Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 462 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour fulfilled our great expectations! Our tour people let us know that we would be picked up at 5:40 from our hotel, then took us to the larger bus other vans were collecting other people from wherever, and bringing them to this collecting point...very efficient. Then we had our two hour bus ride to the train station, where we boarded for our two hour ride to Aguas Calientes...we chose the Vistadome train options...very nice! We had a breakfast on board. Up to our Aguas Calientes arrival, we had a spanish speaking guide...who spoke a tiny bit of English. We missed out on some information he was sharing with the other Spanish-speaking passengers. But we were very much the minority, so no big grumbling there. That guide kept us all together as we caught the shuttle up to Machu Picchu itself, and he made sure we got connected with our English speaking tour guide there. It turned out there were only 3 of us....lucky us! He told us that the day before, he had 18 in his tour....this was quite a slow day. Again...lucky for us: the site was much less crowded than it often is. And the weather was PERFECT!!! Our guide was excellent.
Everything was just as I dreamed it would be. The trip from Cusco was long, but it's through beautiful countryside, so it was not an experience to be endured but rather relished.
The tour operator is Viajo Pacifico or something like that. They provided all of our services: Cusco airport transfers, and the Cusco City Tour. They were always very professional...calling our hotel each evening at 7 pm to confirm our next day's tour details, and each time they picked us up EXACTLY when they said they would be there. I'm very impressed by this company.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Maria P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was really good, except that the driver of the transfer from Ollantaytambo to Cusco didn't want to turn on the air conditioning despite all the passengers asked him to do so several times. We were burning inside that bus!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bobbe S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The price was a little high for the trip, especially given comparable trips. The trip is great for those that have a little more money and less time. The trek to get there consisted of a 2 hour bus ride, followed by a 2-hour train ride and then another 30 minute bus ride to the entrance. This was well-managed. The train was more than transportation - it was an experience because of the music playing, the proximity to the river and the snacks / drinks offered. The guide we had Johnny was not great. He said the same things 2-3 times each and interjected too much of his own opinions vs the facts of the discoveries and general information. He was funny though. Hence a 4 star review.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Clarence L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Tour guide Tarzan Edgar was very knowledgeable, informative and humorous. Excellent tour guide! Amigo Tours.The provided buffet lunch was delicious. The Machu Picchu experience was impressive and unforgettable!! Would have liked more time on the mountain to hike Huanya Picchu. Absolutely loved the tour!!!
One MAJOR PROBLEM was with booking! Was unable to contact Amigo Tours to confirm tour booking prior to our trip. Emailed information to Viator whom confirmed tour company Amigo Tours had received our passport and travel information. This turned out NOT to be the case.
When arrived in Cusco, still could not contact Amigo Tours based in Lima and not Cusco. The contact information provided by Viator, both e-mail and telephone numbers were not valid! Had to ask hotel front desk to contact tour company. Turned out to be another tour company based in Lima which evidently partners with Amigo tours.CTM Tours The day before our booked tour, Amigo did not have our reservation. Excellent last minute effort, by Uriel Pardo,CTM Tours to scramble to get our passes, tickets and travel tickets, saved the day, and we made the tour. Unfortunately, we suffered anxiety and stress and had we not persisted and asked for help from our hotel folks we would not have made the tour which was paid in advance. Someone at Viator dropped the ball!!!
As a result of this, we did not book any more tours from Viator. Went to a local tour company located across the street from our hotel and booked 4 more tours to various places with no other problems.
Viator was unresponsive to our requests for help. I would not recommend booking trips through Viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

Gareth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent knowledgable guide

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent and very organized tour. I had intended to book everything on my own, but it was overwhelming. I decided to go with a tour and was so glad I did. We were met at each place by a friendly staff member and handed over to an excellent guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Will certainly recommend to friends who plan on visiting Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was excellent, everything went as planned, perfect day

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour, well organised. Had about a 3 hour tour of Machu Picchu settlement with a guide and in a group of about 12 people. Left hotel at 5:20 and returned quite exhausted about 15 hours later, but well worth it.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Top class tour. Our tour guide Oscar was super and great fun.

Doing what: Inca Jungle Trek: 4-Day Tour to Machu Picchu Including Biking, Rafting and Zipline

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must do. If you don't wanna complete the Inca trail then this is the best way to go. Extremely well organised and a big day in transit. The perfect amount off time is spent at Machu Piccu and the surrounding areas.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely unbelievable ! both the scenery and our tour guide Johnny were amazing, very knowledgable and fun to be with :

And absolute YES !

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Fernando P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic experience with our guide Rolando. He was very knowledgeable and always ready for questions and explanations. The organizations was also very good. All tickets and reservatios were in time. They even send us a message the day before just to confirm time for the píck up at our Hotel.
I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour. The company takes care of all of the little things for you. You will just be handed all of your needed tickets for entry and boarding. I actually had the tour guide all to myself, because I opted for the English tour. She was very knowledgable and so proud to speak about this cultural site. It made my trip even more exciting.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Dubravka K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The correct organisation

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Thekirklands

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Any trip to Machu Picchu is going to be pretty special and we were very lucky with the weather, given that it was the start of the rainy season. Our guide was extremely informative and friendly and when, after we had had lousy seats on the train up, we had even worse ones on the way back, she managed to get them changed. It is an expensive trip however and we would have appreciated being told before we booked that most of the train journey would, in fact, be by bus.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well organised. There are cheaper options to do Machu Picchu but this was a stress free alternative especially if you don't speak Spanish. The tour guide was okay but it was difficult to understand her English at times. Overall a good day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Paul K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

the trip was fine but we were supposed to catch the train from Cusco not Ollantaytambo which made for a hour and a half bus ride.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Paul K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Double check all your plans with Viator. They may say one thing and do another.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jessica G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We were very happy with the service provided by the local operator but extremely disappointed with the service, or lack thereof provided by Viator.

I would provide details but there is inadequate characters allowed in this review.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best tours you can do in the world.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Roosevelt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip ran seamlessly. The trip was well organized and the tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Szilard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Nicely organised! Tour leader was very professional, kind and had a lot of patience for our regular photo-stops

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lorna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a wonderful experience to arrive at Machu Picchu on this fabulous train. Entertainment, amazing views and fabulous food. The time flew by.

Doing what: Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu

Jong Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide was helpful and informative.
It was convenient and quite a breeze.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message