Darwin ATTRACTIONS See all

Nitmiluk (Katherine Gorge) National Park

Nitmiluk (also called Katherine Gorge) is the deep path cut through the sandstone by the Katherine River, and the Nitmiluk Katherine Gorge National Park is where you can go to lap up the luscious experience of the Gorge, whether that be swimming in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

maosen_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was well organised, tour guide was so patient and knowledgeable. We got looked after really well.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

H. M. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pickup from our hotel was smooth and timely on a good comfortable bus with really good quality Roadhouse stop on the way, which was great as it was a long day. The best part of the trip was the cruise on Katherine Gorge with the aboriginal guide, hearing about his own personal culture and heritage was a great pleasure.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Julie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour of Katherine and Katherine Gorge cruise. The scenic trip from Darwin was amazing. Stopping in at Adelaide river and visiting the War Cemetery and learning about the history of the town. Stopping at Edith Falls and the scenery was excellent. Well worth the day trip.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Kayza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour. The guide was full of information and although disappointed the falls were closed for swimming, he still arranged for us to have a quick dip at a pool. Scenery was amazing.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The whole day was stunning from the swim in a crystal clear waterhole to a cruise in the Katherine Gorge. The day was very hot and long but we were caught in a thunderstorm while on the gorge which cooled everything down. The lunch at the visitors centre was of a very high quality. The scenery and history of the area in Katherine was fascinating and interesting and we had a marvellous day.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Elspeth ann w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour. Our guide John was very informative. A very long day the water holes to swim in were lovely as it was very hot. The trip down the Katherine gorge was breath taking.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Carmel T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. It gave us a good cross section of the outback surrounding Darwin. Our driver Russell? gets a gold star for his knowledge, sense of humour, keeping us entertained for nearly 15 hours, and his ability to keep the whole day running smoothly. Highlights were swimming at Edith Falls and enjoying the atmosphere at the Emerald Springs Roadhouse as we tucked into the juiciest Barramundi and the best Devonshire teas ever. The only regret of the day was not seeing more of Katherine we only drove through it on the way to Katherine Gorge. But I'd still definitely recommend this tour. All up, a great day, and I've come back with some wonderful memories.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Karen S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The bus driver was very informative and went out of her way to make the trip enjoyable. It was a very long day but worth every second of it.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Terence O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an amazing experience...loved the gorge...great place to visit.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip, our guide Nathan was brilliant and had so much local knowledge

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. The Coach driver and guide is a great asset to your company. Made the trip great, interesting and lot's of fun. will highly recommend. thank You.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

dmonasch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was wonderful! The pickup was smooth and timely, the bus was well equipped and the views impeccable. The best part of the whole day was the cruise on Katherine Gorge and our wonderful aboriginal guide. He was incredibly knowledgable and hearing about his own personal culture and heritage was an indescribable pleasure. This could only be improved by having traveled during wet season when the waterfalls are flowing!

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Rosemary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great tour. It's a long day but well worth while. There are two gorges to cruise through but if you don't feel able to walk over somewhat rocky ground to the second cruise there is a nice shady spot with chairs and iced water to sit a while and wait for the others to return. Dinner at Sapphire Springs on the return journey is optional but I would highly recommend putting your order in. The salt and pepper squid is VERY delicious.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Athina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Each person in our family loved this trip. There were 4 families in total 17 people in our tour group. We didn't know each other but all got along. All children were roughly similar ages 8-15. The tour guide - Adam - made this a unique experience for us, with all of his knowledge, humor and energy !! The camping, assisting with meals, lighting the fire and sitting around was wonderful. Kakadu was amazing. So much to see and learn. Katherine Gorge my personal highlight was exceptional. We took the Boat tour option which covers 3 gorges of the 13. Had we walked or canoed, children would have found it hard going as it is quite hot and the distance is quite far. Also there is no swimming ! The additional highlight of the boat tour is that the guides are very informative and seek out crocodiles for us to see. A must !! The numerous waterfalls we visited across the 5 days with stunning vistas and swimming opportunities are definitely not to be missed.. So very beautiful ! Kids loved every second of the swimming and jumping off ledges. Our final day was also great fun, we stayed at a working Cattle station, where there was a whip display that we could also get involved in... and did ! There were many laughs to be had ! our final day at Leichfield National Park was a waterfall extravanagza... great way to finish. So much to see and do. We really have had an amazing time, lots of adrenaline, lots of learnings and cultural enrichment and of course a stack of memories we have forever with us ! Thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Katherine Gorge trip was the highlight of our Darwin trip. Such a beautiful place. Excellent commentary during the boat trip through the gorge. The swim at Edith Falls was another highlight. Bus trips there and back were long, though.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Kerri R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour!! Edith Falls was lovely and Katherine Gorge is just stunning. Our guide, Ben, was fun and provided some light entertainment for the long drive home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Pauline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Katherine gorge was magnificent and well worth the long drive

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Great driver/tour guide. Katherine Gorge is incredible. Experience of a lifetime. Highly recommend going. A long day but really worth it.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Marilyn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Edith Falls was beautiful. The Gorge is enchanting. The guide was very knowledgable. The lunch was great.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Ian G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very long day but a very comfortable coach journey. Loved the stop at Nitmiluk NP and Katherine Gorge was amazing, took lots of photo's. A good lunch included, arrived back in Darwin very tired but happy after a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Katherine Day Tour from Darwin including Katherine Gorge Cruise

Damian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Could not fault the tour or the attractions but the guide was completely useless drove way below the speed limit all the time so many areas were we stopped for meals, sightseeing or for swims were cut short one area promised on the tour for a swim never happened returning from the Katherine gorge dinner cruise he got lost and drove around for over a half hour before he found the main road again.

Doing what: 4-Day Top End Highlights Including Kakadu and Katherine

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was sensational. We learnt a lot about aboriginal cultural . Saw the most amazing landscapes and sunsets. Our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour and a good knowledge of the places we visited, very accommodating. We live in a wonderful country. I would highly recommend this.

Doing what: 5-Day 4WD Camping Adventure Including Kakadu, Katherine Gorge and Litchfield National Parks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message