Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 395 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour! It started out rocky with the weather being bad, but our guide was great in giving us as much information as he could. By the time we got to the Blarney Castle the weather cleared up and everything looked so magical.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

CLEBER P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fantástico, porém o tour foi conduzido por um guia que falava um inglês carregado e difícil de compreender. No mais, tudo foi perfeito. Rock of Cashel e o Blarney Castle realmente lhe confirmam que você está Irlanda! Construções medievais em pedra que te levam ao passado.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. First, the coach left exactly on time so do not be late. Our tour guide Colum sp? knew the history of everything and even some cheesy jokes to help keep everyone laughing. He was a very nice and helpful guy, and it was even his birthday. He did have a lot to say but also knew when people wanted/needed to sleep. He always asked us what kind of music we wanted to listen to and of course you pick Irish music because that's what you're there for. The coach/bus ride was long, but worth it. The Rock of Cashel was neat - not a lot to see and the stop was quick but that was OK with me. The Blarney Castle and the grounds were lovely, and of course you have to kiss the Blarney Stone. I advise not wearing heels of any kind, even on boots, at the Castle since the stairs to the Stone are steep and narrow made of stone, part of the Castle interior. Lines were minimal when we were there. We had about 1.5 hours at the Castle and that was plenty of time to get a hot chocolate, take pics, walk all the paths,and even go shopping at two nearby Irish souvenir shops. Then onto Cork. Colum dropped us off in Cork and we had about 1.5 hours to explore at our leisure. We were in the main city area, with shopping, eating, and people-watching. He recommended places to eat but we just walked until we found something with a menu we liked. All in all, it was a fantastic trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Kevin, was AMAZING! He made the entire experience rich and entertaining. We loved the castle tours and kissing the mythical stone. We highly reccomend this day trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kim L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was a very interesting Irish fellow. My only tip for him is to keep two hands on the wheel at all times driving the bus... We got plenty of time to explore the Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle. We just wished we had more time outside of Blarney Castle, as there were a number of local shops to explore, which we didn't have time to explore after seeing as much as possible of Blarney Castle. We didn't have a pleasant trip in Cork, as it was pouring with rain and we were dropped off on the side of the river, with no umbrellas and told this direction is this attraction and that direction is this attraction. We decided to go and try to find the Old English Markets, which were not as close as the tour guide had told us. We didn't really enjoy them, like we would have liked, as we got lost, had the time pressure of getting back to the bus on time or the bus driver would leave you in Cork and we continually had to keep asking the locals where to go. It was not an easy city to navigate for a tourist with only 30 minutes to explore the city. It was the least enjoyable part of the trip, as I did want to ring the bell in the church, but didn't have time, even though the tour guide highlighted you could do both within that time. No one on the bus tour got to do both, you definitely had to choose what activity to do in that time frame... which was a real shame, as I think everyone was keen to do both activities.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Carol B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Loved the trip. The blarney castle and surroundings were great. However our 2 hours in Cork were cut to 1 so the driver could get 2 women back to Dublin for their flight. They decided to put this tour in at the last minute. The driver also said if we missed the tour bus we could take the bus back. He was clear he was leaving punctually with or without us so he could accommodate these women. We did not see much of cork, being afraid of missing the tour bus if we got lost. Clearly was not happy with driver. Would recommend trip with different tour group...paddy wagon maybe

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a wonderful day trip from Dublin! It is well timed, but you never feel rushed. We even had time for some extra stops according to our guide which made it even more interesting. It probably helped that we were there in the off season so not so many people on the tour or at the sites and we had fabulous weather, too. The trains are comfy and a wonderful way to see the countryside and the coach ride portion was also nice. Our guide, Jonathon B. From Dublin, was awesome. He was personable knowledgeable and very helpful in giving us other tips and insider info on the rest of our time in Ireland. It was a bonus getting to talk with him awhile on the return train trip while discussing Gaelic sports compared to US. Cork and Castle Blarney are a must if you have any time. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

alkan50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Our guide, Jonathan, was knowledgeable and personable he really added to the trip and made the time fly. I liked the train better than a bus, more comfort and convenience - only drawback is you're leaving very early. Focus is on history - Ireland, the castle and the famine/migration. I liked Dublin but it was good to get out and see the countryside and Jonathan gave us plenty of stories to keep us entertained and informed. Castle stairs get very narrow as you get higher. Kissing the stone involves holding on as you're upside down. Take a walk around the grounds if you get a nice day. Facilities inside the castle are minimal, bathrooms, snack bar and gift shop. The bus picks you up at a small shopping center down the road from the castle. There's a nice pub there that's a good choice for lunch.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

shlewis2

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful trip and we give an A our tour guide Jim!!! Jim was very informative and humerious! Made the day very fun. Jim even waited for us to look around the ruins and then drove us to the picked up area since there wasn't enough time to do both the ruins and the walk as suggested in the tour.

