• USD ($)
  • English
There's really nowhere quite like Gibraltar. A little piece of England looking out from Spain to the coast of Africa, with a rock fabled in ancient mythology and the only wild monkey population in Europe. Quite a cocktail, huh? Gibraltar ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good trip. Could have been even better with a different guide. He didn't help a handicapped man in a wheel chair, which made my company of five feel very uncomfotable

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a great experience. Our tour guide was gracious and made us all feel relaxed and welcome. I was impressed when we were turned over to a local guide because I felt we got great local exposure. The trips through the narrow streets and standing on Gibraltar was magnificent

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were the last group to be picked up in the modern air conditioned coach and as a result, our group of 3 was not able to sit together. Our tour guide Annabelle was professional and knowledgeable. She conducted her commentary in English, Spanish and German. Due to an incident between Spain and Gibraltar, the border crossing was unusually long and we needed to cross the border on foot. Soon we discovered that there were not enough seats in the English speaking minivan for our party of 3. Luckily, we were able to join another local English speaking tour guide from another tour company. The local tour guide, Martin was friendly, knowledgeable, positive and funny. My 11 year old son who sat next to the tour guide/driver appreciated his humor. We made several stops: European point, St. Michael's Cave, and a stop to view the monkeys. We had enough free time to tour the shopping district and eat lunch. We met up with our original tour group and walked across the border and went throught immigration quite easily. I would recommend this tour! It is nice to experience a bit of England so close to the Costa del Sol region of Spain.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I would recommend this bus trip to anyone who did not want to drive to Gibraltar. I'm glad I read the reviews before booking that described how much time would be spent picking up and dropping off at the resorts along the Costa del Sol. If you are early on the route plan to be on the bus a long time and without the convenience of a toilet!! What I wish I had been told ahead of time is that because of the complicated road system along the Costa del Sol, some of us would not be dropped off where we were picked up. It's a good thing we could use the prominent lighthouse as our "beacon" because we were dropped at a bus stop three or four blocks away from our resort. We could not see our resort but at least we knew the general directions we should be walking. We were not told about this until we were picked up and it was a casual 'Oh, by the way, on the way back we will be dropping you at the local bus stop". Bus stop, what bus stop??? If we had known about this ahead of time, we could have specifically looked for the route between the bus stop and our hotel.

I would still recommend this tour if you just want make a quick visit to Gibraltar because it does eliminate all the hassles with border crossings, customs and parking. The total time to tour in Gibraltar was only four hours, from about 12 to 4pm, two of them are spent on a minibus taking you on a tour of the rock and up to Michael's Cave and the Ape's Den and then two hours to spend as you like in Gibraltar. Unfortunately, our minibus tour took longer than planned so we had less than 1 1/2 hours of free time; just enough to find a particular restaurant and have a rather rushed meal.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour served its purpose in that it took us to Gibralta and back. However the coach was 30 minutes late and we spent 2 hours each way picking up and dropping off at hotels in the resort which more than doubled the travel time.

Doing what: Gibraltar Shopping Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It is worth doing it, especially from Malaga if you don't want the hassle with organizing the transfer by public buses, as from Malaga direct there are not many of them. However be prepared for all the hotel pick-ups on the way. During winter season wasn't so bad, in summer I imagine might be a bit annoying. Our Gibraltar tour guide Jerry was amazing. All in all good tour and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Long time picking up and dropping off other tourists at hotels. The cave stalactite and stalagmite formations were impressive. The monkeys and their antics were fun to watch. A good trip overall.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Well organized. Amazing vew of Africa. Friendly monkeys. Interesting.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

pberan
Czech Republic

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It was bit cloudy and windy day, but trip itself was nice, we did seen some monkeys too.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Everything about this tour was quite acceptable. The tour guide was a pleasant and knowledgeable woman and the bus drive had a degree in zoology and he explained a lot about the monkeys who live on the rock. The trip was timely both coming and going which can be important if other connections need to be made. All in all it was a pleasurable experience. My only disappointment was that the tour doesn't go very high up the mountain at all and we didn't get to get out and walk on the mountain as I had envisioned. The top of the rock is off limits though as it is military operation. Over all, we were quite satisfied with this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great trip that was fun as well as informative. The only reason it doesn't rate a 5 star is the very long bus trip due to picking up other tour members from very remote hotels. Having several concentrated pick up locations would help this.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed our day trip to Gibraltar. Bus was comfortable and completely full on our day of travel. We departed Torremolinos at 8.45am and were in the bus-park in Gibraltar at 11.15am. It took only two minutes to get across the border!
We had free time to shop in the main street and were asked to be back at the bus park for 1pm, to continue the tour of 'The Rock'. We decided that this was not sufficient time to explore the main town area, the shops, museums etc, therefore we did not return to the bus park at 1pm. We stayed in the town until the bus departed back to the Costa Del Sol at 3.45pm.
Even then, we could have spent a lot more time locally. We did not get to see everything.
Next time we are on Holiday on Costa Del Sol, we will do this trip again and hopefully see the whole rock. It has even whetted our appetite to visit Gibraltar for a holiday weekend.
Overall, the trip was really good, but if you want to do the whole Rock Tour, your time will be limited in the town itself. Ideally the bus should leave a little earlier and return a little later!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

The local guide Jerry at Gibraltar was knowledgeable and humorous and provided interesting comments and information during the 2 hours bus tour in Gibraltar. However, just a warning that if you start the tour from Malaga, you will be the first to be picked up at 8am and will spend the next 2 and a half hours `touring' the various hotels along the costa del sol, picking up the other participants of the different Gibraltar tours before arriving at Gilbraltar just before noon for the actual tour. Similarly, you will be the last to be dropped off at Malaga after repeating the same journey on the way back.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

Think about a tour program starting at 8 AM and finishing at 6PM, ie. 10 hours. But the actual Gibraltar sight seeing is just 3.5 hours. The rest is spent in a transport that picked up passengers and dropped them all over Costa De Sol.

Every passenger except the one from Malaga City Centre had a hotel pick up. And many of the hotels were way away from the expressway. So a 1.5 hour trip from Malaga to Gibraltar ended up as a 3.5 hour trip. The return was the same - too long an too tiring.

Avoid at any cost.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message