Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Litchfield National Park

Renowned for its spectacular scenery, monsoonal rainforests, spring-fed streams and waterfalls, Litchfield National Park is perhaps best known for its magnetic termite mounds, immense sculptural cairns built by termites and aligned perfectly from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Litchfield was better than Katherine I thought, but what a hot day. Should have bought the cozzies. The driver was well informed regarding the area.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed this tour, the guide was very helpful and we saw both secluded and beautiful areas as well as the larger more populated parts of Litchfield. Had a great time.

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour, we had a bus full of young fun loving people and we had a ball. Mel was our driver/guide and she showed us all of the amazing waterfalls and swimming holes, she told us about the termite mounds and other features of the outback. The food was fresh and plentiful. Dinner the first night was a BBQ with steaks, sausages and salads with lots of wine. We never felt rushed and had plenty of time to explore the beautiful water holes and waterfalls. I would definitely recommend this tour but take the Aerogard, good walking shoes and sunblock. There is a lot of climbing up rocky hills at Litchfield.

Doing what: 3-Day 4WD Small-Group Litchfield and Kakadu Camping Adventure

Chris
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Litchfield was a good day Forgot to take our bathers therefore felt left out. Not tours fault.
Should have read the itinerary properly.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. The scenery sells itself. Good amount of time spent at the waterfalls and Buley waterhole, which was amazing. Stopped for ice creams on way back sat outside cafe and cuddled pet snake! Nice BBQ lunch. Day started slow, when after driving for three quarters hour pulled over into the shrub and told we were going to be shown aspects of aboriginal life- playing didgeridoo and basket weaving! Felt we just wanted to get on to Litchfield at the time, but looking back it was very interesting and made part of the whole days experience. Mini bus was comfortable and air conditioned.

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Comfortable and relaxing day in Litchfield. Plenty of time to enjoy a swim at two amazing waterfalls in Litchfield National Park, Wangi Falls was my favourite. Easily paced. Warren our tour guide and driver was wonderful, full of knowledge and very friendly.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the most magnificent tour seeing the wonderful sights of Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield. Rob, our tour guide, was very passionate about this tour and his enthusiasm infected all of the 15 passengers on board this mini-4WD-coach. You have to do/see it to believe it. Fantastic!

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

Barry J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is merely a taste of Litchfield, as you need more time to see it thoroughly, but if you can only spare a day this is a very good tour. The driver/tour guide was brilliant and kept us informed throughout the journey on lots of aspects of Litchfield. We had great weather and it was lovely to be able to swim in two of the waterfalls.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

Sharon E A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

As a family of 5, we had a great time travelling down to and in litchfield National Park. Tour guide was great and it was a fabulous day.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

George M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Every tour is only as good as the tour guide, our guide really made our tour a wonderful day out. Litchfield Park is such a beautiful park with amazing water falls and pools. When you add the amazing knowledge & antidotes of the guide it just makes it perfect.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great trip. Litchfield is an excellent choice if you're already in Darwin. Everything worked well, definitely recommending this.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very informative and interesting tour, meal provided by Litchfield Park Cafe was excellent, the falls was spectacular.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. The driver provided excellent customer service and had a great knowledge of Darwin and Litchfield. The only negative was confusion around the pick up hotel. The options included the 'airport inn' however Darwin has an airport resort, airport motel and airport hotel.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Litchfield Day trip was Awesome. Tour guide provided lots of information on the National Park and also lots of insight into the history of Darwin. The waterfalls were breathtaking and swimming in the watering holes was so enjoyable. Also loved the lovely lunch provided. Sarah

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the tour overall. Loved Katherine and Kakadu. Litchfield probably appeals more to younger people. The days were a bit too long with too little time to rest before dinner e.g. 20 minutes to get changed

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We enjoyed the smaller group tour. The driver was young, safe and enthusiastic. He took us to a few out-of-the-way places that the bigger tour operators couldn't get to. We had as great time at Litchfield. The scenery w3as stunning

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a fantastic day touring Litchfield National Park. The tour host was friendly, energetic and knowledgeable. It was a leisurely days touring with plenty of time for swimming and relaxing, just what we wanted.

Doing what: Small-Group Litchfield National Park Day Trip from Darwin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Lunch was most disappointing and to have to pay for desert and drinks, for the money we paid, most disappointing.
The bus was comfortable, the scenery and Litchfield made everything worthwhile.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We all enjoyed the trip to Litchfield well worth a visit, very enjoyable, the driver(Mick) was great very knowlegable. The only downside was we travelled on a small minibus and although not full, there was nowhere to store bags and wasn't that comfortable for a long journey.

Doing what: Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message