• USD ($)
  • English

Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Mercado Central de San Pedro

There is a certain irony that one of the best sites in Cusco really isn’t a site at all. Rather, the Mercado Central de San Pedro (San Pedro Market) is simply the place in the center of Cusco where most of the locals go for their groceries. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I always think that doing a city tour is a great way of getting to know the area, history, and culture of the local people. This tour did not disappoint and my husband and I were the only people on it. The guide Geovana was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. Without her we would have missed so much. She told us about the local history and pointed out different things. We visited the San Pedro market which was bustling with people where local produce and goods could be bought. Our guide bought us fruit that we hadn't eaten before to be eaten later on a hilltop of the Statue of the White Christ overlooking Cusco and they tasted excellent. Then a trip to the local archaeological sites of Saqsayhuaman and Qenko which was very educational. They only thing I would say was that a more precise meeting point should have been arranged as we nearly missed the guide. A tour not to be missed

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide Patricia was excellent and she accommodate this trip according to my needs. The market visit was a great experience. She bought a lot of snacks for me to taste them and told me the story behind everything. A well knowledge tour guide.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is the tour everybody should take in Cuzco. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. The main focus was the San Pedro market, where the natives shop for food, household items etc. The best way to learn about the culture and way of life of the local people. Then we explored the most important and impressive Inca structures in Sachsayhuaman and Quenco. A very nice touch was that the guide with our input bought the ingredients for a delicious lunch which we enjoyed on a hilltop overlooking Cusco. The whole experience was very enjoyable, educational and pleasant.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

GREAT tour and amazing guide. The visit to the Central Market was awesome. Of course, the local ruins were great. Also, the tour was, truly, a private one for me and my friend (even though it was advertised as a small group). Loved it.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The trip was excellent. I had my own private tour guide and we visited the market and ruins as planned. It was very informational and worth the money.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I loved this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and we all had so much fun. Great for all ages.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wow - how much fun to see the real local markets. Thanks

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

My guide, Alan, was great! I ended up being the only person on the tour so I had my own personal guide. We had a great time in the market and the ruins. He was very friendly and knew a great deal about the surroundings.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Even though I was the only participant they still provided an excellent experience.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour, beautiful city!

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was an excellent tour. The guide and driver were very professional. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. It was organized by a different tour operator than the one for Machu Picchu. I was alone once again. We went to a food market which was very colorful and where the guide purchased some food for us. After that, we went to Saqsaywohman which required quite a bit of hiking and climbing. As I had difficulty with the altitude, we had to take it slow, and I would only view part of the site. We also hiked up to the White Christ where we had a nice view, enjoyed our food and chatted. This tour lasted about 2-3 hours and I was glad I did it. It gave me a different picture of Cusco.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the picnic lunch that our guide provided. It was a nice personal touch.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message