The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic experience with stunning views across the desert. Well worth the early morning rise to see the sunrise from the air. One of the best experiences ever!

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Dakar like 4x4 no fear racing in the desert, very good posing camel models, tasty arabic food.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The combo of helicopter and desert experience was the experience of life time and
It's worth every penny.

Doing what: Dubai Combo: Helicopter Flight and Desert Camp Experience by 4x4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My first hot air balloon trip and it was wonderful. Although an early pickup at the hotel, driver was on time and van was clean and comfortable. It was fun watching the crew inflate the balloon then lift off was incredibly smooth. We rose smoothly to about one mile high to watch the sun rise over the mountains in Oman. After that the pilot descended to around 200 feet and followed the dunes for most of the trip. It was amazing to see signs of life in the desert although we only saw a few animals. The landing was incredibly smooth and gentle.

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an awesome experience to be 4000ft above the ground!!! The sunrise and desert views were absolutely breathtaking and the ride was smooth and nothing compared to my initial worries of height anxiety. Our pilot, Captain Michael Schaefer, was absolutely amazing...comical, yet professional at all times, with safety as his number one priority. Due to our Dubai Marina residential location, we used our own transportation and took a short taxi ride to Dubai Festival City's Plug-In around 5am, so get a good nights rest!!! We were picked up, along with other adventurers, in their personalized Balloon Adventures minivans and arrived at the balloon take off site after a 30min ride. The weather was beautiful, but don't forget to bring a light jacket or sweater for the early morning draft. Also, wear something comfortable that will allow you to jump into the basket without difficulties. Bags, backpacks, pouches, etc...are not allowed onboard due to safety reasons, but a camera is allowed per person, so take lots of photos and videos!!! All personal property will be secured in the Balloon Adventures minivans. As for taking pictures and best views, I personally felt that any of the four corners were great, but your pilot will rotate the basket so everyone gets a fair share of the best views. I would also like to state that upon landing, your basket will most likely be on its side (your back) and we felt comfortable spinning around while inside the basket so our feet was sticking out the other end or opening of the basket to get out easier. At the conclusion of our epic adventure, everyone received a personalized flight certificate, along with photos with Captain Mike, and enjoyed a cool drink after landing. We were even treated to a complimentary "Dune Bashing" extravaganza enroute to the Balloon Adventures minivans. Overall, we had a wonderful and most memorable experience with Balloon Adventures and would like to thank Viator for offering this amazing excursion.

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

Janet H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A memorable experience. Following a prompt and efficient pick up, we were soon transferred to the site where (having been head wrapped in our scarves) we were assigned to our open-topped Land Rover. Our driver (Hassam) was not only great fun to be with, he knew his stuff! He excited us: demonstrating his speedy but safe driving skills in the sand. He was informative about the intent of the conservation area and knowledgeable of the local species (not that we saw many). The entire desert experience was fun-focused. The hospitality could not be faulted. We loved the falconry display, the hilarity of riding the 'ship of the desert', the very tasty dinner and the Arabic entertainment. It was an experience we would recommend.......and if you get Hassam as your driver you will definitely have fun.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a must do experience. Better than dune bashing in a 4 wheel drive any day. Get first hand experience in maneuvering your way through the desert dunes with a 4x4 quad bike, then sand board down some steep dunes and end off with a picturesque camel ride. You will be taken care of by the trained instructors as you bask under the sun and feel the sand as you float over it. The very informative tour guide and driver picks you up from your hotel and delivers you to the dunes around 40 mins to an hour away(depending on location of hotel). Chilled water is provided along with a very informative driver, who will answer your most difficult questions about Dubai and its history. Keep a camera handy as they will also take photo's of you while you are having fun. All in all, a brilliant way to visit the Dunes of Dubai and get an adventurous take on a desert safari.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was picked up early afternoon and headed into the desert. 6 people in our group. Upon arriving we were given desert head-dress and pictures on our "mount". Then headed off into the desert for a ~50minute ride to a carpeted and pillowed section on the desert; given bubbly grape to drink, followed by a falconry exhibition. Then a bit of relaxation to watch the sunset.

After sunset boarded some '50's vintage landrovers and off to the Bedouin camp. Of course for us tourists, but very well done and quite impressive. In small groups around the camp to explain the several differnent activities; then settled under our tent for dinner; followed by a few traditional dance exhibitions. Lastly, coffee and hookah smoking in another carpeted and pillowed area. Around 11PM we boarded the landrovers and back to our van to return to town.

All EXTREMELY well done and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great! Tour guide was very informative on giving information about Dubai on the ride from the Hotel to the location of the Tour. Riding the quads in the desert was alot of fun and riding the camels was an experience everyone should experience. Short - 4 Hour morning tour; however, very worth the money! I would recommend this tour to everyone visiting Dubai.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

Sandra C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic evening in the Desert.........we loved this tour everything was perfect pick up was prompt,the drive out to the desert very interesting the camel ride amazing.".we saw gazelles and Oryxes......Falconry display very impressive and the meal and activities at the Bedouin camp great and everyone was so nice and friendly and informative would recommend to anyone travelling to Dubai

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour, our guide Hajaj was great entertainment and knowledgeable from pick up to drop off. I have been on a desert safari and dinner before but this is a completely different experience. The drive through the conversation was amazing and actually saw some animals. Once we reached the camp is was really well set up and we had a short tour around the camp and told what was happening over the next few hours. The food was delicious! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superb trip and a real highlight of our visit to Dubai. Our guide Handi was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the food was excellent. We loved the drone taking video of the trip and there was a very well produced souvenir video and photo stick - not cheap but optional. The desert scenery and wildlife viewing was amazing. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

James I
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Desert Safari was outstanding and excellent value for money. The entire day was really good fun and the staff were superb. One of the best excursions I have been on. Thank You

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour, so nice to get out into the desert for some 4x4 fun. i was surprised at how beautiful i found the desert, but it truly was. Visited at just the right time during the day, just as the sun was setting. The camels at the farm were super friendly and loved a good stroke and their picture being taken. The BBQ was very special with some lovely coffee and dates, henna tattooing, holding a falcon and much much more. The food was wonderful and we were well catered for. I would highly recommend this for a family, make sure you have eaten something light beforehand as the 4x4 is quite extreme!

Doing what: Private Tour: 4x4 Desert Adventure Safari from Dubai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent. From the morning pick-up to the drop off it was efficient and friendly and great fun.
Our driver was friendly and very informative on the drive into the desert he then introduced us to our guide for the quad bike tour and sandborading. He was was friendly patient and very helpful. Finally we had a short camel ride which was a very different experience and provided a great photo oppourtunity. All in all I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message