All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 869 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour. We all enjoyed our day in Tangier. Everything ran very smoothly, lunch was great and the guide, Hassan was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We usually do our day trips independently, but this is one where it is very worthwhile going on an orgsnised tour.....we managed to fit a lot in, in one day and got a real feel for the place, whilst feeling very safe and in good hands, particularly important to usas we had children with us. Thank you.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a nice tour and we enjoyed, I did not like the big shop experience, I rather to go to smaller shops. The food was not the best as I had food in Morroco before and this was nothing compare to real food they have. I am sure people dont mind to pay a bit more but get a better quality food. it also will be better if people want to go back for more and longer experience.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Good experience. Be prepared for bombardment of local salesmen. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Our primary guide Shawnee, was very knowledgeable and very concerned about our welfare. However our local guide in Fez must be getting a kick-back becuase he would not allow us to stop at vendors we wanted, and had set places that he would take us. The majority of these places were sales people who would pressure us, which really turned us off. The hotels were clean and nice for Moroccan standards. Our bus driver was excellent! The guide from Spain who brought us to and from the port directed us where to take a bus after returning from Morocco to catch a bus in order to get to Seville. She misled us and didn't know what she was talking about. Beware of taking advice from the locals.

Doing what: 4-Day Morocco Tour: Fez, Meknes, Rabat and Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The bus was a bit late and the guide didn't even say good morning. The bus ride was long with many pick up stops on the way, it would be nice if they at least offered a coffee and something small with it. We took the trip with a German guide and his German was rather poor and hard to understand. The camel ride was just an animal abuse - you could sit on a camel in a parking lot for a moment just to take a photo. The bus tour of Tangier was nice, the bus air conditioned. The lunch was good. It was interesting to see the culture and city life. The ferry ride was nice. Be aware of the peddlers trying to sell you stuff in an obtrusive manner.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Valerie P
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We had to make our way to a pick up point in Malaga at 5.00am which I didn't reckon was a good idea for 2
wonen by themselves. I feel also, that as we were the furthest away, we shouldn't have had to waste so much time picking up other people from their hotels. I was disappointed that we didn't get to see more in Morocco. We were always being encouraged to buy stuff in various shops and constantly hounded by vendors. I was disappointed by this trip as other Viator trips have been great.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Upon ordering this tour, we were informed that there were no hotel pick ups ... needless to say we were very disappointed when we spent a lengthy time to and from port at least a couple of additional hours picking up and dropping off fellow clients. Very frustrating. In addition, the marketing ploys of a 1E camel ride to get at 10E photo and stop over in a carpet store and a spice shop was not appreciated... especially when no time was provided for free time. Had we been made aware of the lengthy travel time we could have been more prepared or simply ventured out on our own.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! we loved every minute. Our tour guide from the local tour company, Rafael was professional, caring and knowledgeable. Our guide inTangier, Samir was an amazing font of knowledge. We had a wonderful ride through the various points inside and outside the city, walk through the medina , delicious lunch and entertaining rug and spice presentations. A great day!

Doing what: Small-Group Morocco Day Trip to Tangier from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All in all, we had a great day in Morocco, traveling from Marbella, Spain to the city of Tanjiers by bus and a large, two story, fully-enclosed speed boat. The trip included a very interesting guided bus tour of the new section of the city, including beautiful wide avenues and lovely buildings with great views of the Atlantic and Mediterranean, beautiful gardens and fountains and a quick but inexpensive 1 Euro camel ride. The guide showed us all the different international sections--British, French, Spanish, American, Italian, etc. Each has its own schools and library, as well as a distinct character. Then we had a guided tour of the old city or Casbah, built in the 14th century. Crowded and narrow streets with bustling food markets, along with jewelry, leather, fabric and other local goods. We stopped along the way at a fine Moroccan restaurant with traditional music and food, which was included in the tour. We also had stops at a Moroccan/Berber rug store and an herbal/homeopathic store with presentations at each. Overall, the trip was well worth it, and we had a very pleasant day meeting fellow passengers and getting to know more about this cosmopolitan city and its long history. I would recommend the tour to others with these caveats: 1 the bus makes dozens of stops at hotels picking and dropping off people all along the way, 2 the rug store presentation was not very exciting and we would have preferred more time shopping on our own, and 3 be prepared to be attacked by local vendors all trying to sell the same goods--bracelets, camels, scarves, Moroccan leather purses, etc. Although many travelers skipped the herbal presentation, we actually enjoyed it. The presenter was informative and funny, prices were affordable and we were able to purchase Moroccan oil and other desired products with little or no hard selling. It was also air conditioned, and the Casbah was very hot that day.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good trip to Morocco! The guides were very professional. We were in good hands. If you have an extra day at Costa del Sol, i can recommend this. Only thing that could be a little different is maybe a little more time on my own to shop. We were a family of 5 persons.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guides were absolutely fantastic and I would definitely recommend this excursion to others. My only complaint would be that at the very end of our time in Morocco, we were brought to a market where all of us felt very pressured to purchase either rugs, jewelry or leather goods...was just sort of a disappointing way to end our day. Other than that, nothing negative to say.

