Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Bedouin Camp

The Bedouin people are a desert-dwelling ethnic group found throughout the Arabian peninsula. While rapid modernization throughout the region has led a majority of these former herders and nomadic traders to seek new livelihoods in the cities, it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great end to our trip in Dubai, Hotel pickup from our great and knowledgeable guide Imran, we were placed in a large SUV with some other nice tourists from Europe. We had a pleasurable drive to the nature reserve while Imran filled us in on what our day would consist of.

Once we arrived at the nature reserve, we proceeded to walk in through the gate and it became clear how nice the desert could be. we were provided with complimentary protective head gear to protect us from the sun, and then my wife and I enjoyed a nice Camel ride through the desert to watch some falconry and a nice sunset over a tasty glass of sparkling pomegranate juice. Following that we were taken to the Bedouin style camp for dinner which was very nice, and watched some traditional dances, while indulging in some delicious traditional Arabic cuisine and meeting other tourists from many nationalities. It was a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Nicholas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing tour - a must do. Guides are very professional and helpful. Land Rover was awesome. Falcon show was really interesting and bedouin camp was very well prepared with plenty of food, great atmosphere and hookah pipes. A definite must do - I would honestly go again if I ever go to Dubai again.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour. Our pickup at the hotel was prompt at 3:45pm. We had a very knowledgeable driver who filled us in on the way to our transfer to the Landrovers. We were all outfitted with local headwear which proved to be invaluable because of the winds and the sand.... fun to wear too. Be careful of using your point and shoot cameras if it's windy... my companion ruined hers with the sand blowing everywhere. The safari consisted of a drive through a desert conservation area with a few animals to be seen at a manmade watering hole... not quite on par with what you would see on safari in Africa but still enjoyable. Then on to the falconry display. Because of the unusually high winds we experienced the falcon had a hard time flying and catching the bait. It was still very entertaining. We arrived at the Bedouin camp for dinner just after nightfall. Dinner was great with lots of variety. I tried a little of everything they offered. During dinner there was entertainment, dancing, camel rides and henna tattoos.... lots of activities to keep us entertained. After dinner we laid down on carpets and smoked pipes ... looked up at the stars... I could have stayed there all night. We got back to our hotel at 11pm. All in all highly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely excellent. Not to be compared with some of the other desert safari's on offer. Every aspect of this package was first class. The hotel pick-up, the camel ride, falconry display, Bedouin camp and meal were all extremely well presented, and most enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone, and would certainly go again when I return to Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Byrdie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome cultural experience hands down. Our tour and tour guide were amazing. The beginning to the end were filled with experiences that gave you rich cultural experience...the ride through the desert viewing the oryx and dunes the welcoming drink of sparkling apple and date juice was fantastic...the falcon show was very informative about how the were used to hunt for food...the Bedouin camp site and camel rides were the BEST...the food was amazing as were the native dancers and the dances performed by both men and a women..the henna tattoo I received was beautiful...the staff was very hospitable and wanted to make sure you were enjoying yourself there was also an area to sit and relax to try the hookah...

Just an added note, based on my conversation with others my experience was better on this tour than with the others it wasn't crowded and it offered more cultural experiences than the other tours Just imagine a small group touring the desert watching the sunset ending on a campsite getting to know one another over an amazing meal under the Arabian sky filled with stars...just AWESOME....kudos to Platinum Heritage you lived up to your name and special thanks to Baheep sorry if I misspelled your name hope you know you were exceptional!!! You should be given a raise...Lol

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an incredible time on this luxury desert safari, quite possibly the best experience in Dubai. The door to door service was great and the experience is one we will never forget. Definitely worth the money! Riding camels in the desert was epic, the meal at the camp was delicious and smoking shisha under the stars was priceless. We got an authentic taste for life like the Bedouins. We would fly from the USA back to repeat this experience in a heartbeat...two thumbs up!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Jaleisha J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Platinum Heritage Tour was by far our best experience during our 4 days in Dubai. I cannot say enough positive things about this tour. Our tour guides were exceptional! This tour had everything! The traditional headdress for the Range Rover ride was a nice touch. It made for great pictures and added to the authentic desert experience. The Bedouin food at the campsite was amazing! The camel ride was a fun experience. We got to try Arabic coffee and camel milk. The hookah was a nice treat. We ended the night with star-gazing. We got to see Saturn and the moon through a telescope. We learned about Dubai and the Bedouin people, tried new things, and had an amazing time. The tour was perfect. Do not leave Dubai without going on a one of these tours!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic from start to finish. We even got an informative tour of some of the city's attractions as we were in the car picking up guests.

