Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 420 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Ireland. The tour guide was truly outstanding. Bus driver was friendly and great handling the bus. Both gentleman were professional and very polite. I really appreciated the tour guide, Bob's, obvious knowledge and his congenial manner. The Blarney Castle grounds were very enjoyable. Wish we had a few more minutes at the English Market, but it was nice getting there.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

kerry.jacklin1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out! well worth the journey, the scenery was breath taking, blarney castle grounds and shopping is not to be missed! the rock of Cashel was very interesting and the little video explained everything. Cork had everything you would want for a shopping experience. Most favorite experience of the trip: the driver and his ditties! he kept us entertained all day , frown of the trip: need longer at blarney castle, it took me all my time to get round the castle and its grounds and go in search of the witches steps! I needed more time in the woollen mill! but brilliant day!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sabrina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved every minute of it. Very reasonably priced, coach was brand new, and the driver/guide was friendly and a wealth of knowledge related to local history. We had ample time to explore Cashel, Blarney Castle and Cork. Crowds not a bother at all given it was April. Would highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was outstanding. The coach was roomy and comfortable. My favorite stop was Rock of Cashel. The scenery is breathtaking and the history fascinating. Blarney Castle was wonderful. There are many shops to spend money and kissing the Blarney Stone a once in a lifetime opportunity. But the best part of the tour was John, the driver/tourguide. He was knowledgeable, funny and an excellent driver. With his efforts, the entire trip went smoothly. I highly recommend this trip and Johno.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this trip. Thought it was going to be a tourist trap and was far from it. The grounds where the castle sits are beautiful and the castle itself is amazing .The Rock of Cashel was so beautiful and the town of Cork was really fun and cute. Dave, our guide/bus driver, was also terrific. Very informative. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

ljwardus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day. The castle gardens are amazing at Blarney Castle.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Catalina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the time of our lives in Dublin. This tour was fantastic, and our guide Bud was a delight to be around! We have seen wonderful places and had fun on the tour. The Rock of Cashel, the Blarney Castle, and Cork are all amazing. We can't recommend this tour enough. Five stars! Thanks for offering us such a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jeovany Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! learned a lot about Irish history, and enjoyed the time in Cork and at Blarney Castle. For planning purposes of those thinking about doing this tour, just be aware that there is about 7 hours of driving in this 13 hour tour. For us it was worth it and we enjoyed our time very much.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kristi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My main complaint is with the Viator site it didn't give the name of the company that we book the tour through. I ended up taking a chance due to the fact that it was through TripAdvisor. When we got to the meeting area by the church it was really confusing. Random tour guides run into the square and yell the name of the tours then you walk around the block to the bus. This process could be done better. A lot of people were complaining about this in the square.

On to the tour... I can't recommend this tour enough! Our tour guide was Joey who provided a lot of info and great singing along the way! While I enjoyed our time at the Rock of Cashel I mainly booked this tour for the Blarney Castle. We got over 2 hours there and, thanks to Joey, knew where to go first and what we should definitely see in our time there. Also Joey gave us the history of the castle which saved us time reading all the information boards around the castle area. We lucked out that there wasn't a long line waiting to kiss the stone. The stairs are steep and narrow, so don't wear heels!!! They do take professional photos at the top of the castle, but you can use your own camera to take photos or video. While the castle could be a day tour in itself we got to see the things we wanted to and had time for a half pint at the pub across the way. I would suggest bringing lunch or snacks with you because by the time we got to Cork I was starving and had to waste valuable time finding food versus doing the touristy things around there. We did get to the English Market and would suggest it.

I would highly suggest this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Esther F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Blarney castle is a must see! The castle itself is just walls, but it's beautiful! The grounds are especially beautiful and well maintained. There are so many places to see. The Fairy garden with the wishing stairs is what every girl dreams a fairy garden looks like. I could easily have spent half the day here. You are given about 2 hours to see the castle and eat lunch or shop. That was not nearly enough time and we ended up leaving 2 members of our group who weren't back on time they were able to take a cab and meet us in Cork.
Cork was a nice town but a disappointment because most things were closed on Sunday. The English market in the description of this tour is closed on Sunday. Despite it being closed our tour guide went on and on about how great the market was, each time telling us it wasn't open! I would have liked the Sunday closures to have been mentioned in the description.
Our tour guide was also the bus driver, which I wouldn't recommend. You don't want someone who is distracted driving such a large bus. I'm not sure if this is the usual or an exception.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Noel H T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour - Blarney Castle was a surprise been there before and kissed the Blarney Stone which is a physical challenge, don't miss the Poison Garden - that was a surprise. St. Coleman's Cathedral is spectacular. Well looked after by our tour guide Norman and particularly Paddy McArdle on our return to Dublin
Noel T and Carol A Australia

