There's really nowhere quite like Gibraltar. A little piece of England looking out from Spain to the coast of Africa with a rock fabled in ancient mythology and the only wild monkey population in Europe. Quite a cocktail, huh? Gibraltar was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fabulous trip to Gibraltar...took a 4yr old and 1yr old who coped easily with travel....tour driver was excellent both with adults and children and we all enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding!! Tour guides both Viator as well as the local tour guide were friendly, enthusiastic and open to questions. One needs all day to really experience Gibraltar, so recommend adding an hour to the beginning or end to allow possibility t taking cable car to top of mountain and doing some shopping.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A long bus trip (approx 3 hours) but well worth it. Gibraltar was beautiful. Only wish we had been able to spend more time there. The tour guide was nice and informative.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were certainly satisfied that we made the right choce to take a 'tour' to Gibraltar' despite many reports that it was 'easy' to hop a bus from Marbella and walk across to the 'one street' of Gibraltar. It is bigger and more complicated than that. That said, being picked up on a street in the middle of town, uncertain if we were in the right place, paticularly after a 20 min delay, was not 'easy' either and had we left for two minutes we'd have missed our connection as the bus stopped only long enough to board us. Gibraltar has 'its own cloud', so if we'd planned the day aroud the cable car, we would have been disappointed. Being left in the bus depot parking lot is not a great way to be introduced to Gibraltar and the 'guide' info was minimal on the bus trip. That said, the tour up the 'rock' was fun and definitely not something one would want to arrange after arriving for a day trip.
So Viator again offered a tour worth taking

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! The tour was very organized and was worth the money! The bus was very nice and comfortable. The views of Gibraltar were amazing, even though it was cloudy when we visited! I recommend this tour for a quick and easy day trip!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

its a great one day tour.however they spend two hours dropping and collecting passengers. immigartion checks can take very long

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice day. Pedro, the Spanish guide, was the man of the day. He was very enthusiast and gave us many useful information in several languages. We had to wait some time to cross the border to Gibraltar. A smaller one, took us to the rock of Gibraltar where we saw stunning views. St. Michael's Cave is really nice. We saw also Barbary macaque which is the star of the rock. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Quite good. Tour within Gibraltar could be better organised and longer though

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Things started badly when we got to Gibraltar and had to sit on the bus for over an hour. Guide nearly left 19 passengers behind when leaving because of confusing directions. The rest of the trip was okay.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

In general well arranged and organized, but I missed some info regarding what was included and some hints that you only can reach the top by the cabin or if you walk.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

Mac
United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The city of Gibraltar was great, and we enjoyed the apes. Again, the tour guide was extremely boring.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Tour Guide was a big disappointment. He had no information to share with tourists.Made guests walk a lot Lot of the tour was on foot. Tired us out and therefore could not enjoy rest of the trip
Need a better tour guide

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We spent most of the day picking up and dropping off people. Too much Free time.
The tour at Gilbraltar was ok.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Ok here are the things that need to be corrected
1 It was extremely difficult to find the pick up point . There were other customers of yours who said the same thing
2 You asked us to come no later than 6.45 am and your representative would be at the pick up point. Well the bus did not come till 7.10 am and there was NO representative waiting for us.
3 Trip expensive for the amount of time involved when actually in Gibraltar
4 Took over 2 hours each way to pick up and drop off other customers on the way
5 Others were picked up right at their hotels which added to the time. Why were pick up points not assigned to them as they were to us to save time?
6 Asking for a phone call confirmation from the local tour operator is ridiculous as we did not have a working cell phone. Am sure many others are in the same situation.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting tour. The trip from Malaga to Gibraltar is kind long and not so excited, but when we go up in the mountain is just an amazing. It's very clouded the day I went, so I didn't get a chance to have a very clear view of Africa from there, but it's so worth!!!
Make sure to take the cable car up to the top. It's not included, but if you manage your time you can do make it!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth the trip. Gibraltar was beautiful but pretty touristy.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour of the 'Rock' and the tunnels was fantastic - so much history and what an amazing place Gibraltor is. Glad to leave the negotiating of the narrow roads to the well qualified bus drivers (Hedley very fun and informative). Tour a little confusing but Paco remained calm thru out.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

4 hours from Malaga to Gibraltar..
Except from that everything was nice!

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our guide Carmen wasn't clear with her instructions throughout the tour, we as a group were very confused about where to meet to leave and what we were going to do throughout the tour.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The bad:
- It's tough to figure out/know for sure where to wait for the bus. But this wouldn't have been so bad had our tour bus/guide not been 10 minutes late, which caused all of us there to particularly worry whether if we were in the wrong place.

- There are a /lot/ of hotel pickups along the way. Malaga is the first stop. We didn't arrive at Gibraltar until around 10:30am so, some 2 hours each way spent touring the resorts in the area. The first half of the drive winds along the coast just past the Malaga airport, which I found a literally nauseating. 3pm ish was when we left Gibraltar, so we got home around 6:30p.

- The guide from Malaga to Gibraltar Paco wasn't very educational. He was quiet almost the whole ride, spoke up before we arrived in order to explain the border crossing and customs and such, and then he transferred us to smaller Gibraltar buses that had new guides. Was hoping to learn something interesting as we rode.

The good: Gibraltar is really cool. I would definitely recommend visiting there. I liked our guide Clive, who gave us a good drive-through of the city, and answered questions. That said, even the local tour with Clive was pretty quick, and excluded the Ape Den he said that we were short on time and there aren't many apes there... at least we had seen a few at our other stop.

In the future, I think I'd recommend a friend to, if able, rent a car to visit Gibraltar from Malaga. Once you arrive at Gibraltar you can easily find a guide similar to Clive. Another option is the bus from Malaga to La Linea just outside of Gib, but I think it would take about as long and you'd just about break even though maybe a bit more flexible.

Enjoyed great fish and chips at Roy's!

Fun fact: for an additional 15 Euros per person you can tack on a tour of the WWII tunnels. We all learned about this from Paco as we neared Gibraltar. No one knew about this in advance, so it was a bit awkward and confusing to sort out.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We had a huge group with a FULL busload. We ended up having to sit in the very back of the bus and there was no air conditioning that I could tell. The actual tour of the Rock was very enjoyable the smaller bus driver was super nice and full of wonderful info about the whole area. There was time before and after the tour to look thru town. Returning to Spain we had to leave the bus, walk through the border crossing and wait about 30-40 minutes in the sun waiting for our bus to come through. Totally unnecessary!! Won't ever do this again.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Disappointing tour. Main aim was to see rock of Gibraltar. Guide going from malaga was not informative. He should tell you the places u r passing to make the travel time interesting and know about the beaches. Guide to the caves was very good.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The bus ride from Malaga to the Rock of Gibraltar didn't take long at all. Once there, I had some downtime to check out the city before I took the bus tour around the rock and visit to St. Michael's cave. Barbary macaques monkey were all around the cave and very friendly. After the tour around the rock and cave, again some downtime to visit and shop in the city. Day was good and very informative.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! We had some bad weather but both the driver and the local guide were very knowledgeable and friendly. Very nice people on the tour, timely pick up and drop off, was a really nice day out!

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message