• USD ($)
  • English
The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was excellent. I got a car to pick me up and send me back to my hotel. At the site, when I got off the train, I got a tour guide with a big sign board to meet me at the train station. He was very nice and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Everything went well. I would definitely recommend the trip!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was perfect! Thanks to our professional guide Johnny!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I thought the tour was worth doing but my guide was terrible. In general, the tour operator is very organized and reliable except when you try to speak to them on the phone. They were not able to give me the correct information about the time of return from this trip. I spoke to two people who supposedly speak English, and finally had to speak to a manager.

The tour to Machu Picchu is always worth doing as this is one of the seven wonders of the world, so to go and see it and take a few photos is worth it. My guide was not only terrible but he was also inappropriate and not up the standards of the other guides I had during my Peru trip. He was nice to me. I am a senior traveler and had difficulty with the high altitude, finding it very difficult to climb the stairs. He organized a slower, easier route for me and I appreciated this. I was lucky to be the only one in the group so that this was possible. However, after about 1 1/4 hours, he asked me if I had had enough. The tour was supposed to last 2 1/2 - 3 hours, so he got the rest of his day off. He did accompany to Aguas Calientes but then left me there without specifically explaining to me how to get to the train station. He showed me a street and said that I could get lunch there. And adios!! I had asked him to walk me to the station and then back to the restaurant (it was not even 11am) but he went on his merry way. Don't ask me why, but I tipped him--before we got to Aguas Calientes though. Had i known he would leave me like that I would have asked him to pay me!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour company was supposed to pick us up at 4:00am, but did not arrive till nearly 4:30am. The van ride from Cusco to Ollantaytambo train station (departure point for Machu Picchu) was long and uncomfortable. No water was offered. We were rushed through the train station, even though there was no hurry, and not allowed to get any breakfast. (They do not offer a box lunch). The guide seemed like he wanted to get rid of us. Snacks on the train were inadequate. No time in Agua Caliente to get breakfast either (rushed again). No time at top to get water or food, nothing offered by tour guide. Tour itself was quite good, guide was great. I realize there was a long way to go, and a lot of connections to be made, but at the very least, the tour could have provided water, and perhaps a box lunch option (other tours did this). On a separate note, the tour operator would not pick us up from our original hotel in Urubamba, even though they went right through there. They only pick up from Cusco city.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was great and super organised. I was a solo traveller and they helped me on everything! highly recommended!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent one-day tour. All arangements were taken care of, and we had a wonderful English-speaking guide. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel, which was very convenient.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. Great service. Dome train was fantastic. Guide was very informative. Machu Pichu was awesome.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent day. Well planned and organised. We had a lovely guide called Diana. She was quite young and a little inexperienced but was very keen to give us as much information as possible. She will be brilliant when she has more experience.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything from pick-up to drop off worked super well.
It was a magic day.
I had an English speaking guide all to myself, which was great.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Incredible trip with amazing, friendly and knowledgeable guides. The trail is a must-do if you are looking to go to Machu Picchu as you will see things here that those who take the trainride in will miss. Scenic beauty, sleeping above the clouds, and coca tea every morning!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely perfect. They picked us up at the hotel when they said they would and greeted us when we got off the train. We had a personal tour guide that allowed us to take longer at certain views for taking pictures. It was amazing and a definite bucket list item. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was perfect and totally trustworthy! They had everything planned for us and picked us up on time. The guide was excellent! Awesome Experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Machu picchu was great, driver was on time for pick up (4:10am too early) train ride was great, bus ride going up and was also good, we did the tour up on machu picchu and then given free time, there were no recommendations as of to what to do while there, also our package did not include meals, so we ate in Aguascalientes in a restaurant we chose on our own where the service and food was really bad, it would have been great if we would have gotten recommendations on places to eat, also what else can one do with the free time given

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great day tour to Machu Picchu, but tiring. (14 hours)

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Guide is professional and knowledgeable. However the tour manager at the start did not tell us the trains have been delayed by 2 hours which caused us to go down too early and lost valuable time at site.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message