As the one-time capital of the mighty Inca Empire, it’s no surprise that Cusco’s biggest claim to fame is its impressively preserved Inca ruins, but while the majority of travelers come to Cusco to visit Machu Picchu, the legendary ‘Lost City of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 353 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great trip, wonderful guide Ara. Very personalised. Superb lunches.

Doing what: Sacred Valley Overnight Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide 'Johnny, was so informative and kind. He doubled as our personal photographer too!
Everything about the day was perfectly organized too. All we had to do was wake up and go! They took care of getting us to all the right places at the right times.
Great tour all together

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an amazing, well organized tour!
From start to finish, the guides have every detail covered. They were very informative, patient, fun and interesting. They also brought 18 strangers together as friends by the second day.

Ruben, Paco and Jorge were always looking after you, checking on your daily well being and making sure you felt like a part of the group.

The porters were also very good. They were extremely respectful and hardworking. The harmony and respect that existed between the porters and the guides was very evident.

The food each day was wonderful! You should never miss a meal as you will need all the nutrients for your hikes.

Each morning the guides bring you coco tea with a very gentle wake up call while the porters prepare breakfast for you. Then after several hours of hiking, you'll stop at a point in the trail for a hot lunch that your porters have raced ahead to prepare for you. You then resume your hike to find your campsite set up for you and tea service ready prior to dinner. They couldn't make this any more convenient and comfortable!

Things you'll need:
Baby wipes, walking sticks, headlight, sun tan lotion, poncho, thermals, good hiking shoes (break them in at least two months prior), rain jacket, hat, toilet paper, energy bars and a one day water supply (you can buy water along the way), coco candy and/or leaves to chew on (you can buy all of this at the stop before the beginning of the trail in Ollyatatambo). The coco candy helped both with my altitude challenge and kept my throat from drying up with all the dust on the trail.
It's strongly recommended that you hire a porter IN ADVANCE to carry your sleeping bag and personals. Bring an extra bag to carry your camera, lotion, candies, toilet paper and poncho. The hike (especially on day 2 and 3) is very challenging with 100's of steep staircases. It seems counterproductive to not enjoy the scene if your battling with fatigue.
This was the best tour I have taken!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Hector was a superb guide. Very knowledgeable and had a good way of presenting the material. Was
very considerate and helpful. The site is spectacular!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Other attraction that words is so simple to describe. Fantastic!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

To describe this attraction with words is not suficient, you must go there. It´s simply unbelievable and incredible.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Being a lone female traveller i was concerned that all would go smoothly, i have to say i would use AVIATOR now for any tour i was planning in the future in any part of the world. i was so impressed with the way the local tour company they used checked and then double checked to see if i knew what time i was being picked up, they were not happy until they had spoken to me personally. At every step of the trip it was made clear to me whom would be leading on the next stage and how i would recognise them. The trip went so smoothly i could hardly believe it. i would recommend this company to anybody and the price was really competative.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We are very happy with the tour operators Viator and the tour company. We highly recommend them. Due to our long international flights from/to Singapore we had to make several changes to our pick-up and drop-off times and locations. They were very responsive and accommodated all our changes without issues.

This is our first time to Peru and we don't speak any Spanish. Everything went smoothly all the guides and customer help line speak English well. We added some additional tours to our itinerary and all the guides are very knowledgeable and informative.

In this business, the people makes the difference and we really felt it. During our Cusco half day tour even though everything on the itinerary was covered, we felt it was a bit rushed and the tour finished ahead of schedule. We were asked for feedback by phone from one of the customer helpline and the message was conveyed to the tour guide, Jose Aguilar. To our pleasant and unexpected surprise, Jose seek us out during our next tour and personally apologized to us. He offered to take us on a cultural experience on his own time during the evening. We accepted because he was very sincere and we really to learn more about the Peruvian culture. That evening was wonderful and we had an experience that most tourist would not have. Jose took us to a local places: a view of the night lighted city of Cusco, drinks at a bar with a view of the city, a Chicharia for corn beer, a Picanteria for local food, and finally picarones for dessert. We are very well travelled and adventurous types so it was wonderful for us. We told Jose that they should consider making this another cultural tour.

To finish this review, we had Jose again as our guide on a tour of the scared valley and he was wonderful. Join the tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a solo traveler, it was important that all expected services would be provided without any hitch- and Viator , through its partner, Viajes Pacifico , delivered superbly. To start with, airport transfer was there waiting for me and from then on everything worked out well. The hotels were excellent, in terms of location, comfort and services. I chose the economy option and yet my rooms were not economy at all, for instance my room in Cuzco was a suite, complete with loft bedroom and jacuzzi. Tour guides, were relaxed and yet professional.
I loved this trip and will certainly consider viator on my next vacation.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scenic and spectacular! Service was fantastic and entertainment fun!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a magical trip for myself and my husband. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to the train station. We chose the Vistadome train and had spectacular views of the mountains and the river. It was a 3 hour ride and we were very comfortable. They served a light meal but I would recommend taking some power snacks and water. The bus ride from the train to Machu Picchu was exciting. We spent about 2 hours there which was enough time for these two old timers to see and experience the ruins. Our guide was superior and very helpful and thoughtful. The train ride home was also wonderful, although we were assigned our same seats and I would ask to be on the opposite side. Take a book for the way back as it does get dark and you may want one to keep busy. We were advised to take altitude medication before going to Cusco and I am very glad we got some from our doctor before our trip.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was excellent. The scenes breathtaking. Transportation arrangements were flawless. However, the ruins are dangerous. A preliminary notice should be given to tourists prior to their entering certain areas of the ruins.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolute wonder due to its perfect location. You will fall in love with the views and surrounding mountains. My only advice would be to stay here longer if possible, as a one-day trip leaves no free time once inside the ruins. Machu Picchu is definitely a must do.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message