The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 564 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

susan.holbrook

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great trip. There wasn't any dune bashing if that's what you're looking for but watching the sun set over the dessert during the falcon demonstration made up for that in my opinion. Definitely take a wrap or jacket as it cools off quickly as soon as the sun sets. The dancer, the food and the incredible views across the desert were incredible. I wore sandals and took them off to walk in the sand and was glad I did as my husband dumped tons of sand out of his shoes when we returned to the hotel!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Suresh E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

No Dubai visit would be complete without a Desert safari.Dune bashing was absolutely fantastic.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Sarah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great fun. Would recommend the camel ride option rather than the jeep. We saw a lot of animals in the desert during the ride, which was fantastic. Food was very tasty. It is a long night if you have small children though, especially if you picked up with other people who are not part of your immediate party and have to wait for them to be ready to leave also.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Helena E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great ride above the desert. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

Helena E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The combo tour has a good cost-benefit and covers well the basics of the city and desert experience.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great end to our trip in Dubai, Hotel pickup from our great and knowledgeable guide Imran, we were placed in a large SUV with some other nice tourists from Europe. We had a pleasurable drive to the nature reserve while Imran filled us in on what our day would consist of.

Once we arrived at the nature reserve, we proceeded to walk in through the gate and it became clear how nice the desert could be. we were provided with complimentary protective head gear to protect us from the sun, and then my wife and I enjoyed a nice Camel ride through the desert to watch some falconry and a nice sunset over a tasty glass of sparkling pomegranate juice. Following that we were taken to the Bedouin style camp for dinner which was very nice, and watched some traditional dances, while indulging in some delicious traditional Arabic cuisine and meeting other tourists from many nationalities. It was a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We were picked up from the hotel and taken to the desert to meet other groups. The dune ride was great fun. Later we visited a camel farm and saw baby camels with their mothers. On the evening, we arrived at a desert camp to enjoy belly dancing and a barbecue. Everyone had the opportunity to ride a camel and have a beautiful henna tattoo. It was a wonderful and unusual day.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both 1/2 day tours were fantastic and a great value! I DID have to close my eyes for most of the dune-bashing but that's me! I got through it and our drive Asif kept us safe even though I was sure we were going to roll!! The desert at night, the dancing, the tattoo, the barbeque and the gorgeous tableau on top of the dune of the three camels and driver is imprinted on my brain. Unfortunately, not very well on my camera! The tour of the city gave us a great overview we especially enjoyed the very well done Dubai museum at the fort. Dubai is an incredible international city!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

LINDA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was a great experience. Loved seeing the desert and the wildlife. Dinner was lovely

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour. Our pickup at the hotel was prompt at 3:45pm. We had a very knowledgeable driver who filled us in on the way to our transfer to the Landrovers. We were all outfitted with local headwear which proved to be invaluable because of the winds and the sand.... fun to wear too. Be careful of using your point and shoot cameras if it's windy... my companion ruined hers with the sand blowing everywhere. The safari consisted of a drive through a desert conservation area with a few animals to be seen at a manmade watering hole... not quite on par with what you would see on safari in Africa but still enjoyable. Then on to the falconry display. Because of the unusually high winds we experienced the falcon had a hard time flying and catching the bait. It was still very entertaining. We arrived at the Bedouin camp for dinner just after nightfall. Dinner was great with lots of variety. I tried a little of everything they offered. During dinner there was entertainment, dancing, camel rides and henna tattoos.... lots of activities to keep us entertained. After dinner we laid down on carpets and smoked pipes ... looked up at the stars... I could have stayed there all night. We got back to our hotel at 11pm. All in all highly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Alexis N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Desert Experience was excellent! Imraan was an excellent guide! Everything about the tour was top notch. I will highly recommend this tour to friends who plan to visit Dubai in the near future. Such a memory!!!!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Soren J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was, hands down, the best activity I have ever booked on Viator. Pick up from your hotel and transportation out to the desert. We chose the camel rides, which I think were the better choice, given that you ride the Land Rovers out to the real'' camp. At the camp, you can also hop on a camel, too. The camp was just awesome. There are a few cool performances, but the real star here is the food. Mountains and mountains of food. Close out the night with hookah under the stars, and you can find a guide who can help to point out interesting stars for you. Hands down, the best.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Carol H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There aren't enough words to describe how amazing this day was. Our personal guide Humdy went above and beyond to accommodate all of us. He picked us up from our hotel and on our way to the site gave us some history about dubai which was great. When we got to the site he was very informative about how the day was going to go and what to expect. The desert ride was beautiful, the hawk show was so cool, and then when we got to the main site it was just perfect. The food was great, the hooka was great, the camel rides were fun, the henna tattoos were really cool, and we even danced with the professional dancer. Humdy really made it his mission to make us feel comfortable and let us know whatever we needed he would be there. This is a hands down must do on your trip! Experience of a lifetime, if you can, request Humdy! -Carol

