Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Litchfield National Park

Renowned for its spectacular scenery, monsoonal rainforests, spring-fed streams and waterfalls, Litchfield National Park is perhaps best known for its magnetic termite mounds, immense sculptural cairns built by termites and aligned perfectly from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and Rob, our tour guide/driver, was outstanding. His knowledge of the history, culture, people and wildlife was entertaining as well as informative. We were able to see and experience so much in such a short time.

The experience before the tour began was disappointing. Phone calls to Viator Sydney for information and booking required waiting on hold for 10 to 15 minutes before being answered. We waited 5 days for answers to several emailed questions about the tour due to slow response from AATKing. Our confirmation document said pickup at our hotel (Hilton Darwin) would be at 8:00 AM. A later email from AATKing said pickup would be at 6:15 AM. I called AATKing the day before the tour and they confirmed 6:15. When there was no pickup by 6:45 I called AATKing to discover they had changed the time back to 8:00 AM. They had left a message on my mobile after I turned it off for the day but failed to leave a message at the hotel as well. This delay made what was already a long travel day even longer.

Doing what: 3-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great scenery. Very informative tour driver

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It is a "small" tour. Lots of time to relax. It is possible to hike on your own. But don't expect a decent lunch, bring your own food.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Time wasted because tour leader was confused about the programme, missed out on part of aboriginal cultural segment. Advertised lunch was a BBQ but only consisted of BBQd chicken burgers and tour leader did not check that all people were there at lunchtime so food was not saved for one couple. Tour was really geared for young people who wanted to swim at the waterholes, this should be made clear in the advertising. Water in container could have been kept cold and easier to access.

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great trip. Thank you to Ted who kept us entertained, was well informed and looked after us so well. We saw so much in our 3 days, it surpassed our expectations.

Doing what: 3-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The vehicle was comfortable, the food was tasty and plentiful, the scenery amazing and the guide (Jarred) was lovely. I would thoroughly recommend this tour as it was a great 'taste test' of the top end and the tour managed to fit in a lot: Indigenous rock art, basket weaving, spear throwing, bush walking, swimming in waterfalls and a boat tour of a billabong teaming with birds, crocodiles, and beautiful scenery. The 'camping' was comfortable with proper beds, toilets and hot showers. Our group was a great group of happy, friendly people with a cross section of ages and nationalities. Everyone was happy to pitch in to help when needed, which ensured that a good time was had by all. We are already planning another trip to the top end, so we can explore some of the places we visited more fully. Thanks to our guide Jarred for a wonderful experience too. Cheers Marlene and Peter (Perth)

Doing what: 3-Day 4WD Small-Group Litchfield and Kakadu Camping Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. The scenery sells itself. Good amount of time spent at the waterfalls and Buley waterhole, which was amazing. Stopped for ice creams on way back sat outside cafe and cuddled pet snake! Nice BBQ lunch. Day started slow, when after driving for three quarters hour pulled over into the shrub and told we were going to be shown aspects of aboriginal life- playing didgeridoo and basket weaving! Felt we just wanted to get on to Litchfield at the time, but looking back it was very interesting and made part of the whole days experience. Mini bus was comfortable and air conditioned.

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Guide Cam had a great local knowledge which he shared in an entertaining way.
What amazing country! Katherine Gorge Sunset Cruise an absolute highlight and the 3 day trip allowed time to enjoy each stop without being rushed. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Stunning scenery, a must do day trip when in Darwin. Great guide with lots of knowledge.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trip was nice, but the guide was very bad. She told us too less about the landscape and the parks itself. She drove very well but her service was quite bad.

Doing what: 3-Day 4WD Small-Group Litchfield and Kakadu Camping Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip was great Guide was very experienced and informative about culture, wildlife and vegetation. My husband and I are in our late 50's and most of our group were of a similar age Fitness however within the group was qite different The tour guide however adjusted trip so alternatives were available on each walk sothat all of us were catered for

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Comfortable and relaxing day in Litchfield. Plenty of time to enjoy a swim at two amazing waterfalls in Litchfield National Park, Wangi Falls was my favourite. Easily paced. Warren our tour guide and driver was wonderful, full of knowledge and very friendly.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good fun trip. I'm used to independent travel and budget trips, but if you are used to guided tours and prefer someone else to plan your trip then this is the tour to do.

Doing what: 3-Day 4WD Small-Group Litchfield and Kakadu Camping Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message