If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Viajes Pacifico's service was just impeccable; round trip on Vistadom train was amazing. Machu Picchu... I can't express my feelings about that place; it was very private and sacred experience in spite of tourists crowds. The only bad thing - you will have just 2.5 hours on top with this tour, which is extremely little time; you'll have to come back someday by yourself;)

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ONLY problem with the entire tour was the agent who picked us up in the morning to take us to the train station. Not only was she extremely unfriendly and completely uninformative, but she actually put her backpack in the empty seat next to her, forcing my husband and I to sit in two individual seats which were not even together!! I didn't say anything because I naturally assumed the seat was saved for someone who had been sitting beside her, but when the bus started to move I realized that she was just rude! What a horrible way to treat your customers!!!!
The rest of the day was SPECTACULAR!!!! The train ride was comfortable, the food served on the train was good, the tour guide at Machu Picchu was EXCELLENT!!! He was so very nice, wonderfully knowledgeable and conducted the tour in a way that was both efficient, informative, and enjoyable. He took special care to keep track of the group at all times, to point out the best picture spots, while all the while helping those who had a more difficult time with the climb. The train ride back into town was very fun. One of the staff members was roaming the train car dressed up in a crazy ridiculous costume as he danced up and down the aisles, so by the time the staff had their fashion show the car was filled with much laughter and cheer- it was a fun time for all!!
Aside from the unpleasant start to the day, I would DEFINITELY recommend this tour to anyone going to Machu Picchu!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Getting to and from Macchu Picchu was very nice. The company came and picked us up from our hotel and got us to the train station in plenty of time! The train was very nice and a great way to see the views as we made our way to the ruins! We were only allowed 3 hours (2 hour tour and 1 hour on our own) at Macchu Picchu. This was disappointing because we really wanted some extra time to explore Aguas Calientes as well. Our tour guide was also very good but just seemed to be going through the motions and bored. Overall it was a very nice trip for anyone who is limited on time and only has one day to visit!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The tour was disappointing, and I felt misled by Viator:

1. We spent just 1.5 hours at Machu Picchu (vs. your announcements of this being the tour where we get to spend the most time at MP. Viajes Pacifico also promised us that we will get at least 3 hours at MP -- 2.5 hours with the guide and .5 hours by ourselves -- when I called them twice before the tour and during the ride to the train station itself.)
2. We could not even enjoy the view. Our guide kept on rushing us and was quite obnoxious about it.
3. It was the peak season.. However, I am sure this was not the first ever long weekend in Viator's history of providing tours. Alternatively, you should have just told us that we will only get 1.5 hours and a very rushed tour of MP -- if you were upfront with us, I might have just booked it at another day.
4. The tour guide was disappointing. He didn't speak English that well, and he kept on rushing his spiels. He knows it was an off-day for him, as he couldn't get any response or connection with the group.

We spent a lot of money for this once in a lifetime experience. However, we got very misled by Viator offering a tour which was way way different from what you had advertised and promised. This is indeed very disappointing.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bere
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome trip wish it was longer though

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was very well organized, although I had to find the local phone number of the tour operator and call to find out what time my hotel pick up was. I've used Viator before and they contract with local tour operators but so far my experiences have been excellent. I would definitely use again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Manuel V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome from pick up from hotel till drop off. I will do it again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour guide. Amazing place!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour guide. Amazing place!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Antonino P
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Recommendation: stay overnight in Aguas Calentes and visit M. P. early in the morning before the day trip tourists from Cusco arrive.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized, great guide, highly recommend

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A worry free experience! They had door to door transportation organized, we had enough time to explore the ruins at a leisurely pace and even to have lunch afterwards, never feeling rushed. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and catered the tour of the ruins towards what interested us most!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pricey tour but well worth it especially if you are pressed to time and can't do the 4-day hike. Train ride in vistadome was amazing, Machu Picchu is spectacular. We travelled in July and it was freezing, esp the train in the morning so pack warm!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message