As the one-time capital of the mighty Inca Empire, it’s no surprise that Cusco’s biggest claim to fame is its impressively preserved Inca ruins, but while the majority of travelers come to Cusco to visit Machu Picchu, the legendary ‘Lost City of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 507 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I enjoyed the doomed train ride nearly as much as the tour of Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Machu Picchu is spectacular and without rival. The trip was flawless from start to finish. Every detail was taken care of for us, on time well coordinated. I could not ask for anything different.All the staff were pleasant and competent really 5 star in every way.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family 3 teenagers, my husband, and I went on the 5-day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco. We have been on trips throughout the world and have lived in different cultures. That being said, this trip trumped all of our other vacations/experiences. Our family was finally at a good age to partake in a great adventure - and an adventure we had!! The first day up, I got altitude sickness, which caused us to have to stop and camp beside the glacier the first night, it was beautiful. Sandro, our guide, made sure we were properly equipped extra sleeping bag for the cold night. We awoke every morning with Sandro at our tent door, handing us warm tea. The second day, we made it to the mountain peak and performed the Inca ritual of blowing on 3 coca leaves and building our power stones. This was honestly the highlight of the trip for me. I felt on top of the world, away from all the tourists and one with nature. We then started our trek down to the higher jungle, which held so much beauty and fresh air. An important point is that you don't have to be in top shape to do this trek. Your guide tailors the hike to your group's needs, which is so personal. Day 3 found us camping at a farm with interesting bathrooms and other hikers. Day 4 had us hiking through a coffee farm!! How cool is that. There is a little hut on the trail where the farmer has named the Andean Starbucks, where he was roasting his coffee beans and offering coffee for a small price. Day 5 found us at Machu Picchu! The best part was the hike itself, as we got nightly history lessons from our guide, Sandro. Some things to bring that saved us: snacks for the trail, wet wipes, mosquito repellant, plenty of cash for tips and water along the way, and a well-brimmed hat. If you are a gentleman, forget the baseball cap as your neck will get badly burned. Wear a hat that also covers your neck. Machu Picchu was wonderful, but full of tourists who were more worried about taking selfies.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While there are definitely cheaper ways to get to Macchu Picchu, this is definitely the most comfortable way. Viator uses a local operator to do the tour and this company is extremely competent.

I was picked up from my hotel on time, and got to the VistaDome train on time. When I arrived at the Macchu Picchu stop, the tour price included a bus up to the citadel which is the closest point of drop off for tourists. We hiked about 10 minutes up and were able to see the majestic Macchu Picchu.

Our tour guide was excellent and you could tell he has a passion for this place. He shared much of the history of Macchu Picchu and like a true historian made disclaimers about the different theories that exist for this magical place while also informing us of the theory he thought made the most sense. There were many highlights to our stop here, including the guide using a compass to prove many of his points.

I cannot remember if my guide's name was Juan or Jose but I went on July 4th with the Spanish option guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Machu Picchu was unbelievable. Pacifico's service exceeded my expectations. My Guide, Jamie sp was the best ever. I have nothing but great things to say about this young man. Thank you for the great job. Loren Paripovich

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended for organising the 14 1/2 hour day trip

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was well organized and the guide was very knowledgeable. The lunch that was included was very delicious and the restaurant was very nice and clean.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the highlight of our visit to Cusco. This is a very physically demanding tour given the number of steps one must climb to reach some parts of the site. The altitude can also be challenging in terms of catching one's breath. But it is doable with a moderate pace. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and superb.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very interesting tour but somewhat physically challenging for someone with weak/bad knees. Nonetheless, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour. The people were friendly and helpful. The coordination is all handled so it allows you the chance to sit back and enjoy. Our guide Diana was fantastic. Highly recommend !!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was very informative and chill. Our group had lots of fun. Would recommend

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was out first time to Peru. We wanted to make sure we had a great experience all around. Viator/Viajes Pacifico did a great job making us feel welcomed, safe, at ease, and informed. The tours were very well selected and executed. We had an twelve year old son and 10 year old daughter that did well with the tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour, very well organized, very helpful and nice staff.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't thank you enough for such an amazing trip. The tour, the guide and the experience were extremely professional and informative.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The experience was great. From train ride to hotel pick-up and drop it was all very seamless. i enjoyed myself thoroughly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I have already recommended this tour to others, just by word of mouth. I was thrilled that my friend and I had an English-speaking tour guide for Machu Picchu all to ourselves!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really felt like we got our money's worth with this tour. Our tour guide was superb.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Kevin G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip, amazing! Everything right on time, and no worries, would do it again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a fantastic trip to Machu Picchu and back - every transfer was right on time and the explanations we were given were spot on. This trip was absolutely worth the money!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Life Changing, Our tour guide Don Hernan was the best!! Highly recommended!!!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was fantastic. He knows his history very well. I highly recommend this tour. Transportation was excellent.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well organized, the guide was excellent and very knowledgable, and the sun shone. A must do from Cusco. Try to spend an overnight in Aguascalientes if possible as gives you more time on site.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Leonidas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Just amazing! The tour company guides were great! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message