The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 376 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Machu Picchu is spectacular and without rival. The trip was flawless from start to finish. Every detail was taken care of for us, on time well coordinated. I could not ask for anything different.All the staff were pleasant and competent really 5 star in every way.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family 3 teenagers, my husband, and I went on the 5-day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco. We have been on trips throughout the world and have lived in different cultures. That being said, this trip trumped all of our other vacations/experiences. Our family was finally at a good age to partake in a great adventure - and an adventure we had!! The first day up, I got altitude sickness, which caused us to have to stop and camp beside the glacier the first night, it was beautiful. Sandro, our guide, made sure we were properly equipped extra sleeping bag for the cold night. We awoke every morning with Sandro at our tent door, handing us warm tea. The second day, we made it to the mountain peak and performed the Inca ritual of blowing on 3 coca leaves and building our power stones. This was honestly the highlight of the trip for me. I felt on top of the world, away from all the tourists and one with nature. We then started our trek down to the higher jungle, which held so much beauty and fresh air. An important point is that you don't have to be in top shape to do this trek. Your guide tailors the hike to your group's needs, which is so personal. Day 3 found us camping at a farm with interesting bathrooms and other hikers. Day 4 had us hiking through a coffee farm!! How cool is that. There is a little hut on the trail where the farmer has named the Andean Starbucks, where he was roasting his coffee beans and offering coffee for a small price. Day 5 found us at Machu Picchu! The best part was the hike itself, as we got nightly history lessons from our guide, Sandro. Some things to bring that saved us: snacks for the trail, wet wipes, mosquito repellant, plenty of cash for tips and water along the way, and a well-brimmed hat. If you are a gentleman, forget the baseball cap as your neck will get badly burned. Wear a hat that also covers your neck. Machu Picchu was wonderful, but full of tourists who were more worried about taking selfies.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I enjoyed the doomed train ride nearly as much as the tour of Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It's a great tour for people who don't want the hassle of booking everything on their own. However if you were to do that You would probably save quite a few dollars along the way.
The Vistadome Train ride was excellent, with plenty to see. The train makes announcements in both English and Spanish about some of the areas you pass through, although not very often.

The only thing I would say that was a bit disappointing was the amount of time left after the tour to explore before you needed to be back at the train station. My return train was at 3:10 which only left me with about 40 minutes after we got down the mountain. It would have been nice to have a lunch or dinner while in the town.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour! Train was amazing and tour guide was very informative. Only wish it was an hour longer so we could see the whole of Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was a great trip, but the early access wasn't all that exclusive, since there were 2 to 3 bus loads of people who were before us in line. The guide was good, but he certainly was no archaeologist. Also, the 'executive' level train ride back to Cusco was not really in the executive car. it was in the economy car. Not fun after the long wonderful day at Machu Picchu. Finally, the trip was made extra long by about an hour of confusion when making the train to van transfer back to Cusco. They didn't have enough vans for all the people they were assigned to get back to Cusco, so we had to wait and hour or so before we pulled out from the train station.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was very informative and chill. Our group had lots of fun. Would recommend

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour. The people were friendly and helpful. The coordination is all handled so it allows you the chance to sit back and enjoy. Our guide Diana was fantastic. Highly recommend !!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our 'bus ride' to Ollantaytambo was a disaster. A local bus taxi picked us up at our hotel and along the way, our driver stopped to pick up multiple local workers and their huge bags of produce. He dropped them off at random locations before taking us to the train station. I'm not sure what went wrong, but someone definitely dropped the ball on booking our ride to the train station.

The train ride was scenic, pleasant and comfortable.

By far the highlight of the tour was our guide Juan Carlos. He was a local resident and was a SUPER nice guy. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Machu Picchu and told us a lot about the local culture. Couldn't have asked for a better guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of our visit to Cusco. This is a very physically demanding tour given the number of steps one must climb to reach some parts of the site. The altitude can also be challenging in terms of catching one's breath. But it is doable with a moderate pace. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and superb.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Machu Picchu was unbelievable. Pacifico's service exceeded my expectations. My Guide, Jamie sp was the best ever. I have nothing but great things to say about this young man. Thank you for the great job. Loren Paripovich

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended for organising the 14 1/2 hour day trip

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While there are definitely cheaper ways to get to Macchu Picchu, this is definitely the most comfortable way. Viator uses a local operator to do the tour and this company is extremely competent.

I was picked up from my hotel on time, and got to the VistaDome train on time. When I arrived at the Macchu Picchu stop, the tour price included a bus up to the citadel which is the closest point of drop off for tourists. We hiked about 10 minutes up and were able to see the majestic Macchu Picchu.

Our tour guide was excellent and you could tell he has a passion for this place. He shared much of the history of Macchu Picchu and like a true historian made disclaimers about the different theories that exist for this magical place while also informing us of the theory he thought made the most sense. There were many highlights to our stop here, including the guide using a compass to prove many of his points.

I cannot remember if my guide's name was Juan or Jose but I went on July 4th with the Spanish option guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall ok but bus pickup had limited English.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All and I mean all the people involved were very helpful. This was a very complicated journey with 9 total segments involved. Each segment ran smoothly. Our toe guide Johnny was amongst the best I have ever had. Energetic and knowledgable. Bravo to all involved

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Now thinking about accounting software, what brands or providers have you ever heard of?

Please type all of the brands you know of in the boxes provided. Please type one brand per box. If you do not know any brands please type none in the first box below.


Excellent. Our guide was terrific and for an older couple, the trip was made easy.

We wou led reccomend it to our friends.

Berbara Howard Bellinw

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience, Guide was very informed and attentive to or questions and needs. I feel the 1 day trip is enough to see and feel the experience.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience. Excellent service. We really enjoyed the entertainment, a trio that created a fun party time. Thankyou

Doing what: Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well organized, the guide was excellent and very knowledgable, and the sun shone. A must do from Cusco. Try to spend an overnight in Aguascalientes if possible as gives you more time on site.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was worth all the effort to wake up early to get to Machu Picchu before the rest of the crowd. We enjoy every minute of it. Also, it makes the trip very special to have your own archeologist to explain every detail along the way.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I absolutely loved the way how seamless everything was. From the pick up form the hotel to the end of the trip, it was absolutely wonderful. Our guide was very knowledgable and very patient with us. We took a ridiculous amount of pictures and never once did the guide complain about taking our pics or when we tend to diverge from the tour. I would highly recommend this tour. Machu Picchu was amazing and beautiful. Pictures truly cannot capture the beauty of this place.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

No food, no water, no bathrooms available in Machu Picchu, but the trip is fun and Machu Picchu amazing. If you are going for one day only, get sleep the night before, hydrate well, and use the rest rooms at the entrance to the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Our bus to pick us up from our Hotel was right on time along with the entire trip logistics. The tour guide was great and spoke clearly and provided a great education for the site.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was handled very well. The train ride on the Vistadome was beautiful and the tour guide was amazing and very informative! Incredible experience!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message