Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Pisac Indian Market

The Sacred Valley town of Pisac was once a lofty Inca citadel. These days, it attracts shoppers rather than warriors, with its popular Sunday-morning handicrafts market. After touring Pisac’s Inca site, dramatically set on a mountain spur an hour’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mcguiga8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour of the Sacred Valley. Great driver and a very informative tour guide. Before the tour my thoughts of Inca archaeological sites in Peru was always macho Picchu. But, there are more large archaeological sites to explore in the Sacred Valley just as splendid and interesting as Machu Picchu. If you travel all the way to Peru and you miss seeing these sites, you have really missed a lot the country has to offer.

Expect a lot of walking on the tour, and everything seems to be up hill. The local market in Pisac had a silver factory where you watch jewelry being made starting with raw stones and minerals being cut to shape. And, of course, many merchants selling the usual assortment of tourist trinkets.

The bus stopped at a roadside vendor where you could purchase roasted guinea pig on a stick whole, including head and feet. Thankfully, the included lunch was at an excellent restaurant just a little farther up the road. Great lunch on the river with a llama, alpaca and vicuna grazing in the grass.

I enjoyed this full day trip, and I believe you will also.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Eduardo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was well organized, punctual. Our guide Ricardo was extremely knowledgable about his heritage and history, and very well spoken and polite. The transportation was a comfortable approx 20 seat van and driver was careful and diligent. Overall, an excellent experience.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full Day Tour

psim100

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting tour with an excellent guide. Really great experience.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour
We had a perfect day sunny and not too hot
For me the Inca ruins were the highlight
the market was OK but the same as markets everywhere
our guide was excellent very knowledgeable

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous tour! Angel was our guide. He was very knowledgeable about everything ! Any question we had he had an answer. We first stopped at an museum honoring the Llama Alpaca and Vicunas and their role in Peru's history. On location they had all three of these species we could feed alfalfa from over a fence. We got to see how the locals spin the alpaca fur into yarn and then the different ways they dye the yarns. There were locals on site weaving with these yarns. You were able to purchase these products in a gift shop. We then went to The Sacred Valley and the shopping market in Pisac. Headed down the road a bit for lunch in Yucay at a beautiful local hotel. There they had a Buffett lunch which was fantastic! Able to taste many Peruvian dishes. We did have to pay for any beverages as well as tip. Then back onto our small bus to Ollantaytambo. This site was beautiful! We climbed up and learned
about the stones and architecture of this monument. We then headed back to our hotels. Angel was able to continue educating us about the local Peruvian people and their customs. Our group was was only 8 people which made for a wonderful excursion. This tour us a must for any traveling to Cuscso and are able to take advantage of this tour!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Celestina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative, friendly people and our tour guide was very informative and kind. Her english was very good and the lunch was very delicious.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Edna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was very well organized and the tour guides are superb.

Doing what: 5-Day Traditional Tour of Cusco, Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu

Hodo A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

After our disastrous Machu Picchu tour with viator the day previously we had no hope for this tour however it was well organised with an excellent guide who spoke great English. However we did realise most people on the same tour on us had just paid 25 by booking in Cusco town with local companies. So if you're on a budget that's an option.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Paul F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A very good tour overall and the guide was extremely well prepared but at times it was a bit of information overload.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

juliegilmore7

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was interesting and the guide was great, but I would have rather skipped the Pisac market and had more time at Ollantaytambo.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Alonso M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was ok, took the same tour in the past with another agency and the lunch and explanations were better however this is still a good option. We dind't visit Chinchero in the tour that is an usual stop that most tours does, because of a time issue, but the delay was caused by the tour operator,

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much to see and learn on this full-day tour that touches on history as well as modern life in the Sacred Valley. After personally meeting and feeding some friendly alpacas and llamas, we learned how their wool is graded, naturally dyed and woven into incredible works of art, from clothing to tapestries. We met other craftspeople in the Valley - a woman baking bread, a jewelry shop that showed us the silversmithing processes, and many other small vendors offering their handmade wares for sale. We visited several archeological sites too that are beautiful and complex - a must see. The lunch buffet was a great way to try the many local foods. The best part of the tour was our guide Vincente - Knowledgeable and lots of fun. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a blast. Our tour guide Abdel? was awesome and very informative. Ollantaytambo was really cool and glad we got to visit. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Heather H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had such a great time on this tour! Alvaro was a fantastic guide with tasteful humor. First stop was the camelids farm where we got to pet and feed the animals as well as learn about how their hair is used to make beautiful fabrics. We found so many wonderful treasures in the Pisac market and our tour through Ollantaytambo was a wonderful adventure! If you are going to see Machu Picchu this is a great starter site to visit first. We also had lunch at Tunupa was delicious and the views from the restaurant were stunning! We highly recommend this fun adventure!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great trip!
the places we visited were so cool and very informative

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full Day Tour

Joseph R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour company, but crowded. Decent guide who was fluent and offered some unique insights. Kept tour moving along

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

PAIGE H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I booked this tour for the last day of my trip, and didnt scrutinize the itinerary as well as I should have. It was a well-run, informative and leisurely tour, but only stopped at one ancient site, Ollantaytambo. Do note that the Pisac stop is only for shopping and weirdly includes sales pitches for a jewelry vendor and bakery. If you are looking for a relaxing day in the Sacred Valley this will suit you fine, but if you want to visit more than one archeological site or seek a bit more adventure, at least consider other options.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour. I had a car, driver and guide for the day, and could choose what types of places I wished to visit. Nothing was too much trouble, and I learnt such a lot from a full day with a local.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sacred Valley from Cusco

Hiro S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This one-day tour was perfect for us due to very limited time in our itinerary.
This tour is 100 private and our tour guide is very thorough and detailed.
It is really worth the money spent.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sacred Valley Private Tour: Chincheros, Ollantaytambo and Pisaq

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alex was a great tour guide.He kept us informed and did a fantastic job of managing the time.The lunch was great too.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide's English was excellent his name was River son something. He was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed his job. We didn't get to see the ruins in Pisac. We only saw the ruins in Ollantaytambo. The scenery inthe sacred valley is stunning.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Adam T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A good day exploring the surrounding regions of Cusco. Sites are second to Machu Picchu obviously but are the next best things to see. Tour guide was good and knowledgeable about the sites.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Kirushanthy B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Very unprofessional staff - guide yelled at us for filling out the form and suggesting additional times at the sites. Stranded us in the middle of the city at night instead of dropping off at hotel as paid for. Terrible service. Buyer beware!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Luis A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour, very organized and our tour guide Abriel was on the money.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Gregory S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lots of climbing but that was expected. Great lunch. Beautiful vistas of the high Andes

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message