All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 782 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pedro from Julia travel was very professional as was Hasan in Tangier. Only thing our party did not like was that we were taken to a "store" where we felt we were badgerd too much to purchase.Albeit the items were beautiful but too expensive, they did get me for a necklace but my husband was able to get the price down to something that he was willing to pay! My daughter wished to get inexpensive souvenirs and ended up going off on her own to shop in the Bazar whilst the second stop was made at the Herbalist.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I can now say "I've been to Africa" but I must say it was not the cleanest or best experience I have had! The tour bus which was great, picks you up at the allocated "stop" and off you go to Tarifa, the southern most point of Spain and incidentally, Europe! You get off and with a large crowd you go towards your ferry - all feels quite exciting because you know you are going somewhere "different" Sit in the Executive class section of the ferry, at the front; when you disenbark in Tangier, you see a flurry of activity, and your tour guide from Morocco is wearing a long white robe. Fascinating..You go onto another bus and off you are whisked to a few different places, first to a camel riding area, for 1 Euro. Do this; Then off to the Kasbah, a VERY old place inside old city walls. They take you around old and very dirty narrow streets, to a "Carpet" market where you sit down and they present all kinds of rugs to you -- they want to sell them to you; Then downstairs to a "Jewellery" market where they try to sell you items; everything MUST be bartered on. Then outside again to see a "snake charmer" a guy with a friend playing a pipe while the other guy is handling a Cobra! They offer to let you (for money) hold another snake; no thanks!! Then on to Lunch - in a 3rd floor building where music is playing..and they sit you down and serve you couscous, chicken, vegetables, soup. It honestly was delicious. Then off to a spices market..all to sell you things; people will come up to you on the street to constantly try to sell you things..in the end, it was worth the experience, just be aware of what Kind of Experience it will be..and be wary.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I totally recommend this tour. Was for shore an experience!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a great tour to get a real feel for Morocco. However as previous reviewers have mentioned, you do spend quite a bit of time on the bus so be warned as you cover a lot of miles. I read many of the reviews and these were very helpful to understand this tour. My tips are: bring food and drink for the first day because it's a very long stretch until lunchtime. I came prepared with a sandwich, water and cereal bars and that really helped. Lunch and dinner on the tour tend to be much later than I would normally eat (2pm and 9pm respectively on most days). You need to pay for the optional dinners in cash (in any currency) but we thought we could pay by card so had to re-look at our budget for other things. The dinners were worth it. The food was excellent and the shows entertaining. Both dinners were very different and reflect different aspects of Moroccan culture. Our guide Nadil was great and we also had good local guides but we were mainly listening to him in Spanish as it was stronger than his English. We paid for the Superior hotels (4 star) and this was definitely worth it. The hotel in Casablanca was great and the food excellent but the drinks were expensive and the watery orange juice not worth the 5 euro it cost, especially as we had a fresh OJ at lunch which was fabulous and much cheaper! The second hotel in Marrakech was also very nice but the food selection was nowhere near as good as the first. The third hotel in Fez was older and had lots of character but was a bit creaky and our AC didn't work. No one looked at it despite us asking. There are pools in all these hotels. Be prepared for the price bargaining you need to do everywhere in the markets. I learned by the end that if you are interested in something start your offer with less than half the price because you can often get it for half the original price quoted to you or a bit more. However be prepared to walk away as they often come running after you! Overall an amazing experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The itinerary was ok, the bus was clean and comfortable, as were the hotels. Our guide was knowledgable, but volunteered very little. We learned more in two hours with a local guide in Fez than we did during the entire tour with our main guide. I was expecting him to explain some of the history, geography, and culture of Morocco, but he did almost none of this. Morocco is a fascinating country with friendly people and beautiful sights. The guide should do more to show all this.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Interesting trip, and a great spanish tour guide/facilitator. The Tangier tour guide was also very knowledgable about local history, and I would have liked for him to elaborate even further, especially on the old part of town, the Kasbah. Some parts of the tour in the Kasbah felt more like a sales tour than sightseeing. Especially the Bazaar which basically was a three storey shopping centre with carpets, wood carvings and ceramics, and a huge and extremely persistent salesforce. What's described as the Medina is the same, with a thirty minute sales pitch for Argan/Moroccon Oil, Safran and other spices, creams and herbal "medicine".

