Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Kakadu National Park

Kakadu National Park has a feeling and a beauty unlike anywhere else on earth. With its sandstone escarpments looming up from the plain, its secret waterholes and lily-strewn waterways, its teeming birdlife and ancient rock art, it's a place that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Each person in our family loved this trip. There were 4 families in total 17 people in our tour group. We didn't know each other but all got along. All children were roughly similar ages 8-15. The tour guide - Adam - made this a unique experience for us, with all of his knowledge, humor and energy !! The camping, assisting with meals, lighting the fire and sitting around was wonderful. Kakadu was amazing. So much to see and learn. Katherine Gorge my personal highlight was exceptional. We took the Boat tour option which covers 3 gorges of the 13. Had we walked or canoed, children would have found it hard going as it is quite hot and the distance is quite far. Also there is no swimming ! The additional highlight of the boat tour is that the guides are very informative and seek out crocodiles for us to see. A must !! The numerous waterfalls we visited across the 5 days with stunning vistas and swimming opportunities are definitely not to be missed.. So very beautiful ! Kids loved every second of the swimming and jumping off ledges. Our final day was also great fun, we stayed at a working Cattle station, where there was a whip display that we could also get involved in... and did ! There were many laughs to be had ! our final day at Leichfield National Park was a waterfall extravanagza... great way to finish. So much to see and do. We really have had an amazing time, lots of adrenaline, lots of learnings and cultural enrichment and of course a stack of memories we have forever with us ! Thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A brilliant day out! Got to see lots of crocodiles and bird life at Yellow Waters, and I highly recommend doing the flight over Kakadu note you miss out on the Aboriginal Cultural centre and the flight finishes at Jabiru where you rejoin the tour group - that wasn't clear to me in the description. Well worth it!

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was extremely well organised. The driver/guide told us very interesting stories about aboriginal culture and provided us with information on the locations we traveled through on our way to Kakadu. Also the boat trip on the Mary river was very lovely and interesting.

Doing what: Kakadu Day Tour from Darwin including Ubirr Art Site and Mary River Wetlands Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

we had a marvelous time on our 2 day tour of Kakadu, our guide Rob, was brilliant, he looked after us very well and took us to places that we never ever thought we would see, I would recommend this tour to all my friends, my only negative would be that I was disappointed that the local indigenous people were not more involved, still a most enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Aboriginal Culture and Kakadu National Park Tour from Darwin

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see a range of different places and sites within Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land. It was an excellent tour - well organised and it ran very smoothly. Arnhem Land & Kakadu lived up to my expectations. The guides were both knowledgeable and professional. I was able to see both Kakadu and Arnhem Land, the countryside was stunning, so green, lots of bird life and crocodiles. It is a fabulous part of the country and I would highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best 3-Day Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land Explorer Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Kakadu was excellent and our tour guide, Fabiana, was one of the best I have experienced in many years. She has had extensive experience in South America and Australia and this tour is to be recommended. It was far superior to others I have done in this area.

Doing what: Kakadu Day Tour from Darwin including Ubirr Art Site and Mary River Wetlands Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the most magnificent tour seeing the wonderful sights of Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield. Rob, our tour guide, was very passionate about this tour and his enthusiasm infected all of the 15 passengers on board this mini-4WD-coach. You have to do/see it to believe it. Fantastic!

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

Malcolm H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Extremely informative and interesting. Great accommodation and brilliant tour guides; particularly Peter Love on the Kakadu tour. Very professional and unique with his dissemination of information and local knowledge. Coupled with that was his personality and ability to relate to all his passengers regardless of age.
The four wheeled tour of Arnhem Land was also a truly unforgettable and spiritual experience and professionally conducted.

Doing what: 2-Day Kakadu National Park Yellow Waters Cruise, Aboriginal Art Sites and Arnhem Land Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We enjoyed the trip a great deal. The guide was really helpful and knew a lot. The river trips were wonderful, and we also took the optional extra of flying above Kakadu in a small plane which was also fun.
Everything ran very smoothly, and the only thing that wasn't so good was the over priced buffet meal at the hotel we stayed in. The food was very ordinary and because they offer the only real option for meals it felt like they charged what they wanted which was a great deal more than it was worth.
However our over riding memories are very positive and we certainly had 2 terrific days.

Doing what: 2-Day Kakadu National Park Yellow Waters Cruise, Aboriginal Art Sites and Arnhem Land Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Long, long drive to get there, but the driver was knowledgeable and passionate about Kakadu. It was stunning, and definitely worth doing. The flight back made it a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Wow - what an exhausting trip but well worth it. Our tour guide for the entire trip was Shaun and he was truly a wealth of knowledge. This is the only way to see Kakadu - what a wonderful learning experience

Doing what: 2-Day Kakadu National Park Yellow Waters Cruise, Aboriginal Art Sites and Arnhem Land Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well guided tour of a National Park. This is an excellent air conditioned tour for anyone who likes someone else to take control and organise a set program. Chris was our bus driver/tour guide was very knowledge and enthusiastic to pass on information....There was also the well need airconditioning and icy cold water.
The Aborginal or Indigneous captain/guide for the cruise was priceless. The personal knowledge and stories told were an incite to the Indigenous culture...
As for the flight with Pilot James originally from Melbourne, we were the only two passengers on the flight. That in itself was Great, as it was a small plane on a very hot day. It's mind boggling seeing Kakadu by air, as it is just so incredibly huge. The landscape is vast with the opportunity of seeing twin falls, the mines and of course the lay of the land. We got picked up from a designated area and bused to the small airport. It's a very personal service and there is a taped commentary regarding the landscape during flight. Back on land the small airstrip has air-conditioning, toilets, cold water and a souvenir shop!

