Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Museum

Dubai Museum is housed in Al Fahidi Fort, built in 1787. It’s a terrific example of a desert fort, complete with cannons and battlements. Dubai’s entertaining museum brings the city’s past and present together in a series of life-size dioramas and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a day in Dubai and we wanted to see everything so this tour was ideal for us. We were collected promptly from our hotel at 1pm and brought to the tour bus. We started with a photo stop at the Burj Al-Arab and saw the beautiful white beaches which were full of holidaymakers and locals.
The coach was air conditioned which was welcome in the hot sunshine. Second stop was at the Jumeirah Mosque which was very beautiful to see. We also loved the included visit to the Dubai Museum at the Al Fahidi Fort which offered a lot about the history of Dubai. A highlight was the trip across the busy Dubai Creek in an Abra water taxi to visit both the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk in the Deira old town area. We were dropped off at the Dubai Mall to see the Burj Khalifa from where we made our own way home. Our only regret was not seeing the The Palm Islands.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent service pick up and return . The Dubai Museum was a wonderful insight into the past. The visit to the spice and gold souk was good . The guide was pleasant and informative.
The mandatory tipping was an unnecessary end to a great tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up at hotel in cab taken to bus. Tour was excellent. Taken to museum and suiqs. We loved it . Good guide

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

C.J. R USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I say the tour is worth doing just to see the different parts of the city or rather some of the highlights. I was originally excited to do this tour and oddly the museum was the coolest part for me. The souks, they were interesting but a bit of a downer because of all the people harassing you to buy fake stuff or to come in their shop. I mean i read it in the reviews and anticipated it but it was way more annoying than i thought it would be. The guide was cool though and we did have plenty of time to look around at all the stops. Bring cash, but gold stores take credit. FYI on the gold, its not cheap. The cheapest thing we seen was a gold bangle for 544US pre-haggle. Also ignore the sale/discount signs every store had a random person hold the sign up or put one up when a group of tourists are coming.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Daniela B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Good hotel pickup and drop-off organization and very professional guide. The Dubai Museum is very nice.
The rest of the tour is not very interesting, the old quarter Bastakiya and the Spice Souq and Deira Gold Souq are a loss of time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

the only part of the tour I enjoyed was riding the traditional boat/water taxi across the river the spice and gold market can be skipped there wasn't much to see at all. I didn't get to take a picture of the Burj Al-Arab hotel because that was the meeting point from my pick up to transfer to a coach bus...
The Jumeirah Mosque stop was more for photo snap opportunity: no chance to go inside.
The Dubai museum was interesting but you can go here yourself, without the tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very good introduction to Dubai. Really good local guide. The museum was excellent .

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joanne M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very good. She was interesting and showed initiative. when ur bus was involved in an accident and we needed to wait for the police, she had the driver first drop us off at a souk so that we were not sitting on a bus for a half hour. The museum was interesting and I would recommend a visit there. We crossed the creek in an abra to visit the spice and gold souks. I would have liked a bit more time in the souks as I never did get back there. Because of the accident and the incredible traffic, the tour was 2 hours longer than i thought I'd be.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

eribin75

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Tour was was well organized and our guide was very knowledgeable of the areas visited. The Dubai Museum was interesting as was the short river taxi ride across the creek. However it was at times difficult to keep up with the commentaries because the guide switched from English to German. We didn't know this was a dual language tour would've been good if such information was provided in the website. Overall a pretty good half day out especially for those who lack the time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ghina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable but didn't seem to love the area she was leading. But she did take care of every person and was clear about the destinations. She also moved through locations with ease and that inspires confidence.

