The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved the tour, the guide, and of course Machu Picchu. Took the Vistadome, great experience.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Great service! EXCELLENT!

From the pickup at our hotel to the end, we were taken care of by the Viator team.

We would use their services again!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Annie M
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

What a perfect way to do the fast round into Machu Picchu. Well Organised and worth it! Wish we had more time at all the sites. Don't go to the restaurant the guide suggests but explore the town a bit

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommend. It's an early departure, but you can catch a nap on the train ride. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and full of personality. Even my fellow passengers were in a great mood and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was good but the were quite a few shortcomings. Our guide was not aware of some of the Machu Picchu landmarks (e.g., 12-angle stone - at least the English name was completely unfamiliar). Also, we were not taken to the so-called watchman's hut and its nearby burial site with a funerary stone I read about in a guide. It was a bit disappointing and I think now I would prefer to make my own way through the site.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour Guide was great and very knowledgeable and made the tour experience worth it. Pick up and drop off service was terrible. The cars seem to be always low on fuel so they stop at fuel stations each way and have a chat to the people working there. Too long a tour, picked up at 4am and was told we would be dropped off at 10pm then actually got dropped off in the centre of cusco at midnight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I flew into Cusco from Lima.I was in Lima for 2 weeks prior and decided to go to Cusco for a long weekend (Friday-Sunday) in October. I did a day tour in Cusco which was awesome. The elevation took some time to get used to but I went at my pace and was fine. Machu Pichu is considerably lower and was no problem adjusting. The tour was good and had some free time to explore on my own after.Visiting Machu Pichu is a 3 day minimum experience. Cusco has much much more history and I recommend doing a day tour. Machu Pichu is a great experience but Cusco is a must!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great trip. The tour guide was awesome.I have no negative statement to make. It was everything I expected for.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Extremely well organized trip from beginning to end. Staff were brilliant, informative and friendly ensuring a great day was had by all.I will remember this day out for many years to come.
Very highly recommended to use this company.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Itzak L
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This company REALLY goes out of its way to make things go smooth! I was really impressed with how everything was streamlined, and that I didn't have to worry about a thing, whether it was getting somewhere or learning the history of Machu Picchu.

We chose the Vistadome rail option and it was awesome; I'm unsure of the quality level since I haven't tried the other two, but this sounded like the best middle option. The company will pick you up from your hotel (if you're within the Cusco downtown area), drop you off at the train station, and inform you of who to see at the arriving train station. The train ride is about 3.5 hours, but time will fly as you're enjoying the amazing view, the refreshments (we actually had breakfast and lunch too, which surprised me was that is was part of the ticket) and brief fun shows like the alpaca fashion show. The workers are great at keeping you happy throughout the ride.

Once we got to the station, we were welcomed by Johnny, our English tour guide. Not only was he super informative, but very lively and fun. You can tell he does what he loves for a living, especially since he's been doing it over 20 years. He made sure we all got the photos we wanted and even spent time tracking some alpacas for photos. After the tour, he followed us all the way down to the train-station to make sure we get on the right train at the right time. Then after arriving back, we were greeted by our last tour worker to pick us up and drop us off.

This package will save you the headache of organizing everything on your own; logistically there's too much to worry about if you try to break it down and do it yourself: you go from bustrainbusmachu picchubustrainbus and there are timetables (and pricings you'd have to haggle) for everything.

Just let this company do it for ya; you'll be happy you did.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour started very early at 4.20 am. We were taken by the bus to railroad station, then to another bus to MP. Our group was given an English speaking guy with good English language skills and even better knowledge of MP. His explanations were perfect and show that he really knows the place and history of it. Knowing that most of our group are from way lower elevations, he was kind checking on our abilities to go up and down. He did a really good job. The MP by itself attract thousand of tourists everyday and could get crowded.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was just so passionate about Machu Picchu and was wonderful.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I felt well prepared for this trip in terms of the companies effort to make sure you had everything you needed prior to the hike and their information about each day of the hike given the night before. Each meal was a multi-course event (it all was good!), and snacks were provided. The guide was encouraging and informative throughout the 4 days. The hike itself was a challenge, but the guide stressed the importance of moving at your own pace and always made sure he was the last one in so no one was left behind. He offered tips to battle altitude which proved helpful. The only thing I did not realize was that you have to carry your own sleeping bag. They supply tents, sleeping bags ect, but be aware, although they carry tents and cooking supplies, you must carry your own sleeping bag!
I would highly recommend this experience overall!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

we are very glad we wen Machu Picch Picchu

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The whole experience was very well put together and my guide was wonderful!!! Very informative and a great experience.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message