As the one-time capital of the mighty Inca Empire, it’s no surprise that Cusco’s biggest claim to fame is its impressively preserved Inca ruins, but while the majority of travelers come to Cusco to visit Machu Picchu, the legendary ‘Lost City of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 632 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was extremely impressed by how well this trip was organized. There are a lot of items to coordinate when going to see Machu Picchu (bus tickets, train tickets, park tickets, tour guide). Viator did a fantastic job of handling the details and ensuring that things went smoothly during our trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jonathan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed this vacation. Viator made this, literally, a perfect week. It was exactly the right amount of assistance - someone to pick me up at the airport, a few well-timed and informative tours - but also left me plenty of time to do my own thing.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours and places we visited in South America this was our favourite. The train ride and accompanying entertainment was lots of fun. But the icing on the cake was our visit to Machu Picchu.
Our tour guide was interesting, funny and very knowledgeable. But the icing on the cake was our visit to Machu Picchu. We would strongly recommend that visitors to South America make the effort to go to Machu Picchu. It's the icing on the cake!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ericroberto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a blast. Our tour guide Abdel? was awesome and very informative. Ollantaytambo was really cool and glad we got to visit. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Diana was an awesome tour guide. Such a beautiful and awesome place. Glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were impressed with the way that the Viator guides directed 1 on the bus trip from the hotel to the train station in Ollantaytambo, 2 to the train itself, to the base of Machu Piccu in Aguas Calientes, and t3 through Aguas Calientes to the bus trip on the switchback road to Machu Picchu entrance. All explanations and directions were spot on by the Viator guides involved along all of the parts of the journey. At Machu Picchu itself, Jaime was very accommodating, quite knowledgeable, and obviously enjoyed what he was doing. He even pointed out the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much to see and learn on this full-day tour that touches on history as well as modern life in the Sacred Valley. After personally meeting and feeding some friendly alpacas and llamas, we learned how their wool is graded, naturally dyed and woven into incredible works of art, from clothing to tapestries. We met other craftspeople in the Valley - a woman baking bread, a jewelry shop that showed us the silversmithing processes, and many other small vendors offering their handmade wares for sale. We visited several archeological sites too that are beautiful and complex - a must see. The lunch buffet was a great way to try the many local foods. The best part of the tour was our guide Vincente - Knowledgeable and lots of fun. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, prompt efficient, good communication. Johnny was an excellent guide. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to visit Machu Picchu for a day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a long day with a lot of changing of vehicles and guides but it was handed well. The guide at Macchu Picchu, Hector was excellent. The train ride is long but if you take the Vistadome as least it is climate controlled and you are fed for free. The service on the train is excellent. It's a great way to see one of the wonders of the world in one day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Dillon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing all in one trip from Cusco to Machu Pichu! thank you for amazing experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alex P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent experience! Everything was very well planned!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lucy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour fulfilled our great expectations! Our tour people let us know that we would be picked up at 5:40 from our hotel, then took us to the larger bus other vans were collecting other people from wherever, and bringing them to this collecting point...very efficient. Then we had our two hour bus ride to the train station, where we boarded for our two hour ride to Aguas Calientes...we chose the Vistadome train options...very nice! We had a breakfast on board. Up to our Aguas Calientes arrival, we had a spanish speaking guide...who spoke a tiny bit of English. We missed out on some information he was sharing with the other Spanish-speaking passengers. But we were very much the minority, so no big grumbling there. That guide kept us all together as we caught the shuttle up to Machu Picchu itself, and he made sure we got connected with our English speaking tour guide there. It turned out there were only 3 of us....lucky us! He told us that the day before, he had 18 in his tour....this was quite a slow day. Again...lucky for us: the site was much less crowded than it often is. And the weather was PERFECT!!! Our guide was excellent.
Everything was just as I dreamed it would be. The trip from Cusco was long, but it's through beautiful countryside, so it was not an experience to be endured but rather relished.
The tour operator is Viajo Pacifico or something like that. They provided all of our services: Cusco airport transfers, and the Cusco City Tour. They were always very professional...calling our hotel each evening at 7 pm to confirm our next day's tour details, and each time they picked us up EXACTLY when they said they would be there. I'm very impressed by this company.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ed L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a well-balanced and complete tour. It was well-balanced in that there was free, independent time to explore on your own. Complete - for the activities and amenities included. The first class upgrade is worth the increase in price, including hotel accommodations an entertaining train ride to Aguas Calientes, the picturesque town before ascending to Machu Pichu. The provider provided daily messages to the hotel for your daily agenda. A note - There are three locales 2 times in Cusco on this tour, pack light and for the Aguas Calientes Machu Pinchu portion pack for the overnight, only. The guides? The were very helpful as well as informative.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Alex was a great tour guide.He kept us informed and did a fantastic job of managing the time.The lunch was great too.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour. The company takes care of all of the little things for you. You will just be handed all of your needed tickets for entry and boarding. I actually had the tour guide all to myself, because I opted for the English tour. She was very knowledgable and so proud to speak about this cultural site. It made my trip even more exciting.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Fernando P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic experience with our guide Rolando. He was very knowledgeable and always ready for questions and explanations. The organizations was also very good. All tickets and reservatios were in time. They even send us a message the day before just to confirm time for the píck up at our Hotel.
I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour, well organised. Had about a 3 hour tour of Machu Picchu settlement with a guide and in a group of about 12 people. Left hotel at 5:20 and returned quite exhausted about 15 hours later, but well worth it.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely unbelievable ! both the scenery and our tour guide Johnny were amazing, very knowledgable and fun to be with :

And absolute YES !

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must do. If you don't wanna complete the Inca trail then this is the best way to go. Extremely well organised and a big day in transit. The perfect amount off time is spent at Machu Piccu and the surrounding areas.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was excellent, everything went as planned, perfect day

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent and very organized tour. I had intended to book everything on my own, but it was overwhelming. I decided to go with a tour and was so glad I did. We were met at each place by a friendly staff member and handed over to an excellent guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Will certainly recommend to friends who plan on visiting Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gareth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent knowledgable guide

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kelly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Wonderful tour guide. All connections were smooth and hassle free.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message