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

gerald w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything was excellent--Sharraf the guide, the wonderful drive through the desert and the very tasty breakfast. It was a highlight of our holiday.

Doing what: Conservation Drive With Refreshments at Al Maha Desert Resort and Transport from Dubai

jodiandlen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The 4x4 was great fun driving through sand dunes till we came to our desert bbq. The food was fresh and tasted fantastic the staff were terrific. The entertainment of dancers, henna tattoos and everything was very well done. The city tour was very informative and our guide was very approachable when questions were asked. The markets were amazing so full of the sights and smells with the spices, and the gold market was unbelievable. All very highly recommended and would do the 4x4 driving again

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

EILEEN O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We both had an absolutely fab time. Our driver was most informative and very friendly. The drive through the desert was 'enlightening'. 'Base Camp' was a delight. Camel ride, food and entertainment were all first class. A big thank you to the team for making our joint birthday one we will remember for a long long time. E and M

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Gabriela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The desert safari with the local tour operator was absolutely great! We were a group of 6. They come to pick up us from the hotel and they were very punctual. Everything was well planned and organised. We really enjoyed the card ride in the desert. Then we went to a camel farm. We also ride a camel, but this was quite short, you only go in a short circle once. Then we had some traditional food which was very delicious. And we watched a belly-dance show. It was a very nice experience, I highly recommend it!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

dsgolder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Punctual, tour guide great, a real desert experience and would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Dubai.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

kay.fisher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is great. Our guide, Sayeed, was very knowledgeable and did his best to keep us entertained. We had a ride on a camel, sandboarded and watched the belly dancing - great BBQ food and entertainment in the desert. water and soft drinks are free, beer/wine was available at approx 40 UAE Dr.

The only problem was, we were late being picked up and then sat in the car 1 hour as the 4 other guests who should have collected before us were not at their pick up point on time, Sayeed could not find them and was instructed to wait. After 1 hour we left only to turn around after 10 mins to collect the guests. This was a really bad start to the trip - the pick up info should be made clear to all guests.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Desert Safari was unbelievable, particularly the drive in the desert. Drivers were great and gave me a lot of thrills

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Suzanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceptional tourguide - Ibrahim. He was welcoming, very informative and created an experience for us that was unforgettable. It was really the perfect tour for us because we wanted to avoid the typical desert safari experience while still seeing the natural beauty of the desert. This tour really had it all for us-- informative sightseeing on the way to the desert, an unbelievable experience at the camel races and the knowledgeable walk through desert flora and desert and a relaxing and incredible breakfast at the end. Cannot say enough. Will do this again!!

Doing what: Conservation Drive With Refreshments at Al Maha Desert Resort and Transport from Dubai

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely excellent. Not to be compared with some of the other desert safari's on offer. Every aspect of this package was first class. The hotel pick-up, the camel ride, falconry display, Bedouin camp and meal were all extremely well presented, and most enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone, and would certainly go again when I return to Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous - from start at 4:30 am to finish this was THE highlight of our trip! Sunrise over the desert in the stillness of a balloon is truly a once in a lifetime experience that should NOT be missed!

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

burbmom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic trip. Captain Mike was prompt and professional with a great sense of humor. Breath taking views of the desert.

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

jules

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was fantastic. Best day ever. Quad bikes where great. Desert drive was exciting. Sandboarding was easier than snow. Food was very tasty and a lot of it. The show was memorable. Great day would do it again

Doing what: Private Tour: 4x4 Desert Adventure Safari from Dubai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message