Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacsayhuaman

Sacsayhuaman is the largest and most impressive of four archaeological ruins on the outskirts of Cusco, Peru. Built by the Incas, it served an important military function and was the site of a major battle with the Spanish in 1536. The name itself ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hiro S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This one-day tour was perfect for us due to very limited time in our itinerary.
This tour is 100 private and our tour guide is very thorough and detailed.
It is really worth the money spent.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sacred Valley Private Tour: Chincheros, Ollantaytambo and Pisaq

Stacy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I am actually going on trip advisor for Gabriela Ranch. We LOVED it. He was fun chill, knowledgeable, kept us safe, we galloped, has beautiful horses.... The views were sooo amazing. Everything included in the one price. I recommend Valencia travel and Viator to everyone visiting Cusco. Seriously.

Doing what: Cusco Horseback Riding Tour Including Sacsayhuaman

Phuon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I took this tour with our guide LeLeana while our 22 year old twin sons took the Cusco City Bike Tour. There is a lot of walking. We got confused about where we were supposed to meet our guide and were 20 min. late to the meeting spot. There was no one there. We saw a guide from another tour agency and she called our tour company--Urban Adventures. In 10 min. Leleana, who had been our tour guide on the Cusco Night Walking Tour showed up. It was a private tour. Just us and Lele. So much fun! We went to the San Pedro Market and bought an Inca Cola, tamale and fruit to eat later. We took a taxi way above Cusco to Sacsayhuaman ruins and walked and learned with Lele. We went to La Vicunita Factoria where we were able to choose from the most beautiful baby alpaca knit goods imaginable. We had our picnic in the grass overlooking Cusco and learned so so much about the history and like of the Inca kings. Lele did a fantastic job! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Eliane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing places. I learned so much in this tour than in school. The tour guide was very knowlrdgeable and patient. The places gave me a sense of belonging, and a lot to think about how history was made and changed throuhg the minds of others.

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

alexsis f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour was excellent. Every tour guide was on time and efficient. Franklin- our first tour guide was at the airport in Cusco waiting on us and had everything that we needed for the rest of the trip. Efrain, our tour guide in Machu Picchu was knowledgeable and patient. The hotel is exactly what you paid for. It was clean, quiet and safe.

Doing what: 3-Day Cusco and Machu Picchu Tour

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful experience with out tour guide, Marinés. She was personable, well-informed, interesting and spoke English very well. She arrived on time and took us to the four Inca sights located outside of Cusco. I would definitely recommend her as a guide and recommend Viator.

Doing what: Archeological Park of Sacsayhuaman Half-Day Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Lily met us at the appointed time and was very welcoming and gracious. She shared the history of Cuszo as we walked tot he Market place. What a wonderful experience! She taught us a few phrases in Spanish so we could purchase some fruit and goodies to be eaten later. We learned so much about the cultural practices of the citizens of Cuszo. She then took us to the White Christ which had an awesome panoramic view and we enjoyed our purchases as we watched tradtitional indigenous women pose for pictures with their llamas. The stroll through the ruins was another great experience and very different from the one we took the next day with our regular tour group. So glad we chose this instead of the optional tour with our group!

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

aamandamyers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was fantastic! They handled absolutely everything for me and even picked me up despite the fact that my flight was extremely delayed in Miami. The guides were amazing and they check in with you frequently to make sure you're doing well even after the tour is over, which was nice since I was traveling alone and not aware of what I was doing much of the time. The tours of Cusco were tiring after 30 hours of travel but well worth it so I recommend flying in the day before if possible. They made sure I got to the airport on time for my flight and kept me abreast of changes. At one point we missed the train to Macchu Picchu so they drove me much of the way instead which was also quite breathtaking.

Doing what: 3-Day Cusco and Machu Picchu Tour

Joost d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I am super impressed!
This was an incredibly well orchestrated trip. From airport pick-ups to tour pick-ups everyone was always perfectly on time and friendly. I was greeted by name and with a handshake. The hotels were well above average and the included breakfasts were delicious with nice variety. I definitely recommend the upgraded-package option. The tours included impressive destinations and informative tour guides. I like that each tour involved a different guide and different fellow travelers. Love the country, the people, the history, the architecture and the ultimate destination, Machu Picchu left me breathless. Truly a world wonder, the setting is of a scale reminiscent of the Grand Canyon.
Viator you did an amazing job, thank you.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

William U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour like our time in Peru was fantastic. Sylvia was incredibly knowledgable and we received excellent benefit in all aspects of knowledge about all the locations visited.

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

Saurav M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The overall experience with Viator was fascinating. I will be recommending this to all my colleagues.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Juan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was out first time to Peru. We wanted to make sure we had a great experience all around. Viator/Viajes Pacifico did a great job making us feel welcomed, safe, at ease, and informed. The tours were very well selected and executed. We had an twelve year old son and 10 year old daughter that did well with the tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Norma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour every step of the way.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Veronica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide, picked me up at my hotel and informed me that no one else will be in our tour
I beamed with happiness and enjoyed his knowledgeable company

Doing what: Archeological Park of Sacsayhuaman Half-Day Tour

sharon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

an informative tour at a pleasant pace. guide Jose Angel enthusiastic and interesting. such spectacular sites, so much easier to have transportation provided and details explained. highly recommended! might consider taking the tour after you have acclimated to the altitude as we go to rather high inca ruins and its more fun if you are not feeling sick from the altitude! do the tour on the second or third day! enjoy!

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

Adria M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Because there was no one else on this tour, Viator let me customize my pick up time and the itinerary. I had already toured the cathedral and other in city attractions so we went only to the sites outside of the city: Sacsayhuaman, Puka Pukara and Tambomachay. Like all Viator guides that I've had, my guide was very knowledgable, informative and personable. Sacayhuaman was one of my top three favorite Inca sites. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Geovanna was an awesome guide. Not only could she answer all of our questions, she was also so much fun to be with. The market and historical areas we explored were amazing. Thanks Giovanna!!!

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Cornelia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting and very professional tour. We would definitley do it again.

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour made extra special by the tour company making you feel extra special with a lovely cheese and wine course during the moon valley sunset and a great breakfast at el tatio after the sunrise at the geysers. Would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Rossana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic guide always willing to please. Extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. All the sites were amazing. Tour was longer than expected which for me was a big plus.

Doing what: Cusco Archeological and Religious Sites Tour Including Sacsayhuaman and Cathedral of Santo Domingo

Alec M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent itinerary! For a single traveller who speaks minimal Spanish, this was the perfect week for me! I highly recommend booking the flight from Lima to Cusco early in the morning, and return as late as possible on the last day in Cusco. Maximize your time, and go see more of the sacred valley.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

mmw104

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Each guide in each location was amazing! So passionate about their cities and their history. Many times there was just the two of us and guide, never more than 7. Prompt, courteous, full of information. Accommodations were perfect. I will use Viator again wherever I go! Recommend highly!

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Vicki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved the tour. As a solo traveler from another continent I was a bit cautious as I heard stories. But all the drivers/tour guides were very helpful and safe to be around. Very friendly staff and always on time - I got a standard room selection and they gave me a Superior room in Machu Picchu city with a balcony facing the flowing river. That was amazing! My hotel in Cusco was nice but far from the main Plaza. I took a safe for only 4 sols=approx. $1.72 CDN in Cusco not bad!! and it was safe. Lima was interesting too very awesome too!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message