We did the vintage Land Rover tour however some of the other guests were doing camel riding instead. I'd recommend the Land Rover tour as you still get the opportunity to do camel riding before eating the fabulous Arabian food at the Bedouin camp where the evening ends.

Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Carina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable experience.
We were a small group on the camel ride, the guide was absolutely accommodating and the sights were great, including a few gazelle that we saw grazing. Once we reached the Oasis carpets and cushions we were entertained and informed at sunset by a Falconry expert who demonstrated the skill and gave us all an opportunity to get the flavour for a hunting lifestyle that is now only a memory for most.
From there it was off to a Bedouin camp for a traditional greeting and dinner, including dance demonstrations and the opportunity to experience henna tatooing and shisha.
An unexpected bonus was the Astronomer who mapped the night sky for us.
Truly enjoyable from start to finish and huge nod to Faisal who courteously entertained my myriad questions!
A must do excursion for anyone visiting the desert/Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Vicki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything about this tour was brilliant. Loved the tour guide, the falconry exhibition was really interesting,the ride in the open land rover - in spite of being sandy - was great fun, the Bedouin dinner delicious and the camel ride was good fun too. We thoroughly recommend Platinum tours for this particular desert experience.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Ronald Grant W New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What can I say. The tour exceeded my expectations, from the moment hearing the bubbly tour guide on entering the van to being driven back to the hotel, a wonderful experience.
The tour was well organised with me on the camel safari and others opting for the driving. The 3 course dinner cooked the old bedouin style was superb, activities falcon display, astronomy, heena designs, dancing and more made this experience full and memorable.
I will always remember fondly of the time in Dubai on the camel, and would strongly recommend this tour. The camel ride is a must.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We choose this tour by accident but it was brilliant. Small and personal and away from the madding crowd. We went to a private reserve and did the camel trek to the Bedouin camp while others took the open top land rovers. 45 mins later we all met up at the camp for a fantastic experience - falconry astronomy dancing meal etc. Short camel rides were available through the evening and unless you are reasonably fit and keen I would suggest the 50 min trek maybe more than you need on a camels back. We both relished the experience but suffered from camel legs for a few days afterwards. The guides were fantastic and touchingly attentive to people who were struggling a bit with the heat or the food or the camels. We had read reviews of other dessert safaris that sounded overcrowded and a little disappointing but pay a little extra and get a genuine life affirming experience

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

K N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Riding the camel through the desert was such a peaceful experience later in the day.
Could not fault this tour. Got picked up from hotel, shown sights along the way to the desert, the camel ride, the falconry display, the short 4 wheel drive to the Bedouin camp. At the camp we were served excellent food and plenty of it! Bread and coffee making display, henna tattos if wanted, hookah pipes, and belly dancing.. so glad we did this tour it was the highlight of going to Dubai!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Alistair K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended! We really enjoyed this tour. Highlight was the desert safari but the other aspects (falconry display and Bedouin camp) were also good. Food was plentiful and interesting. Our driver/guide (Tiago) was excellent.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Amberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a wonderful time with our guide, Sameh. The desert is gorgeous and the Bedouin camp was a perfect end to the night! There was so much to do at the camp- camel rides, henna, hookah, and watching traditional dancers. The food was AMAZING and plentiful. I was so full! Don't wear sandals- you'll be walking in the sand a lot and it's really tough. I would suggest boots so you don't have to worry about sand getting in your shoes at all!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

EC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great safari! Definitely worth the money. We got picked up on time and got told about the passing sites on our way out into the desert, including where they do camel racing. We went far away from the centre of Dubai and rode camels in a private reserve in the desert, for the whole 45mins before getting off and making ourselves comfy on the pillows and mat with sparkling grape juice to watch the falconry show, which was great, pos could of been abit longer tho. From there we got taken in 4wd jeeps to the Bedouin-style camp where we had dinner after watching a Arabic bread making demonstration and getting a Henna. For dinner there was so much to choose from and we even had Camel milk and meat to try if we wanted to. After dinner they had a few dancers and we had the opportunity to buy our professional photos on a memory stick, which is the best idea more companies should do this as when your travelling its hard to keep photos flat and then back in the 4WD back across the dunes to the Mini van. Only difficult thing about the whole trip was getting hold of the tour company to confirm pickup time once we had arrived in Dubai, it said to contact them as soon as we arrived which we did but couldn't get hold of anyone, the next morning after trying another 2 times we finally got hold of them and was told we would receive an email in a few hours confirming the exact pick up time as they didnt know at that point, we never received the email and ended up ringing again at midday and was then told the time.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Charles D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An amazing once in a lifetime experience, the staff is fantastic! The hotel pickup was on time and well organized; our group was very small (4 people including us) so that made it even better. The camel experience was perfect with a small group, almost an hour on the camels, and you quickly end up in what seems the middle of nowhere with nothing around but sand. Exactly what I wanted! Based on the stock photos I had expected the camel safari to be a few dozen camels and people bumping each other in the desert, this was definitely not that and almost a private experience. Granted I think this is meant to be booked for more people but we got lucky and our tour was just a small one. The Bedouin camp is marvelous, food was phenomenal! It's set up like an old style camp, however, there are modern restrooms in the back which was great.

