The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 636 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chrishawn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG. First off let me say that this was the most enjoyable part of my Dubai trip. I was highly anticipating this activity and it did not disappoint. We had a very pleasant driver that showed up to my hotel for pick up on-time.
We made a few more stops to pick up others, a total of 6. We all were around the same age, so it was a great group. Our first real stop was at a local store in a remote area where we got head wraps and turbans. The locals just came up to us and started tying the wraps on our head so we assumed that it was apart of the package but it was not, so we end up paying because at that point it would have been weird to just give the turbans back to them.
Next was the actual fun. We drove for about 10mins then we were in the most beautiful desert, don't recall the name. We waited for about 1min for 5 more trucks with others to arrive and out of no where my driver just went dashing over the edge, LOL, it was so exciting because we weren't expecting that. It felt like we were going to turn over a few times but my driver was very skilled. I sat in the front seat and laughed the entire time, however one of the guys in the back got sick so we had to slow down.
We drove another 10mins to get the camp which had food, drinks and more activities. We took turns riding the camel and taking photos, and some of us rode 4 wheels which was separate. We all got food then sat down for the shows. There were 3 entertainers in total who were all AMAZING. I would say that the male fire dancer was the most exciting, and the spinning guy was nothing short of amazing. The last performer was a belly dancer who was very beautiful, she also did a sword dance.
By this time it was already night and we went back out and did more dashing

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Gaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the city tour on the first afternoon and the desert safari on the 2nd day. I would definitely recommend this combination as the operator, Orient Tours, were very professional and well organised.

The highlight of the city tour was the Dubai Museum followed by the spice market and creek crossing. Our guide was Dylan and he was extremely well informed and gave a very good commentary and advice.

The Desert Safari was the star of this tour combo. Despite the scary dune bashing, the Landcruiser we were in was very comfortable and the air con worked well. It was driven expertly by our driver Sahib who was considerate to our needs. He explained that the drivers receive specific training and they know the terrain very well. I felt safe despite being driven at steep angles up, down and around the sand dunes.

There was a loo stop on the way and we were given an opportunity to buy water for the journey which is essential to take with you. We were picked up at 3pm and dropped back to our hotel by 10pm so it was a long tour but good value.

When we reached the desert camp we were given the opportunity to do lots of additional activities: riding a camel, a quad bike and sand surfing. Other optional activities included getting a henna tattoo, holding a falcon for a photo and smoking a water pipe this I didn't do.

The BBQ was very good quality and there was plenty of choice for around 100 people in the camp. There was even coffee and tea with Arabic sweets. The entertainment was really incredible - a traditional dancer spun for around 15 minutes with a brightly coloured costume which lit up and separated into different tiers during the performance. It was mesmerising. A bonus of the trip was that there were photographers who compiled pictures taken during the tour and we could buy them on an SD card for around 20. Considering there were 3 of us in our group this was an excellent service and it was delivered within a few hours to our hotel room.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Stephen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is a wonderful way to experience real Arab culture. Dubai is a big city with skyscraper after skyscraper but the desert Safari is definitely worth doing. We had a wonderful tour guide who was really helpful and answered all our questions. camel experience and dining was top class well done

