• USD ($)
  • English
All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 678 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The best part was that fact that your tour company did a great job of making sure we were able to travel to Morrocco. The weather was not suitable for the ferry and they postponed the original trip. The wait was well worth it as out guide, a lecturer at the local university, was fantastic. His knowledge and awareness of local custom and behavior was an excellent addition to the sightseeing. Granada was treated the same as we were turned over to a Al Hambra specialist who knew the ins and outs of this great structure.

Doing what: Malaga Super Saver: Morocco and Granada Day Trips Including Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip was wonderful. They picked us up last, walking distance from our condo. Then we were first to be dropped off at the end of the day. The tour guide was knowledgable and knew his history. I felt that we got a good background on Morocco. The only draw back was the street peddlers. They are like pesky mosquitos that keep coming back no matter how many times you swat them. Also, I would have liked to visit more stores for shopping.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This tour was a good tour - it is exactly as it says - a day tour from Malaga to Tangier and we were picked up from Malaga by bus, and after a switch to a ferry we were in Tangier. The tour guide was knowledgeable about the facts leading up to Tangier and his English was quite good. The tour guide who took us through Tangier had excellent English and great knowledge of the history of the city. If you want to quickly see Morocco and visit the continent of Africa this is an excellent tour.

There were a couple of annoyances with the trip. The first is that we were picked up 15 minutes late. The lateness is exacerbated by the fact it is 05:00 and you are on a lonely street corner in the middle of Malaga hoping you have the right place, and a phone call to the tour operator doesn't reach anyone that early in the morning. You shouldn't fear though - they will show up. The second annoyance is that you sit through a carpet sales pitch and then a hair products sales pitch. Some people enjoyed it.

Overall, I found it worth doing - but there are a couple things I would change.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This was a terrible trip. We had to take a taxi at 4:30 in the morning to be at our pickup point by 4:45 as recommended. After more than 2 hours on the bus picking up other people, we headed for the ferry. Our first stop was the camels - a cheap ride for one euro but basically a one minute circle. I felt sorry for the camels, getting up and down from the ground many times in a row. They also looked dilapidated. Hardly any commentary from our Moroccan guide in the bus. When we got to the marketplace, it was difficult to stay with the group through narrow streets and CONSTANT vendors. We went to a rug factory with a five minute presentation and then could wander through three floors of very overpriced goods. We were followed closely by salespeople. Then to lunch, which was decent with some nice live music. Then on to the "spice market" which is no such thing. It's another store that showed us five spices and then every kind of snake oil you can imagine. We were there nearly an hour, and when I bought something in the very rushed checkout, oops, they shorted me ten euro. Mistake? Not quite sure, but if you want to buy a tea that will "wake up lazy husbands, wink wink" this is your place. Finally, we were given 15 minutes on our own to shop. Upon hearing that I was looking for jewelry, our guide directed me in a shop with "wonderful prices". He made sure the owner saw him. A short, bombarded walk back to the ferry where a special line got us through the lines fast. Three hours later, we were back to the hotel. I would not recommend this tour to anyone - yes, it's cool to say you were in Africa, but personally I'd sooner take a tour where I could learn something as well.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had the best tourist guides on this trip. Our guide from Malaga to Tangier was Pedro (Peter) he made the transfer through immigration to and from Morocco as smooth as possible. The other guide in Tangier was also great explaining all the history and sites. One tip to future travelers, buy souvenirs at the first stop of the bus, at the camel ride. At this stop you won't be have too many locals bothering you with their merchandise and you will be able to choose whatever you want. Souvenirs from vendors at this point are good and with some haggling you may bring the price down. Later on and, at the market the locals will make you crazy trying to sell you things to the point that you won't feel buying anything. Overall I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyable trip with 2 excellent guides. Well organised.
I did not enjoy the carpet presentation/sell but otherwise all was fine.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A great way to go if you want a taste of Morocco. It is all much too rushed and I wished we could have stayed and really enjoyed the experience, but it does provide the opportunity to enjoy the day in a very different place and culture. Tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

I would have given this day trip 5 stars if it were only for the Granada Day trip. The tour guides on the bus and at the Alhambra were very knowledgeable, professional, and spoke very good English. The Alhambra and adjoining Medina are stunning and the history of Granada is fascinating. The 3 star overall rating is due to giving the Tangier trip 1 star. The tour group was surrounded by street peddlers the entire time, which made enjoying the walk around the streets of Tangier almost impossible, and too much time was spent ushering the group to rug and spice stores where the proprietors were trying to sell us their goods. If you are on the market for a rug, then this may be the way to go - otherwise, consider another way to experience Morocco.

Doing what: Malaga Super Saver: Morocco and Granada Day Trips Including Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Fun and interesting during morning and through lunch, but after it just felt like being taken from one place to another to be sold products

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The tour guide Pedro was a very rude and impatient man. He insulted me personally as well as another member of the tour.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

If you do not like vendors literally in your face and have to listen to a rug and spice sales pitch - this is not the trip for you. The bus tour was very informative as far as the city of Tangiers and lunch was great. That being said - we wish there were more time for pictures. After the first 45 minutes of vendors literally in your face and the guides not trying to keep them away, it was a bit much. Could not enjoy the market experience at all. NO ONE enjoyed the sales pitches - I did not spend the money to sit through that. I was so excited to do this tour as it was the first time out of the country and it was a very disappointing experience. Would not go back to that area because of that experience.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The tour guide (Pedro) was abrupt and not particu;arly friendly - More like a drill sargent than a guide! Also left the bus before it reached the final drop off point. Driver's English no better than our Spanish - no problems, but not acceptable.
Starting in Malaga the bus ride is extremely long, picking up passengers for the next 2 hours. The logistics were well thought out and ferry connections went well.
The local guide in Tangier was knowledgable and interesting. We did not need to spend over an hour in a high end souvenir shop. Bad enough that the street hawkers are in your face all the time without being delivered and made captive to the more sophisticated shills.
For a 14 hour day we would have preferred to see more of Tangier social activity and historical aspects.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

First of all there was not a pickup available for me from the hotel where was staying in Malaga. Pickup was a 15 minutes walk away. Considering the pickup was at 5:00 AM (with a recommended time of 4:45AM) it was a too early time.

However every other passenger except the one in Malaga City Centre had a hotel pick up. And many of the hotels were way away from the expressway. So a 1.5 hour trip from Malaga to the Ferry terminal ended up as a 3.5 hour trip and the ferry boarding was at 9:00 AM.

While the Morocco visit went wonderfully, the return trip from the ferry terminal to Malaga again took too long. The worst part was a few kilometers from Malaga the tour company had to change the driver as it exceeded his driving hours and few of us had to wait for a new driver. So the 13 hour trip ended more like 14.5 hours!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

I was very unimpressed with this tour. If you are looking for a shallow look at Tangier, this is it. We received a very brief history of the country and were then basically brought to tourist traps. They took us to look at Moroccan rugs (which aren't that special) and then natural remedies. This could be done from home. No real cutlural experience, limited look at Tangier, and unimpressive content. And the lunch is nothing to rave about. After much travel and many good experiences, I was thoroughly disappointed by this one.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message