Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Nitmiluk (Katherine Gorge) National Park

Nitmiluk (also called Katherine Gorge) is the deep path cut through the sandstone by the Katherine River, and the Nitmiluk Katherine Gorge National Park is where you can go to lap up the luscious experience of the Gorge, whether that be swimming in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Each person in our family loved this trip. There were 4 families in total 17 people in our tour group. We didn't know each other but all got along. All children were roughly similar ages 8-15. The tour guide - Adam - made this a unique experience for us, with all of his knowledge, humor and energy !! The camping, assisting with meals, lighting the fire and sitting around was wonderful. Kakadu was amazing. So much to see and learn. Katherine Gorge my personal highlight was exceptional. We took the Boat tour option which covers 3 gorges of the 13. Had we walked or canoed, children would have found it hard going as it is quite hot and the distance is quite far. Also there is no swimming ! The additional highlight of the boat tour is that the guides are very informative and seek out crocodiles for us to see. A must !! The numerous waterfalls we visited across the 5 days with stunning vistas and swimming opportunities are definitely not to be missed.. So very beautiful ! Kids loved every second of the swimming and jumping off ledges. Our final day was also great fun, we stayed at a working Cattle station, where there was a whip display that we could also get involved in... and did ! There were many laughs to be had ! our final day at Leichfield National Park was a waterfall extravanagza... great way to finish. So much to see and do. We really have had an amazing time, lots of adrenaline, lots of learnings and cultural enrichment and of course a stack of memories we have forever with us ! Thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Katherine Gorge trip was the highlight of our Darwin trip. Such a beautiful place. Excellent commentary during the boat trip through the gorge. The swim at Edith Falls was another highlight. Bus trips there and back were long, though.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour!! Edith Falls was lovely and Katherine Gorge is just stunning. Our guide, Ben, was fun and provided some light entertainment for the long drive home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Katherine gorge was magnificent and well worth the long drive

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Great driver/tour guide. Katherine Gorge is incredible. Experience of a lifetime. Highly recommend going. A long day but really worth it.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Edith Falls was beautiful. The Gorge is enchanting. The guide was very knowledgable. The lunch was great.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Ian G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very long day but a very comfortable coach journey. Loved the stop at Nitmiluk NP and Katherine Gorge was amazing, took lots of photo's. A good lunch included, arrived back in Darwin very tired but happy after a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Could not fault the tour or the attractions but the guide was completely useless drove way below the speed limit all the time so many areas were we stopped for meals, sightseeing or for swims were cut short one area promised on the tour for a swim never happened returning from the Katherine gorge dinner cruise he got lost and drove around for over a half hour before he found the main road again.

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was sensational. We learnt a lot about aboriginal cultural . Saw the most amazing landscapes and sunsets. Our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour and a good knowledge of the places we visited, very accommodating. We live in a wonderful country. I would highly recommend this.

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely wonderful. From fabulous wetlands tour with Scotty to the knowledge of Stefanie our guide. Small group so really ideal from the 88 year old to the young 20s - something for all. The beauty amazing.

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great experience

Highly recommended

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a long busy day - the driver David was excellent company - the rest of the tour customers were very friendly
The cruise and views were wonderful

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend this trip, it was fantastic! The tour guide was well informed about the history and culture of Darwin, which was quite impressive.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great trip. Thank you to Ted who kept us entertained, was well informed and looked after us so well. We saw so much in our 3 days, it surpassed our expectations.

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip was great Guide was very experienced and informative about culture, wildlife and vegetation. My husband and I are in our late 50's and most of our group were of a similar age Fitness however within the group was qite different The tour guide however adjusted trip so alternatives were available on each walk sothat all of us were catered for

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything about it was GREAT

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip down Katherine Gorge was a highlight of my visit to the Top End!

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour guides and wonderful location. Haven't stopped raving about it!

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is a long day but well worth it. Tour guide was knowledgeable, Edith Falls was a great place for a swim (much warmer water than I thought it would be) and the Gorge itself is terrific.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great tour with a very knowledgeable driver. It is a long day but well worth the effort to see so much in a short time.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had great tour guides and luxury camping facilities, long days but worth it when you get to the waterfalls and swimming places, walks and rock climbing was great food great and plenty of it, met people from Germany, Spain and Switzerland they were so friendly weather great and they even dropped us back to collect our luggage and took us to our hotel very much appreciated, had a great time do it before you get too old so you enjoy it!

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the most magnificent tour seeing the wonderful sights of Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield. Rob, our tour guide, was very passionate about this tour and his enthusiasm infected all of the 15 passengers on board this mini-4WD-coach. You have to do/see it to believe it. Fantastic!

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best tours we have experienced anywhere in the world.
Our guide Rob was friendly, helpful and above all highly informative. His knowledge added greatly to the whole experience. From a billabong with crocs and many different birds and vegetation to the aboriginal rock paintings to the evening spent on the dinner boat through the wonderful scenery and swimming in the rock pools the whole trip was very good.
Great trip for all ages but perhaps not for those that cannot easily scramble over rocks and paths. .

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message