As the one-time capital of the mighty Inca Empire, it’s no surprise that Cusco’s biggest claim to fame is its impressively preserved Inca ruins, but while the majority of travelers come to Cusco to visit Machu Picchu, the legendary ‘Lost City of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

After thoroughly researching the best way to see and experience Machu Pichu, I chose to backpack for four days on the Inca Trail during the full moon of May. Due to the popularity of this adventure, I booked the trip to Cuzco, Peru in November to be sure that I could get the dates that I wanted.
I also booked with a tour company that provided guides, and other necessary equipment for this trek. I chose to travel solo, so that meant that I would be sharing a tent with a stranger, to avoid problems, I purchased the lightest available tent that protects me from mosquitoes and rain and I also purchased a sleeping bag, an air mattress, air pillow, and shock absorbing poles to help my knees handle walking down deep steps. All the items are light weight and fitted very well in my Dry Pack backpack
The weather can be unpredictable, so I also packed a rain jacket with zippers on the armpits to allow ventilation and rain pants. I wore waterproof hiking boots to keep my feet dry and I took moleskin and hand sanitizer to protect my feet from blistering during the four day hike. Expedition weight underwear kept me warm at night, three extra pairs of padded socks, and pants that can convert to shorts completed my clothing selection.
Although I took two lipstick size flashlights, a better choice is a flashlight that you wear on your head, you will be needing both of your hands especially at night when its time to go to the bathroom.
Remember to bring toilet paper and hand sanitizer. Toilet facilities are somewhat primitive by U. S. standards and consist of a hole in the floor, you must learn to squat and aim a totally new experience for me! I also wore a go pro camera on my wrist to make it easier to capture the scenery and I used my IPad at the campsite to take lots of great photos. You will be needing a small bag to carry your passport and camera as you enter Machu Pichu, the backpack and poles are stored at the entrance.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic trip. I can't believe that I did it at last. The arrangements were very good and the coordination between the teams was excellent at every stage. We had to take a Peru rail bus and travel about 2 hours from Cuzco to the train station each way. The train ride was great!!!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kevin Davis
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Everything was week organized. The tir guide was very knowledge too. I wish I could have spent more time in Machupicchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing experience! Well organized tour with knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond incredible, thanks Mario ,

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything was perfect and the directions were easy to follow. We stayed at royal inka in the central area and it was a perfect location.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

INCREDIBLE!!! Machu Picchu is amazing!! The trip was extremely well organized, we were taken care of every step of the way. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We learned so much from this experience. I will definitely use Viator again for future trips. :-

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour made extra special by the tour company making you feel extra special with a lovely cheese and wine course during the moon valley sunset and a great breakfast at el tatio after the sunrise at the geysers. Would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful trip. The train ride was relaxing with lots of great views of the country side. Machu Picchu was remarkable, a must see. English tour guide was excellent and very helpful taking pictures of us.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

RICKY
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

compré esta excursión través de Viator.
Era muy buena elección y aún más cuando nuestro guía LUIS, fue excelente durante toda la excursión.
He leído sobre el corto tiempo dejados en las otras excursiones mercado de Pisac, pero el tiempo era suficiente para ver y comprar algunas cosas.
El almuerzo era genial en este caso fue en el patio del hotel Sonesta sagrado Valle.
Luego continuaremos hacia las ruinas de Ollantaytambo, y creo que antes o después Machu Pichu, vale la pena conocer.
El regreso fue muy agradable, hablando de las costumbres de los habitantes de la zona.
Una excelente excursión. Recomendable 100.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Although it rained throughout the whole day, such an amazing experirence, would do it all again

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Lots of stuff to see and do during the day.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Impressed by the sites, logistics, and overly impressed by the guide. Lunch included in the tour is in a beautiful and picturesque restaurant by the river Urubamba. Good food and service.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent. Guide and driver, Janet ans jimmy, was the greatest.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Jaime was very knowledgeable with Machu Picchu as well as Peru. After speaking with him to become a tour guide one has to learn all there is to know about Peru. Machu Picchu is breathtaking. On the downside the tour company did not provide my wife with her bus tickets. This caused little delay as Jaime purchased the ticket with little delay. Jaime also recommended a very well restaurant to eat and do some local shopping by the train station. Overall experience was exceptionally well all but the bus ticket situation.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent itinerary! For a single traveller who speaks minimal Spanish, this was the perfect week for me! I highly recommend booking the flight from Lima to Cusco early in the morning, and return as late as possible on the last day in Cusco. Maximize your time, and go see more of the sacred valley.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Jose was amazing! I wasn't sure how this tour would end up. But we actually had such a good day. The lunch alone, at this beautiful place was worth all the money we spent for the excursion.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Each guide in each location was amazing! So passionate about their cities and their history. Many times there was just the two of us and guide, never more than 7. Prompt, courteous, full of information. Accommodations were perfect. I will use Viator again wherever I go! Recommend highly!

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were very well taken care of by the tour company Viajes Pacifico. The journey from Cusco and back was long, but we had two lovely hours at Machu Picchu with our very knowledgeable guide and loved every minute of it. I'd book with them again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just about perfect (not counting a small snafu with the bus that picked us up at our hotel early in the morning). Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful, leading us expertly through the rain and mud for a memorable visit to Machu Picchu. The glass train was a treat, very comfortable, and the staff were very accommodating. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message