If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My trip to Machu Picchu would not have been so amazing had it not been for the tour. It was very organized and the people were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide, Hector, was so phenomenal and definitely made our tour special. We got to see the entire site and learn the history! Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The most amazing and well organized tour. Everything was very well planned and I had a great tour guide who made it such a great experience! I would definitely recommend Viator to anyone from here on!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Machu Picchu it's and unmissable place to visit

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour was fantastic the only downfall was the guide was grumpy.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour is recommended if you want a guided option to Machu Picchu. If you have a chance, visit the Machu Picchu museum beforehand in Cusco (also known as Casa Concha-also included in one of the tourist tickets if bought), where you can see some exhibits, videos and photos from the original expedition made by Hiram Bingham in 1911-1912. Keep in mind that you will have only 2-3 hours at Machu Picchu, and the rest of your 14-15 hour day is the train and bus ride to/from the destinations. Depending on the season, the bus lines can also be long (as heard through someone else's experience), so if you want to stay longer, you can also buy the train ticket on your own via Peru Rail but will need to coordinate this as well as the bus ticket to/from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu and overnight accommodations (at your own cost). Also, if you miss your train, they will not automatically give you credit for another departure - you will supposedly need to pay the full amount of the ticket again, assuming there is even availability.

Try to keep up with your tour guide since you can easily get distracted taking photos - I easily got separated from my group so if you're not the type to stay with the crowd, I would reconsider this tour and do it on your own and just make sure you keep track of your bus/train schedules.

I took the Vistadome option and when I talked with others who had taken the Executive option, did not hear much difference - but I'm not sure on the details (on the Vistadome option, we were provided light snacks on the way to and from Machu Picchu). I know on the return trip back, you will have a fashion show in which the rail staff will try to sell some alpaca clothing. I had read someone else's review on this so I was prepared, but for those who want a quiet trip back, this will not be the case.

Overall, it was a good tour and wish that more time was spent at Machu Picchu, but for a first-timer doing Machu Picchu on her own, I'd recommend this option.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely highly recommended. Our hotel was fantastic and the amount of tours they offered made it so that we didn't have to play whatsoever. Viator seems to be organized with customer satisfaction in mind.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Viajes Pacifico's service was just impeccable; round trip on Vistadom train was amazing. Machu Picchu... I can't express my feelings about that place; it was very private and sacred experience in spite of tourists crowds. The only bad thing - you will have just 2.5 hours on top with this tour, which is extremely little time; you'll have to come back someday by yourself;)

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ONLY problem with the entire tour was the agent who picked us up in the morning to take us to the train station. Not only was she extremely unfriendly and completely uninformative, but she actually put her backpack in the empty seat next to her, forcing my husband and I to sit in two individual seats which were not even together!! I didn't say anything because I naturally assumed the seat was saved for someone who had been sitting beside her, but when the bus started to move I realized that she was just rude! What a horrible way to treat your customers!!!!
The rest of the day was SPECTACULAR!!!! The train ride was comfortable, the food served on the train was good, the tour guide at Machu Picchu was EXCELLENT!!! He was so very nice, wonderfully knowledgeable and conducted the tour in a way that was both efficient, informative, and enjoyable. He took special care to keep track of the group at all times, to point out the best picture spots, while all the while helping those who had a more difficult time with the climb. The train ride back into town was very fun. One of the staff members was roaming the train car dressed up in a crazy ridiculous costume as he danced up and down the aisles, so by the time the staff had their fashion show the car was filled with much laughter and cheer- it was a fun time for all!!
Aside from the unpleasant start to the day, I would DEFINITELY recommend this tour to anyone going to Machu Picchu!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Everything went smoothly and as planned.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved everything about the tour. We had a fabulous and very informed guide, the train ride was awesome, and the actual climb breathtakingly beautiful. We would recommend your organization as one of the best. Sylvia Lane

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was perfect for us. We were in lima on business and this was exactly what we were looking for. Train ride was spectacular with awesome views. Mp was breathless. For traveling business folks this was a great way to get a taste of mp and cosco. I will definitely be back on a real vacation.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Getting to and from Macchu Picchu was very nice. The company came and picked us up from our hotel and got us to the train station in plenty of time! The train was very nice and a great way to see the views as we made our way to the ruins! We were only allowed 3 hours (2 hour tour and 1 hour on our own) at Macchu Picchu. This was disappointing because we really wanted some extra time to explore Aguas Calientes as well. Our tour guide was also very good but just seemed to be going through the motions and bored. Overall it was a very nice trip for anyone who is limited on time and only has one day to visit!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message