Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

There's really nowhere quite like Gibraltar. A little piece of England looking out from Spain to the coast of Africa with a rock fabled in ancient mythology and the only wild monkey population in Europe. Quite a cocktail, huh? Gibraltar was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

christine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour, so easy to access the highlights of Gibraltar on a day trip. Really loved the caves. Would liked to have seen more of the port area and beaches? But good value for a day out.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

Przemysław S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, very nice tour guide

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A very good tour overall, with two knowledgeable and friendly tour guides coach and tour and a comfortable coach journey to and from Gibraltar. Sightseeing in Gibraltar is beautiful and the history is fascinating.

There were two drawbacks that did disappoint our trip. The first being the wait at the border to cross into Gibraltar. This was around 45 minutes. Not anyone to blame here as traffic was back logged both front and behind, I do personally feel that had we have walked through instead of staying on the coach as we did on the return to Spain this would have been much easier.

The second was the transportation up to the Rock of Gibraltar. The mini bus was slightly later than planned, and was filled to capacity.Even the fold-up seats that use aisle space were all used.Me and my partner were both sat on these aisle seats and they were utterly uncomfortable. MY partners legs were digging into the back of my seat and on uphill climbs our backs were pressed into the seats. Very uncomfortable. The guide on the bus was knowledgeable about the history of Gibraltar and was a good laugh, this made the journey slightly more bearable.

I would recommend this trip for anyone wanting to see Gibraltar. I would just hope that the mini buses used for the Rock tours were not filled to capacity again, this would make the journey for all users much more comfortable.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Mark S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

a bit disorganized. a lot of wasted time. the tour buses in gibraltar were delayed

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Erica L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We loved visiting Gibraltar, and Jesus - the guide on the Gibraltar part of the tour - was fantastic. The trip could have been better if there had been a clearer itinerary from the beginnin and if there were a bit more time on Gibraltar itself. For example, we didn't realize that an hour of our trip to and from Gibraltar would involve picking up passengers from their individual hotels. Also, the guide on the Malaga - Gibraltar portion of the tour wasn't very clear about where and when to meet for the return trip. Several passengers were confused, and it would have been helpful to have something in writing. We also felt a bit rushed, and would have loved to have done the tour of the WWII caves if there had been a bit more time. However, all in all, it was a good and easy trip.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Sandra W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We were really looking forward to this day as the highlight of our 6 days in Spain. Gibraltar was really amazing but the tour left alot to be desired. The website says 2 hour journey but it was more like 3.5-4h from Malaga central. While we didn't mind travelling through Costa del Sol to some extent it was absurd that some of the hotel pickups were only about 200 metres apart. The bus was 15 min late to start with. On the bus we were informed that the tunnel tour was an option and not included and another15euro each - what? can't easily find out anything about that on the webite. On arrival, we a had about 40 min before the local bus tour started which hardly was time to do anything. very little info was provided on the ride up the rock and rushed stops at Europa point, St. Michaels cave and then back down again except we had taken the tunnel tour so we came back after that. then another 40 min in town before the bus started the long journey home at 3:30pm we were at Gibraltar for 4.5 hours out of a 12 hour day. Our guide did not seem that organized. Oh well, we did love being at Gibraltar and wish that it had been better organized and that we had gotten alot more out of it.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Gibraltar Amazing. Tour operator not good. (Julian travel )
Stood 1.5 hours waiting to get on bus for tour in 40 degrees heat. This was due to over booking.
Tour was amazing when finally got going. No time for shopping as promised after

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Hedy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We were looking forward to another wonderful day from a Viator company, but were disappointed. The tour guide lacked personality and information. He rarely provided any. The trip was lengthy due to so many pick ups and waiting for about 15 minutes for one group that was late. We were late getting to the cave and monkeys due to the bus being a half hour late to go up the rock and so very little time spent there. There was no guidance about our time in the cave and the time spent with the monkeys which was too little. This tour was not one we would recommmend.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Hedy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We were looking forward to a wonderful Viator tour, but were very disappointed. The trip there was long and we waited about 20 minutes for a group that was late. The tour guide provided very little knowledge.
The second bus that goes up the rock was one half hour late and that driver was equally as deficient in his guidance. He didn't tell us how short our time in the cave and visiting the monkeys would be, about 20 minutes total. To go from Torremolinos to Gibraltar for that short time was disappointing.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

