Dubai Museum is housed in Al Fahidi Fort, built in 1787. It’s a terrific example of a desert fort, complete with cannons and battlements. Dubai’s entertaining museum brings the city’s past and present together in a series of life-size dioramas and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a very nice trip. The guide was excellent. The shuttle to and from the hotel was great. The one shortcoming i think is that we could have parked closer to the Burj Al Arab Hotel it was not explained that was the place to take the pictures, I thought we would go closer and that I could have used 10 more min to browse the Dubai Museum. Overall, a great tour at a good price.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my mother on this tour yesterday and it was wonderful. The tour guide was patient, thorough and a great guide overall.
Since June is Ramadan we were not allowed to eat in public but were allowed to eat on the bus with the blinds pulled. We saw many important sites including the Dubai museum.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the Dubai museum. Souk were way too hot and my daughter felt she was being harassed.pity the sandstorm obscured some of the buildings but still good. Aloe and very interesting. Take lots of water.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We very much enjoyed seeing the highlights of Dubai, from the Gold and Spice Souqs and the trip on the Abra to the Museum in Bastakiya.

Our tour guide was very patient with some of the tourists who exceeded the time allotted to various stops even though he was very precise on time restrictions at each site.

While I was impressed with the tour guide's English and that he seemed to know German well, he slid between the languages without pausing so that it was difficult to know when he was speaking English and therefore to follow what he was saying.

We spent well over an hour picking up other passengers. I understand how and why this happens and I didn't realize Dubai was as big as it is, but it was a lot of time to spend on the bus. And this was only for a few stops.

We met up with a van who deposited even more people on our bus at the Jumeirah stop that was supposed to be 15 minutes but turned out to be closer to 30. If we had been told what was going on, it would have made the wait much more agreeable.

After the tour's completion, there were several vehicles waiting to reduce the number of drop offs, but we still had the same number with which to content on the way back.

The driver was very good but when he was speaking on his phone a few times, we couldn't hear what the guide was saying, having already strained to comprehend him. Maybe they should work out between them that only one person can speak at a time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a 24 hour layover in Dubai, and this tour was a great way to see the city in a short amount of time. We got a quick glimpse of a beach, a mosque, a museum, the markets plus a water taxi ride. Quite a lot for a short tour! The air conditioned bus provided great relief from the heat between stops. Bring water! I would recommend this tour for either your first day in Dubai to help you get your bearings or if you only have one day there.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

NOT HAPPY!!. First of all after the driver picked us up from our hotels we were brought to the beach. I was told we were waiting for the bus. It never showed up. We were then loaded back in the van and brought to what I thought was a museum. He parked then drove around. parked and drove around. I am guessing he couldn't park in one area for that long. He then pulled in front of what i thought was a museum and waved us away. Not knowing what the hell was going on he drove off. He didn't say a word. It turned out to be a market of some type. Most of us went inside and walked around. Still not knowing if he was coming back. I went back outside and talked with other people that was on the bus. They had no idea what was going on. The driver came back and we got in the van except for a couple that went inside not knowing to come back out. We finally all got on the bus except the couple that was inside. They were finally found. Now the tour guide spoke horrible English plus you couldn't hear him. I asked if he could turn up the speakers and was told he couldn't The other people on the bus also complained of this. I was pissed i didn't know what he was telling us. It was a joke. I enjoyed seeing the sights but would not recommend going on this tour with this company.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

A lot of information, but also a lot of waisted time. Too much walking, and walking too fast. By the time we caught up to the guide he was on the move again. Not enough rest for more elderly guest. But we loved the visit to the palace museum, very impressive.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was excellent. Despite it being Thursday and the weekend for the locals we managed to get through the traffic and to the first destination. We got on another bus and had a guide around Jumeirah - the guy was very informative. We got off at the Mosque and had a little look around before going to the Dubai Museum. It was great in there - great to see how they lived all those years ago. Next we had a ride on an Abra across to Deira and visited the spice and gold souks - again very interesting.

Hats off to the tour guide - he certainly knew what he was talking about and could answer any questions. We didnt feel rushed at all and were back in our hotel at about 7pm,

Would definately recommend!!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting tour of the markets and museums

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good way to get an overview of Dubai. I am from Los Angeles, and we were in Dubai 3 days. This gave us a good overview of the city museum, spice souk, gold souk, water taxi etc., and we hit many things we wanted to do could have used a little longer at the Museum. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The trip was poor. We spent most of the time on a bus picking people up which took approximately 2 hours before the tour even started. Then 1 hour in the museum and 15mins at the spice market and 15min at the gold market because the tour was running so far behind. It was a waste of an afternoon.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The route is generally good, but it spends long time on shopping places that could be visited out of a tour. The good thing is that it mixes coach, foot, boat and museum. The bad thing was the guide: his spoken English was not that clear, even for native speakers it was hard to understand. Also, he refused to answer some of the questions from the guests.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I recently did that half day Dubai tour organized by the Orient tours which was booked on Viator.

Basically, I wanted to do this tour for two things. The first one was that I wanted to visit the Dubai museum. As I have been there earlier with a different tour company and had liked it very much. However this time we were given just 25 minutes to explore the whole museum. Whereas, I can spend full two hours over there. So it was disappointing in this regard. And my second attraction for this tour was that I wanted to travel in a water taxi called Arba. The water taxi journey was really short in duration, just lasted about five minutes and it was a one way journey. We went from the Bur Dubai to Deira on it, however not came back on it.

