Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 423 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rork H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide Hector made the trip complete. It is simply something you have to see in your lifetime. This is one of the top of the list for things to do, even for the moderately hard to walk. The Peruvians have still much to accomplish. No water stations or washrooms for a 3 hour tours is unacceptable as is only 5 men's toilets for 5,000 people a day visiting.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Louise J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The location was amazing. The rain and mist lifted for us. The guide was knowledgable but it would have been good to have some quiet time to just enjoy the location and its significance. It felt rushed. It also would have been good to know that we could bring a packed lunch with us as we got hungry part way through the tour. We loved the location though and the transport was very good.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Dr. Juergen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perfectly organized everything fine

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trip was very well organised and coordinated and from our perspective ran seamlessly. We were very impressed.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ruthanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour to Machu Picchu was organized, the buses and train were clean and comfortable. Con, we didn't like having the train attendants selling items on the way to and from Agua Calientes. Our guide for MP was fabulous. She provided plenty of information about MP, the history of the area, and was thorough. Con, almost because she provided so much information, we felt a bit rushed going from one place to the next on the tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Mariana B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great. Note the trip is half in bus half in train.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Siva United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We were picked up from our hotel at 4.30 am and the bus ride was for 1 1/2 hours to Ollantayambo train station. After a quick breakfast in the train station cafe we boarded the Inca Rail which left Ollantayambo at 6.40 am arriving at Machu Picchu station by 8.20 am. This place is also known as Aguas calientes. From this place there are buses plying every 5 minutes to Machu Picchu ruins site. The bus ride is about 25 minutes. By 9 we were at the Machu Picchu ruins and there was passport verification when allowing into the site. The guide walked us through this world wonder in about 3 hours and it was indeed an enduring walk with more and more steps all around. We returned to Aguas calientes and had lunch there. Our return ticket was booked in 2.30 pm train and we were picked up at Ollantayambo by 4.15 and returned to Custco by 6 pm.

Overall it was a worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

BobChase USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our tour of Machu Picchu was FABULOUS. The reason for the reduced rating is the fact that upon pick-up we were required to walk down the extremely steep hill of the street where the hotel is located. Upon our return we were also dropped at the base of the hill. This was too much for me. Especially after a full day of walking at Machu Picchu. We refused, I stated the fact that I am 84 years old and this is not a reasonable request. A taxi was summoned and completed our trip.
In closing, this also occurred with others upon return. Viator and the local operator should be well aware of the logistics and geography of hotel locations...................This ALMOST spoiled our trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The inca trail done in the first week of November, 2015. Our guide, Alberto spoke English well enough to explain the inca/ruin/MP history.
Porters were always kind and helpful.
Nice delicious meals throughout the trail.
It will be one of the most memorable trips in my life.
Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Aleyda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

it has been the best experience ever!!!! My mum and I enjoyed the trip. We loved Cusco city and its people

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lynn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is definitely not the cheapest way to go to Machu Picchu, but it is probably the easiest, most stress free option. When I was collected at my hotel I received an envelope containing all the tickets I'd need for the day: train, bus, and entrance to MP. It was a relatively smooth transit from Cusco to the train station in Poroy. It's a long and windy 3.5hour trip to Aguas Caliente and the train tends to rock sideways, so if you suffer from motion sickness be sure to carry medication with you. I met my English-speaking guide at the station in Aguas Calientes and the 1 other English speaking person on the train and our tour of 3 set off. Hector was incredible, so knowledgeable and patient with us walking up those steps don't be like me and dive straight into high altitude - take a few days to let your body acclimate. He took us to the best lookout points and shady spots to impart more info and made sure we got the Machu Picchu stamp in our passports. After coming down from the mountain he recommended a restaurant for lunch and made sure I got there safely. All in all it's a very long day, but all the stress is taken out and all you have to worry about is being at the right place at the right time!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing. This was a complicated trip logistically, and it was well supported at all points

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alfredo T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A long day but this was more than we expected. Our guide was well versed and the day was perfect, sunny with a cool breeze. The crowd was light and we saw everything, then the long ride back to the hotel but we were smiling the whole way back.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide spoke very good English and was very polite. She was some what disorganized or maybe she didn't explain things well for all of us to understand. She maybe wasn't disorganized but when she doesn't explain the process and why we are waiting around it makes her appear that way. And she needs to remember that you can not give information when standing on a bridge over a moving river or stream and expect us to hear what she is saying. Just doesn't work and when asked to repeat it she would not. I was not pleased about that.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Mats U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised with pick up with bus from our hotel in Cusco to the train station and a beautiful train ride with Vistadome. The train was quite cold in the morning, but the travel became a nice experience much due to the personnel who made every effort to make it a trip to remember with good meals and a traditional show on the way back. The view was excellent. The guide met up in Aguas Calientes, rode with us in the bus to Machu Picchu and then gave us an interesting tour at this breath-taking place. He was very knowledgeable and engaged an we all felt well taken care of. We are very glad that we took the tour and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guy was lovely and provided some great insights about the Incas and the buildings. It's one of the most amazing places you'll visit

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Leopoldo V D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were very satisfied with our tour. Our guide, Hector, was excellent and he was very knowledgeable. He was also very helpful. The service was excellent from the time were picked up at the hotel early in the morning until the time we returned back to the hotel in the evening.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John Jerusalem T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip of a lifetime! Marco the tour guide was effective and efficient. Everything was systematic and orderly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Borje H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even tough I made a mistake in the morning and took wrong car to the wrong station, the staff solved it to me with joint efforts. Big thanks to everyone who was part of making my day!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Akhter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The arrangements were flawless. Viator delivered everything they promised, and more. I was the only non Spanish speaking member of the group. So I had an English speaking guide all to myself. Viator personnel were punctual, helpful and flexible. Viator made my trip to Machu Pichu as much fun as it was.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Stefannie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lucia from Viajes Pacifico was extremely helpful. My friends and I were super satisfied with their service. Very well organized. Completely Recommend!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Timothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Service was really convenient and reliable. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate about teaching us about Machu Picchu City and the history of the Incans. Would have liked to have more time to look around after and during the tour, but it was nice that each step we were accompanied by a guide that could answer our questions. If you are looking for a stress-free way to visit Machu Picchu, this is the way.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Pia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is great. There was someone to pick us up for the hotel and put us one the train. Someone else at the other end to put us on the bus and then our guide met us at MC. our guide was great took his time to explain everything to us. It was a very hot day but very enjoyable. Highly recommeded.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Felix S D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

love it.. omg this tour was good. thx god we didn't have no problem with this one.. everything was on point.. pick up time. train, location, tour the guide. evrything was perfect ... a big different from the one in lima.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything went smoothly. Drivers were helpful, the guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message