The star attraction of the Cozumel Reefs National Park - or Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Cozumel - not to mention Jacques Cousteau's television show, which quite literally put Cozumel on the map - is Palancar Reef. Actually composed of 4 separate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mitchell K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was a very long boat ride and the glass bottom boat isn't much. There was a lot of starfish at the first stop. At the other two stops there is fish but we were expecting more fish with more variety of colors. We did see one turtle, but I would not bank on seeing one, it was a very quick moment and then it was gone. The staff on the boat were nice.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Kathrynn L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour guides were punctual, friendly, and very accommodating but the actual snorkeling time was only 25 min or so. Plus, and this is not this tour's fault, but the truth about Cozumel in general is that all their reef is pretty much dead/destroyed. This is not openly admitted because so much tourism on the island is based on diving and snorkeling, but it's sadly true. Great tour to briefly see some damaged, dying reef.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable. We arrived late and someone drove us to meet the boat.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Amy M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The crew was very concerned about our safety throughout the trip which was important. I had hoped to see more while snorkeling. If you like to drink, this is the party for you. The sunset was beautiful. We got some great pictures.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Ashley L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Do NOT book this tour if you want to see any marine life other than starfish! Extremely disappointed. Our tour was cut short because the ocean was rough this day, but we were never told this. We did NOT go to Palancar reef. We went to Columbia reef which was basically large coral and almost NO fish. Then we swam to a deeper part of Columbia reef that the guides told us was Palancar. Wrong. The only redeeming part of the trip was the mini coronas on the boat ride home. My family snorkels and dives every summer in the Florida Keys, and this trip in Cozumel was such a let down. Worst excursion, hate we wasted our time and money on this trip!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Kary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My sister and I were two young ladies travelling alone. Choosing an excursion that is both safe and fun can always be a challenge. However, the Fury sailing, snorkelling and sunset tour was absolutely amazing. The staff via phone prior to trip and boat members were more than helpful. They guided us to where we needed to be and ensured we were accounted for. The boat staff were friendly, highly energized and created an atmosphere that everyone enjoyed. This trip was a great bang for your buck! We received complimentary drinks throughout the tour both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available, explored 2 major reefs equipment included, saw amazing wildlife, spent over an hour on a private beach meal, drinks, and fun activities included, and the sunset was breathtaking. The staff ensured everyones safety both on and off the boat and there was also a photographer on board who captured photos both underwater and on the boat. The guides both in and out of the water made the experience memorable. The colours in and out of the water were vivid and worth the full day. Next time myself or my sister are in Cozumel, we will be rebooking this excursion. I highly recommend it to people of all ages and capabilities. Our boat ranged from children to grandparents and everyone had fun. Thank you again to all the staff members that made my sister and I's experience in Cozumel a great one. Hands down my favourite excursion we did.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Leigh Ann G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Having gone on other tours like this, I was looking forward to it. To my surprise, the crew was very unfriendly. They did not socialize or interact at all with the guests. The snorkeling sites were very restrictive and not conducive really to snorkeling as the waters were too deep. The redeeming quality was the cookout on the beach and the beach party with all of the different water toys. Following this trip, 3 out of the 4 of us who went got travelors diarrha. The only one who didn't was the one of us who drank beer and not the refreshments with ice. This pretty much ruined the rest of our stay in Cozumel. I do not recommend this trip.

