The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 601 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paula P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing experience! Thrilling, educational, entertaining, delicious food, memorable and overall fun. Whatever your Dubai plans are, include the 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari tour.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Alison W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip :- Everyone was really friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Both trips were fantastic. The Desert Safari was great fun, my kids aged 11 and 14 had a ball. The camp at night with the entertainment and food was a great end to the day along with the beautiful sunset. The dune bashing was also a great experience.
The spice and gold markets were very interesting and the Dubai museum we all thought was fantastic.
I would definitely recommend this trip. We will also be booking our trips through Viator for our next family holiday.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Phenomenal! An absolute must! Khairy, our guide, and the Platinum Frontier team made the experience authentic yet posh and very memorable. The tour is worked around sunset so exact time to start was dependent on the sun. Communication could not have been more thorough through email and direct calls to our hotel. We had no confusion about what to expect. Whisking through the sand dunes in an open air jeep is indescribable for those at any age. We are a party of ladies which include two age 70. Khairy treated the older ladies with absolute care and thoughtfulness without making them feel old ensuring they could get in and out of the 1950 jeep effortlessly, helping them climb the sand dunes and making sure their insistence to ride the camel was met. Their excitement was infectious. Every detail throughout the tour has been considered. Being ladies, we felt extremely safe. We were advised on clothing to get us from daytime heat to desert evenings. Headgear was provided to shield us from sand and to offer a bit of authenticity, Khairy spent endless time offering information about the tour, the culture and the history. The dinner was fabulous and really not to be missed! The camp is expertly done and truly provides a feeling of immersion into another time. A wide range of food was included all of which had a significant importance to the history while still being tasty for today's palette. HIGHLY recommend. If you have older generations, do consider the private jeep as this gives your guide the ability to customize the experience based on need which is exactly what Khairy did for us.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceptional! Added the sunrise hot air balloon ride. Loved every minute of all activities! Special thanks to our desert tour guide Sharaf who was so friendly and attentive! Originally thought the two tours were pricey but was worth every penney! Best excursions I have ever experienced anywhere, any country!

Doing what: Overnight Desert Camp Experience: Dinner, Emirati Activities and Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience that the whole family enjoyed. Our driver, Paolu was very friendly, the desert setting was fun, and the food very tasty.
Thank you to all the team for helping to create some wonderful memories!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Danielle M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

After seeing the reviews on here I decided to purchase this as gift for my friends birthdays and was completely AMAZED. My expectations were completely exceeded and I would definitely do this again when I return to Dubai.

Our tour guided was lovely, took amazing pictures of us in the sand and really looked after us all which made our experience even better.

The dune bashing and desert experience was fantastic on its own but when we arrived at the desert camp the experience was made even better. Our party of 5 enjoyed the following

- complimentary henna tattoos
- complimentary shisha
- camel riding
- belly dancing entertainment
- fire dancing entertainment
- fantastic arabic buffet - the food was amazing and really worth trying all the different foods
- we didn't have time for the sand surfing but the option was there
The day was a complete success and was a really great insight into Arabic culture. Fantastic day out and worth every penny.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The driver/guide picked us up at our downtown hotel promptly and we took a shared 45 minute ride out to the royal desert retreat where we were greeted by additional guides. After donning the required headscarf we were off on our private camel ride - just our family and a guide - for about 45 minutes through the desert you can skip this part if you want and just go for a desert jeep ride. It was really a lot of fun, very peaceful, comfortable and scenic. Our guide snapped tons of photos for us with our camera and they also had a videographer running around the dunes shooting video and stills yes, we bought our video package on a thumb drive later on in the evening!. The camel ride takes you to a spot where you meet up with the other small groups about 70 people in total. There is a falconry demo at sunset, complete with sparkling juice and cushions/rugs to sit on. From there you get into a jeep for a quick 5 minute ride to the faux-Bedouin compound for dinner. The dinner was spectacular. When we were done with the appetizers we thought that was it, but no - the main courses came, each more delectable than the next. Everything was incredible - including the chai with camel milk. After-dinner sheesha was a fun new experience, as was the henna we got. The only thing that seemed a bit perfunctory were the dancers. After dinner, a short jeep ride back to our waiting SUV and driver who took us back to our downtown hotel. I'd highly recommend this tour. Very well organized and a truly lovely way to experience an evening in Dubai and the desert. Great for people of all ages - there were a few kids there as well.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was more than we expected and one of the beast holiday trips we have been on. I included Hotel pick up and return, a Desert jeep rally around the dunes if you are the slightest bit car/motion sick take a couple of tablets , as after 20 mintues of up / down / sideways over the dunes you can feel a little bit ill but it is great fun. Then you stop for a very short camel ride, a bit of sand boarding down the dunes, picture opportunity with a falcon , Free Henna tattoo, some traditional dancing including a belly dancer, a very nice meal with lots to chose from . There is also a bar to buy drinks probably the cheapest bar in Dubai all with a tribal camp on big cushion's. Finally the camels leave in front of a silhouetted light as the sun goes down. Great trip between 15:00 - 21:30

