There's really nowhere quite like Gibraltar. A little piece of England looking out from Spain to the coast of Africa, with a rock fabled in ancient mythology and the only wild monkey population in Europe. Quite a cocktail, huh? Gibraltar ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was well-organized and definitely worth the time. Of course, we wished we could spend more time everywhere we stopped, but that's not realistic on a day trip like this. I would definitely recommend skipping long strolls down Main Street and taking the cable car up the Rock - beautiful views and plenty of apes to see and photograph. We barely had enough time to go up because of the long line, so budget your time accordingly. A word of caution: the apes do bite. I was bitten pretty hard although I did not reach for them or feed/tease them. It happens. They ARE vaccinated and don't carry any diseases, but I was happy I had alcohol wipes and band-aides with me. Still, I would go back again in a heartbeat, but if you are going with kids, make sure to supervise them closely, and hide all food when the apes are around. Overall, we loved this trip - Alicia, our guide, was friendly and helpful, and Benny the driver was sweet and funny. Great day!

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very enjoyable trip to see the rock and the monkeys! Make sure to add on the tour for the tunnels. Very interesting.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The history of the Gibraltar is fascinating. St. Michael's Cave's was amazing. And who wouldn't love those adorable Macambre Monkey's -- they were so cute! I could have stayed and watched them ALL DAY. While I loved Gibraltar the rock and its history, the caves and the money's, I was not to impressed with the city itself. I would go to Gibraltar again but would probably avoid the city. Again, our guide Carlos and our driver Jorge were great. Our guide knew his history and was happy and eager to share his knowledge. Thank you both!!!

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Gibraltar was an interesting place to visit, it is a big rock with very limited land around the edge which is heavily built up. On a good day when the wind is blowing in the right direction you can see Africa. The Main Street was packed with people as there was a cruise ship in town and it is bedlam at the border in the afternoon with all the day trippers coming back across. Don't forget your passport! You will be turned away if you forget it.
The journey from Seville took over 3 hours with no toilet breaks. Our guide had promised a stop and a coffee but that didn't happen. Just before we went over the border everyone on the tour needed the bathroom and had to use McDonalds, the doors were locked and we had to buy a coffee to let everyone in. The guide didn't tell us that just over the border there are toilets, plus toilets in the airport and every place we visited thereafter! It may have saved some panic, particularly as one of our group was unwell.
Once we made it across the border we boarded a mini- bus and travelled on the narrow windy roads around the rock, where we took in fabulous views and saw the monkeys. The local guide was very knowledgable and a good driver - the bends were so tight and roads so narrow! After the tour we had 1.5 hours free time to wander along the Main Street and have lunch. Prices are in pounds, the shops accepted euros but applied their own exchange rate which was not negotiable.
While the drive from Seville is long, it is on a smooth motorway. I suggest the operator considers making a 10 minute stop half way through the journey at one of the many service stops along the motorway.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting place; but really wish we could have had more time there.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Long bus ride. Should have been more free time devoted to the scenic sights and less to the shopping area.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Nice to see. Worth doing. On your own for lunch and Gibraltar operates on the pound not the euro, so that 2 usd to 1 pound. Very pricey.

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Gibraltar was a surprise, small but full of history, the caves in the rock are well worth it.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did this tour on the last day of a 12 day trip, and it was definitely one of the most fun, easy, days. We were staying in the Marbella area, so we were the last on the bus and the first off, which made for a nice trip. The guide provided interesting information along the way. Once we got to Gilbralter it was an easy custom stops (on the bus, show passports), and then we had free time to explore until it was time for our trip up the mountain. Our mini-bus driver was informative, enthusiastic, and funny, and we enjoyed the stops for photos.... incredible to look across the strait and see Africa! The caves were a bit "disco", and lots of steps for some of our group (up and down and back up), but still interesting. We were delighted with seeing the "apes" and were especially charmed by seeing one family with a baby ape. We had just enough time to grab lunch when we returned to town, and then a different route home along the seaside towns was a nice end to the trip.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good and quick overview of the area.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Not too much to see but cool to visit due to proximity.

Doing what: Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I was kind of disappointed. We were driven around and visited the cave and the monkeys in an hour and a half and later dumped at the beginning of the Main Street with a map to walk around for two hours. It felt more like a shopping tour and let's throw in some caves and monkey's for the heck of it instead of giving a proper overview of Gibraltar. We didn't even het to go on the cable car to go on top of the rock!

Doing what: Gibraltar Day Trip from Seville

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message