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

STEVE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

These guys are great. They were in the water with us snorkelling and when we were on the bouncing inflatables at our beach site. They made sure we were safe. Good way to spend the day. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

Kendra M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was our favorite tour we did. Nice tour guides and beautiful snorkeling and sunset. The snorkeling was a bit deep - better for scuba diving, but lots of coral and fish. The only reason I gave it a 4/5 is because we returned to a VACANT and DARK beach resort and literally had to walk 1/2 mile in the pitch darkness down the road to the next hotel to hail a taxi back to our resort. It was a bit scary and sketchy, but we found our way.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Vickie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

I think I should have researched it a little more. This was a party boat. I was looking for something more relaxing. The crew was excellent.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Tom H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time! The crew, boat and refreshments were excellent. The first snorkling area sand reef with starfish was ok. The last 2 reefs were great. The equipment was very average.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Christine C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great time with good people running the tour and boat. Didn't see as many types of fish or any turtles as I thought we would see. I only remember two stops, but the water was choppy and that might have been the reason that one stop was cut out.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Mark R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Boat was cramped and nearly full, Crew was helpful and friendly, but failed to tells us much about the dive sites or points of interest.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, but the hour stop off at Playa Mia Beach Park was unnecessary...would have preferred to spend longer snorkeling.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkel Tour from Cancun: Coral Reefs and Playa Mia Beach Park

Dayna M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the beautiful spacious catamaran and the staff. I would only suggest that they choose more shallow reefs where snorkeling is worth it. Granted, I have 100s of dives under my belt and am truly spoiled. God bless! Our guides were professional and fun. Safety was their first concern. How beautiful to spend Thanksgiving on a cat with the one I love. The sunset sparkled and continued to amaze as the minutes passed. We arrived home at Allegro Cozumel to a full moon.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Gregory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time. Boat ride is a little long if you're a hardcore snorkeler, but if you like a slow boat ride on beautiful water and free beer, even that part is still kind of fun. Great guides really added to the fun factor of the experience.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Lorena D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The best: swim at very clear water. The coral reef is not as spectacular as one expected, not many colors to see.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Livia M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour, the guides were really good. Travel time to reef was too long though as it was an hour and then we only spent 30 mins there.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

mcjanolo78

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour leaves from Playa Del Carmen. If you are staying in the hotel zone, expect a one hour ride to Playa Del Carmen. There are shops there to see but we did not even have time to look around before we got on the ferry or after we got back from Cozumel. From Playa Del Carmen is another 45 minute ferry ride. The ferry takes you to Cozumel and then you board another boat to get to your snorkeling destination which is about 45 minutes to an hour. You get to snorkel for about 45 minutes then back to the boat and on to Playa Mia beach which is about 30-40 minutes ride. You then have about one and a half hour to eat lunch, go on the water park, or do the bouncy thing on the ocean. I felt that the whole trip was not worth it since we spent almost all day on a boat. 45 minutes snorkeling and then 1.5 hours on the beach. The slide was also not working when we got there. On the way back, another one hour to get to the pier to catch the ferry. We only had 40 minutes to look around and try to shop because you have to catch the ferry back to Cancun and then another 1.5 hours of driving back to the hotel zone. It was very tiring. I wish we had more time in Cozumel or on the beach. I must say that the staff was very helpful and very nice.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkel Tour from Cancun: Coral Reefs and Playa Mia Beach Park

Candice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an AWESOME time and saw some really cool fish and other sea life. Additionally, the staff was very pleasant and engaging. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting Cozumel!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Julie E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour went well with no unexpected issues. With the reviews on Palancar, I guess the only thing we would say, is that we kind of expected more fish and more colors. We have snorkeled and went Diving in other areas that were more vibrant. All in all, tour was good, Guides were great and did a good job.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Edmund R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The snorkelling whas kinda of like being herded like cows you all had to stay in one big pack and i ended up kicking people and getting kicked.
The beach party was okay, but mainly for kids.
I would have preferred a real sailboat that uses sail power they had sails but only used them for show - the motor was used all the time
I will try another, perhaps smaller, cruise next time.
The booze was good.

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

Diane G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

More than an hour and a half was taken up just picking up passengers. One of the reefs was a sandbar and not much to see. Realized I could have spent much less to take my family snorkeling by booking a boat in Cozumel and we would have seen more. Too much money for what we actually got.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

T United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you have never been snorkeling or Scuba diving, this excursion is awesome.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message