Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Museum

Dubai Museum is housed in Al Fahidi Fort, built in 1787. It’s a terrific example of a desert fort, complete with cannons and battlements. Dubai’s entertaining museum brings the city’s past and present together in a series of life-size dioramas and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jagdish J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was excellent but I liked the museum the best.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

A C B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We seemed to wait quite some time at the beach for other members of the tour. Our charming Austrian guide worked very hard at giving the commentary in English and German for our German visitors. I think a scripted tour with notes would have been useful for her. The water taxi ride and the visit to the Spice and Gold Souks was great. Some tips on how to deal with the harassment of the people from he gold stores would have been helpful for women travelling on their own. More background on the museum could have been helpful, I had been before but still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

r.shah

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

It was a lot of hassle trying to reconfirm my booking , which the company got wrong several times.
I was picked up , with no information given about what the plan would be i.e go to a few hotels then join a larger coach with a lot of waiting time sitting in the car
there was not enough time on the souks , 20 mins in one shop. Then other people delayed us on in the gold souk , so it depends on the people on the trip.
If you wish to really explore the souks then not the right trip and the museum take max 15 mins to see everything.
the fun part was the water taxis , as it was different and enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went on this tour to save my hosts having to take me around, park etc and feel sure that we saw more than one would even with a local friend. Dubai Museum has expanded since I visited 6 years ago and is interesting to all ages, the short boat trip up the creek is fun. In the souk we had a great review of many spices, and some tasting, then time in the gold market where cold drinks were available as well as gold, scarves and leatherware. Our guide was excellent and the coach comfortable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kristin E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Our driver/guide could barely speak English so we had to keep questions and conversation to a minimum. The Jumeirah Mosque is unimpressive, go to Abu Dhabi if you want to see a mosque worth visiting. Dubai Museum was a waste of time as well for a city that really has no history. You'd be better off exploring the city by Metro as the traffic can be ridiculous.

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

Matthew D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Very poor. Didn't even see the Palm Island, Dubai Museum and only drove past the Mall of Emirates at a very fast speed. We were unable to walk see the Mosque well as we were instructed to stay on the other side of the road. We only saw Burj Khalifa because it was so big and visible everywhere we went. Did not even go 1km near it.

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

David

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour was reasonable with the surprise being the Dubai Museum
After being informed that morning that pickup time was 1.15pm and told DON'T BE LATE, they arrived at 2.15pm for the pickup. The guide was reasonable but with a bit of research you could do it yourself on the get on get off red bus service.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Irene W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Museum was very good but rest of trip was a non event. Being left in the gold market for 45 minutes in the heat while being badgered by all the shop owners, is not my idea of fun.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

George T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Took a bit of transfer mucking around but once it got going the tour was well worth the money. Some tours have too much padding but this tour gave us just the correct amount of time at each venue stop. The Spice Market was great Nd there were lots of bargains at the Gold Market. The Museum was well presented. This is a well planned tour of a great city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Thrivikrama S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time. The coach was A/C, was welcome in summer.
The gude was helpful and knowledgeable.
The tour included everything that was advertised - Burj Al Arab, Jumeira Mosque, Gold Souk, Spice Souk, Dubai Museum, boat ride in dubai creek etc.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dan L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour was very limited. Although we went to everything that was advertised, other than the museum nothing was worth it. Also do not recommend tour in summer

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Milena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Love it. Everything great. Need more time @ the spices souk, less @ the gold souk.
very informative, enjoyed the Dubai museum and the old city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Arthur S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good general overview provided of the city. The museum visit was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brendan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a very nice trip. The guide was excellent. The shuttle to and from the hotel was great. The one shortcoming i think is that we could have parked closer to the Burj Al Arab Hotel it was not explained that was the place to take the pictures, I thought we would go closer and that I could have used 10 more min to browse the Dubai Museum. Overall, a great tour at a good price.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Shaunte T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my mother on this tour yesterday and it was wonderful. The tour guide was patient, thorough and a great guide overall.
Since June is Ramadan we were not allowed to eat in public but were allowed to eat on the bus with the blinds pulled. We saw many important sites including the Dubai museum.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dianne H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the Dubai museum. Souk were way too hot and my daughter felt she was being harassed.pity the sandstorm obscured some of the buildings but still good. Aloe and very interesting. Take lots of water.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jill C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We very much enjoyed seeing the highlights of Dubai, from the Gold and Spice Souqs and the trip on the Abra to the Museum in Bastakiya.

