by Fabian who had led another tour group we did previously; not a minute went by without him giving us some kind of history, information or explanation of our surroundings. I suspect if we had been in his group this trip would be getting at least 4 or 5 stars. It gets a '3' because I would definitely return to explore more of Girona, a fascinating place.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent,Value for money tour.Totally professional guide.As usual Viator sponsored tours are excellent.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Enrique our guide from Explore Cataluña tours was great, he kept us occupied for the drive and explained everything we wanted to know about the region, he also gave us helpful hints of where to eat lunch. We had a small group and it was a lot of fun. I made a lot of friends on this tour. I would highly recommend it, and the Costa Brava region is beautiful.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

My okay review is not a reflection on the tour company they were amazing. I think that this tour you have to do your research on before you arrive. You get a lot of free time and you're not aware of the options the cities have to offer. Would visit again after I read up on what to see.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful tour. Julia was the perfect guide and the trip could not have been better.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised trip, small group and excellent tour guide. The places covered on the tour were simply amazing. Had a great time, highly recommended!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Lydia was outstanding, perhaps one of the best we have ever had, with her nice personality and histotrical knowledge.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

lovely time with knowlegable tour guide. felt I was with a friend

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message