Fantasy dramas have an uncanny way of bringing out the magic in a real-life location – just look at what Lord of the Rings has done for tourism in New Zealand – so its no surprise that Croatia has seen a spike in tourist interest since fan-favorite  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant tour with an amazing guide. Perfect length for a walking tour and guide had knowledge not just of Game of Thrones but gave a great insight into the history of Split and Croatia as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant tour with an amazing guide. Perfect length for a walking tour and guide had knowledge not just of Game of Thrones but gave a great insight into the history of Split and Croatia as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, not only about game of thrones but you learn some history and see important sites as well. Tour guide was very knowledgable. This tour is not good for people who cant handle a fast paced hike up and down stairs and lots of walking. It was really hot and exhausting but totally worth it

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I'm typically not a fan of guided tours, but my wife and I booked a walking tour of the Ancient City Walls through Viator and I'm so glad we did.

The views of the city and Adriatic are amazing from up on the Walls, but our guidewho grew up in Dubrovnik, but spoke excellent Englishadded immeasurably to the experience.

She shared the history of the city and its walls as we walked, and also gave us plenty of more recent history related to Game of Thrones, which was fun. Our guide's name was Marija and, if you're lucky enough to get her, you're in for a treat!

My wife and I were actually the only people who showed up for the morning tour and, technically, our guide could have cancelled the vouchers for the tour stipulated a minimum of four participants. But, instead, she agreed to take just the two of us along the southern half of the Wall, which extends along the seait felt like our own, private tour, and it still lasted over an hour versus the typical two hours suggested for the entire wall. Given the high heat and humidity on this particular day, this half-tour worked out perfectly.

Even if, like me, you're not a fan of guided tours, this is one instance where it's absolutely worth the expense and effort.

Doing what: Best Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the city and of the Game of Thrones locations, amazing tour guide - knowledgeable, fun and open to questions. The guide told us also about Dubrovnik past history and culture, including Game of Thrones anectodes on the movie shooting, while showing us the whole city. Highly recommended indeed!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed the tour, it was a mix of Dubrovnik's history as well a tour of places where Game of Thrones was shot, Our guide, Marija, was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable and clearly a fan! I'd advise having breakfast and taking a bottle of water with you as its a big tour, hard work at times with lots of steps but then that's pretty much the case everywhere you go in Dubrovnik!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Professionally run and very interesting - a nice blend of the history of Dubrovnik, and the location of scenes from Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide Lana was very nice, friendly and informative, she really made the tour! It was a wonderful blend of Croatian history, Game of Thrones trivia and sightseeing. Would recommend it to all, even non GoT fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of History about Klis, Diocletians Palace and Split beside Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth noting that this is a deal for two separate tours at different times of the day! We didn't realise that, but it wasn't an issue on the day. Our guide, Marko, was excellent - very funny and full of interesting stories. Would definitely recommend avoiding the many Game of Thrones tours which surely most fans could work out for themselves?! and doing a tour of proper Dubrovnik history instead. Also note that you have to pay the City Walls entry fee separately - couple of people on our tour hadn't noticed that on their tour information and were not happy about it!

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was great ! Both from a Dubrovnik historical perspective and for fans of Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, great mix of history and game of thrones info. Our guide was brilliant and really knowledgable about game of thrones, she could tell you exactly which episode and which scene were shot in each location. There are lots of tours from other companies but ours was far the most organised and smallest numbers We had only 15 on our tour which was a nice size and we saw other companies with more like 50, definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was awesome- everything I expected and more. Our guide Yelena was great at both tossing out GoT tidbits and history lessons. I have never enjoyed such a long and mostly uphill walk so much. : Definitely a must for any Thrones fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was Natasha and she was brilliant. Not only was the audio tour for the Game of Thrones superb she supplemented this with photographs of actual scenes as we went from location to location.

We also had a Croatia history lesson at the St Lawrence tower, which to me was very important.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was fantastic. Nataša was a wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about both Game of Thrones and the city of Dubrovnik, making for an informative and enjoyable tour all around. Her passion for GoT was infectious and made the tour fun for the whole group!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide was very friendly and informative, giving plenty of information not only about Game of Thrones but about Dubrovnik itself, including some very interesting facts about the history of the town. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide knew literally everything about Game of Thrones and her English was excellent. She was also very good at preventing spoilers! Overall, a fascinating tour that took in everything, including the filming locations, the fortress and the city walls.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

shielsy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Im not one for going on organiswd tours but this was superb? our local guide was very informative and extremely proud of her city. Seeing where some of the scenes from Game of Thrones were filmed was an added bonus. The views from the fortress and the city walls are beautiful.Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable about Game of Thrones and Dubrovnik. She had also been an extra for the series so could give us some inside gossip about the show and how things were behind the scenes which was cool to hear about.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a Game of Thrones walking tour purchased through Viator. The tour company was Elite, and our guide Natasa was excellent. She paced the tour perfectly, was helpful and knowledgeable.

I had been worried that the tour would be too GoT oriented, but it turned out to be the perfect mix of real Dubrovnik history with filming information. She had screen shots to show what various spots looked like in the show, and it was fascinating to see what was real versus what was computer-generated. She also gave us a good sense of Dubrovnik's historical role and the impact of the recent Balkan wars.

The tour finished by walking partway around the city wall. Those who wanted to walk the rest could do so on their own. We booked an optional add-on, a visit to Trsteno arboretum where some GoT scenes were filmed. Only about 1/4 of our morning group went on this tour, but I would recommend it if you have the time.

Natasa gave us a break for lunch, much needed after the morning's walk and the heat of the walls. Then we went by bus to Trsteno, a pretty 25-minute drive. This lovely garden is worth a visit for nature lovers as well as GoT fans. The cool, quiet arboretum was a treat after the heat and crowds of Dubrovnik, and we got to see some of the spectacularly beautiful Croatian coast.

Overall great tour, highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Natasa was an excellent guide with so much knowledge and passion for Game of Thrones which is what you want when you book a tour. She also told us about the history of Dubrovnik which was fantastic as we didn't know anything about it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is a Game of Thrones fan :-

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide was wonderful- friendly, informative and funny. The tour not only gave us an insight into Game Of Thrones locations and filming, but also the history of Dubrovnik itself. Highly recommended to GoT fans and nerds, and also those curious about the cities colourful past!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I recently took your Split and Dubrovnik Game of Thrones tour. They were both fabulous. Not only entertaining but also very educational. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive Combo: 'Game of Thrones' in Dubrovnik and Split

Carmel
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maja was a great tour guide---fluent in English, very informative, and patient with our questions. She is also very knowledgeable of the areas of Spilt where Game of Thrones scenes were filmed. Our tour started at 3 p.m. and the traditional lunch did not happen until around 4:30 but it was still very good. We went to Maslina and had the octopus salad and homemade bread.

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour with a mix of Game of Thrones scene locations and Dibrovnik history. Our guide was a wealth of information on the filming of GOT in Dubrovnik as well as the history of Dubrovnik from bygone centuries to more recent events of the early 1990's. Highly recommended for Game of Thrones fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message