Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

fred r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

what a wonderful trip. Saw the Blarney Castle, Cork and Cashel. VERY in-depth history lesson from our guide, with plenty of time for shopping and rest.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Laurel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! Our driver was easygoing and informative. Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle were breathtaking, as were the many green pastures we drove past. It was also good to visit Cork, to experience another city besides Dublin. Our driver told us what we could see at each site and what time to be back at the bus, which allowed us to explore without being tied to the group. If you have a full day about 7am to 7pm to see the Irish countryside and special sites, book this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Delightful day at Blarney Castle, kissing the stone, and seeing Cork. Wonderful guide who made a fun day of the trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Emily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a super fun tour! Louise was very knowledgeable and gave us really good tips for our visit to Blarney Castle. It was an extremely enjoyable day and I would definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Angel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. The grounds around Blarney Castle were amazing! Thanks

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gerrard the driver and also guide was outstanding at both jobs.
He made our day to Cork and Blarney Castle a day to remember.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Shannon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I hope you get Bud the tour guide. He made this trip really special with his history and jokes. The castle grounds are incredible and I wish we could have had a little more time there. This tour is the perfect day trip to see these historic sites.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tedrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to the Blarney Castle and Cork City was fantastic. Our guide, Joey, was the best!! He was extremely informative and interesting. Dress warmly as it is quite windy and chilly. Be sure to book the tour with Joey... he makes this 5 star tour even better!!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The driver Angel Gabriel was brilliant!! I would have given 5 stars but felt the visit to Cork was not necessary. We had limited time there and would have preferred the extra time at the Blarney Castle. Much more to do there than Cork!!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Katelyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The day is fairly long with a lot of time on the bus, but several stops throughout the day made it not seem as long as it was. Blarney Castle and gardens were fun and exciting, but anyone can get you there, the real question is how enjoyable does the tour company make the journey? Our driver had authentic passion for Irish culture and history, and his stories throughout the day made the trip much more enjoyable. The time in Cork was a bit too much, we did not really have an opportunity to see anything other than the busy downtown with the same chain shops as you find in any major city.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

mroczka86 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Another great tour that we took on our trip.It was fun making our way up the winding stair to the top of the tower. Fantastic experiance! I would have liked more time to explore the Blarney Castle grounds and the Blarney Wollen Mills store and maybe have skipped Cork. Our bus let us off near the shopping distric in Cork with all the high end stores which wasn't in my interest so we found a nice pub to relax and have a pint. Overall I would reccomend this trip

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Abby M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Long drive down and back up to Dublin. But the castle was lovely and plenty of time there. Cork is a great city. With the lunch break with free time for the pub lunch and shopping.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

James H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The castle is not much, but kissing the Blarney stone is quite an adventure

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

CHAN P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was disappointed that some parts of the castle was refixing, little bit boring. Lots of shops in Cork were closed due to Sunday. Drizzle and raining all day.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Joan F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Long day on a coach and on a boring motorway. Guide put us off in Cork to explore on our own but really encouraged us to visit his favorite pub. Blarney Castle and gardens were interesting. To kiss the rock wasn't worth the long line and climb up the tower so we skipped that part.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

James H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Unfortunately we had an awful tour. Our tour guide, every now and then offered a bit of information. We were dropped off by some shops for an hour and and one half. On to Blarney castle for an hour. Crazy time allotment. At the end he told us how lucky we were to be back on time.
Two stars because we got to see the castle!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