Our main complaint was the time given at each stop. The Blarney castle was a beautiful area and even in the bad weather we had we would have loved to walked around to see the area but we had barely enough time to run to the top, kiss the stone and run back to the bus. Same with rock a Cashel, we didn't have time to take the walk around the grounds and look around the ruins, barely enough time to do just one.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jean L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This is a nice trip. The van driver was full of wonderful stories. The weather wasn't the nicest and our van got a flat tire, so the delays could of been horrible, but our driver was very professional. He kept us entertained and we fit everything in. Blarney Castle is a beautiful place. Cork city doesn't have a lot going on, but non the less still good shopping.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

mshell1971

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent day! Our trip to Blarney Castle and Cork was great. Our tour guide Chris was very well informed and gave a sensitive and balanced perspective on Ireland's recent history. We felt we were with someone who truly loves his country and showed us the best of it. We had enough time in each place and the coach was comfortable and modern. If you are considering tours this is the one to choose.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Quincy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour! Great guide. Make sure to check out the forest near the blarney castle.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Beth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic day trip to Rock of Cashel, Blarney and Cork! Our driver/guide, Gus, was entertaining, knowledgeable and shared a lot of entertaining stories. It was amazing how he navigated the roads, told stories, and pointed out highlights along the way. By the end of the trip, he seemed like an old friend that we met up in Ireland. The itinerary suggested Rock of Cashel as the last destination. Since it was October and daylight was getting less, Gus cleverly changed Rock of Cashel to the first stop so we had the opportunity to explore this Heritage site. We continued to the highlight of the trip, Blarney Castle where a climb of 100 or so steps to kiss the Blarney Stone. Our journey continued to Cork where we had time to explore the city a bit. The trip was nearly 12 hour long but at the end, we wished that it was not yet over.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

akenese u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour and our guide was great.
We were able to kiss the Blarney stone and see about the castle on our own then meet back at the bus on time. The tour guide even stopped at a local bar for all of us to go in and have a pint. Our guide had funny stories and very informative!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very informative and entertaining. Our group was small, and we got lucky at the Rock of Cashel and at Blarney Castle - no lines anywhere! The Rock of Cashel is beautiful, and we never would've thought to go there on our own. Blarney Castle is very interesting, and the grounds with the fall colors were really a sight to behold! Our time in Cork was fun as well - Cork's main shopping street is very lively and features street entertainers.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great time on the tour. We saw a lot of sights that we may not have otherwise seen. It was well coordinated and the tour guide was very informative and friendly. We got good restaurant recommendations with good traditional Irish foods. I wish we had less time at Blarney Castle, we didn't need nearly as much time as we had. More time in Cork would have been nice. The B and B we stayed in for Killarney was fantastic, really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to see the Southern and Western parts of Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Krishnendu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour company is simply the best in Ireland. They are very organized. Sarah was great. She single handedly managed the trip well providing all the necessary information on Irish history. The Blarney castle is the prime attraction of this trip. We really enjoyed it

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Lena

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The rail tour was amazing and gave us a better look at what Ireland has to offer. At first, we were unsure of where the meeting place would be, but the information emailed to us was detailed enough that we were able to find our tour group easily at the Dublin Heuston Station. We didn't realize until half way of the tour that we were all mixed together for example, groups that booked a one-day tour but included parts of Cork would be with a multi-day tour that included Cork, Blarney, etc. So it is important to pay attention to who your guide is.

Bob, our tour guide, was amazing. He is so knowledgable about each town, places to eat, and where to go next time you visit. He is much older so certain movies he may mention, may not ring a bell with younger customers.

The B and B we stayed at was over the top. To me, it wasn't your typical B and B, it was a 4-star hotel, the Internation Hotel. I had an awesome view of the streets, which was a change. The complimentary full Irish breakfast was great too.

The information given to you also didn't state this, but you really don't need to pack little snacks like a sandwich, except for a water bottle. On day 1, we had lunch at the Woollen Mall Center and dinner we ventured out and found a really good place for Thai food. On our last day, we had a complimentary breakfast and for lunch we stopped at The Ring of Kerry Restaurant.

Overall, I'd do it again. I'd go back to the Blarney Castle. It was beautiful. But either way, Ireland has so much to offer that I only made a small dent.

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

ZHI FONG T

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It's a bit too rush for the schedule in Blarney Castle. There are a lot of beautiful spots that I cannot visit due to insufficient time.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jessica Rivers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time on this tour! Had lots of time at the castle and time to fully walk around the grounds. The bus was comfortable. Our guide was very friendly and funny. He told great stories, gave lots of information, and really seemed to enjoy his job. He really catered to the groups needs and made it a fun day. I would recommend this tour if you really want a full day out of Dublin to see the countryside and see some great castles. Maybe pack a lunch as the options around the castle were limited and expensive. Huge thanks to our guide :

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour. I even climbed to the top of the castle and for my age, it was quite a climb. LOL

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

ken_v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

5 star, I highly recommend this rail and bus tour combo, the rail portion of our tour was very comfy, hosts were professional, knowledgeable and very personable. Loved the Castle and kissed the stone.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Meredith S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Bud was great! Very informative and entertaining. Rock of Cashel was fantastic as was Blarney Castle. Quite the lineup to get up into The castle to kiss the stone but worth it! Full day with lots of time to explore on our own. Good shops and cafes at Blarney with a nice variety of food for lunch.
Cork was interesting to see.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jeffrey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic trip. I toook my wife and 10 year old son. The train was great -- beautiful country side and easy ride. The visit to Cork was really interesting but the best part of course was Blarney Castle. I'm sure my 10 year old will never forget kissing the blarney stone -- what an incredible experience. The Tour staff were very nice and very informative. I would highly recommend booking this trip especially if you only have a few days in Ireland.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Hope S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour to Blarney Castle and Cork exceeded our expectations. Our tour guide, Pat and driver, Patrick helped to make the trip enjoyable, educational and entertaining. I highly recommend this wonderful day trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message