The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

After thoroughly researching the best way to see and experience Machu Pichu, I chose to backpack for four days on the Inca Trail during the full moon of May. Due to the popularity of this adventure, I booked the trip to Cuzco, Peru in November to be sure that I could get the dates that I wanted.
I also booked with a tour company that provided guides, and other necessary equipment for this trek. I chose to travel solo, so that meant that I would be sharing a tent with a stranger, to avoid problems, I purchased the lightest available tent that protects me from mosquitoes and rain and I also purchased a sleeping bag, an air mattress, air pillow, and shock absorbing poles to help my knees handle walking down deep steps. All the items are light weight and fitted very well in my Dry Pack backpack
The weather can be unpredictable, so I also packed a rain jacket with zippers on the armpits to allow ventilation and rain pants. I wore waterproof hiking boots to keep my feet dry and I took moleskin and hand sanitizer to protect my feet from blistering during the four day hike. Expedition weight underwear kept me warm at night, three extra pairs of padded socks, and pants that can convert to shorts completed my clothing selection.
Although I took two lipstick size flashlights, a better choice is a flashlight that you wear on your head, you will be needing both of your hands especially at night when its time to go to the bathroom.
Remember to bring toilet paper and hand sanitizer. Toilet facilities are somewhat primitive by U. S. standards and consist of a hole in the floor, you must learn to squat and aim a totally new experience for me! I also wore a go pro camera on my wrist to make it easier to capture the scenery and I used my IPad at the campsite to take lots of great photos. You will be needing a small bag to carry your passport and camera as you enter Machu Pichu, the backpack and poles are stored at the entrance.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The price was a bit steep, we got exactly what we expected. Private guided tour of Machu Pichu in English and the train and bus rides were pleasant. I would have liked to spend a bit more time, but no complaints about the quality of service. Trustworthy and reliable, exactly what you need when going to a foreign country.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gcastillo
Costa Rica

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour is worth doing If you are short in time its an easy way to visit Machu Picchu from Cusco. The ride to/from Machu Picchu is long, and in the rainy season you might be forced to use a combination of bus and train. I think the Vistadome train is the best if you want to enjoy the spectacular scenery because of the ample windows. Finally our guide was really good and added a lot of value. The guided tour length is good but not much time is left before having to return back to board the train to Cusco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was not an archaeologist, just a local guide who spoke English. Also, the tour company forgot to pick us up when the tour was over so we had to hitch-hike from the train station back to Cusco in the middle of the night in a town we were unfamiliar with and did not speak the language. The tour operator, Amigo Tours, has yet to return my phone calls or emails.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very poorly organized when it came to having travel companions on the same tour seated next to one another on the train ride to and from Machu Picchu. Totally inexcusable as reservations made months in advance, having to provide name of travelers passport s. All that's needed by the coordinator is a seating chart of the train car to seat traveling companions together. Made for a miserable tour as the train ride to and from Machu Picchu totals up to 7 hours and you're separated from travel companion and seated with strangers! Time at the site is 3 hrs, so over 70 of the time you are separated from you travel companion!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Your tour was horrible, poorly organized, and poorly executed. I would NEVER recomend your company. We paid for 2tix, u only supplied 1 and then scrambled to find another ticket last minute. As a result we did not tour together, nor were we granted early access as promised. U ignored my emails 4help

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour was fine until the end. My group members had different train departure times but the tour lead did not acknowledge this. She advised everyone to leave for the train about 3 hours before my departure time. I had to wait 2.5 hours in the train station.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful trip. The train ride was relaxing with lots of great views of the country side. Machu Picchu was remarkable, a must see. English tour guide was excellent and very helpful taking pictures of us.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything was perfect and the directions were easy to follow. We stayed at royal inka in the central area and it was a perfect location.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

INCREDIBLE!!! Machu Picchu is amazing!! The trip was extremely well organized, we were taken care of every step of the way. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We learned so much from this experience. I will definitely use Viator again for future trips. :-

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing experience! Well organized tour with knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Everything was week organized. The tir guide was very knowledge too. I wish I could have spent more time in Machupicchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond incredible, thanks Mario ,

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

tour guide was great spoke good English answered all questions gave us a lot of info

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

John C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything went according to schedule. My personal tour guide Juan was fantastic, and his historical knowledge was extremely interesting without being boring! Highly reccommend. Many thanks-JohnC

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic trip. I can't believe that I did it at last. The arrangements were very good and the coordination between the teams was excellent at every stage. We had to take a Peru rail bus and travel about 2 hours from Cuzco to the train station each way. The train ride was great!!!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great organization, perfect timming, really nice and prepared staff. Is a must to have a tour guide when visiting Machu Picchu.
We had a really incredible experience!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent tour. There were a few things I wish we had known, or at least thought about a little more before we booked. Also note I am a 26 year-old active female
First, Viator is a tour broker, so until the actual tour company has been selected, no specific questions can be answered about the tour. For example when we were leaving, getting back, supplies provided, etc...
The trip was excellent, a few lessons learned from our end
1 Hire a porter to carry your bags/stuff . . . all you will want to carry is small backpack with water, especially on the hard days youll be exhausted from the hike, and you wont enjoy it at all if you are carrying a large backpack
2 Altitude sickness is a real thing - get medicine and buy cocoa leaves even if youre a big skier, its different here
3 Our baggage got lost on the airlines . . . I wish we would have carried on the essentials, so that we had the things we really needed, hiking shoes, hiking clothes, toiletries, flash lights, camera, etc
4 If you are traveling by yourself, request your own tent . . . otherwise you will share a tent with someone else that is traveling alone.
5 Skip the train upgrade. It was not worth the extra money.
6 Buy or rent hiking sticks. I did not think I needed these and I was completely wrong. You absolutely need them some of the days
7 Our trip had sleeping bags included in the price. They were in good shape, no need to bring your own
8 TIPS are NOT OPTIONAL. Even though it says they are, they were not, and we were pressured/guilted into giving a tip. That being said, everyone on the tour is not making much and has earned that tip in my opinion They told us that 50-75 sols 15-25 USD per porter/chef was typical. . . when we divided that among our group, everyone ended up tipping at least 30 USD a person and an additional 30-40 USD to the tour guides.
Good luck on your adventure! Have fun!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour explanation and getting to MP ok and were met by our guide@entrance~9am.Guide had a lot of info and working trails and w/in MP for 11yrs.Not sure he was an archeologist tho.
Some ppl didn't want to do hike to gate so had5 hrs w/nothing to do.No option to go early. No mention of stamp available for passport :(

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

very expensive too many bus rides It would have been nice to take the train straight to aguas calientes
next time will do the Inka Trail

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kevin Davis
United States of America

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Don't waste your extra money for exclusive! early ! It was not exclusive nor with archeologist. Guide was great but not archeologist ! Poor timing for train back! tour was finished at 1130 and train back to Cuzco at 1900. If you book through this web site book the cheaper one. Same thing!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide in Machu Picchu, Ruben, was awesome! A real credit to your firm. The service-level he delivered will be the reason that I would recommend your firm

Phil Robinson

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the highlight of our trip to Peru. I've been the Viator's customer for a long time, and all the tours I've been with them were very organized, but this one was the best so far! Viator did an excellent job organizing and would highly recommend it. Go with Vistadome Rail, it's worth every penny and more, you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message