Croatia ATTRACTIONS See all

Plitvice Lakes National Park

A national park since 1949 and a World Heritage Site since 1979, Plitvice (prounounced pleet-wee-cheh) is still relatively new on the European tourist trail, but certainly not undiscovered. Set at the top of Croatia’s Adriatic region in a karsted ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful day....Got a great email the day before trip to tell me again where to meet. Our tour guide from the start was a wonderful, full of energy, great young man. The day was rainy, cold and wet but it was still amazing. This is by far the best memory I will take with me from my trip to such a beautiful country. Be prepared to walk and have a very outdoor adventure.. so wear the right shoes...

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Juan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely beautiful!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Merle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great trip. The driver was excellent and the guide was outstanding. Even with some rain the guide was constantly planning and provided the best viewing schedule with weather limitations. The guide was probably one of the best we have enjoyed as she adjusted to our group and made the trip the most enjoyable possible. The scenery was unbelievable and one can only apprecitated in seeing for yourself. Do not omit this trip from a visit to Croatia. Every detail happened as planned with Viator.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Another rainy day in Croatia. Again, nothing anyone could control. The BIG difference here was Harris, the guide. He is upbeat, positive and finds a silver lining in everything, not to mention how knowledgeable he is. The driver was Ante who also did a great job. I loved this trip even in the rain - it made the waterfalls even more spectacular. However, your description of the trip has to be altered. We walked at least 8 kms. - that is NOT 1.5 miles. I was fine with it, but if someone is booking the trip based on a short walk, it is not accurate. Also, you said the max. group size was 15 and we were 17.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Samantha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour, got to do our own thing but with guidance on which way to walk and where to go. Tour guide was very friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great tour! First tour we've ever done and it did not let us down at all. Our tour guide, Jelena, was fantastic, her knowledge and passion for her country came across well and gave us a lot of interesting and local knowledge. The tour destinations were well chosen and the company we had on the tour was great too. I'd thoroughly recommend trying Croatia out.

Doing what: 8-Day Croatia Tour: Dubrovnik, Split, Trogir, Zadar, Zagreb and Plitvice

Franceli R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was really niece and worth the money. The guide guy was very friendly and told us many stories related to the tour. He also allowed us to enjoy the area on our own. At end of the tour he took us for a lovely local restaurant with cheap prices in comparison to the tourist areas!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lakes are beautiful and well worth a visit. The tour is great, not a small tour, a coach full but well organised. My only moan is that lunch is around 6 in the evening, so take some lunch with you.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyable day on the boat tour. precise timing and useful information during the trip. Crew very helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Alexandre D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ah, the small-group Plitvice lakes day trip. No small group, but great trip. Booked online for the next day. Very competitive prices - such a day trip can hardly get any cheaper, even if you want to go there by yourself. Bus was on time and tour went as described. We understand the trip can vary depending on weather, speed of people on the tour etc. Nothing the organisers can do anything about, but they show flexibility and eagerness to give an excellent experience to the visitors.

The tour itself was great. Stopped in a few nice spots on the way to the park, had a very good walk in the park throughout the day about 12km - yes, take walking shoes and saw all the main waterfalls. Gorgeous site - clearly a must-see in Croatia.

One last point: absolutely outstanding guide. Haris evenly balanced the day with information on the country and the park and time to walk simply enjoying the park.

Would recommend this trip without hesitation.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Lesley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic day trip, We had an excellent guide Tammi, she was friendly, knowledgeable and informative. It was a fair distance to walk in the heat, but manageable. There were amazing views of lakes and waterfalls around every corner. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you get Tammi as a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Sharad S M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Haris was a wonderful and engaging guide. He was very earnest in showing us all of Plitvice. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Caroline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My friend and I had a really great time on this tour! We booked it a day and a half in advance, and were really pleased with our whole experience. Our hotel was a little out of Split city center, and the company arranged a private pickup and drop off for us I think it's available for three hotels. Loved our guide, Haris, who had lots of interesting information to share and always made sure we were having a great time. Highly recommend - Plitvice is hands down the most beautiful place I've seen, and I think this was a great tour company to experience it with!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Natasha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was very well paced and we managed to cover 12 km of the national park allowing us to see all of the waterfalls!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Ehab A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The park is like a peace from heavens! Amzing place, and well maintained.
The tour guide is very informative and so friendly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Yesica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Siva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide for the tour was Danmir. In short, he is an awesome guide. The travel from Split to Plitvice takes about 4-5 hours by road. I thought it will be a long and boring journey. but Danmir over the course of the trip was narrating us the history of Croatia, the climate, the places, people etc. Me and my friends thoroughly enjoyed it. At Plitvice we couldn't go to the main Waterfalls, since the shorter route was under work, still the hike was really beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Yvette W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were surprised to have a driver and guide to ourselves. It was a very nice day. The guide was very friendly and helpful. We walked for hours and saw a lot of the lakes as we could go at our own pace, a very enjoyable day out and truly breath taking to see. Would recommend you must do this trip if in the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Dina R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the waterfalls! The tour guide who accompanied us was so friendly and full of information. Highly recommended excursion!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Grammy/Opa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver and tour guide performed their duties in a superb professional manner. The day was an extremely joyous experience of being in God's beautiful creation. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Rana H United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Plitvice Lakes are incredible. Great views! Our tour was private so we had the flexibilty to decide how much time to spend at each spot. The drive from Zagreb to the Lakes was very comfortable as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

mbufford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We would recommend this tour since the the lake area is unbeliebably beautiful. Our guide gave much history along the way, it was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

George H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We were extremely luck to have a very small group on our tour - only 6 people plus a guide and a driver in a minibus. The guide and the driver were very flexible in their arrangements and very professional enabling us to make the most of the tour by occasionally moving outside the itinerary to see different aspects of Croatia. The hotels were mostly very good and the meals were also good. The one possible exception was the Hotel I in Zagreb, an old "Yugo" style place with rather indifferent staff and rather poor breakfasts. The local guides were all very good and there was plenty of free time provided. Although the hotels were not centrally located this was not a problem because the itinerary was so full. Overall a great experience and a great introduction to Croatia.

Doing what: 8-Day Croatia Tour: Dubrovnik, Split, Trogir, Zadar, Zagreb and Plitvice

Yu Fang W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It's absolutely gorgeous place. The day we were there was raining hard, but I have no problem with that. Our guide told us we could take our time to take photos as long as we make sure we followed the group. The guide walked fast while we were in the park. None of wanted to be last or got lost in the park, so we all somewhat walked fast as well. Wish we could have more times to take photos and enjoy the view.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message