David U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Late start and pick up at more than half a dozen different locations spoilt the journey. Having paid for the whale watching trip, to be told I couldn't do both that and the tour of the island was another great disappointment.
Almost an hour late departure - not very professionally run in my opinion

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

gradyheller

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The bus ride was too much. It was eight hours of driving for four hours at Gibraltar. Eight is a conservative estimate. The bus will pick up each person at the various towns and hotels they are staying at, and also drop them back off there. It is not a quick process. Also, the person in charge of our bus seemed to not really know what she was doing. Just go to Gibraltar on your own. They all speak English since they're a British colony and you can navigate just fine.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Reeta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing Trip! Would recommend!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

kerry.crowther

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a pleasant trip. The local guide told us some very interesting information and the visit to St Michael's Cave was fantastic.
Our bus broke down on the way back to the Costa del Sol and we had to wait over an hour for a new bus to come from Malaga. However, that was an unfortunate episode and the company responded as quickly as they could.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Thore Ansgar M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

7 hour on the bus is to long,no stop on the way.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Renee M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The trip was okay. It was a bit disorganized and we spent so much time in the beginning picking people up from their hotels. If they had offered 2-3 central locations for pick-up, it would've saved so much time. The local tour was alright, but a group of us went on our own during the 2 hours of free time to take the cable car up to the top of the rock. That was the best part of the trip! They should include this cable car ride into the day trip.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

maria

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The departure was scheduled at a time very morning,7 AM, all the travelers were punctual, arriving even earlier with a quarter of an hour, as mentioned on voucher. Empty bus arrived half an hour later no excuse, no explanation from the guide. On the first 4 places from front of bus, were two A4 sheets with marks : reserved for people with disabilities. I have respect for this kind of reservation but, it proved to be withheld by guide to others persons, any disabled person..Very 'low', to use this excuse, just for booking the front places, for others.
More than half of the time lost on the road, only to gather from various locations, other travelers . Many hours, the guide did not provide any information there was no short stopping, neither led nor returned for a coffee or toilette..
In Gibraltar, we split into several minibuses Gibraltar guide, driver all at once, one absolutely special: interesting information, sense of humor, true professional without this, my rating of this trip could be even lower..
Views to Gibraltar, near Saint Michel's cave, is an absolutely wonderful. The picturesque area is increased by monkeys that wander free..
I think it is best to do this trip, starting from Malaga, on their own. You have more free time to visit Gibraltar , that is small but very picturesque town, and not spend 75 of the time in a bus..

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

vivian b

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

terrible day. complete waist of money and time. bus driver drove around the rock like a mad man . started tour at 1-17 and back finished at 1-57 pm where the bus driver got a heroes welcome like he had achieved the worlds quickest tour around the rock. pick up bus at hotel was 45 minutes late . wasted a whole day of my holidays and people on the same tour as me had got their tickets cheaper than me . would not recommend to an enemy never mind friend. will be posting on trip advisor also. i see my review will be read by your travel team. didnt realize you had a travel team

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Douglas K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The trip took too long. It took 3 hours to pick everyone up before you got there, and then you never do get to go to the top of the hill.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

JohnHartson Netherlands

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The day starts with picking up everyone from all over the coast. So if you go from Malaga you will go around for about 2 hours picking up people. The same when you come back, this is annoying and should be changed.
The guide Paco didn't give much useful info, I only remember he was making some stupid jokes. The only good part of the trip was the tour we had with the local company in Gibraltar.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The cathedral was amazing

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Inga P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the day. Exciting day with Great sceneries and funny monkeys.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Cvetana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a nice experience. Very interesting, with a great guide.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic trip!!! I would recommend this trip to anybody wanting an experience to remember. The staff on the bus couldn't have been more helpful. A very well organized tour!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Allan T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Timing issues made the tour guide very upset at times. Very good and informative for most of the tour, Value for money.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message