All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 852 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Exciting tour!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was everything I expected. The guide and bus driver were excellent. Even though the bus broke down and we were delayed, the guide held it together and the bus driver fixed the bus!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very happy with Julian travel the tour company that was used the guides were excellent they came to the resort picked us up and dropped us off which was great The tour was very good which included lunch it is well worth seeing would do it again. worst thing is the Vendors is Tangers.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic trip
Tour guide in Morocco was very impressive and knowledgeable

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We started in a modern bus and drove to a camel photo shoot, very tourist but worth the modest cost. We were then driven back into the city with a brief explanation of the old quarter we were to visit.

After leaving the bus, we began a trot through the old quarter of Tangiers, followed by a swarm of street vendors who clearly knew our route. One vendor reappeared at four different places on the route, offering different T shirt styles.

Our first stop in the old quarter was at a three story store of Moroccan items. We were herded up to the third floor for a lecture on Moroccan carpets, after which we were allowed a brief visit to the rest of the shop floors. If we knew what we were doing, and allowed to explore the store on our own, it would have been more fun and they might have made more money from sales.

Following an acceptable lunch, we trotted on to a spice company, again accompanied by the same group of street sellers. At the spice shop we sat through yet another lecture about their products. Again, if I had known we were doing this, I would have felt less like a wallet being dragged to another cash extraction point.

Finally, we and the street vendors trotted through the rest of our tour to meet up with the bus.

This was a whirlwind tour of Tangiers, if you stop for a photo, you lose the rest of the group. If all you want is a quick superficial shopping tour of Tangiers, this is your tour, just make sure to keep up with the group.

This tour could have been much more, perhaps for only a little bit more money. Suggestions.
1. Let us know in advance about the indoor shopping mall, and let us choose where to go in that market to maximize our time and possible spending. Everyone wins.
2. Stop at the museum of the inner quarter that we jogged by. Charge more to make up for the kickbacks lost.
3. If we cant stop anywhere else on our jogging tour, at least hand out a brochure explaining the architecture and history of the old quarter.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was okay--not the best but not the worst. The directions to the pick up location were sketchy at best literally near Plaza Poeta Manuel Alcántara, which is not an address and gave me really bad anxiety over whether we were in the right place or not.

The trip itself--bus, ferry, bus tour, walking tour of Tangier--was okay but not great. It was nice having someone deal with the ferry tickets and entrance to the country for me no customs, just pop on the tour sticker and you're good. The bus tour of Tangier gave us some good info, but also involved depressing camel rides. The walking tour had some interesting historical locations, but also involved two sit-down sales pitches one for carpets, one for herbs/oils which were a waste of time I sat in a corner and read my Kindle during these pitches.

As far as everyone complaining about getting harassed in the marketplace: I definitely won't mark down the TOUR for that. It's an expected and known way of life in many countries. Just learn to say no firmly.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour itself was great! But keep in mind you will be in the bus/boat for 6 hours of your day if you're in central Malaga. The bus picks you up first and then all the people who are staying between Malaga and Tangier, you're also the last to be dropped off. They need to look at changing this.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It was beautiful, but I felt a little unsafe. The tour guide was VERY knowledgable and made the tour worthwhile for me.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The guide barely tolerated the customers. I did not see him smile in 5 days.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It's hard to describe the experience during this tour... When crossing the Strait of Gibraltar, seen the Atlantic Ocean in one side, the Mediterranean sea on the other, Spain/Europe in the back and Morocco/Africa in front of you.... It's jus amazing....The tour guide in Tangier was great!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a well done tour. A little rushed with everything to see in a relatively short amount of time. The tour operators and guides were great, friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We made the mistake booking on a Friday day tour of Morocco. Most of the shops were closed do to afternoon prayers. We felt what we were able to purchase was very good prices. The lunch was unique and tasty. Thanks we have used Viator for several trips and have never had a bad experience.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This was the worst tour I have ever been on with viator. It was nothing but a sales tour for a carpet company and all the street hawkers. The lunch was very good but the afternoon tour was just driving around the city with the tour guide pointing out things. I wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour was terrible. We missed the ferry to Morocco. Then the guide absolutely ran us through the town and the market. Not worth it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A good way to see Morrocco quickly. It is a long day from Malaga 6am-9pm which was 3 hours longer than we were expecting. It would be a much better tour without stopping at the rug merchant. They are way too pushy sales people, it was uncomfortable and you could not escape them we also were there too long. The beggers on the street are better at least you can walk away. Other than that we liked the tour guides and being able to see sights we wouldn't have seen on our own.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Firstly - as per voucher I rang the local provider regarding the time for my included hotel pick up a couple of days before. I was told that they would ring my hotel and leave a message with the time on the afternoon before. As I had not received a message by 5:00pm I called, and received a very whoops - I forgot answer, and the information that I could not be picked up at my hotel and would have to be at their normal meeting point at 6:45, ? Hotel pick up included? A 15 minute walk was required.
The tour guide picked us up, and then we drove an hour to Marbella to collect our trip mates, who also had to be at a meeting point as they could not be picked up at their hotel ?? Then another hour to the ferry, before the hour trip on the ferry. The trip was good and the tour of the new part of Tangiers, the camel ride, the casbah were all good. What I did not appreciate was only being allowed in one 'approved' store in the souk, where it was obvious arrangements existed. The trip back was long and after dropping our companions in Marbella our guide dropped us closer to the hotel, as a favour. The experience of going to Tangiers was interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Morocco Day Trip to Tangier from Malaga

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The trip itself in Morocco was great but the pick up in Malaga with 4 hours of continuous pickups along the route to the ferry was painful. Had I known this, I would not have booked the trip. I would recommend 2-3 central pick up locations to make this a doable itinerary.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Terrible tour! Tour guide was distracted and unprofessional. We were taken to places simply to be preached to, and pressured to buy things. Would NOT recommend.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Two perspectives
First I enjoyed the Morrocan portion of the tour although it was extremely rushed and the tour guide slowly walked us thru what I consider extremly aggressive merchants. The lunch was amazing and the guide funny and helpful

On the Spanish side guide was rude and impatient. Very rude!

Doing what: Malaga Super Saver: Morocco and Granada Day Trips Including Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Tour quide was terrible, disgusting smelly, bus broke down, sat and waited for the ferrys both way, should of been back by 6pm, instead it was 11pm, the tour was then rush once we got there, lunch was just terrible and the hawkers just did not leave us alone, I would hate for anyone to go on this and experienced what we did.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Alhambra as well as Tanger were great experiences. We had good luck with the weather, which I think contributes to the total impression of both tours. The guides did a great job on both trips, and the traveling compagnions in the two busses were nice - especially on the trip to Tanger on Christmas evening.

Doing what: Malaga Super Saver: Morocco and Granada Day Trips Including Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you are looking for a day trip to Morocco from Spain, book this tour! They are punctual, knowledgable, and both of our guides, Janette and Hassan, were terrific. One thing you need to be aware of (which we were) is that the boat to Morocco leaves Tarifa at noon. The morning is basically reserved for pick ups along the coast, which we understood. Once in Morocco, the tour was great. I would not call it authentic, but it does give you a flavor of Africa. Hope to get Hassan because he great, very informative. One thing I would mention to the tour company is it would be a good idea to provide water to the participants. It was a long day, and that would have really helped.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message