Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Crocosaurus Cove

Located in the heart of Darwin, Crocosaurus Cove is home to the largest display of Australian reptiles in the world, including species unique to the Top End and Kimberly regions of Australia. There's also a turtle sanctuary and a two-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing experience!!!! We'll worth the money!!!

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife, 2 yound children and myself had visited Crocosaurus Cove on 29 Nov 13 and we enjoyed our time there. Besides the crocodile and other animal shows, what left a lasting impression on all 4 of us was a staff by the name of Phil who conducted the snake and reptile show with an assistant. Phil was energizing, humorous and most of all, humble despite his vast knowledge of the snakes and reptiles that he handled. He was also very hospitable and fair - he invited not only my family but as many other visitors as possible to handle some of the creatures (with care!) during the reptile show. We were very thankful to be given the opportunity to do so. While I cannot speak for the other visitors, my family told me that they had learnt a lot from Phil's lively sharing and it made our stay at the Cove and in DARWIN a highly memorable and academic one. For all potential visitors, please try not to miss Phil's reptile show.

Doing what: Crocosaurus Cove Darwin General Admission Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic, my personal favorite highlight of the trip and we flew over Kakadu!
Definately a Bucket List item, an unforgetable lifetime experience...Up close and personal, got to kiss a CROC..

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The Cage of Death gives you the real "crocodile" experience. There’s no fudging the issue here – this is terrifying! Armed with just your swimwear, you walk down a ladder into an acrylic ‘cage’. It’s a see-through box, with holes between the panels for the water to get in, and a metal grille at the top. The guys behind the controls try to get you as close to the toothy predators as they can. Essentially, you are left swimming around in the water a metre or so away from the most efficient killing machine nature has ever devised. And they’re not babies either – my crocodile was 5.5m long and weighed 790kg! What happens next depends largely on the crocodile’s mood. They are essentially lazy beasts, and if they’re not feeling hungry, they’ll probably just sit where they are minding their own business. If, however, they fancy a light snack or decide that you are invading their territory, they will attack the cage. This is more likely during the wet season then during the dry, but can happen at any time. When it does, there’s little option but to cower in fear and hope that the acrylic barrier does its job. Otherwise, it’s a privilege to sit back and observe. Getting this close whilst living to tell the tale is an honour, and watching them move through the water is awe-inspiring. Of course, you can splash, bang on the cage and make as much noise as possible to grab the attention... Note from Viator: This review is from David Whitley, who wrote a detailed article on his trip to Darwin, Australia over on the Viator blog.

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

An excellent experience. The tour operators where helpful and informative. The price of the photos were a little steep however buying the cd of the photos prooved to be a great choice as video footage of the experience was included.

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

Lisa B
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Good place to view reptiles in the centre of Darwin.

Doing what: Crocosaurus Cove Darwin General Admission Tickets

Lisa B
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great activity if the crocs are lively.

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Very intersting watching the crocs sleeping. They weren't active at all. A nice place to see all the other reptiles though. Very centrally located.

Doing what: Crocosaurus Cove Darwin General Admission Tickets

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Crocs were totally disinterested. Couldn't have cared less for the occupants of the "Cage of Terror". Whatever you do don't waste your money on that. Feeding time was a big anti climax. Crocs must be fed too many times a day or they found the food, a manky piece of chicken with the feathers still on, not worth the effort. Very disappointed

Doing what: Crocosaurus Cove Darwin General Admission Tickets

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Unfortunately when we went all of the crocodiles were sleeping so it wasn't really all that stimulating. We were just in a glass cage in water staring at them. I think the experience would have been cooler if the crocodiles were awake and more interactive. However, as they are wild animals, it is always impossible to predict how they are going to react.

Doing what: Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message