The star attraction of the Cozumel Reefs National Park - or Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Cozumel - not to mention Jacques Cousteau's television show, which quite literally put Cozumel on the map - is Palancar Reef. Actually composed of 4 separate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tom H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time! The crew, boat and refreshments were excellent. The first snorkling area sand reef with starfish was ok. The last 2 reefs were great. The equipment was very average.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Christine C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great time with good people running the tour and boat. Didn't see as many types of fish or any turtles as I thought we would see. I only remember two stops, but the water was choppy and that might have been the reason that one stop was cut out.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Mark R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Boat was cramped and nearly full, Crew was helpful and friendly, but failed to tells us much about the dive sites or points of interest.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, but the hour stop off at Playa Mia Beach Park was unnecessary...would have preferred to spend longer snorkeling.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkel Tour from Cancun: Coral Reefs and Playa Mia Beach Park

Dayna M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the beautiful spacious catamaran and the staff. I would only suggest that they choose more shallow reefs where snorkeling is worth it. Granted, I have 100s of dives under my belt and am truly spoiled. God bless! Our guides were professional and fun. Safety was their first concern. How beautiful to spend Thanksgiving on a cat with the one I love. The sunset sparkled and continued to amaze as the minutes passed. We arrived home at Allegro Cozumel to a full moon.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Gregory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time. Boat ride is a little long if you're a hardcore snorkeler, but if you like a slow boat ride on beautiful water and free beer, even that part is still kind of fun. Great guides really added to the fun factor of the experience.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Lorena D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The best: swim at very clear water. The coral reef is not as spectacular as one expected, not many colors to see.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Livia M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour, the guides were really good. Travel time to reef was too long though as it was an hour and then we only spent 30 mins there.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

mcjanolo78

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour leaves from Playa Del Carmen. If you are staying in the hotel zone, expect a one hour ride to Playa Del Carmen. There are shops there to see but we did not even have time to look around before we got on the ferry or after we got back from Cozumel. From Playa Del Carmen is another 45 minute ferry ride. The ferry takes you to Cozumel and then you board another boat to get to your snorkeling destination which is about 45 minutes to an hour. You get to snorkel for about 45 minutes then back to the boat and on to Playa Mia beach which is about 30-40 minutes ride. You then have about one and a half hour to eat lunch, go on the water park, or do the bouncy thing on the ocean. I felt that the whole trip was not worth it since we spent almost all day on a boat. 45 minutes snorkeling and then 1.5 hours on the beach. The slide was also not working when we got there. On the way back, another one hour to get to the pier to catch the ferry. We only had 40 minutes to look around and try to shop because you have to catch the ferry back to Cancun and then another 1.5 hours of driving back to the hotel zone. It was very tiring. I wish we had more time in Cozumel or on the beach. I must say that the staff was very helpful and very nice.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkel Tour from Cancun: Coral Reefs and Playa Mia Beach Park

Candice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an AWESOME time and saw some really cool fish and other sea life. Additionally, the staff was very pleasant and engaging. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting Cozumel!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Julie E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour went well with no unexpected issues. With the reviews on Palancar, I guess the only thing we would say, is that we kind of expected more fish and more colors. We have snorkeled and went Diving in other areas that were more vibrant. All in all, tour was good, Guides were great and did a good job.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Edmund R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The snorkelling whas kinda of like being herded like cows you all had to stay in one big pack and i ended up kicking people and getting kicked.
The beach party was okay, but mainly for kids.
I would have preferred a real sailboat that uses sail power they had sails but only used them for show - the motor was used all the time
I will try another, perhaps smaller, cruise next time.
The booze was good.

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

Diane G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

More than an hour and a half was taken up just picking up passengers. One of the reefs was a sandbar and not much to see. Realized I could have spent much less to take my family snorkeling by booking a boat in Cozumel and we would have seen more. Too much money for what we actually got.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

T United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you have never been snorkeling or Scuba diving, this excursion is awesome.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Madhu G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you want to vibrant coral and really exotic fish, this is not the island to snorkel at. The coral is dying and looked gray and although there were fish, nothing exceptional. The waves in the ocean were also a bit rough so a little difficult to snorkel. Snorkel gear was not the best.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Nola L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

blonde.freckled.love

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved everything about our tour! We definitely plan to book through you guys again anywhere we go! Thank you so much we had a blast and was a great experience!

Candice

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

pappy335

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

supposed to be three stop was only two. supposed to be sunset cruise after we were back in room by sunset, crew wasn't as friendly as most tothers I'd been on second reef Plancarwas too deep for good snorkeling but Columbia was nice.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Corley O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great time great staff

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

michelle e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we had a great time with the crew. i have a fear of water, but wanted to take this on and challenge my fear. the crew was very supportive and helpful. all the gear worked great and i ended up having a lovely time on the beautiful reefs. starting and ending at Money Bar gave us the option to shower and have lunch or keep on snorkeling closer to shore if we wanted. glad we chose this tour!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

jpcwhat

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

While I don't have many snorkeling experiences to compare this to, I did bring a party of 17 folks on this tour and we all had a great time. The crew was awesome and made sure everyone felt comfortable before hitting the water. The cervezas were flowing (if you so choose), and the music made us feel like we were on spring break (minus the nudity :)). And lets not forget about the sunset... absolutely beautiful. I'm only giving four stars because the snorkeling wasn't what we were expecting. We were in about 40 ft of crystal clear water but it still felt as though the reef was a little too far away to see anything much. We did chase down a couple sea turtles though. We were picked up at Paradise Beach where the staff was very accommodating. They actually waived the beach access fees and gave us free reign to everything. Awesome! One thing to keep in mind though is transportation. It might be a good idea to line up a shuttle or taxi. Our adventure went a little long and by the time we got back to port the beach was closed making it extremely difficult to find a ride... great story though. We had a great time and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

jpcwhat

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

While I don't have many snorkeling experiences to compare this to, I did bring a party of 17 folks on this tour and we all had a great time. The crew was awesome and made sure everyone felt comfortable before hitting the water. The cervezas were flowing (if you so choose), and the music made us feel like we were on spring break (minus the nudity :)). And lets not forget about the sunset... absolutely beautiful. I'm only giving four stars because the snorkeling wasn't what we were expecting. We were in about 40 ft of crystal clear water but it still felt as though the reef was a little too far away to see anything much. We did chase down a couple sea turtles though. We were picked up at Paradise Beach where the staff was very accommodating. They actually waived the beach access fees and gave us free reign to everything. Awesome! One thing to keep in mind though is transportation. It might be a good idea to line up a shuttle or taxi. Our adventure went a little long and by the time we got back to port the beach was closed making it extremely difficult to find a ride... great story though. We had a great time and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Andrew F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Staff was very friendly, enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Nana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! Sunset cruise on catamaran was fantastic !!! We had plenty of time to snorkel on two of the most beautiful reefs in Cozumel.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message