The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful trip. The train ride was relaxing with lots of great views of the country side. Machu Picchu was remarkable, a must see. English tour guide was excellent and very helpful taking pictures of us.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything was perfect and the directions were easy to follow. We stayed at royal inka in the central area and it was a perfect location.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

INCREDIBLE!!! Machu Picchu is amazing!! The trip was extremely well organized, we were taken care of every step of the way. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We learned so much from this experience. I will definitely use Viator again for future trips. :-

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing experience! Well organized tour with knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Everything was week organized. The tir guide was very knowledge too. I wish I could have spent more time in Machupicchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond incredible, thanks Mario ,

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything went according to schedule. My personal tour guide Juan was fantastic, and his historical knowledge was extremely interesting without being boring! Highly reccommend. Many thanks-JohnC

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Machu Picchu with an Archaeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great organization, perfect timming, really nice and prepared staff. Is a must to have a tour guide when visiting Machu Picchu.
We had a really incredible experience!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent tour. There were a few things I wish we had known, or at least thought about a little more before we booked. Also note I am a 26 year-old active female
First, Viator is a tour broker, so until the actual tour company has been selected, no specific questions can be answered about the tour. For example when we were leaving, getting back, supplies provided, etc...
The trip was excellent, a few lessons learned from our end
1 Hire a porter to carry your bags/stuff . . . all you will want to carry is small backpack with water, especially on the hard days youll be exhausted from the hike, and you wont enjoy it at all if you are carrying a large backpack
2 Altitude sickness is a real thing - get medicine and buy cocoa leaves even if youre a big skier, its different here
3 Our baggage got lost on the airlines . . . I wish we would have carried on the essentials, so that we had the things we really needed, hiking shoes, hiking clothes, toiletries, flash lights, camera, etc
4 If you are traveling by yourself, request your own tent . . . otherwise you will share a tent with someone else that is traveling alone.
5 Skip the train upgrade. It was not worth the extra money.
6 Buy or rent hiking sticks. I did not think I needed these and I was completely wrong. You absolutely need them some of the days
7 Our trip had sleeping bags included in the price. They were in good shape, no need to bring your own
8 TIPS are NOT OPTIONAL. Even though it says they are, they were not, and we were pressured/guilted into giving a tip. That being said, everyone on the tour is not making much and has earned that tip in my opinion They told us that 50-75 sols 15-25 USD per porter/chef was typical. . . when we divided that among our group, everyone ended up tipping at least 30 USD a person and an additional 30-40 USD to the tour guides.
Good luck on your adventure! Have fun!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide in Machu Picchu, Ruben, was awesome! A real credit to your firm. The service-level he delivered will be the reason that I would recommend your firm

Phil Robinson

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the highlight of our trip to Peru. I've been the Viator's customer for a long time, and all the tours I've been with them were very organized, but this one was the best so far! Viator did an excellent job organizing and would highly recommend it. Go with Vistadome Rail, it's worth every penny and more, you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. I appreciated the historical component that the tour guide provided. So much to see in the time allotted! Loved it!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Machu Picchu! Views from Inca Rail train and bus were excellent, guide at Machu Picchu was very informative, well-prepared, spoke excellent English and went above and beyond to make sure we got the best views and pictures.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message