Doing what: Small-Group Morocco Day Trip to Tangier from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip and worth doing. Overall, very touristy and the merchants are pushy but not a destination we would have gone on without the tour/guide. It's definitely a rushed day.The shopping spot allowed everyone to get the souvenir they wanted. We personally did not like the spice stop but it was still interesting. Lunch was good no one got sick with the musicians playing. Would have given it 5 stars if the merchants hadn't been so pushy.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip was quick and easy. The staff was pretty good. The beginning had more tours and some explanations of things. In the end we were just forced to stand around and wait for the shopping portion to end.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was interesting, but we were not aware of the amount of walking, especially on uneven pavement was involved.The guide managed as well as she could, but it was a bit difficult.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Definitely a trip worth doing even just to say you've been to Africa!. The first half of the day was fantastic - you do a bus tour of the new and old parts of the city, learn about some of it's history as an international port city, and get on foot to wander through the streets of the old city areas. The small alleys, homes, and coastline views were incredible - it felt and looked just as we expected Morocco to be like. The tour guide was very knowledgeable too and provided some great commentary about what we were seeing.

Lunch was decent, you can tell it was toned down a bit to appeal to the large amount of tourists coming through but it was good nonetheless. The dessert and mint tea were delicious!!

The second half of the day got a bit touristy, where they take you to a carpet store and spice market. Both establishments were very heavy on the sales pitches and it felt a bit like we were being taken advantage of. You learn a bit about the culture through their pitches but it got a little annoying after a while.

You do have about an hour to wander around and shop on your own which was fun. Have your negotiating hat on, none of the prices are fixed so you can haggle your way to a good price for anything you are looking to buy!

The site says the trip is from 6 AM - 6 PM but we didn't get back to Malaga until 11 PM. We made 5-6 stops between Malaga and Tarifa to pick up/drop off additional people which made the trip significantly longer than we expected. We wish they told us this in the beginning so we could have prepared by bringing snacks for the ride back.

All in all, it was worth the price paid and I would suggest it to those looking to do a day trip to the area. It would be hard to experience Tangier on your own without a guide or group to go with.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tour guide very poor very little information, eg the point if the badges, itinerary for the day.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Exciting tour!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was everything I expected. The guide and bus driver were excellent. Even though the bus broke down and we were delayed, the guide held it together and the bus driver fixed the bus!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very happy with Julian travel the tour company that was used the guides were excellent they came to the resort picked us up and dropped us off which was great The tour was very good which included lunch it is well worth seeing would do it again. worst thing is the Vendors is Tangers.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic trip
Tour guide in Morocco was very impressive and knowledgeable

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! We loved everything, from the tour guide, the city,k the lunchand the shopping. We were very happy with this tour,

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We started in a modern bus and drove to a camel photo shoot, very tourist but worth the modest cost. We were then driven back into the city with a brief explanation of the old quarter we were to visit.

After leaving the bus, we began a trot through the old quarter of Tangiers, followed by a swarm of street vendors who clearly knew our route. One vendor reappeared at four different places on the route, offering different T shirt styles.

Our first stop in the old quarter was at a three story store of Moroccan items. We were herded up to the third floor for a lecture on Moroccan carpets, after which we were allowed a brief visit to the rest of the shop floors. If we knew what we were doing, and allowed to explore the store on our own, it would have been more fun and they might have made more money from sales.

Following an acceptable lunch, we trotted on to a spice company, again accompanied by the same group of street sellers. At the spice shop we sat through yet another lecture about their products. Again, if I had known we were doing this, I would have felt less like a wallet being dragged to another cash extraction point.

Finally, we and the street vendors trotted through the rest of our tour to meet up with the bus.

This was a whirlwind tour of Tangiers, if you stop for a photo, you lose the rest of the group. If all you want is a quick superficial shopping tour of Tangiers, this is your tour, just make sure to keep up with the group.

This tour could have been much more, perhaps for only a little bit more money. Suggestions.
1. Let us know in advance about the indoor shopping mall, and let us choose where to go in that market to maximize our time and possible spending. Everyone wins.
2. Stop at the museum of the inner quarter that we jogged by. Charge more to make up for the kickbacks lost.
3. If we cant stop anywhere else on our jogging tour, at least hand out a brochure explaining the architecture and history of the old quarter.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was okay--not the best but not the worst. The directions to the pick up location were sketchy at best literally near Plaza Poeta Manuel Alcántara, which is not an address and gave me really bad anxiety over whether we were in the right place or not.

The trip itself--bus, ferry, bus tour, walking tour of Tangier--was okay but not great. It was nice having someone deal with the ferry tickets and entrance to the country for me no customs, just pop on the tour sticker and you're good. The bus tour of Tangier gave us some good info, but also involved depressing camel rides. The walking tour had some interesting historical locations, but also involved two sit-down sales pitches one for carpets, one for herbs/oils which were a waste of time I sat in a corner and read my Kindle during these pitches.

As far as everyone complaining about getting harassed in the marketplace: I definitely won't mark down the TOUR for that. It's an expected and known way of life in many countries. Just learn to say no firmly.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message