Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Ireland. The tour guide was truly outstanding. Bus driver was friendly and great handling the bus. Both gentleman were professional and very polite. I really appreciated the tour guide, Bob's, obvious knowledge and his congenial manner. The Blarney Castle grounds were very enjoyable. Wish we had a few more minutes at the English Market, but it was nice getting there.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

kerry.jacklin1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out! well worth the journey, the scenery was breath taking, blarney castle grounds and shopping is not to be missed! the rock of Cashel was very interesting and the little video explained everything. Cork had everything you would want for a shopping experience. Most favorite experience of the trip: the driver and his ditties! he kept us entertained all day , frown of the trip: need longer at blarney castle, it took me all my time to get round the castle and its grounds and go in search of the witches steps! I needed more time in the woollen mill! but brilliant day!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Esther F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Blarney castle is a must see! The castle itself is just walls, but it's beautiful! The grounds are especially beautiful and well maintained. There are so many places to see. The Fairy garden with the wishing stairs is what every girl dreams a fairy garden looks like. I could easily have spent half the day here. You are given about 2 hours to see the castle and eat lunch or shop. That was not nearly enough time and we ended up leaving 2 members of our group who weren't back on time they were able to take a cab and meet us in Cork.
Cork was a nice town but a disappointment because most things were closed on Sunday. The English market in the description of this tour is closed on Sunday. Despite it being closed our tour guide went on and on about how great the market was, each time telling us it wasn't open! I would have liked the Sunday closures to have been mentioned in the description.
Our tour guide was also the bus driver, which I wouldn't recommend. You don't want someone who is distracted driving such a large bus. I'm not sure if this is the usual or an exception.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Stephanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour! Our guide/driver Sarah encouraged us to visit a church in Cork so that we could climb the bell tower and ring the bells. She was very accommodating with my grandmother and helped us to arrange a wheelchair to get around the grounds at Blarney Castle. This saved my grandmother some walking so she could master the steps and kiss the stone.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Marilyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Love this tour and our tour guide Shane. The grounds are beautiful are the Blarney Castle. Shane was very informative about Ireland. Truly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

catherinefriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Would have liked to spend a little more time in Cork, but it was enough to find a pub and have some lunch and a pint. Then we went to Blarney Castle, walked the grounds which were gorgeous, and kissed the Blarney Stone! Lots of stairs, but well worth it!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Angela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip began early in the morning when we boarded a bus in Dublin. Along the long stretches of driving, our guide played videos of recent Irish history beginning in the 1960s. This was interesting and gave us a feel for the Irish culture and mindset and made the bus ride more enjoyable. We made stops for breakfast and restrooms. Our guide informed us that a cruise ship was docked in Cork that day, so we made a slight adjustment to the itinerary in an attempt to avoid the crowds. It worked! We first stopped at the Rock of Cashel, which we basically had to ourselves. We walked in and around the cathedral ruins. The wind was howling, and it was cold and damp, but it only added to the atmosphere! We tried to imagine living here, and defending it from Viking invaders. Next stop was the Blarney Castle and Stone, which we also had to ourselves. Again, climbing the ancient stone staircases and walking around the castle rooms, we tried to envision living here. At the top of the Castle, we both kissed the Blarney Stone, which seems scarier than it is! We could have spent all day here, wandering the gardens and touring the woolen mill and shop, but it was time to move on. From here we headed for Cork where we had a short stop for dinner. Our tour guide was friendly and informative, answering everyone's questions and offering suggestions. When he didn't know the answer to a question, he was on the phone to the office to find the answer! Overall, I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Blarney Castle was Great. Fantastic Ground. It was smaller group which made the ride much more enjoyable. Tour Guide Sarah i think was her name did a great job. I would opt not to visit Cork in the future. Its pretty much a waste of a city in my opinion. I would of either like to have had the extra time at the castle or at another location, but still recommend this tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Richard K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Andy was a very friendly man and very informative. We were blessed with a dry day therefore was able to appreciate the grounds of the castle to the full.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Sharon B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our driver was excellent, and entertaining, especially his singing! The first stop was fair at Cashel Rock and would have like to spend more time at Blarney Castle grounds, but overall a very nice experience

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Joan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It rained all day,it was difficult trying to walk up to the castle through the puddles.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Eileen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were blessed with crisp, sunny weather on our tour which made it really enjoyable. The Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle, and kissing the Blarney Stone were highlights. Our driver worked very hard too hard? to keep us entertained, and was very courteous and helpful. Definitely a great tour for the average tourist who has never been to Ireland before.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Roland T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour, highly recommended. The tour guide/bus driver Jim, was knowledgeable, entertaining and competent. Enjoyed stopping at the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle and it's lovely grounds plus a nice meal in Cork city. Occasional rain but mostly beautiful weather and views from the bus of the Irish countryside was great.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour. The Bus driver was a bit corny but overall the trip was fantastic. I learned a lot about Ireland and I would have signed up for another tour if I had had the time. You need to be in good shape to climb to the top of Blarney castle but otherwise it was a lot of fun and I met some nice people along the way.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sean

