Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 896 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the highlight of our trip, what a great day. Everything was smoothly planned out and went great. Our tour guides were super. Was traveling with teenagers and even they said it was awesome. It was like Disney world only it was real! Do it if you can.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Marlene E

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

We would have liked more time to get things in th market. Too much time with the carpet salesman. Weather made it not as nice as it could have been.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Micaela S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Notm y favorite tour as it seemed catered to improving the economy of three specific businesses and didn't show as much cultural heritage of Tangier as I would have liked.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

maria

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Unfortunately, too much time spent on the bus, only to gather from various locations, other travelers. A courteous guide, helpful, he showed patience, waiting for tourists that got lost on tightly streets of Tangier or lost after lowering the boat..I apologize for not remember his name. Indeed a very nice person.
The second guide, this time Moroccan one, informed, speaking flawless English, even that he had more information with political connotations then realistic ..Tangier, an impoverished city, with people trying to sell you trinkets, just for a few coins. It was sad to see nice peoples leaving so much poverty..

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Angela K. W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will not ever do this day trip again. It was not disclosed that the bus ride would be 3 1/2 hours with no access to a toilet. It was also not disclosed that we would be held hostage on the walking tour. We did not have any opportunity to shop the market as we pleased. We had to stay with the group and no time was given for free time to shop as we pleased. We could only shop at the rug and tea market. Again not a trip I would take again with Viator and Julia.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Valerie S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

It took forever to get there. The bus made like 7 stops on our way to Tarifa to pick people up same story coming back to Malaga. No quick bathroom stops. The ferry ride was decent. Tangier looks very deteriorated and run down. I've been in Tunisia so I was ready for the harassment from the sales people but the city itself was a disappointment, unfortunately.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Kathryn W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I'm giving this tour a one-star rating because it's impossible to give it a zero. This was hands-down the most disappointing tour I've ever taken. It is-- in short-- a complete tourist trap. The majority of the 15 hour day was spent in transit. The ferry-ride and drive from Malaga to Tarifa were necessary, but we spent at least another hour and a half picking up people from their hotels. Once we finally arrived in Tangiers, we went on a bus tour for about 45 minutes that terminated in a parking lot. In the parking lot, you could pay a euro for a 30 second camel ride or you could just wait on the bus. There was nothing to look at except asphalt and some sorely abused camels. After our bus ride, we walked about 20 minutes until we arrived at lunch, which was fine for the most part. It was only after lunch that I became truly angry. Instead of going anywhere of interest or seeing the sights, we were corralled into a huge gift shop with obscenely high prices and forced to listen to a 30 minute-long sales-pitch. Afterwards we were given time to shop-around before being herded like cattle to another store to hear another interminable sales-pitch. At the second shop, the salesmen actually held up each and every item after their presentation was complete and asked who wanted to buy it. We couldn't leave until they were finished with EVERY product. Then, we were shuffled back to the ferry. In essence, I paid over 100 USD to let my tour guide take me to gift shops where his friends tried to sell me authentic, moroccan, handmade garbage.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Inga P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Quite an overwhelming experience. But a fun one. Encredibly cultural. They take you to places you would never have gone by yourself. So you can really experience the culture deep inside. Absolutely loved morocco. Inspired me to do more travelling around the country.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

John F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great trip to Tangier, couple of things to consider... Better than half of the time is spent on either a bus or ferry. Lunch spot was good food and plentiful, beer and wine also good. Only real disappointment is not time to actually shop in the beautiful marketplaces, guides herded group think sheep here so that folks didn't get lost I suppose, but our whole point of going was the shopping experience and on this point we were quite disappointed. Even in the recommended shops think Moroccan carpets there simply was not time to do it justice. Next time we will drive to ferry terminal, Ride ferry over and get a local cab to mercado. People very friendly, helpful and we felt it was a safe place. This whole city would die if not for the tourists so they go out of there way to be helpful. As with any tourist spot there are the many locals that follow you everywhere hawking there trinkets.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jose R S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Overall, the tour was good. However, it can be improved. First off, the tour guide was lacking in his interaction with the group. He did not assist with the smooth check in and check out from the hotels and we had to do everything from filling out forms. The last two hotels were not good as they were not as luxurious as the first ones. Also there was no variety in the breakfast menu. He did not keep the group energized. He limited himself to inform about the area and the some history about as we approached the towns but there was no interaction while we were on the road which was very long sitting on the bus. However, he kind and noble. I think that we spent more time on the road than on the actual sightseeing itself.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