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The trip was not well organized. It took us more than one hour to pick up the people from different hotels and drop them off.
The guide on the bus was annoying and not very polite. Her English was very poor and she did not give us any information about the places we passed through.
The guide in Tangier, Ahmed - genuine hustler. Talked too much but kept repeating the information about the area. It was very obvious that he took us to the shops that he had a deal with.
The lunch at the restaurant was OK but we were rushed and treated like merchandise by the staff. I would never go back to that restaurant by myself.
Overall, the experience was not good and I would probably not use Viator ever again.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We booked this trip for Wednesday and as requested contacted the local agent.
We turned up 15 minuets earlier than requested and waited. When they did not turn up we contacted the local agent only to be told they had left us behind! and had arrived 10 minutes before we had been told to be at the pick up point.
We booked the next day and turned up 30 minuets earlier than we were told and the bus arrived 5 minutes later, 25 minutes earlier than we had been told! but we were relieved to be on the bus at all.
The bus air conditioning did not work.... It was a very warm day and the bus was full!
The tour was OK but 2 parts of it involve pressure selling of ever ting from carpets to oil.
Lunch when we finally got it after 3pm was OK. We had a lot of older people on our trip who struggled with no food or water for 7 hours in the heat.
Other companies appeared much more organised and offered a very similar product.
That being said it would be difficult to do on your own due to lots of logistic issues.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The one star is for the air conditioned coach and good hotels. The tour is rushed, poorly coordinated and under informative. Mr Karim added little to the experience except for our tour of Rabat which was limited to 1.5hrs at a McDonalds in a shopping centre. Do you self a favour and do a proper tour

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This was a waste of money...we spent a total of 3 hours in Morocco, the rest of the time was spent picking up and dropping off other passengers all the way from Malaga.
The 'guide' on the bus from Malaga didn't introduce himself or speak to any of us until about 20mins before we reached the port. After spending over 3hrs on the bus, we spent another hour waiting for the ferry to take us across. We got picked up at 6am and didn't board the ferry until 11am!!!!......
Once we arrived in Morroco we where herded to another bus with another gave us a whirlwind 'tour' of the town before stopping at the camel rides, don't waste your time, it was one euro for a walk in a small circle in a dirty park. You get hassled by vendors wanting you to buy junk and they ask you for money if you take a photo.
Then another quick ride to see the point at which the seas meet, again don't waste your time it is a dirty grubby place they stop at which is NOT pretty or a spot to take photos, then off to the snake charmers which lasted all of five minutes before the hat came out and you are expected to pay for what your saw, then a very brisk walk to lunch, again the hat cam around after lunch as the band expected to be paid, then off to the carpet hard sell, it is here that you get the only opportunity to do any 'shopping'...then off to the sell of the herbs/spices, of which we saw none only oils and cream, then rounded up to get back to the ferry, we again waited for over an hour for the ferry so I don't know why we were rushed all over the place.
We had no free time to look around, no visit the the caves as stated in the advert, and I felt like we were just an opportunity for the locals to put their hands out at every chance. One of the guides helping keep the group together asked my husband for money, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, it was a day lost out of my holiday. We got back at 9pm!!!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour is not something I would recommend. There is absolutely nothing to see in Tangier, only dirty streets, annoying people, awful smell.
We had the worst tour guide (a woman with a French name) who didn't even speak proper English. She took our passports on the ferry and we haven't seen her until we arrived in Tangier so it was really unprofessional. She also told us that we can't go there even though we had proper visa.
The lunch was also really bad so we skipped it and at the end we stopped in some big shop for carpets and some other things and were forced to stay there for at least one hour.
Really, this tour is not worth money and time that you will spend.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Where to start - the WORST tour we have ever been on!! A party of 7, all looking forward to it and were all thoroughly disappointed. First off, we were given a pickup location of Malaga (we stayed in Marbella which the bus drove past) The pickup at 6am was late. Then 2.5 hours later we arrived at the ferry. Ferry journey was fine and went smoothly. Arrived in Morocco and told to find a bus? Our party of 7 ended up with single seats all over said bus which had NO air-conditioning (as stated it would), difficulty hearing the tour guide, plus he had to speak 6 different languages to accommodate everyone. The 30 minute stop for camel rides became a 10 minute stop in a layby at the side of the road! Two of the people had to run after the bus as it left without them!! So DONT get left behind!! The guided walk around the streets was a no-stopping march - didn't get the opportunity to take photos as if you stopped, the group were gone in seconds as it was small, maze-like streets. It appeared that we were getting a tour of the poorest part of Tangier and CONSTANTLY hounded by street sellers. We were taken to a "viewpoint" which was merely a construction site overlooking the sea. Very disappointing! One of the group needed to the use the toilet and was told that there was no place to go until we reached lunch. So from leaving the ferry there were NO toilets available for several hours. We were guided into a 3 storey shop which was the only chance we had to buy any souvenirs. They were friendly in here but basically made pricing up as they went. Make sure to haggle!!
Lunch was abysmal - we couldn't sit together and was very rushed - main and pudding thrown down together. NO Berber dancing demonstration as stated. The spice market was actually good and interesting.
Marched back to bus, again HOUNDED by street sellers, and driven to ferry. Ferry ride home was again ok. Bus journey back to Malaga was horrendous, took 3+ hours, again with no toilet break. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic, thanks for the great trip again! :)

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very nice day trip! Awesome tour guide Pedro!!!!!! He made all work very well and smoothly!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message