The Bedouin people are a desert-dwelling ethnic group found throughout the Arabian peninsula. While rapid modernization throughout the region has led a majority of these former herders and nomadic traders to seek new livelihoods in the cities, it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic from start to finish. We even got an informative tour of some of the city's attractions as we were in the car picking up guests.

We did the vintage Land Rover tour however some of the other guests were doing camel riding instead. I'd recommend the Land Rover tour as you still get the opportunity to do camel riding before eating the fabulous Arabian food at the Bedouin camp where the evening ends.

Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable experience.
We were a small group on the camel ride, the guide was absolutely accommodating and the sights were great, including a few gazelle that we saw grazing. Once we reached the Oasis carpets and cushions we were entertained and informed at sunset by a Falconry expert who demonstrated the skill and gave us all an opportunity to get the flavour for a hunting lifestyle that is now only a memory for most.
From there it was off to a Bedouin camp for a traditional greeting and dinner, including dance demonstrations and the opportunity to experience henna tatooing and shisha.
An unexpected bonus was the Astronomer who mapped the night sky for us.
Truly enjoyable from start to finish and huge nod to Faisal who courteously entertained my myriad questions!
A must do excursion for anyone visiting the desert/Dubai.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything about this tour was brilliant. Loved the tour guide, the falconry exhibition was really interesting,the ride in the open land rover - in spite of being sandy - was great fun, the Bedouin dinner delicious and the camel ride was good fun too. We thoroughly recommend Platinum tours for this particular desert experience.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What can I say. The tour exceeded my expectations, from the moment hearing the bubbly tour guide on entering the van to being driven back to the hotel, a wonderful experience.
The tour was well organised with me on the camel safari and others opting for the driving. The 3 course dinner cooked the old bedouin style was superb, activities falcon display, astronomy, heena designs, dancing and more made this experience full and memorable.
I will always remember fondly of the time in Dubai on the camel, and would strongly recommend this tour. The camel ride is a must.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We choose this tour by accident but it was brilliant. Small and personal and away from the madding crowd. We went to a private reserve and did the camel trek to the Bedouin camp while others took the open top land rovers. 45 mins later we all met up at the camp for a fantastic experience - falconry astronomy dancing meal etc. Short camel rides were available through the evening and unless you are reasonably fit and keen I would suggest the 50 min trek maybe more than you need on a camels back. We both relished the experience but suffered from camel legs for a few days afterwards. The guides were fantastic and touchingly attentive to people who were struggling a bit with the heat or the food or the camels. We had read reviews of other dessert safaris that sounded overcrowded and a little disappointing but pay a little extra and get a genuine life affirming experience

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Riding the camel through the desert was such a peaceful experience later in the day.
Could not fault this tour. Got picked up from hotel, shown sights along the way to the desert, the camel ride, the falconry display, the short 4 wheel drive to the Bedouin camp. At the camp we were served excellent food and plenty of it! Bread and coffee making display, henna tattos if wanted, hookah pipes, and belly dancing.. so glad we did this tour it was the highlight of going to Dubai!

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended! We really enjoyed this tour. Highlight was the desert safari but the other aspects (falconry display and Bedouin camp) were also good. Food was plentiful and interesting. Our driver/guide (Tiago) was excellent.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a wonderful time with our guide, Sameh. The desert is gorgeous and the Bedouin camp was a perfect end to the night! There was so much to do at the camp- camel rides, henna, hookah, and watching traditional dancers. The food was AMAZING and plentiful. I was so full! Don't wear sandals- you'll be walking in the sand a lot and it's really tough. I would suggest boots so you don't have to worry about sand getting in your shoes at all!

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great safari! Definitely worth the money. We got picked up on time and got told about the passing sites on our way out into the desert, including where they do camel racing. We went far away from the centre of Dubai and rode camels in a private reserve in the desert, for the whole 45mins before getting off and making ourselves comfy on the pillows and mat with sparkling grape juice to watch the falconry show, which was great, pos could of been abit longer tho. From there we got taken in 4wd jeeps to the Bedouin-style camp where we had dinner after watching a Arabic bread making demonstration and getting a Henna. For dinner there was so much to choose from and we even had Camel milk and meat to try if we wanted to. After dinner they had a few dancers and we had the opportunity to buy our professional photos on a memory stick, which is the best idea more companies should do this as when your travelling its hard to keep photos flat and then back in the 4WD back across the dunes to the Mini van. Only difficult thing about the whole trip was getting hold of the tour company to confirm pickup time once we had arrived in Dubai, it said to contact them as soon as we arrived which we did but couldn't get hold of anyone, the next morning after trying another 2 times we finally got hold of them and was told we would receive an email in a few hours confirming the exact pick up time as they didnt know at that point, we never received the email and ended up ringing again at midday and was then told the time.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An amazing once in a lifetime experience, the staff is fantastic! The hotel pickup was on time and well organized; our group was very small (4 people including us) so that made it even better. The camel experience was perfect with a small group, almost an hour on the camels, and you quickly end up in what seems the middle of nowhere with nothing around but sand. Exactly what I wanted! Based on the stock photos I had expected the camel safari to be a few dozen camels and people bumping each other in the desert, this was definitely not that and almost a private experience. Granted I think this is meant to be booked for more people but we got lucky and our tour was just a small one. The Bedouin camp is marvelous, food was phenomenal! It's set up like an old style camp, however, there are modern restrooms in the back which was great.