Tamara Lee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour,the guides were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this tour,well worth the money!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and glimpse of Morocco. Our tours guides were fantastic, wonderful, and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

FREDRIC K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Everything was fine except too little time in Marakesh old town. This is the main part of the tour and all we got was 30 min! Also I will NEVER attend anymore tour sales pitches. We had 4 and they were hard sells. I pay for this time and its not what I want to be doing on MY tour. If tis practice is not ended or I am given an option to not participate, I will not book another tour. This was the time that should have been devoted to Marakesh....not listening to some dude try and sell me herbs and oils or rugs...or the leather place etc

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

OccuPant

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The pick up was smooth. The guide was professional.

I could have done without the camel ride, and seeing the snake charmers being a mature adult.

Lunch was very good,the sales pitch at the rug store was a bit much, but not too long and the sales people were not to pushy.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Zakia H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Really disappointed with this tour. It was basically just an infomercial for rugs and spices. Our walking tour guide didn't talk and just took us to various stores where men tried to pressure us into buying things. Would have preferred an actual tour and no pressure to buy stuff. Would not recommend.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Beth S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

I found this trip to be just one big opportunity for the people of Tangier to try and sell me things. The entire time we were in Tangier except for lunch which was very nice we were taken from one sales presentation to the next - the market portion of the trip included a 15 minutes sales presentation, the spice market was only a sales presentation of what was for sale. Sales technique is very high pressure....not relaxing at all.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Carolyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour with great guides.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Francesca

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I rated this tour a 4 star because personally I could not handle the bazaar with its off smells, people in your face, and the constant lets make a deal vendors. If this would not bother you, you will enjoy the tour. It was well organized. I always felt safe. I loved the ferry across the Strait of Gibraltar, the lunch was very good, the guide very informative. The camel ride, for only 1 euro, was hilarious as was the snake charmer. Viator did a wonderful job creating just the right mix of activities to introduce one to Moorish culture.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Frances L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I hesitate to give 4 stars but visiting each of the cities was amazing.
The Medina in Fez was unbelievable although the guide seem to steer us
to certain stores and there was high pressure sales tactics involved.
We were not taken to the Jewish section but did find our way there with the
help of the same fellow mentioned in one of the other reviews. Had to pay a woman
to go in her house and upstairs to take photos. He also required a donation to the restoration fund.
The food was plentiful on the trip and yes the bus rides were long especially Marrakech to Fez. There were plenty of stops along the way however.
We were going to take standard room but when we realized we would be the only 2 doing so we upgraded. The hotel in Casablanca was very nice, Marrakech good also but the hotel in Fez was rundown and all I am ever going to remember about it was the huge cock roach.
The real disappointment of the trip was the guide Kareem really didn't speak English. We were the only
two English speaking travelers in our group of 30,so this was a huge issue. Some of the other travelers spoke some English and really tried to help us out especially with details like meeting times etc.
Overall well worth it just unfortunate for us that we didn't have the benefit of a tour guide,

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

LuAnn T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good itinerary, great lunch.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Gary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great time. Tour guides were great. All went smoothly.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Glad we went with a tour guide. The fee for the tour was cheaper than if we had tried to purchase ferry tickets to Morocco by themselves. That's right, the bus ride to the ferry, the bus tour of the city, the walking tour of the Casbah, lunch, and the product lectures were free!

Ok, the tour itself was fun but be prepared to have the beggars and the hawkers dog your steps every step of the way. It is hard to turn away from such great need but there are so many of them. For two euros we rode camels in a parking lot, really more of a photo op, but fun nevertheless. We saw a snake charmer. The lunch was quite good. The product lectures were of course followed by a sales pitch. We learned about carpets and then could buy carpets, leather goods, scarfs, and assorted crafts. We also learned about various spices, unguents, ointments, and perfumes. I was surprised at the number of people who bought things. We did buy a scarf for my Mom since Christmas was coming. All in all, it was very interesting and I'm very glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jeremy K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Nice for a taste of Morocco. However you do not get an authentic taste as you are taken to a restaurant and shops only set up for tour groups. The local guide was nice enough but it was clear he was working with the street sellers that followed the group throughout the whole tour of the city. Their pushiness ruined the trip.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Romping

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much! It's an experience that everyone should have!

After a 43 euro taxi fare to the meeting place, the tour bus picked up passengers at my hotel! No indication that it could be done!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message