Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Gold Souk

Unlike anything you have seen in the world, Dubai’s Gold Souk is a market that showcases seemingly endless amounts of gold jewelry. With over 300 jewelers on site to accommodate all your gold related needs, the streets during the day are swarming ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kiwivic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was great fun. Lets face it, most history in Dubai has been erased and replaced with very modern bling. The little that remains gets good coverage on this walking tour, the gold souk, the spice market, the clothing and textile markets, the abra boat across the river, the camel restaurant with really unexpectedly yummy burgers and kebabs the trip notes say a snack, but this was a dinner feast, with a great informative guide - really fun evening

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour guide was disinterested and complained the entire time about the traffic he was going to have to drive in after he returned us to our hotel.
He took us to a souk and to one store where he wanted us to buy but it was too expensive so we shopped on our own.

Doing what: Shopping tour Dubai

Ghina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable but didn't seem to love the area she was leading. But she did take care of every person and was clear about the destinations. She also moved through locations with ease and that inspires confidence.

The tour started late, and so it ended late and this meant that some people who were going on other tours felt like they needed to leave early We didn't see a private fashion show which is ok, but also didn't see the Women's Museum and that would have been interesting

Doing what: Dubai Museum Gold Souk and Water Taxi

ship

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very informative tour that guides you through the old sections of Dubai. The spice and gold markets are both very interesting, the boat ride was fun and we ended up eating dinner not just sweets as advertised at a very authentic local restaurant where we sampled camel. Our guide, Mohammad, was fantastic. My only criticisms are that it was unclear where we were to meet the metro station is large and there is both a manned and unmanned ticket booth and there is a lot of walking. We walked at least five miles so this may not be appropriate for less hearty travelers.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Harry L. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting tour of the cultural side of Dubai needed to inform people that it is a walking tour

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

novotny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guide Judit was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was very interesting.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great way to get the non-tourist experience in Dubai and find out that it more than just a Vegas in Arabia . Our guide was really knowledgeable and passionate about his home town. It was a bit of a hike and still quite warm even in the Dubai evening; so dress lightly and wear comfortable shoes.
The tour ends at the Burj Khalifa just as it starts to close, so if you want the trip up just ask the guide to speed though your less interested areas to get there a little earlier (be sure to book the ascent in advance - there are big queues)
Having a local to guide you through minimises the local traders' harassment and shows you where and how to avoid the tourist traps. I suggest you do this tour at the beginning of your Dubai trip.
There is no real time to shop along the way but our guide gave us valuable advice on how and where to buy gold trinkets afterwards.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Jeannine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a fantastic way to start our time in Dubai. We learnt the history and the culture of this amazing town. The guides were extremely helpful and knowledgable. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about the old and the new of Dubai.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Naomiy007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was excellent and if you want to understand and experience the real Dubia do this tour. It's not a shopping tour, if you want to browse and shop you are better off coming back, there is a lot to see on the tour so it's best to keep moving, The guide clearly loved Dubai and was keen to shre his knowledge and answer questions. For the first time In my life I questioned, briefly, if democracy really was that important. The women's museum is small and worth looking at. There was one couple and myself on the tour and we all agreed this was the best tour of Dubai if you want to find out what it's like to be a local. The Dhow ride was lovely and the dinner very tasty. I'm so glad I chose this tour.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Daniel S South Africa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The guide was good, but we feel we did not receive value for our money. We just walked through the souk. We were interested in visiting the Women museum, but it was closed on the Sunday. If we were aware of that we would have booked it on another day. In the evening you cannot see your surroundings that well.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Girl time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful walk and gives you a lot of information about the souks the woman museum is a must

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

KERRI-LEE E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

We started our holiday off with this tour which was a smart choice as we got to see the local ways and see other sites other then the usual Dubai attractions.

Doing what: Dubai Culture Tour: Deira Gold Souk and Bur Dubai Village

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message