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Kuchumbi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. On the desert safari allow the people to take your posed pictures. The prices at the end of the tour for all the photos was extremely reasonable.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Radoslava K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Perfect experience! I would recommend it to all! The dune bashing was extreme and real fun with our experienced driver, we stopped to watch the sunset over the desert and for pictures of the dunes. The camp was authentic with delicious barbeque and plenty of Arabic food great belly dancer and fire show. The camel ride was too short but enough for taking pictures. This was the best Dubai attraction!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

leonaschwab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

it was great. the morning tour of the city was wonderful the guide was excellent and responsive to our needs the dr iver the same.
the desert safari the driver was most catering to our needs and we enjoyed the experience tremendously
we are interested in going on you aqaba tour of the wadi rum. we cannot do Petra since we cannot walk long distances . We could do Petra in a golf cart if that was available.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Ericka C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Dune Bashing was great! All went smoothly from pick up to drop off. We were picked up directly from our hotel by our guide who was fun. We drove out to the desert and had a great time. We then went to the camp site and rode the camel for a couple of minutes long enough to take a pic and then went and hot henna tats I paid for mine because I wanted a large one and then a delicious dinner and show. There was plenty of food. Weather was great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Everything went smoothly and we were delighted with the service offered. The desert experience far exceeded our expectations. This was a day our family will never forget.

Doing what: Dubai Combo: Helicopter Flight and Desert Camp Experience by 4x4

Jack H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome experience. Our guide was very knowledgable about the history of Dubai and gave us lots of interesting information on the ride out to the desert. The ATV's, sand boarding, and camel ride were all great fun! Would recommend to anyone visiting Dubai.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

Rumyana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was excellent!!! Great choice of a company! I heard other fellows who stayed at our hotel describing how busy place is the desert where other safari companies operate. We were just few vehicles and it was soooooo peaceful! We were not rushed for anything and enjoyed this adventure to the fullest! We had the camel ride safari-THE best choice of all! I am definitely giving 5 stars! The service , the food and presentation including henna painting were great!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

DAVID J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and one not to be missed. Excellent guide- great explanations about local scenery and activities. Drove to Conservation section of desert where we exchanged a minibus for the vintage Land Rover. Decked out in traditional headgear which we could keep then set off into the desert to see wildlife Arabian Oryx and Antelope and drive over dunes that resembled a roller coaster ride!!! As the sun set, watched a falconry display then drove to a luxurious encampment where we had an amazing 4 course traditional meal whilst watching traditional dance. An amazing trip!!!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Bayda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Lovely tour guide who was on time and we had the whole desert to ourselves!
Definitely worth doing the morning tour!

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

Antonio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour, a little expensive but I highly recommended for people aged over 60... you can savor the adventure of a desert tour but at the same time is a relaxing experience....

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Valerie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the most FUN experience we had in Dubai. Riding the sand dunes in a 4x4 was extraordinary. Thank goodness we had an excellent driver! The visit to the camel farm was good for photos of LOTS of camels. Upon arriving at the desert camp, we had an opportunity to ride a camel long enough for some personal photo ops. The sand boarding was literally riding a snow board down a sand dune. There were several things to keep us occupied before dinner: hold a falcon, get a henna tattoo, smoke a hooka. Our tasty dinner was a buffet offering salads and a choice of lamb, chicken, or beef. During dinner, the amazing twirling man dancer and the belly dancer entertained us all. This was a fabulous time!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Robert James R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A mmemorable overnight desert experience, staffs were courteous and professional.

Doing what: Overnight Desert Camp Experience: Dinner, Emirati Activities and Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An absolutely wonderful experience. LandRovers, camels and sand, what a combination. Then an evening at a desert camp with good food, belly dancing and camel riding. Highly recommend this great adventure.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Tilman R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip! Breathtaking view of the desert. We had so much fun cruising through the desert with the landrover. We watched the sun going down while sitting on a carpet, drinking a glass of sparcling juice and watching the falcon show. The camp where we had dinner was very cosy. Great atmosphere. The food was delicious. All in all a great trip. My advice: The have a professional photographer who makes some nice pictures in the beginning and in the desert. You're free to choose if he shall take pictures of you or not. Even if he takes some pictures of you and you decide not to take them after watching them on the ipad, it is not a problem at all. But the pictures are great and we bought them for a fair price.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. It was a great introduction to Dubai and a pleasant way to spend and afternoon and evening in the desert.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

susan.holbrook

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great trip. There wasn't any dune bashing if that's what you're looking for but watching the sun set over the dessert during the falcon demonstration made up for that in my opinion. Definitely take a wrap or jacket as it cools off quickly as soon as the sun sets. The dancer, the food and the incredible views across the desert were incredible. I wore sandals and took them off to walk in the sand and was glad I did as my husband dumped tons of sand out of his shoes when we returned to the hotel!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Suresh E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

No Dubai visit would be complete without a Desert safari.Dune bashing was absolutely fantastic.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message