So both main attractions for me were disappointing indeed. I lived very near to Dubai museum in Deira. This tour is priced at 37 US dollars something and for the half of that price I could have gone to Dubai museum, spent few hours over there and then would have come back to my hotel in an air conditioned cab !

It is the tour of Deira and the old town and you dont get to see palm Jumeirah and the new town really. The other attraction of this tour is a photo shot opportunity at the Jumeirah Mosque. You dont get inside, just photograph the building from the outside.

Then they take you to spice souk. Souk means bazaar or a market place in Arabic. There is nothing special about it really. They told me that saffron, the worlds most expensive spice, was being sold cheap over there as apparently they import it from the nearby Iran. The price was AED 25 for one gram !

After that they took us to the Gold souk. Over there was the biggest and the heaviest gold ring at the exhibition at one of the shops. Its weight, if Remember correctly is 64.8 kg. Im sure, most of you cant lift that much weight above your heads !

The tour ends at 6:00pm. However it is a time of rush hour in Dubai so be prepared to reach your hotel maybe at 8:00 pm.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Tour bus 45 minutes late blamed rain! Took us to poor quality museum. Left us too long in gold market. Dark when we made long walk back to tour bus. Taxi from tour bus to hotels passaed same sites 3 times - driver denied this.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great, well planned trip. Covers everything you want to see. Our guide was fantastic and knowledgeable. A
Visit to the museum is a must, you go past all the sights, a trip on the Abra to the souks. The spice and gold souks were not as enjoyable as we got a lot of sellers trying to get you to go into their shops which was harassing and annoying, if you were left to browse it would be more enjoyable. Over all it was a very nice trip, good value for money and it helps you decide if you wNt to re visit anywhere yourself.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very concentrated tour which permits to see the essential of Dubai
abra very funny
museum interesting
It only lacks Burj Khalifa

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour with knowledgable guide although sometimes a little difficult to understand. Our pick up was late which meant others on tour had to wait for us. Very interesting overall and particularly enjoyed dubai museum. Could have spent longer here. The gold souk was exciting but could be intimidating for any ladies travelling alone. The guide offered to help if anyone was interested in buying gold. Overall would thoroughly recommend for anyone on a short trip to see as much as possible of the amazing Dubai city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Tour was average, the guide was knowledgeable but we spent too much time at venues that weren't of interest (especially the museum) and not enough at others.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I enjoyed the tour although I felt it fell short of a similar tour we did with Viator in New York a couple of years ago. The tour guide was a little too laid back in my (and others) opinion and seemed to be just going through the motions and couldn't wait for the tour to end. Also felt that considering the tour would take over 5 hours from the hotel, that some water refreshment should have been provided, (as was in New York). Also felt we were left too long at various stops like the spice and the 'running of the gauntlet' in the gold markets with many of us back waiting for the tour guide long before the allotted time. On the plus side the river taxi, Dubai museum and sites of downtown Dubai and Dubai creek were excellent along with our transferes to and from our hotel. On the negative side, too much time was wasted at the gold and spice markets and a closed mosque! So overall an 'ok' tour that could have been guided so much better.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour including Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum, boat trip across creek and visits to spice and gold souks. Would have liked longer at museum or a little more direction on how to 'pace' visit. Spice souk was disappointing as lots of shops were closed. Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed it and guide was very informative and friendly

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Chloe
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A good hop-on-hop-off tour to see Dubai at a glance. You'll drive past the famous skyscrapers, take a photo (no entry) of Burj Al Arab and Jumeirah Mosque, visit the Dubai Museum (nothing mind-blowing, half hour was just nice), take the Abra across the creek and have a quick feel of old Dubai and the souks

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A very good half day tour, approx. 2-6pm. excellent pick up and drop off arrangements at our hotel and a good local guide. Air conditioned coach. Several stops around the centre of the city, coastal area plus 45 minutes at a museum devoted to the history of Dubai. A short ride on a water taxi took us across the creek to the souk.
We really enjoyed this short tour, it provides an insight into the rapid development of Dubai, local history and the people. Our guide was really good and tied it all together.
Recommended.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A really good introduction to the old city. We did the tour later in our stay due to difficulty with some bookings and it would have been better earlier as we had seen some places already. The museum and the trip in the harbour boat to the other side was the highlight. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Unfortunately the spice market was closed due to a public holiday so we were unable to see it fully, only one spice store was open. This was not the fault of the tour company but was still disappointing. The meeting point was less than efficient and we had to wait too long for the other members of the tour group to arrive. We saw the Burj el Arab but only from a distance. The museum tour was interesting, despite the museum being small. The boat ride across the Dubai Creek was interesting, seeing the city from the water gave us a different perspective. We spent too much time at the gold market, however I make this comment as a non-shopper! The guide was knowledgeable and considerate of the different levels of mobility of the group.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Interesting tour, however parts were omitted due to our late arrival at the start point. We were picked up on time but due to other passengers being late or not turning up at all at their pick up locations, we were around an hour late arriving at the tour start point. We visited the Dubai Museum, crossed the Dubai Creek on an "Abra" and visited the Spice and Gold souks which were all very interesting.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message