The ride back after all the adventures is a bit much, that's the only thing. It was over 90 minutes from the time we left the preserve until we reached the doors of our hotel so make sure you use the bathroom beforehand. Nothing against the company at all, I would do this experience again and again.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Dean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was picked up early afternoon and headed into the desert. 6 people in our group. Upon arriving we were given desert head-dress and pictures on our "mount". Then headed off into the desert for a ~50minute ride to a carpeted and pillowed section on the desert; given bubbly grape to drink, followed by a falconry exhibition. Then a bit of relaxation to watch the sunset.

After sunset boarded some '50's vintage landrovers and off to the Bedouin camp. Of course for us tourists, but very well done and quite impressive. In small groups around the camp to explain the several differnent activities; then settled under our tent for dinner; followed by a few traditional dance exhibitions. Lastly, coffee and hookah smoking in another carpeted and pillowed area. Around 11PM we boarded the landrovers and back to our van to return to town.

All EXTREMELY well done and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Picked us up right on time….actually a few minutes early. Wonderful guide, very friendly. Falconry demonstration was very informative. Bedouin village and dinner fantastic. Lots and lots of delicious food, great entertainment. Facilities were clean and well kept; all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Sandra C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic evening in the Desert.........we loved this tour everything was perfect pick up was prompt,the drive out to the desert very interesting the camel ride amazing.".we saw gazelles and Oryxes......Falconry display very impressive and the meal and activities at the Bedouin camp great and everyone was so nice and friendly and informative would recommend to anyone travelling to Dubai

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

heritageroofer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ask for malik, he was friendly and funny and attentive. The sand duning was great and the dinner at the bedouin camp was a great experience! The whole evening was a mix of exciting adventure followed by a really relaxed dinner. I will do the same tour next time im in dubai

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Sally O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This Desert Experience surpassed all our expectations!! My sister and I had the most wonderful time. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip into the desert, the falcon display, the dunes. The evening spent in the Bedouin compound was amazing, the food was delicious and abundant. We had the henna tattoos, smoked the pipes, enjoyed the dancing and the music! But best of all, was our wonderful guide Victor!! He made our trip fun and adventurous, and he answered all our questions about local customs and traditions. This really was a tour that lived up to its claims and delivered even more. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Hev Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What can I say about this tour, it was outstanding.. From the pick up at the hotel; our excellent guide (Sameh) was a joy to be with, so helpful and informative with a great sense of humour (ask for this guy)..
The trip to the Conversation range was in a nice air conditioned van to get to the Land Rovers, we then had our scarf place around our heads for protection (you can buy if you want to for only 20 AUE), then we were off.
We saw wildlife, learnt about the desert, saw a falcon display and got to hold the falcon, pretty terrific that was. and then the dinner in a Bedouin tent, with food, dancing, henna tattoo if you want one, camel ride and more.. I have been to many countries and booked many trips, this is one of the best.. If you only have a few days or even one day in Dubai...Do this !!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Meri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had the experience to go to the desert with two different tour operators. What made the Platinum Heritage tour better for me was the authentic manner in which the meal was prepared and served, the opportunity to smoke sheesha comfortably, and the guide Hamdy going out of his way to meet the unique interests of each tour participant without neglecting the others.

On the tour we watched our food being prepared as it might have been by a Bedouin, we had a variety of mezza served to us at the table as if we were royalty, and our lamb was prepared as it was in the past. After dinner we had the opportunity to sit and smoke sheesha for as long as we liked sitting or resting on cushions in the center of the camp. There were two honeymooning couples so the guide Hamdy arranged for a special toast for the honeymooners, in addition to other activities to suit the needs and interests of the guests. It felt like a personal private tour with so much attentiveness.
The sleeping arrangements were comfortable and the desert at night delightful. In the morning we once again watched our food authentically prepared and had the opportunity to ask questions of a local Bedouin. The overnight camping safari could not have been better….had a great time.

Doing what: Overnight Desert Camp Experience: Dinner, Emirati Activities and Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Malcolm C Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very good and well-organized. We had a great time in the dunes and an equally good time at the Bedouin camp. Food good, driving excellent, shisha and henna experience good. We would recommend this tour to any visitor to Dubai as very good value-for-money.

Doing what: Bedouin Style Desert Camp Safari from Dubai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message