The tour started late, and so it ended late and this meant that some people who were going on other tours felt like they needed to leave early We didn't see a private fashion show which is ok, but also didn't see the Women's Museum and that would have been interesting

Doing what: Dubai Museum Gold Souk and Water Taxi

Jagdish J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was excellent but I liked the museum the best.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

A C B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We seemed to wait quite some time at the beach for other members of the tour. Our charming Austrian guide worked very hard at giving the commentary in English and German for our German visitors. I think a scripted tour with notes would have been useful for her. The water taxi ride and the visit to the Spice and Gold Souks was great. Some tips on how to deal with the harassment of the people from he gold stores would have been helpful for women travelling on their own. More background on the museum could have been helpful, I had been before but still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

r.shah

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

It was a lot of hassle trying to reconfirm my booking , which the company got wrong several times.
I was picked up , with no information given about what the plan would be i.e go to a few hotels then join a larger coach with a lot of waiting time sitting in the car
there was not enough time on the souks , 20 mins in one shop. Then other people delayed us on in the gold souk , so it depends on the people on the trip.
If you wish to really explore the souks then not the right trip and the museum take max 15 mins to see everything.
the fun part was the water taxis , as it was different and enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went on this tour to save my hosts having to take me around, park etc and feel sure that we saw more than one would even with a local friend. Dubai Museum has expanded since I visited 6 years ago and is interesting to all ages, the short boat trip up the creek is fun. In the souk we had a great review of many spices, and some tasting, then time in the gold market where cold drinks were available as well as gold, scarves and leatherware. Our guide was excellent and the coach comfortable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

David

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour was reasonable with the surprise being the Dubai Museum
After being informed that morning that pickup time was 1.15pm and told DON'T BE LATE, they arrived at 2.15pm for the pickup. The guide was reasonable but with a bit of research you could do it yourself on the get on get off red bus service.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Irene W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Museum was very good but rest of trip was a non event. Being left in the gold market for 45 minutes in the heat while being badgered by all the shop owners, is not my idea of fun.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

George T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Took a bit of transfer mucking around but once it got going the tour was well worth the money. Some tours have too much padding but this tour gave us just the correct amount of time at each venue stop. The Spice Market was great Nd there were lots of bargains at the Gold Market. The Museum was well presented. This is a well planned tour of a great city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Thrivikrama S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time. The coach was A/C, was welcome in summer.
The gude was helpful and knowledgeable.
The tour included everything that was advertised - Burj Al Arab, Jumeira Mosque, Gold Souk, Spice Souk, Dubai Museum, boat ride in dubai creek etc.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dan L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour was very limited. Although we went to everything that was advertised, other than the museum nothing was worth it. Also do not recommend tour in summer

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Milena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Love it. Everything great. Need more time @ the spices souk, less @ the gold souk.
very informative, enjoyed the Dubai museum and the old city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Arthur S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good general overview provided of the city. The museum visit was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brendan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a very nice trip. The guide was excellent. The shuttle to and from the hotel was great. The one shortcoming i think is that we could have parked closer to the Burj Al Arab Hotel it was not explained that was the place to take the pictures, I thought we would go closer and that I could have used 10 more min to browse the Dubai Museum. Overall, a great tour at a good price.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Shaunte T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my mother on this tour yesterday and it was wonderful. The tour guide was patient, thorough and a great guide overall.
Since June is Ramadan we were not allowed to eat in public but were allowed to eat on the bus with the blinds pulled. We saw many important sites including the Dubai museum.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dianne H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the Dubai museum. Souk were way too hot and my daughter felt she was being harassed.pity the sandstorm obscured some of the buildings but still good. Aloe and very interesting. Take lots of water.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jill C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We very much enjoyed seeing the highlights of Dubai, from the Gold and Spice Souqs and the trip on the Abra to the Museum in Bastakiya.

Our tour guide was very patient with some of the tourists who exceeded the time allotted to various stops even though he was very precise on time restrictions at each site.

While I was impressed with the tour guide's English and that he seemed to know German well, he slid between the languages without pausing so that it was difficult to know when he was speaking English and therefore to follow what he was saying.

We spent well over an hour picking up other passengers. I understand how and why this happens and I didn't realize Dubai was as big as it is, but it was a lot of time to spend on the bus. And this was only for a few stops.

We met up with a van who deposited even more people on our bus at the Jumeirah stop that was supposed to be 15 minutes but turned out to be closer to 30. If we had been told what was going on, it would have made the wait much more agreeable.

After the tour's completion, there were several vehicles waiting to reduce the number of drop offs, but we still had the same number with which to content on the way back.

The driver was very good but when he was speaking on his phone a few times, we couldn't hear what the guide was saying, having already strained to comprehend him. Maybe they should work out between them that only one person can speak at a time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message