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Love the tour. Highlight of the first day was the Yellow Waters cruse (very knowledgeable guide) and the flight over the Kakadu park. We stay in the lodge over night in Kakadu caravan park. Accommodation was better then we have expected. First day was with a big group a bit too commercial. Second day was perfect, really got the feel of the place. There were only three of us and the guide. Was more personal tour, no rush. Think that the guide's name was Allen. He is local and knows aboriginal culture well, lots of stories. A bit disappointed that didn't see many artists in the cultural center, been explained that they had some ceremony or something. In general, love the experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Kakadu National Park Yellow Waters Cruise, Aboriginal Art Sites and Arnhem Land Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had a great time at Kakadu.
The flight over The Arnhem was magnificient and most enjoyable.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

For anyone with only one day to travel to Kakadu, this bus tour is an absolute MUST. The natural wonders of this awe-inspiring part of the Top End are amazing - something that all Australians and visitors should experience if they have the chance, I would also highly recommend the optional flight over Arnhem Land - seeing this vast ancient land from the air is a real privilege and gives another perspective on the vast size of Kakadu. Booking through Viator was easy and professionally-managed and the organisation and service on the tour was excellent. I don't normally do organised bus tours, but I was very impressed with every part of this day's itinerary. The Yellow Waters cruise was fantastic for seeing huge crocodiles up close, plus dozens of varieties of birds. There was also time for an easy bush walk in the Nourlangie Rock area with the added wonder of seeing aboriginal cave paintings. The tour finished with drinks and nibbles overlooking the wetlands outside Darwin and a magnificent Top End sunset.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

Julia B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was an excellent tour - well organised and it ran very smoothly. Arnhem Land & Kakadu lived up to my expectations. The guides were both knowledgeable and professional. We were able to see Kakadu and Arnhem Land in a relatively short time. It is a fabulous part of the country and I would recommend the trip. The Aurora Kakadu was a great place to stay

Doing what: Best 3-Day Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land Explorer Tour from Darwin

Shaun K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was excellent and well worth it. Kakadu is too big to do by yourself and the amenities and staff were exceptional. The tour guide made sure we were well hydrated and full of local knowledge. The flight over Arnhem land although an additional cost is a must. The flight was magical seeing more of the land than possible from the ground. Every seat in the plane has a window and the captain was very knowledgeable. Yellow waters cruise was nice and relaxing and a great way to come up close to the crocodiles in the water. The Buffet lunch was very filling and plenty of time to relax before moving onto the next location. Ending the day at Window on the Wetlands with wine tasting was a nice way to end the day. The tour operator was one of the best in Darwin.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a good way to explore Kakadu from Darwin. Especially enjoyed the Guluyambi cruise, didn't find like one of your other commentators that too much time was spent in cafes or shops. Had an excellent experience on the cruise, all around.

Doing what: Kakadu Day Tour from Darwin including Ubirr Art Site and Mary River Wetlands Cruise

Olivia N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Scenic Flight is definitely worth doing - Kakadu and Arnhem Land just goes on forever - can really only appreciate the vastness by air. Shame the CD with commentary was jumpy though. Wouldn't recommend more than 50 minute flight as it can get bumpy and quite hot in there. The 2 hour Yellow Waters cruise was sensational - brilliant commentary by ranger. Buffet lunch was great - large range and plenty to go around. Nourlangie Rock and cave art a must see - would've liked to see older paintings though. The guides were entertaining and knowledgeable. The cheese and wine at the end was a lovely touch to end an excellent day!

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

Jane O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

If you have a limited time to see Kakadu, this tour gives you a nice taste of what's offered. The Yellow Waters cruise is a highlight - just fabulous!

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

Lilybeth M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I was totally blown out by the wonderful sites I visited. The trip into Arnhem land was fabulous. Our guide was full of information and cultural sensitivity. I was quite worried that I might get a guide who was not sympathetic to the indigenous culture, but I was wrong! Both the driver who took me to Kakadu and the driver who took me to Arnhem land were totally committed to the indigenous culture. It was superb - I took the plane trip over Kakadu and I will never forget it.

Doing what: 2-Day Kakadu National Park Yellow Waters Cruise, Aboriginal Art Sites and Arnhem Land Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

I thought this Kakadu tour was excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Really need 2 or more days to do justice to this incredible place. 1 day tour was really good - tour guide/driver Ben was fantastic - just wanted more time to see more of Kakadu's 20,000 sq kms. Breathtaking and spiritual.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

In essence it's a long way from Darwin to Kakadu and I would not recommend taking the coach in both directions. We took the optional return flight and I'm glad we did. We also managed to be there on one of the hottest September days on record.
Nonetheless the trip was worthwhile and the visit to Nourlangie Rock and the Yellow Waters cruise afforded two of the outstanding attractions of the national park.
Rather than do the trip in one day, I would suggest it's better to take at least two days (but preferably three) to see Kakadu more comprehensively.

Doing what: Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It's a bit of a slog out of or back to Darwin but the AAT Kings coaches are comfy, have wifi and drivers are really nice guys. The Aurora was a good place to stay with attractive room, porch, pool to cool off in and friendly bar/bistro. Quiet too. All the subcontractors used were great: knowledgeable and keen to please. You get both Kakadu highlights and Arnhem Land by 4WD plus a river trip with a fun couple of local Aboriginal guys. Really packed it in and so glad I did it. Downside: left me wanting more.

Doing what: Best 3-Day Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land Explorer Tour from Darwin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message