Fantasy dramas have an uncanny way of bringing out the magic in a real-life location – just look at what Lord of the Rings has done for tourism in New Zealand – so its no surprise that Croatia has seen a spike in tourist interest since fan-favorite  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was great ! Both from a Dubrovnik historical perspective and for fans of Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, great mix of history and game of thrones info. Our guide was brilliant and really knowledgable about game of thrones, she could tell you exactly which episode and which scene were shot in each location. There are lots of tours from other companies but ours was far the most organised and smallest numbers We had only 15 on our tour which was a nice size and we saw other companies with more like 50, definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was awesome- everything I expected and more. Our guide Yelena was great at both tossing out GoT tidbits and history lessons. I have never enjoyed such a long and mostly uphill walk so much. : Definitely a must for any Thrones fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was Natasha and she was brilliant. Not only was the audio tour for the Game of Thrones superb she supplemented this with photographs of actual scenes as we went from location to location.

We also had a Croatia history lesson at the St Lawrence tower, which to me was very important.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was fantastic. Nataša was a wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about both Game of Thrones and the city of Dubrovnik, making for an informative and enjoyable tour all around. Her passion for GoT was infectious and made the tour fun for the whole group!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide was very friendly and informative, giving plenty of information not only about Game of Thrones but about Dubrovnik itself, including some very interesting facts about the history of the town. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide knew literally everything about Game of Thrones and her English was excellent. She was also very good at preventing spoilers! Overall, a fascinating tour that took in everything, including the filming locations, the fortress and the city walls.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

shielsy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Im not one for going on organiswd tours but this was superb? our local guide was very informative and extremely proud of her city. Seeing where some of the scenes from Game of Thrones were filmed was an added bonus. The views from the fortress and the city walls are beautiful.Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable about Game of Thrones and Dubrovnik. She had also been an extra for the series so could give us some inside gossip about the show and how things were behind the scenes which was cool to hear about.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a Game of Thrones walking tour purchased through Viator. The tour company was Elite, and our guide Natasa was excellent. She paced the tour perfectly, was helpful and knowledgeable.

I had been worried that the tour would be too GoT oriented, but it turned out to be the perfect mix of real Dubrovnik history with filming information. She had screen shots to show what various spots looked like in the show, and it was fascinating to see what was real versus what was computer-generated. She also gave us a good sense of Dubrovnik's historical role and the impact of the recent Balkan wars.

The tour finished by walking partway around the city wall. Those who wanted to walk the rest could do so on their own. We booked an optional add-on, a visit to Trsteno arboretum where some GoT scenes were filmed. Only about 1/4 of our morning group went on this tour, but I would recommend it if you have the time.

Natasa gave us a break for lunch, much needed after the morning's walk and the heat of the walls. Then we went by bus to Trsteno, a pretty 25-minute drive. This lovely garden is worth a visit for nature lovers as well as GoT fans. The cool, quiet arboretum was a treat after the heat and crowds of Dubrovnik, and we got to see some of the spectacularly beautiful Croatian coast.

Overall great tour, highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Natasa was an excellent guide with so much knowledge and passion for Game of Thrones which is what you want when you book a tour. She also told us about the history of Dubrovnik which was fantastic as we didn't know anything about it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is a Game of Thrones fan :-

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide was wonderful- friendly, informative and funny. The tour not only gave us an insight into Game Of Thrones locations and filming, but also the history of Dubrovnik itself. Highly recommended to GoT fans and nerds, and also those curious about the cities colourful past!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I recently took your Split and Dubrovnik Game of Thrones tour. They were both fabulous. Not only entertaining but also very educational. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Combo: 'Game of Thrones' in Dubrovnik and Split

Carmel
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maja was a great tour guide---fluent in English, very informative, and patient with our questions. She is also very knowledgeable of the areas of Spilt where Game of Thrones scenes were filmed. Our tour started at 3 p.m. and the traditional lunch did not happen until around 4:30 but it was still very good. We went to Maslina and had the octopus salad and homemade bread.

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour with a mix of Game of Thrones scene locations and Dibrovnik history. Our guide was a wealth of information on the filming of GOT in Dubrovnik as well as the history of Dubrovnik from bygone centuries to more recent events of the early 1990's. Highly recommended for Game of Thrones fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour... The tour guide (I believe her name was Natasa) was great; she was very helpful and told us everything we needed to know about the history of Dubrovnik as well as showing us all the filming locations from Game of Thrones scenes.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I went on this tour my first full day in Dubrovnik. I absolutely loved everything from the guide to the numerous stops. This tour will take you to most of the places a visitor to Dubrovnik wants to see, and you learn about history and Game of Thrones while doing so. This is a must for everyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was one of the best I have ever experienced. The guide Lana was very knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson along with the Game of Thrones tour. Dubrovnik is a very special place and I will always remember my trip and tour. I hope to return some day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Sane as other tours we booked with Viatar Montenegro and Game of Thrones in Dubrovnik were amazing and well organized.
Learned a lot about history, culture and the war from Anna, our tour guide. who not only was very nice and friendly but did an excellent job managing English-Spanish without anybody feeling left out.

Doing what: Small-Group Bosnia and Herzegovina Day Trip from Dubrovnik including Medjugorje and Mostar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though, we both, me and my daughter, fans of Game of Thrones we were not planning on taking this tour but after some consideration we went on this tour and i'm glad we did. What a treat!!! Not only it is because of upcoming new season of GOT next week but also, we learned a lot about the history of Dubrovnik. The tour guide was excellent, perfect English, nice and friendly but at the same time very professional.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb as I was the only person on the tour. Definitely a must for Games of Thrones fan as this tour provided some aspects of the show that will be aired in Season 5

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you are a Game of Thrones fan, this is the walking tour for you. Our guide, Anna, was well versed in the various characters, dialog used in the shows and where stuff happened in the walled city. The visual aids she carried throughout the tour were exceptional. Many great dialog exchanges from the series occurred between us and our guide during the walking tour, This is an exceptional experience. Not to be missed if you are a GOT fan. In fact it could possibly be the primary reason to do the pilgrimage to Dubrovnik. And, Anna was an extra in the series; so you will be walking with one of stars of the show.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Marija was extremely knowledgeable about Game of Thrones and Croatian history and created a great combination that was informative and interesting. The scenery is spectacular and a guided tour is an excellent way to see the Old City. Though be warned, there is a fair bit of stair climbing involved.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Game of Thrones Tour in Dubrovnik, with expert tour guide Ana, was the best tour I did in all of Croatia. Ana was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We especially liked hearing about her experiences as an extra on the show during the 4th season. I would also highly recommend visiting the Trsteno Arboretum for real Game of Thrones fans since many amazing scenes in the show were shot there. Even if you are not familiar with GOT the gardens and sea views in Trsteno are spectacular. Both in the old city and in the gardens the photo taking opportunities are endless. Everything about the tour was extremely professional and I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour for any Game of Thrones fan. Our guide(I think it was Ana) was very enthusiastic about both Dubrovnik and Game of Thrones. The visual aids were great for helping to see the venues we were standing in as they looked in the show after the special effects people had tweaked them. Having been to Dubrovnik before it was wonderful to see it from a different perspective.
Just a caution...there are a lot of steps and in the heat they can be quite challenging.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message