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Stephanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! Our guide/driver Sarah encouraged us to visit a church in Cork so that we could climb the bell tower and ring the bells. She was very accommodating with my grandmother and helped us to arrange a wheelchair to get around the grounds at Blarney Castle. This saved my grandmother some walking so she could master the steps and kiss the stone.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Marilyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Love this tour and our tour guide Shane. The grounds are beautiful are the Blarney Castle. Shane was very informative about Ireland. Truly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

catherinefriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Would have liked to spend a little more time in Cork, but it was enough to find a pub and have some lunch and a pint. Then we went to Blarney Castle, walked the grounds which were gorgeous, and kissed the Blarney Stone! Lots of stairs, but well worth it!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Angela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip began early in the morning when we boarded a bus in Dublin. Along the long stretches of driving, our guide played videos of recent Irish history beginning in the 1960s. This was interesting and gave us a feel for the Irish culture and mindset and made the bus ride more enjoyable. We made stops for breakfast and restrooms. Our guide informed us that a cruise ship was docked in Cork that day, so we made a slight adjustment to the itinerary in an attempt to avoid the crowds. It worked! We first stopped at the Rock of Cashel, which we basically had to ourselves. We walked in and around the cathedral ruins. The wind was howling, and it was cold and damp, but it only added to the atmosphere! We tried to imagine living here, and defending it from Viking invaders. Next stop was the Blarney Castle and Stone, which we also had to ourselves. Again, climbing the ancient stone staircases and walking around the castle rooms, we tried to envision living here. At the top of the Castle, we both kissed the Blarney Stone, which seems scarier than it is! We could have spent all day here, wandering the gardens and touring the woolen mill and shop, but it was time to move on. From here we headed for Cork where we had a short stop for dinner. Our tour guide was friendly and informative, answering everyone's questions and offering suggestions. When he didn't know the answer to a question, he was on the phone to the office to find the answer! Overall, I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Blarney Castle was Great. Fantastic Ground. It was smaller group which made the ride much more enjoyable. Tour Guide Sarah i think was her name did a great job. I would opt not to visit Cork in the future. Its pretty much a waste of a city in my opinion. I would of either like to have had the extra time at the castle or at another location, but still recommend this tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Richard K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Andy was a very friendly man and very informative. We were blessed with a dry day therefore was able to appreciate the grounds of the castle to the full.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Sharon B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our driver was excellent, and entertaining, especially his singing! The first stop was fair at Cashel Rock and would have like to spend more time at Blarney Castle grounds, but overall a very nice experience

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Joan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It rained all day,it was difficult trying to walk up to the castle through the puddles.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Eileen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were blessed with crisp, sunny weather on our tour which made it really enjoyable. The Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle, and kissing the Blarney Stone were highlights. Our driver worked very hard too hard? to keep us entertained, and was very courteous and helpful. Definitely a great tour for the average tourist who has never been to Ireland before.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Roland T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour, highly recommended. The tour guide/bus driver Jim, was knowledgeable, entertaining and competent. Enjoyed stopping at the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle and it's lovely grounds plus a nice meal in Cork city. Occasional rain but mostly beautiful weather and views from the bus of the Irish countryside was great.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour. The Bus driver was a bit corny but overall the trip was fantastic. I learned a lot about Ireland and I would have signed up for another tour if I had had the time. You need to be in good shape to climb to the top of Blarney castle but otherwise it was a lot of fun and I met some nice people along the way.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sean

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Blarney Castle was a treat - the tour guide, Gerard, was very informative and gave a wonderful explanation of the history behind our travels to Blarney and Cork. He gave ample time to stop at both locations and asked for feedback on time needed. We made pit stops along the way for coffee/snacks as well as breakfast. Would have liked to get more out of the Cork stop but overall I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good day trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour! It started out rocky with the weather being bad, but our guide was great in giving us as much information as he could. By the time we got to the Blarney Castle the weather cleared up and everything looked so magical.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kimberly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Jennifer and Larry were a fantastic guide/driver team - very engaging yet professional. The combination of stories, music and historical information were quite lovely along the drive. We absolutely loved the Rock of Cashel and the grounds of Blarney Castle. While I enjoyed the English Market, Cork seemed to be a bit of an afterthought - it may be too much to take on for this day trip. All in all, a very worthwhile and reasonable tour - I very much recommend!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message