The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide 'Johnny, was so informative and kind. He doubled as our personal photographer too!
Everything about the day was perfectly organized too. All we had to do was wake up and go! They took care of getting us to all the right places at the right times.
Great tour all together

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Hector was a superb guide. Very knowledgeable and had a good way of presenting the material. Was
very considerate and helpful. The site is spectacular!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an amazing, well organized tour!
From start to finish, the guides have every detail covered. They were very informative, patient, fun and interesting. They also brought 18 strangers together as friends by the second day.

Ruben, Paco and Jorge were always looking after you, checking on your daily well being and making sure you felt like a part of the group.

The porters were also very good. They were extremely respectful and hardworking. The harmony and respect that existed between the porters and the guides was very evident.

The food each day was wonderful! You should never miss a meal as you will need all the nutrients for your hikes.

Each morning the guides bring you coco tea with a very gentle wake up call while the porters prepare breakfast for you. Then after several hours of hiking, you'll stop at a point in the trail for a hot lunch that your porters have raced ahead to prepare for you. You then resume your hike to find your campsite set up for you and tea service ready prior to dinner. They couldn't make this any more convenient and comfortable!

Things you'll need:
Baby wipes, walking sticks, headlight, sun tan lotion, poncho, thermals, good hiking shoes (break them in at least two months prior), rain jacket, hat, toilet paper, energy bars and a one day water supply (you can buy water along the way), coco candy and/or leaves to chew on (you can buy all of this at the stop before the beginning of the trail in Ollyatatambo). The coco candy helped both with my altitude challenge and kept my throat from drying up with all the dust on the trail.
It's strongly recommended that you hire a porter IN ADVANCE to carry your sleeping bag and personals. Bring an extra bag to carry your camera, lotion, candies, toilet paper and poncho. The hike (especially on day 2 and 3) is very challenging with 100's of steep staircases. It seems counterproductive to not enjoy the scene if your battling with fatigue.
This was the best tour I have taken!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

This "all inclusive" means no lunch... and we had no lunch time... They could tell it before because its a long day (from 5am to 8pm), traveling, walking, climbing, many people felt bad...

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. Thr train ride was great and scenic.
Congratulations to Viator.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolute wonder due to its perfect location. You will fall in love with the views and surrounding mountains. My only advice would be to stay here longer if possible, as a one-day trip leaves no free time once inside the ruins. Machu Picchu is definitely a must do.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was excellent. The scenes breathtaking. Transportation arrangements were flawless. However, the ruins are dangerous. A preliminary notice should be given to tourists prior to their entering certain areas of the ruins.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a magical trip for myself and my husband. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to the train station. We chose the Vistadome train and had spectacular views of the mountains and the river. It was a 3 hour ride and we were very comfortable. They served a light meal but I would recommend taking some power snacks and water. The bus ride from the train to Machu Picchu was exciting. We spent about 2 hours there which was enough time for these two old timers to see and experience the ruins. Our guide was superior and very helpful and thoughtful. The train ride home was also wonderful, although we were assigned our same seats and I would ask to be on the opposite side. Take a book for the way back as it does get dark and you may want one to keep busy. We were advised to take altitude medication before going to Cusco and I am very glad we got some from our doctor before our trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scenic and spectacular! Service was fantastic and entertainment fun!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Being a lone female traveller i was concerned that all would go smoothly, i have to say i would use AVIATOR now for any tour i was planning in the future in any part of the world. i was so impressed with the way the local tour company they used checked and then double checked to see if i knew what time i was being picked up, they were not happy until they had spoken to me personally. At every step of the trip it was made clear to me whom would be leading on the next stage and how i would recognise them. The trip went so smoothly i could hardly believe it. i would recommend this company to anybody and the price was really competative.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

To describe this attraction with words is not suficient, you must go there. It´s simply unbelievable and incredible.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The guide could have been a little more pro-active and caring rather than appearing aloof and deadpan.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My trip to Machu Picchu would not have been so amazing had it not been for the tour. It was very organized and the people were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide, Hector, was so phenomenal and definitely made our tour special. We got to see the entire site and learn the history! Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message