There's really nowhere quite like Gibraltar. A little piece of England looking out from Spain to the coast of Africa with a rock fabled in ancient mythology and the only wild monkey population in Europe. Quite a cocktail, huh? Gibraltar was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 355 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour of the 'Rock' and the tunnels was fantastic - so much history and what an amazing place Gibraltor is. Glad to leave the negotiating of the narrow roads to the well qualified bus drivers (Hedley very fun and informative). Tour a little confusing but Paco remained calm thru out.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

4 hours from Malaga to Gibraltar..
Except from that everything was nice!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The bad:
- It's tough to figure out/know for sure where to wait for the bus. But this wouldn't have been so bad had our tour bus/guide not been 10 minutes late, which caused all of us there to particularly worry whether if we were in the wrong place.

- There are a /lot/ of hotel pickups along the way. Malaga is the first stop. We didn't arrive at Gibraltar until around 10:30am so, some 2 hours each way spent touring the resorts in the area. The first half of the drive winds along the coast just past the Malaga airport, which I found a literally nauseating. 3pm ish was when we left Gibraltar, so we got home around 6:30p.

- The guide from Malaga to Gibraltar Paco wasn't very educational. He was quiet almost the whole ride, spoke up before we arrived in order to explain the border crossing and customs and such, and then he transferred us to smaller Gibraltar buses that had new guides. Was hoping to learn something interesting as we rode.

The good: Gibraltar is really cool. I would definitely recommend visiting there. I liked our guide Clive, who gave us a good drive-through of the city, and answered questions. That said, even the local tour with Clive was pretty quick, and excluded the Ape Den he said that we were short on time and there aren't many apes there... at least we had seen a few at our other stop.

In the future, I think I'd recommend a friend to, if able, rent a car to visit Gibraltar from Malaga. Once you arrive at Gibraltar you can easily find a guide similar to Clive. Another option is the bus from Malaga to La Linea just outside of Gib, but I think it would take about as long and you'd just about break even though maybe a bit more flexible.

Enjoyed great fish and chips at Roy's!

Fun fact: for an additional 15 Euros per person you can tack on a tour of the WWII tunnels. We all learned about this from Paco as we neared Gibraltar. No one knew about this in advance, so it was a bit awkward and confusing to sort out.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The bus ride from Malaga to the Rock of Gibraltar didn't take long at all. Once there, I had some downtime to check out the city before I took the bus tour around the rock and visit to St. Michael's cave. Barbary macaques monkey were all around the cave and very friendly. After the tour around the rock and cave, again some downtime to visit and shop in the city. Day was good and very informative.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! We had some bad weather but both the driver and the local guide were very knowledgeable and friendly. Very nice people on the tour, timely pick up and drop off, was a really nice day out!

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyful and well organized.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very nice , the Only problem is no clear information from the tour company about the pick up areas

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this excursion and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, we did the Rock Tour and I would recommend this. Only downside was we left at 3pm and we would have liked to stay longer.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was amazing. We learned from our guide Alicia of the towns we drove through on our way to Gibraltar. Once there our tour guide Jerry was great, knowledgable and funny. Drawback was find our own way back. Public bus packed no air and meeting spot not convenient so we waited in airport.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Just to say you've been to Gibraltar and seen the monkeys. The rest of the city you can really skip, unless you like shopping.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Trip itself was okay but pick up was late and we had to pay for an international call to check where the coach was which turned up about half an hour late. Also, the pick timings are not right - we weren't picked up until nearly 9.30am and didn't get into Gibraltar until after 11.00am. We were also not told that on Saturday's most shops closed at 1pm until we were on the bus and so we had very little shopping time. It needs to be explained if taking the Saturday trip you won't be able to do much shopping.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Glad we did it. Would have been better to have more time at sights (viewpoint and caves) than for shopping. Also would have preferred to have Malaga pickup closer to port area.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The drive from Malaga to Gibraltar is 3,5 hours and not 2 hours as stated in the tour information. This causes a lot of frustration. The guide on the Juliabus was stressed and used ugly words and was not helpful.
The tour in Gibraltar was ok but most of the time in a minibus. No visit to the rock

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

With the exception of the short visit to the caves, the rest of the tour was a bit of a waste of time. The monkeys are cute, but you can see monkeys in so many other places and countries in a much nicer natural environment. The short walk in the caves was nice, but ruined by the colorful lights used in the caves. You can drive to the border and walk thru the frontier on foot very long lines to drive from Spain to Gibraltar.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was organized, informative, fun, no hassle trip and I´ll definitely do it again with your company. I loved that we could chat while the driver took away the worry of driving ourselves. Very cool.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our driver Phil was fabulous - navigated the Straits while providing a colorful history of the rock. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a nice well organized tour. The tour guide was very friendly and helpful. The views from the top of the rock are spectacular. The formations inside the caves are awesome. It was fun to see the monkeys. There was plenty of time for lunch and shopping.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We really enjoyed the tour. We originally went to the wrong meeting place, and the tour guides made it so we could catch up.

I did not like the fact that there was an add on - we did not pay for the tunnel tour (which was well worth it!) and we had to pay cash to get that part added to our tour. We were looking for a complete tour.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyable day out. Plenty of time in Gibraltar, even with the extra tours. Guide really helpful. Clearer instructions for the meeting point would be helpful,

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great! We have enough time to see the important spots in Gibraltar and the tour guide also speaks good English

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good trip and excellent value

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message