Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Aguas Calientes

If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 439 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour fulfilled our great expectations! Our tour people let us know that we would be picked up at 5:40 from our hotel, then took us to the larger bus other vans were collecting other people from wherever, and bringing them to this collecting point...very efficient. Then we had our two hour bus ride to the train station, where we boarded for our two hour ride to Aguas Calientes...we chose the Vistadome train options...very nice! We had a breakfast on board. Up to our Aguas Calientes arrival, we had a spanish speaking guide...who spoke a tiny bit of English. We missed out on some information he was sharing with the other Spanish-speaking passengers. But we were very much the minority, so no big grumbling there. That guide kept us all together as we caught the shuttle up to Machu Picchu itself, and he made sure we got connected with our English speaking tour guide there. It turned out there were only 3 of us....lucky us! He told us that the day before, he had 18 in his tour....this was quite a slow day. Again...lucky for us: the site was much less crowded than it often is. And the weather was PERFECT!!! Our guide was excellent.
Everything was just as I dreamed it would be. The trip from Cusco was long, but it's through beautiful countryside, so it was not an experience to be endured but rather relished.
The tour operator is Viajo Pacifico or something like that. They provided all of our services: Cusco airport transfers, and the Cusco City Tour. They were always very professional...calling our hotel each evening at 7 pm to confirm our next day's tour details, and each time they picked us up EXACTLY when they said they would be there. I'm very impressed by this company.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Dillon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing all in one trip from Cusco to Machu Pichu! thank you for amazing experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alex P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent experience! Everything was very well planned!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, prompt efficient, good communication. Johnny was an excellent guide. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to visit Machu Picchu for a day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Eric L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I ended up being alone on this tour. It was great to be one on one with a guide. Machu Picchu is amazing. Having a guide explaining everything to you is the way to go. After the tour was over, I stayed there and got to experience over and over what my tour guide explained to me allowing everything to sink in as I took my time.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Guided Group Tour from Aguas Calientes

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day with a lot of changing of vehicles and guides but it was handed well. The guide at Macchu Picchu, Hector was excellent. The train ride is long but if you take the Vistadome as least it is climate controlled and you are fed for free. The service on the train is excellent. It's a great way to see one of the wonders of the world in one day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ericroberto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were impressed with the way that the Viator guides directed 1 on the bus trip from the hotel to the train station in Ollantaytambo, 2 to the train itself, to the base of Machu Piccu in Aguas Calientes, and t3 through Aguas Calientes to the bus trip on the switchback road to Machu Picchu entrance. All explanations and directions were spot on by the Viator guides involved along all of the parts of the journey. At Machu Picchu itself, Jaime was very accommodating, quite knowledgeable, and obviously enjoyed what he was doing. He even pointed out the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

shanesuzuki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

From start to finish, this trip was great. There were 8 of us, plus our guide, making it a large enough group to meet new people, but small enough to be flexible and fun. Our guide met with each of us the night before to brief us on the next four days and answer any last minute questions. Each day of the trip was busy, but at a perfect pace to still enjoy the hiking and biking. The final day at Machu Picchu was fantastic and lives up to the hype.

Bring - swim trunks, bug spray, sun screen, flip flops, a light jacket, head lamp. Don't overpack, the hiking is not strenuous, but is made much easier by having a small pack.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Diana was an awesome tour guide. Such a beautiful and awesome place. Glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Joseph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was extremely impressed by how well this trip was organized. There are a lot of items to coordinate when going to see Machu Picchu (bus tickets, train tickets, park tickets, tour guide). Viator did a fantastic job of handling the details and ensuring that things went smoothly during our trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours and places we visited in South America this was our favourite. The train ride and accompanying entertainment was lots of fun. But the icing on the cake was our visit to Machu Picchu.
Our tour guide was interesting, funny and very knowledgeable. But the icing on the cake was our visit to Machu Picchu. We would strongly recommend that visitors to South America make the effort to go to Machu Picchu. It's the icing on the cake!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Mrs A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything was perfect, met at the airport and taken to our hotel, and afternoon tour of Cusco was interesting. Picked up next morning and taken to the station for Machu Picchu. Excellent guide of Machu Picchu - just stunning place!! All went exactly to plan

Doing what: 3-Day Cusco and Machu Picchu Tour

Maria P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was really good, except that the driver of the transfer from Ollantaytambo to Cusco didn't want to turn on the air conditioning despite all the passengers asked him to do so several times. We were burning inside that bus!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bobbe S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The price was a little high for the trip, especially given comparable trips. The trip is great for those that have a little more money and less time. The trek to get there consisted of a 2 hour bus ride, followed by a 2-hour train ride and then another 30 minute bus ride to the entrance. This was well-managed. The train was more than transportation - it was an experience because of the music playing, the proximity to the river and the snacks / drinks offered. The guide we had Johnny was not great. He said the same things 2-3 times each and interjected too much of his own opinions vs the facts of the discoveries and general information. He was funny though. Hence a 4 star review.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Harris L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The sight was spiritual and wonderful. The mechanics of the trip were not. My tour guide was very helpful, spoke English well, and was quite understanding of my limited walking abilities at 8,000 feet. PeruRail's vistadome windows were covered with condensation, their woven goods were not as the claimed and the young man who met us apparently did not realize the value of keeping his card above his head so we could follow him. Several f us got lost at Poroy.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gareth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent knowledgable guide

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent and very organized tour. I had intended to book everything on my own, but it was overwhelming. I decided to go with a tour and was so glad I did. We were met at each place by a friendly staff member and handed over to an excellent guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Will certainly recommend to friends who plan on visiting Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was excellent, everything went as planned, perfect day

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour, well organised. Had about a 3 hour tour of Machu Picchu settlement with a guide and in a group of about 12 people. Left hotel at 5:20 and returned quite exhausted about 15 hours later, but well worth it.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Top class tour. Our tour guide Oscar was super and great fun.

Doing what: Inca Jungle Trek: 4-Day Tour to Machu Picchu Including Biking, Rafting and Zipline

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must do. If you don't wanna complete the Inca trail then this is the best way to go. Extremely well organised and a big day in transit. The perfect amount off time is spent at Machu Piccu and the surrounding areas.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely unbelievable ! both the scenery and our tour guide Johnny were amazing, very knowledgable and fun to be with :

And absolute YES !

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Fernando P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic experience with our guide Rolando. He was very knowledgeable and always ready for questions and explanations. The organizations was also very good. All tickets and reservatios were in time. They even send us a message the day before just to confirm time for the píck up at our Hotel.
I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message