South America’s most famous trek is the most stunning and unforgettable way to reach the lost Inca city of Machu Picchu. Along the way, the four-day trek takes in three Andean mountain passes, Inca ruins and stupendous views of the snowcapped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The constant back and forth made the booking process tedious and the information we received differed from what we were told directly by the guide. Definitely left me unimpressed with this but the trek itself is incredible.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The trek itself was amazing, great views and a fun hike each day. The porters were great too but our guide spoke maybe 2 words of English so we never knew what the plan was. We were told one thing and something else would happen. We didn't get any info about any of the extra ruins, no communication.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Incredible trip with amazing, friendly and knowledgeable guides. The trail is a must-do if you are looking to go to Machu Picchu as you will see things here that those who take the trainride in will miss. Scenic beauty, sleeping above the clouds, and coca tea every morning!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Had a great experience until the last day. We only had 1hr 30 mins to explore Machu Picchu before we had to leave to go to Aguas Calientes to collect pur train tickets from our guide even though it wasnt leaving for another 3hrs 30. I feel this was to suit him he also left the restaurant without paying the 3 of us remaining from the group had to pay for his meal!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I definitely recommend this trek to anyone coming to Peru and looking for some adventure. This is the best way to get a sense for the country's incredible natural beauty and fascinating culture and history. Everywhere we went we were met with stunning scenery and warm greetings from locals. The hike itself was tough at times but always rewarding with the view from the top. You do need to be reasonably fit but the guides are good about tailoring the pace to your needs. And Machu Picchu on the last day is just the cherry on top! Totally worth doing - it was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Viator made booking the 4 day Inca Trail Trek a snap! A lot of hotels and tour companies in Peru don't take credit cards so you end up having to carry around a lot of cash, which isn't optimal. But being able to take care of the booking ahead of time was great. Also, the 4 day Inca Trail Trek was AMAZING! We were in a small group of 8 people. The porters carried all of our sleeping equipment and cooked us 3 meals a day. The food was delicious and your in the middle of the Andes! The camping gear was quality, sleeping bags with lots of down and sleeping bag liners. Over all 5 star camping. The hike wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. If you are in relatively decent shape you will have no problem. You are able to hike at your own pace through different ecosystems, some harsh and arid, others lush and almost tropical. The 4 day Inca Trail was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Note, if you have knee problems or even if you don't, get trekking poles they make the thousands of steps bearable.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The Inca trail was by far the most challenging thing I have ever done in my life! Although a great experience, there were a few things that I was very disaapointed by. These are the following
1. I had to chase up the booking company to find out when my tour guide was coming to the hotel to collect us. This information was not forthcoming. Quite stressful when it is the day before the tour and you have no idea what is going on !!
2. The tent provided was too small for 3 people. There should have been known upfront with provisions made accordingly.
3. Although our tour guide was very friendly, the quality of his english was below average and this resulted in us not quite understanding what he was saying at times. I do believe this limited the information we were able to absorb from him.

On a more positive - the food was excellent and the support provided by the tour guide to help us through the difficult times was very much appreciated!!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This trip was THE HIGHLIGHT of our 3 week trip in Peru. The scenery is unbelievable, the days are tough but everyone in our group of 8 was able to do it (even some people who were really out of shape, albeit with difficulty). The tents and sleeping bags were acceptable. The food was surprisingly very tasty. The porters (I recommend you have them carry your stuff) are amazing!! We made some great friends, got some excellent photos and felt proud of our accomplishment. I recommend it to anyone who is willing to put in a little training time and a few days in Cusco beforehand to acclimate to the elevation. Enjoy!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

LOVED: the trek and our guide (Smith).
Food was great.
Hated: bathroom facilities in our designated camp areas were so awful, words cannot describe. Given the cost of the trek, more care might have been taken to designate someone to clean.
We paid for porters that were not hired ($125 for personal porter for 2 people).
Instructions for what was/was not included were unclear (i.e., sleeping bags, weight limits, etc.)
Attempts to communicate prior to trek, (via phone), were pretty useless.
Overall: would highly recommend our tour guide, Smith, as well as the Inca Trail itself.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

The trek could have been a great one except the guide, his name Wander, was very unprofessional. He was not helpful during the trek. Gave us inaccurate info and we constantly had to ask How long today? How much further? etc.I wanted time to take pictures but felt pressured especially at Machu Picchu. where we had to hang around him because he hung onto the train tickets back to Agua Calientes. Was not helpful his English was poor although I was with a spanish speaking group one couple did not speak Spanish. I did fill out an evaluation in Aguas Calientes, in which I said it was good because he had stored our gear at a friend's restaurant and we were scheduled to leave three hours later so I did not want to jeopardize my not getting my gear and valuables.....I do want to return, but this trip.....was weird and strange. BTW, Wander owns a camping gear store in Cusco and was far more interested in seeing us spend money and then anything.....We had to buy drinking water during almost the entire trek except just at the very end...how convenient...Thwe Inca trail could have and should have been much better!!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message