The ride back after all the adventures is a bit much, that's the only thing. It was over 90 minutes from the time we left the preserve until we reached the doors of our hotel so make sure you use the bathroom beforehand. Nothing against the company at all, I would do this experience again and again.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was picked up early afternoon and headed into the desert. 6 people in our group. Upon arriving we were given desert head-dress and pictures on our "mount". Then headed off into the desert for a ~50minute ride to a carpeted and pillowed section on the desert; given bubbly grape to drink, followed by a falconry exhibition. Then a bit of relaxation to watch the sunset.

After sunset boarded some '50's vintage landrovers and off to the Bedouin camp. Of course for us tourists, but very well done and quite impressive. In small groups around the camp to explain the several differnent activities; then settled under our tent for dinner; followed by a few traditional dance exhibitions. Lastly, coffee and hookah smoking in another carpeted and pillowed area. Around 11PM we boarded the landrovers and back to our van to return to town.

All EXTREMELY well done and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Picked us up right on time….actually a few minutes early. Wonderful guide, very friendly. Falconry demonstration was very informative. Bedouin village and dinner fantastic. Lots and lots of delicious food, great entertainment. Facilities were clean and well kept; all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Sandra C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic evening in the Desert.........we loved this tour everything was perfect pick up was prompt,the drive out to the desert very interesting the camel ride amazing.".we saw gazelles and Oryxes......Falconry display very impressive and the meal and activities at the Bedouin camp great and everyone was so nice and friendly and informative would recommend to anyone travelling to Dubai

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ask for malik, he was friendly and funny and attentive. The sand duning was great and the dinner at the bedouin camp was a great experience! The whole evening was a mix of exciting adventure followed by a really relaxed dinner. I will do the same tour next time im in dubai

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This Desert Experience surpassed all our expectations!! My sister and I had the most wonderful time. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip into the desert, the falcon display, the dunes. The evening spent in the Bedouin compound was amazing, the food was delicious and abundant. We had the henna tattoos, smoked the pipes, enjoyed the dancing and the music! But best of all, was our wonderful guide Victor!! He made our trip fun and adventurous, and he answered all our questions about local customs and traditions. This really was a tour that lived up to its claims and delivered even more. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Hev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What can I say about this tour, it was outstanding.. From the pick up at the hotel; our excellent guide (Sameh) was a joy to be with, so helpful and informative with a great sense of humour (ask for this guy)..
The trip to the Conversation range was in a nice air conditioned van to get to the Land Rovers, we then had our scarf place around our heads for protection (you can buy if you want to for only 20 AUE), then we were off.
We saw wildlife, learnt about the desert, saw a falcon display and got to hold the falcon, pretty terrific that was. and then the dinner in a Bedouin tent, with food, dancing, henna tattoo if you want one, camel ride and more.. I have been to many countries and booked many trips, this is one of the best.. If you only have a few days or even one day in Dubai...Do this !!

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had the experience to go to the desert with two different tour operators. What made the Platinum Heritage tour better for me was the authentic manner in which the meal was prepared and served, the opportunity to smoke sheesha comfortably, and the guide Hamdy going out of his way to meet the unique interests of each tour participant without neglecting the others.

On the tour we watched our food being prepared as it might have been by a Bedouin, we had a variety of mezza served to us at the table as if we were royalty, and our lamb was prepared as it was in the past. After dinner we had the opportunity to sit and smoke sheesha for as long as we liked sitting or resting on cushions in the center of the camp. There were two honeymooning couples so the guide Hamdy arranged for a special toast for the honeymooners, in addition to other activities to suit the needs and interests of the guests. It felt like a personal private tour with so much attentiveness.
The sleeping arrangements were comfortable and the desert at night delightful. In the morning we once again watched our food authentically prepared and had the opportunity to ask questions of a local Bedouin. The overnight camping safari could not have been better….had a great time.

Doing what: Overnight Desert Camp Experience: Dinner, Emirati Activities and Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Dubai. The food provided was fantastic and plentiful. The vintage land rover lived up to the ad! Also the bedouin styled camp was great as we didn't have to share with any other tour companies. The location was exclusive to Platinum Heritage company which was great and added to the atmosphere. I really enjoyed the falcon demonstration as well.

My only criticism is regarding the drivers of the land rover. He wasn't really enthusiastic about interacting with the customers and just wanted to get the historical and cultural information said and done he seemed very disinterested. Small touches like introducing himself to the group, telling the group what we would be doing and seeing in the land rover ride, offering water at the start instead of being prompted by the customers, offering to take pictures for the customers etc. would have increased the overall experience from great to really outstanding.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Yasef, was terrific as were the other guides from Alpha Tours, our vintage Land Rover had driver plus 6 passengers. We were given a fair bit of information about Dubai on our trip which was quite interesting. The falconry display was quite good, sitting out in the desire on rugs with cushions under the stars. Watching the sun go down out there was beautiful and so peaceful. When we arrived at the Bedouin camp, the sun was finally going down, laters were lit and again there were rugs on the ground scattered with cushions, sheesha pipes were there if you wanted to try it, henna tattoos were also available, I got one and love it. The meal was delicious, various tastes and textured traditional food, including camel. The camel ride as the sun just went down was a great experience. I loved it and would recommend to anyone visiting Dubai

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. From our pickup, to drop off, our Guide Sherif was prompt, courteous and provided us with a good commentary and a safe drive. The actual tour itself was interesting, the desert time was good; camp, food and entertainment were all enjoyable. It was wonderful to get out of the city and see how the Bedouin people lived. Would recommend this company for sure as they go into the heritage areas were only their company have access.

Doing what: Best Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message