Our tour guide was very patient with some of the tourists who exceeded the time allotted to various stops even though he was very precise on time restrictions at each site.

While I was impressed with the tour guide's English and that he seemed to know German well, he slid between the languages without pausing so that it was difficult to know when he was speaking English and therefore to follow what he was saying.

We spent well over an hour picking up other passengers. I understand how and why this happens and I didn't realize Dubai was as big as it is, but it was a lot of time to spend on the bus. And this was only for a few stops.

We met up with a van who deposited even more people on our bus at the Jumeirah stop that was supposed to be 15 minutes but turned out to be closer to 30. If we had been told what was going on, it would have made the wait much more agreeable.

After the tour's completion, there were several vehicles waiting to reduce the number of drop offs, but we still had the same number with which to content on the way back.

The driver was very good but when he was speaking on his phone a few times, we couldn't hear what the guide was saying, having already strained to comprehend him. Maybe they should work out between them that only one person can speak at a time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Katie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a 24 hour layover in Dubai, and this tour was a great way to see the city in a short amount of time. We got a quick glimpse of a beach, a mosque, a museum, the markets plus a water taxi ride. Quite a lot for a short tour! The air conditioned bus provided great relief from the heat between stops. Bring water! I would recommend this tour for either your first day in Dubai to help you get your bearings or if you only have one day there.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Louis K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

NOT HAPPY!!. First of all after the driver picked us up from our hotels we were brought to the beach. I was told we were waiting for the bus. It never showed up. We were then loaded back in the van and brought to what I thought was a museum. He parked then drove around. parked and drove around. I am guessing he couldn't park in one area for that long. He then pulled in front of what i thought was a museum and waved us away. Not knowing what the hell was going on he drove off. He didn't say a word. It turned out to be a market of some type. Most of us went inside and walked around. Still not knowing if he was coming back. I went back outside and talked with other people that was on the bus. They had no idea what was going on. The driver came back and we got in the van except for a couple that went inside not knowing to come back out. We finally all got on the bus except the couple that was inside. They were finally found. Now the tour guide spoke horrible English plus you couldn't hear him. I asked if he could turn up the speakers and was told he couldn't The other people on the bus also complained of this. I was pissed i didn't know what he was telling us. It was a joke. I enjoyed seeing the sights but would not recommend going on this tour with this company.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Charlotte D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

A lot of information, but also a lot of waisted time. Too much walking, and walking too fast. By the time we caught up to the guide he was on the move again. Not enough rest for more elderly guest. But we loved the visit to the palace museum, very impressive.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was excellent. Despite it being Thursday and the weekend for the locals we managed to get through the traffic and to the first destination. We got on another bus and had a guide around Jumeirah - the guy was very informative. We got off at the Mosque and had a little look around before going to the Dubai Museum. It was great in there - great to see how they lived all those years ago. Next we had a ride on an Abra across to Deira and visited the spice and gold souks - again very interesting.

Hats off to the tour guide - he certainly knew what he was talking about and could answer any questions. We didnt feel rushed at all and were back in our hotel at about 7pm,

Would definately recommend!!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Harry L. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting tour of the markets and museums

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Philip P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good way to get an overview of Dubai. I am from Los Angeles, and we were in Dubai 3 days. This gave us a good overview of the city museum, spice souk, gold souk, water taxi etc., and we hit many things we wanted to do could have used a little longer at the Museum. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The trip was poor. We spent most of the time on a bus picking people up which took approximately 2 hours before the tour even started. Then 1 hour in the museum and 15mins at the spice market and 15min at the gold market because the tour was running so far behind. It was a waste of an afternoon.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Eumir Paulo R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The route is generally good, but it spends long time on shopping places that could be visited out of a tour. The good thing is that it mixes coach, foot, boat and museum. The bad thing was the guide: his spoken English was not that clear, even for native speakers it was hard to understand. Also, he refused to answer some of the questions from the guests.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message