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Blarney Castle was a treat - the tour guide, Gerard, was very informative and gave a wonderful explanation of the history behind our travels to Blarney and Cork. He gave ample time to stop at both locations and asked for feedback on time needed. We made pit stops along the way for coffee/snacks as well as breakfast. Would have liked to get more out of the Cork stop but overall I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good day trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour! It started out rocky with the weather being bad, but our guide was great in giving us as much information as he could. By the time we got to the Blarney Castle the weather cleared up and everything looked so magical.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kimberly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Jennifer and Larry were a fantastic guide/driver team - very engaging yet professional. The combination of stories, music and historical information were quite lovely along the drive. We absolutely loved the Rock of Cashel and the grounds of Blarney Castle. While I enjoyed the English Market, Cork seemed to be a bit of an afterthought - it may be too much to take on for this day trip. All in all, a very worthwhile and reasonable tour - I very much recommend!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

CLEBER P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fantástico, porém o tour foi conduzido por um guia que falava um inglês carregado e difícil de compreender. No mais, tudo foi perfeito. Rock of Cashel e o Blarney Castle realmente lhe confirmam que você está Irlanda! Construções medievais em pedra que te levam ao passado.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Douglas H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Blarney castle is definitely worth the trip. 3 because of several things 1 Equipment - The coach was old and showed it at one point driver had to pull off the road to 'reset' the engine warning light. 2 Driver communication on stops was not great it was OK but some ambiguity meant that at every stop we were waiting for someone...

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. First, the coach left exactly on time so do not be late. Our tour guide Colum sp? knew the history of everything and even some cheesy jokes to help keep everyone laughing. He was a very nice and helpful guy, and it was even his birthday. He did have a lot to say but also knew when people wanted/needed to sleep. He always asked us what kind of music we wanted to listen to and of course you pick Irish music because that's what you're there for. The coach/bus ride was long, but worth it. The Rock of Cashel was neat - not a lot to see and the stop was quick but that was OK with me. The Blarney Castle and the grounds were lovely, and of course you have to kiss the Blarney Stone. I advise not wearing heels of any kind, even on boots, at the Castle since the stairs to the Stone are steep and narrow made of stone, part of the Castle interior. Lines were minimal when we were there. We had about 1.5 hours at the Castle and that was plenty of time to get a hot chocolate, take pics, walk all the paths,and even go shopping at two nearby Irish souvenir shops. Then onto Cork. Colum dropped us off in Cork and we had about 1.5 hours to explore at our leisure. We were in the main city area, with shopping, eating, and people-watching. He recommended places to eat but we just walked until we found something with a menu we liked. All in all, it was a fantastic trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Kevin, was AMAZING! He made the entire experience rich and entertaining. We loved the castle tours and kissing the mythical stone. We highly reccomend this day trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kim L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was a very interesting Irish fellow. My only tip for him is to keep two hands on the wheel at all times driving the bus... We got plenty of time to explore the Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle. We just wished we had more time outside of Blarney Castle, as there were a number of local shops to explore, which we didn't have time to explore after seeing as much as possible of Blarney Castle. We didn't have a pleasant trip in Cork, as it was pouring with rain and we were dropped off on the side of the river, with no umbrellas and told this direction is this attraction and that direction is this attraction. We decided to go and try to find the Old English Markets, which were not as close as the tour guide had told us. We didn't really enjoy them, like we would have liked, as we got lost, had the time pressure of getting back to the bus on time or the bus driver would leave you in Cork and we continually had to keep asking the locals where to go. It was not an easy city to navigate for a tourist with only 30 minutes to explore the city. It was the least enjoyable part of the trip, as I did want to ring the bell in the church, but didn't have time, even though the tour guide highlighted you could do both within that time. No one on the bus tour got to do both, you definitely had to choose what activity to do in that time frame... which was a real shame, as I think everyone was keen to do both activities.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Carol B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Loved the trip. The blarney castle and surroundings were great. However our 2 hours in Cork were cut to 1 so the driver could get 2 women back to Dublin for their flight. They decided to put this tour in at the last minute. The driver also said if we missed the tour bus we could take the bus back. He was clear he was leaving punctually with or without us so he could accommodate these women. We did not see much of cork, being afraid of missing the tour bus if we got lost. Clearly was not happy with driver. Would recommend trip with different tour group...paddy wagon maybe

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a wonderful day trip from Dublin! It is well timed, but you never feel rushed. We even had time for some extra stops according to our guide which made it even more interesting. It probably helped that we were there in the off season so not so many people on the tour or at the sites and we had fabulous weather, too. The trains are comfy and a wonderful way to see the countryside and the coach ride portion was also nice. Our guide, Jonathon B. From Dublin, was awesome. He was personable knowledgeable and very helpful in giving us other tips and insider info on the rest of our time in Ireland. It was a bonus getting to talk with him awhile on the return train trip while discussing Gaelic sports compared to US. Cork and Castle Blarney are a must if you have any time. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

alkan50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Our guide, Jonathan, was knowledgeable and personable he really added to the trip and made the time fly. I liked the train better than a bus, more comfort and convenience - only drawback is you're leaving very early. Focus is on history - Ireland, the castle and the famine/migration. I liked Dublin but it was good to get out and see the countryside and Jonathan gave us plenty of stories to keep us entertained and informed. Castle stairs get very narrow as you get higher. Kissing the stone involves holding on as you're upside down. Take a walk around the grounds if you get a nice day. Facilities inside the castle are minimal, bathrooms, snack bar and gift shop. The bus picks you up at a small shopping center down the road from the castle. There's a nice pub there that's a good choice for lunch.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message