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely one of the best tours! For day 1, I chose the city sightseeing in order to get familiar with my surroundings. Included was a trip to the museum which looked incredibly tiny from the outside. But once inside, you'll be pleasantly surprised to see that it is really a huge museum! This tour also included a trip to the spice and gold souks. Glad that we stopped at the gold souk for a shopping trip as a tour group. The vendors were TOO aggressive which would have made me extremely uncomfortable if shopping alone. For day 2, I enjoyed the desert safari. The off-roading as a caravan was a big surprise to me. I wasn't expecting it, but really enjoyed it! But be warned, if you don't like roller-coaster types of movement, the off-roading may be hard to swallow. Loved the stop at the camel farm. Great opportunities to take photos of the camels. Once at the camp, was a great time to slow down and relax. This is an absolutely great tour and I'd highly recommend it! Excellent chance to get out of the hustle of the city and see the actual desert--camels and all.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Bonnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our month long adventure in Arabia!
We were picked up at our hotel on time and drove about an hour out of Dubai into some of the most beautiful deserts I've seen. After a quick stop for those who wanted to try 44s off we went. Our group of six ranged in age from 20s to 60s.
We arrived at the most stunning desert. In the late afternoon it was turning from pink to red. Then the fun began! We flew up dunes then came down side ways - never sure if we'd land upright - sand flying over the SUV. I can only compare it to being caught in a storm at sea or riding the waves on Hawaii's North Shore! While this was going on there were many others SUVs trying to catch us or cut us off!
What a great job to have. They were skilled drivers but having as much fun as kids - trying to impress and scare their guests. Our little group never stopped laughing and screaming!
After we stopped to take photos and watch a spectacular sunset over the red desert...Then off to a Beduin Village for dinner and entertainment.
Great trip!
Cannot recommend this enough. Will definitely do this again!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

elconzen93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour, great hosts/guides. The perfect length tour, pick up in late afternoon and return in the evening. This has everything needed in a tour: Desert drive with info about flora/fauna, falconry show, camels, dinner and a show. Excellent food.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

ashley f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was very excellent and exciting...u ride throught the desert in land cruiser trucks, but there and #39;s like 100 sorta like chasing each other..up and down the dunes..the driver was very enthusiastic and Super friendly. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This experience was absolutely wonderful! The guide and the pick up were excellent, but the real fun started out in the desert! The camel ride was wonderful and the desert camp was excellent, with great food and entertainment. Would reccomend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Mariawati O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very exciting experience.. Good view of the Arabian desert. Our pilot (Andrew) is very well experience. Good value of money, a recommended activity!!!

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First of all, be forewarned: if you get motion sick, this tour may not be for you. Either that, or make sure you take a triple dose of Dramamine because you will vomit. Multiple times. In the middle of the desert. With a minimum of four strangers watching you.

That being said, this was an incredible excursion. The dune bashing was super fun until I tossed my cookies, and I can imagine would have been even more fun for the rest of the car if the driver wasn't forced to stop every few minutes. Once we reached the Bedouin camp, we were able to all enjoy the dance shows, falcon display, henna tattoos and all the other activities available at the camp. The food was particularly good. I would try this tour again if I return to Dubai, even despite its effects on my equilibrium.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

xoskyeeee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely a must do while in Dubai. This tour is great, especially for the price. We had the best tour guide which made our experience even more delightful and enjoyable. Highly recommend to everyone considering a desert safari while in Dubai!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Sonya N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Yaser was on time, we got a call about when we would be picked up well in advance, we picked up a few more people and went on our desert open jeep drive with headdresses he provided and tied for us. HE explained in detail what the program was and followed it all. The falcon show, open jeep drive, camel ride and dinner were the highlight of our trip. THe hospitality at dinner was unparalleled, what a great group of people!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

ASJ India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The desert safari was phenomenal from start to finish. We got to see the real desert and all the activities were interesting right from the dune bashing to the camel ride at the farm and then to the desert camp. The camp was set up very aesthetically and was comfortable. The camp entertainment was fun from the henna, falcon holding and the dancers were brilliant! The food was good too and the organizers courteous and helpful. Camp maintenance right down to the restrooms was neat and clean.
Suggestion: 1. As there were many people from across the globe it would be nice to have some optional ice-breaker activity for the people to get to know each others experiences.
2. Liquid handwash would be better instead of the soaps in the restrooms.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was so well organised and as described Tour guide Sam fantastic - very informative throughout whole day. Camel ride fabulous - really got a sense of the peace of the desert. Not enough room here to say everything but well worth the money - if you only do one trip then do this one!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

dusiewiczj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. The views are stunning. The sunrise is stunning. The desert is stunning. If only there was a champagne toast at the end ha! :