N D N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The places covered on the tour were great but the experience wasn't ! Please note that this WASN'T an infant friendly tour (as suggested on the website )
1. We had made prior enquirers at Viator.com about when we should be arriving at the start point for the 6.50 am start. They told us to arrive by 6.40. We had reached the start point at 6.36 am and the tour guide had already assembled all the passengers and left to the bus.
2. He later on did come back to receive us. We were travelling with an infant. We had already informed of the requirements for the infant and had asked if this tour would still suit us. We were given a green signal by Viator. Upon requesting the driver to put us together as we were with the infant , he rudely suggested that we should have come on time / earlier than we did ( although we were 4 mins before the time suggested by Viator)
3. The tour was good overall and so was the driver otherwise until the blarney castle tour. While leaving for the tour (at 12.45) we were told that there might be a long queue and the suggested time to get back is 3 PM however if the queue is big, we could take longer and the driver would wait for us not matter what as he understands that we are here to see this famous place and kiss the famous stone. I was very happy to hear that as I was really looking forward to kissing the stone. As we were travelling with an infant , we were naturally a little restricted for baby change baby feeding etc. All we did was fed the baby , visited the top of the castle , kissed the stone , changed the baby essentials and headed back to the coach. The queue for top of the castle was long and we took over an hour and 15 mins in the queue. And while heading back to the coach , we got lost in the parking lot. The driver eventually found us and started yelling at us for being late by half n hour. I apologised for the inconvenience and informed him that the queue was really long. He accused us of loitering around and trying to grab a sandwich instead of heading straight back to the coach. He even told us that the other passengers were 10 mins before time and that he was going to abandon us and leave. I think that after paying so much for the tour and informing the tour company well in advance about the infant requirements , I don 't expect this sort of treatment from the driver. I do understand that we caused inconvenience to other passengers and I even apologised to him for that.

I suggest to Viator that they mention to whole tour itinerary in advance in on the voucher. I even asked the driver in advance for the itinerary but he just said its a very long tour. I'll tell as we go. We were initially told that we would get time around Cork to grab a bite and at last minute , we were told that we would have to have lunch at Blarney Castle which is what added to our delay. With infants on the tour , feeding takes a while and the drivers attending to tourists with infants should be a little more considerate. My overall experience was poor due to this. I would not recommend people with kids to go on this tour and find a better planned tour for their purpose.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Ireland. The tour guide was truly outstanding. Bus driver was friendly and great handling the bus. Both gentleman were professional and very polite. I really appreciated the tour guide, Bob's, obvious knowledge and his congenial manner. The Blarney Castle grounds were very enjoyable. Wish we had a few more minutes at the English Market, but it was nice getting there.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

kerry.jacklin1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out! well worth the journey, the scenery was breath taking, blarney castle grounds and shopping is not to be missed! the rock of Cashel was very interesting and the little video explained everything. Cork had everything you would want for a shopping experience. Most favorite experience of the trip: the driver and his ditties! he kept us entertained all day , frown of the trip: need longer at blarney castle, it took me all my time to get round the castle and its grounds and go in search of the witches steps! I needed more time in the woollen mill! but brilliant day!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sabrina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved every minute of it. Very reasonably priced, coach was brand new, and the driver/guide was friendly and a wealth of knowledge related to local history. We had ample time to explore Cashel, Blarney Castle and Cork. Crowds not a bother at all given it was April. Would highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was outstanding. The coach was roomy and comfortable. My favorite stop was Rock of Cashel. The scenery is breathtaking and the history fascinating. Blarney Castle was wonderful. There are many shops to spend money and kissing the Blarney Stone a once in a lifetime opportunity. But the best part of the tour was John, the driver/tourguide. He was knowledgeable, funny and an excellent driver. With his efforts, the entire trip went smoothly. I highly recommend this trip and Johno.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this trip. Thought it was going to be a tourist trap and was far from it. The grounds where the castle sits are beautiful and the castle itself is amazing .The Rock of Cashel was so beautiful and the town of Cork was really fun and cute. Dave, our guide/bus driver, was also terrific. Very informative. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

ljwardus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day. The castle gardens are amazing at Blarney Castle.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Catalina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the time of our lives in Dublin. This tour was fantastic, and our guide Bud was a delight to be around! We have seen wonderful places and had fun on the tour. The Rock of Cashel, the Blarney Castle, and Cork are all amazing. We can't recommend this tour enough. Five stars! Thanks for offering us such a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jeovany Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! learned a lot about Irish history, and enjoyed the time in Cork and at Blarney Castle. For planning purposes of those thinking about doing this tour, just be aware that there is about 7 hours of driving in this 13 hour tour. For us it was worth it and we enjoyed our time very much.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message