Croatia ATTRACTIONS See all

Plitvice Lakes National Park

A national park since 1949 and a World Heritage Site since 1979, Plitvice (prounounced pleet-wee-cheh) is still relatively new on the European tourist trail, but certainly not undiscovered. Set at the top of Croatia’s Adriatic region in a karsted ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lakes are beautiful and well worth a visit. The tour is great, not a small tour, a coach full but well organised. My only moan is that lunch is around 6 in the evening, so take some lunch with you.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

beautiful and well laid out so that you didn't always see how crowded it was. Our host was exceptional and very informative. marina passed on a lot of knowledge about the park.

Doing what: Plitvice National Park Full-Day Tour from Zadar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyable day on the boat tour. precise timing and useful information during the trip. Crew very helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice and interesting tour! The guide was nice and asked us our opinion about the paths we wanted to take. Highly recommended, the lakes are well preserved and the water is amazingly transparent!

Doing what: Plitvice National Park Full-Day Tour from Zadar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ah, the small-group Plitvice lakes day trip. No small group, but great trip. Booked online for the next day. Very competitive prices - such a day trip can hardly get any cheaper, even if you want to go there by yourself. Bus was on time and tour went as described. We understand the trip can vary depending on weather, speed of people on the tour etc. Nothing the organisers can do anything about, but they show flexibility and eagerness to give an excellent experience to the visitors.

The tour itself was great. Stopped in a few nice spots on the way to the park, had a very good walk in the park throughout the day about 12km - yes, take walking shoes and saw all the main waterfalls. Gorgeous site - clearly a must-see in Croatia.

One last point: absolutely outstanding guide. Haris evenly balanced the day with information on the country and the park and time to walk simply enjoying the park.

Would recommend this trip without hesitation.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic day trip, We had an excellent guide Tammi, she was friendly, knowledgeable and informative. It was a fair distance to walk in the heat, but manageable. There were amazing views of lakes and waterfalls around every corner. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you get Tammi as a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Haris was a wonderful and engaging guide. He was very earnest in showing us all of Plitvice. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My friend and I had a really great time on this tour! We booked it a day and a half in advance, and were really pleased with our whole experience. Our hotel was a little out of Split city center, and the company arranged a private pickup and drop off for us I think it's available for three hotels. Loved our guide, Haris, who had lots of interesting information to share and always made sure we were having a great time. Highly recommend - Plitvice is hands down the most beautiful place I've seen, and I think this was a great tour company to experience it with!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was brilliant. Easy pick up and a/c in bus on way there. Tour guide was lovely and was happy for us to go at our own speed. The park was fantastic! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Plitvice National Park Full-Day Tour from Zadar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was very well paced and we managed to cover 12 km of the national park allowing us to see all of the waterfalls!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The park is like a peace from heavens! Amzing place, and well maintained.
The tour guide is very informative and so friendly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide for the tour was Danmir. In short, he is an awesome guide. The travel from Split to Plitvice takes about 4-5 hours by road. I thought it will be a long and boring journey. but Danmir over the course of the trip was narrating us the history of Croatia, the climate, the places, people etc. Me and my friends thoroughly enjoyed it. At Plitvice we couldn't go to the main Waterfalls, since the shorter route was under work, still the hike was really beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were surprised to have a driver and guide to ourselves. It was a very nice day. The guide was very friendly and helpful. We walked for hours and saw a lot of the lakes as we could go at our own pace, a very enjoyable day out and truly breath taking to see. Would recommend you must do this trip if in the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the waterfalls! The tour guide who accompanied us was so friendly and full of information. Highly recommended excursion!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver and tour guide performed their duties in a superb professional manner. The day was an extremely joyous experience of being in God's beautiful creation. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

Rana H
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Plitvice Lakes are incredible. Great views! Our tour was private so we had the flexibilty to decide how much time to spend at each spot. The drive from Zagreb to the Lakes was very comfortable as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We would recommend this tour since the the lake area is unbeliebably beautiful. Our guide gave much history along the way, it was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We were extremely luck to have a very small group on our tour - only 6 people plus a guide and a driver in a minibus. The guide and the driver were very flexible in their arrangements and very professional enabling us to make the most of the tour by occasionally moving outside the itinerary to see different aspects of Croatia. The hotels were mostly very good and the meals were also good. The one possible exception was the Hotel I in Zagreb, an old "Yugo" style place with rather indifferent staff and rather poor breakfasts. The local guides were all very good and there was plenty of free time provided. Although the hotels were not centrally located this was not a problem because the itinerary was so full. Overall a great experience and a great introduction to Croatia.

Doing what: 8-Day Croatia Tour: Dubrovnik, Split, Trogir, Zadar, Zagreb and Plitvice

Elle G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I visited the park in July 2015 on this 13-hour day trip from the historic Croatian town of Split. The day began with a 4-hour drive leaving at 7am and arriving to the park by 1130am. We then hiked up through the upper lakes from Station 2 to 3. Being a group of 26 people Note: we were promised a group of no more than 15 people when we booked amongst a number of other tour groups the guides did not keep very good track of us and at the first fork in the road a group of 8 or so of us got segmented off into our own group. Given little direction to where we were meant to be walking we were left stressed and rushing through the talked up first segment of the upper lakes hike until we eventually caught up with the others. From that point on my brother and I stayed just in front of the guide to get away from the crowd and rush, where stopping to take photos felt like too much of a hazard as the pathway was just wooden blocks of assorted shapes and sizes just wide enough for two people at a time nailed together. Going ahead was such a brilliant idea as we found many spots where we were almost alone and able to properly enjoy the tranquil atmosphere. After being informed that we were walking to Station 3, we did not need the guides direction as the path was simple and well signposted so we were not worried about getting separated from the group again. After reaching Station 3 we caught the bus down to Station 1, where we continued the hike along the lower lakes and back up to Station 2. Personally this was my favourite part as it contained many of the waterfalls including the Big Waterfall with a 30m drop which had me reminiscing back to Yosemite as well as the bluest water full of assorted fish which had me feeling like I was underwater snorkeling.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour is a great day trip from Split.

The bus was comfortable, the Plitvice lakes are gorgeous, the tour guide was great, and you had enough time to walk around the park.

Unfortunately, the Plitvice lakes are approx a 4 hour drive each way from Split. So basically, you drive 4 hours, spend 4 hours in the park, and drive back for 4 hours. This is one full day trip.

Nora, the contact for this tour, is not very responsive when arranging a pick up location and for any questions, but the tour guide, Haris, was fabulous! You get picked up in a large bus and my trip had a group of 22 people. The group size doesn't really matter for this tour, though, because the bus is very large, and you can walk through the lakes on your own while staying with the group.

I asked the tour guide which day trip is better- the Plitvice lakes or the Krka national park, and he said that although you can swim in Krka, there is more to see at the Plitvice lakes even though you cannot swim there.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour itself was awesome, due to the lakes and because of the guide Damir. He was really informative on the journey and we learnt so much about Croatia.

The negative is that this was definitely not a small group, nor a minibus... We had a coach with 30 people and journey took 4.5 hours there!

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely tour. Our guide however only gave us time for lunch at 6pm! Not so nice.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall enjoyable trip.Guide was nice and friendly.
But, pickup area was not clearly mentioned in our e mail-we were asked to wait in front of the harbor Office and we waited for 15 minutes till the guide found us. Ensure this is clearly and correctly stated-pick up area is beside the Harbor office and not in front. Map would help.
Also,Viator ad says this is small group with up to 15 people but the bus had 30 people! Please look into this.

Doing what: Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message