The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My trip to Machu Picchu would not have been so amazing had it not been for the tour. It was very organized and the people were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide, Hector, was so phenomenal and definitely made our tour special. We got to see the entire site and learn the history! Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The most amazing and well organized tour. Everything was very well planned and I had a great tour guide who made it such a great experience! I would definitely recommend Viator to anyone from here on!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Staff were extremely professional, courteous and very punctual. I will be sure to recommend your tour to my friends. Thank you for a most amazing time in Peru.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic experience a dream came true.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Machu Picchu it's and unmissable place to visit

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was great, very informative and really loved his job.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour was fantastic the only downfall was the guide was grumpy.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The pick up was on time, but the staff were not very attentive. The man guiding us through Machu Picchu was in a bad mood and kept yelling at us like we were children. We had a decent sized group, which seemed to fluster him as he had to keep track of us all. If we wandered away at all he yelled at us to come back! Really strange. Machu Picchu itself is a must-see of course.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The people of Peru were charming and friendly. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. The pristine cleanliness and available services on the modern train to Cusco were surprising! I thought that the beauty of Machu Picchu would be the highlight of the trip, but the art and architecture of Cusco and Lima were just as awe inspiring. The holdings in the cathedrals of Cusco were comparable to some of the finest museums in the world. I only wish I had stayed longer in Cusco and had more time to explore the markets and shop for the beautiful hand made artifacts that were displayed throughout the city. The reproduction paintings of saints and religious figures and hand carved frames were outstanding. I highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in adventure, history, and the arts.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour is recommended if you want a guided option to Machu Picchu. If you have a chance, visit the Machu Picchu museum beforehand in Cusco (also known as Casa Concha-also included in one of the tourist tickets if bought), where you can see some exhibits, videos and photos from the original expedition made by Hiram Bingham in 1911-1912. Keep in mind that you will have only 2-3 hours at Machu Picchu, and the rest of your 14-15 hour day is the train and bus ride to/from the destinations. Depending on the season, the bus lines can also be long (as heard through someone else's experience), so if you want to stay longer, you can also buy the train ticket on your own via Peru Rail but will need to coordinate this as well as the bus ticket to/from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu and overnight accommodations (at your own cost). Also, if you miss your train, they will not automatically give you credit for another departure - you will supposedly need to pay the full amount of the ticket again, assuming there is even availability.

Try to keep up with your tour guide since you can easily get distracted taking photos - I easily got separated from my group so if you're not the type to stay with the crowd, I would reconsider this tour and do it on your own and just make sure you keep track of your bus/train schedules.

I took the Vistadome option and when I talked with others who had taken the Executive option, did not hear much difference - but I'm not sure on the details (on the Vistadome option, we were provided light snacks on the way to and from Machu Picchu). I know on the return trip back, you will have a fashion show in which the rail staff will try to sell some alpaca clothing. I had read someone else's review on this so I was prepared, but for those who want a quiet trip back, this will not be the case.

Overall, it was a good tour and wish that more time was spent at Machu Picchu, but for a first-timer doing Machu Picchu on her own, I'd recommend this option.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

First problem was trying to confirm our hotel pickup. We called the number provided numerous times and were transferred to another number to someone who didn't speak English. Viator didn't assist and only said to call the local number. Finally, after we left the States, I had a reply from the local company saying pickup was at 5:30 a.m. Get to hotel to find message saying it was 5 a.m. and to be ready by 4:45 a.m. The drive to Poroy is much more than 15 minutes. Was closer to 30. Return trip was even longer. Keep in mind, we were the first to be picked up and still had to go to the other hotels to get others. We arrive at Poroy at 5:50 a.m. and the train didn't leave until 6:40 a.m. We were the only English-speaking people. The guide didn't provide any information to us other than to tell me "your guide is there." The train ride going was 3.5 hours. The return trip? It was the train ride from hell. Got on at 2:50 p.m. and didn't get off until 9:30 p.m. On the return, there were numerous problems. The train was going so slow. Finally, we had to back up and get a new engine. You also have to wait for the other trains to pass. Machu Picchu itself was fine and I felt that we covered a lot. We were never given free time to explore ourselves. however. Our MP guide was fine and we were with two other couples.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Incredibly punctual pick-up. Guides were great at explaining the train logistics. Our guide at MP was OK. Our group was about 12 people so was hard to stick together and the group ranged quite significantly in physical abilities so I felt held back in that respect particularly given the few hours we had there. The guide didn't take us to all the areas particularly if there were more stairs. When I asked he'd say there wasn't much else there or we didn't need to go up there. I paid to tour MP; you may see it all the time, but I want to explore every nook and cranny! I skipped the group lunch and was allowed to venture on my own and that was the best part of the tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely highly recommended. Our hotel was fantastic and the amount of tours they offered made it so that we didn't have to play whatsoever. Viator seems to be organized with customer satisfaction in mind.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message