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

dusiewiczj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I booked this based on reading other people's reviews and it was worth every penny. The driver was so informal on our drive to the desert, the 45 minute camel ride was no doubt the best part of my Dubai trip. You and your thoughts on top of a camel as the sun is setting strolling up and down the sand dunes . . . the most zen moment in my life. I was a solo traveler and the family of 4 who I sat with and drove with were so lovely and we got to enjoy the experience together! I loved getting henna, the food was delicious ahhh I just want to go back. Book book book! Thank you for such a memorable last night in Dubai!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Margret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Would highly recommend.! Every activity during the safari was enchanting. Loved the camel ride, the desert at night , and the good food.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Chelsea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the city tour and desert safari. The safari was particularly popular with our kids who had a fantastic time dune bashing, camel riding and sand boarding. The meal was very nice at the desert camp and we enjoyed the dancing too. There is a photographer on the safari taking photos as you go. Make sure you purchase the USB it will be delivered to your hotel the next morning because it is inexpensive and you get heaps of stunning photos.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

terri b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time! The company helped us with some extra needs we had and our guide was phenomenal!! This trip is very well worth the price. It is a great way to experience the desert and a taste of the Bedouin culture and cuisine. I would highly recommend this trip and this company for this tour, absolutely a must do when visiting Dubai. Thanks Viator for a wonderful memorable experience!!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Rooman B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed both tours and they are definitely great value for money. We have a 5 and 11 year old and were a bit apprehensive about the dune bashing experience. Ironically, the two of them had the most fun out of all of us and they thought it was one of their most enjoyable experiences. This was very surprising as they normally are not big fans of big thrills or theme park rides. However, we understood from the driver that not all kids have this much fun. The Desert camp was also quite good. The camp is only for the local tour operator's cars so there was plenty of space to move around and also no issues with queues for sand boarding and camel riding. The evening buffet was also of good quality and again plenty to go round. All food, soft drinks, henna painting, sand boarding and camel riding are inclusive but you have to pay for alcoholic drinks. Tour photographs and video were available for only 100 AED which again is good value when compared to places like Ski Dubai where a single photo is 125 AED. Have not been on more expensive tours so cannot compare but overall we were pleased and thought the tour was great value for money by Dubai's standards.

The city tour includes pick and drop from the hotel. We were taken to a meeting point and then transferred on to a coach with a tour guide. The coach goes through Jumeirah and the older parts of the city. Stops include Jumeirah Mosque and Dubai Museum. The tour includes an abra crossing across the creek and then a walking tour through the souks. We were looking for a quick tour of the city so this was perfect for us. However, if you are after an extensive city tour then you may need to look for alternatives.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Brian L T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A fantastic tour and our driver guide was courteous and enthusiastic. Enjoyed the tour through the desert and the BBQ following was the best we have had since we departed from Australia

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip! Great guides, great camels, great desert experience. Definitely a MUST DO in Dubai!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Sam_K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely mesmerising!

The pick-up was prompt from our hotel. Our way to the desert, the sand-duning, the camp, the camel ride, holding the falcon, the entertainment, the food were top notch! I highly recommend this tour! It's a 5 - Thank you, Viator, for booking this tour for us! It was excellent!

PS: We bought the professional photos/video - it's value for money and the shots/recording is crisp! - Thank you once again!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved Dubai, it is a new energetic emerging city. It is fun to get a glimpse of its desert heritage. We took our 2 teens and everyone had a great time. Guide was very knowledgeable. Land Rover ride, Falcon show, desert scenery, Bedoin camp, camel rides, henna, dancing and dining under the star

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Paula P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing experience! Thrilling, educational, entertaining, delicious food, memorable and overall fun. Whatever your Dubai plans are, include the 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari tour.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message