Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Cliffs of Moher

The Irish landscape, normally so gentle and well-behaved, reaches for a dramatic flourish as it meets the Atlantic coast. The seaboard offers no greater sight than County Clare’s mighty Cliffs of Moher, which tower above the raging ocean below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 553 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Casserini M Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cliffs are a MUST to see. After the cliffs we have driven at the Atlantic coast, through a very nice rural area and did some interesting stop.
New and very modern car and a sypmathic driver with a good sense of humour.
The only bad thing was the lunch stop, right on a place with 1 Pub where already 4 other buses were and therefore bad service, totally overloaded and terrible food. But we went for the cliffs and forgot this little negative lunch stop.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Retired OF 49 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice Rail / Bus combo Tour. Train leaves early from Heuston train Station, and transfers to bus in Limerick. Helpful hint is after checking in for the Tour, try to stay up front near the entrance to the
gate to the train turn styles. The reason for this is you want to be one of the first on board to get a train seat facing forward next to a window, and preferably a train seat with a table. We got on toward the end of the group and ended up facing backwards and next to a bulkhead with no window to look out. The Rail segment is pleasant and goes quick. The Cliffs are really nice on a clear day, which we were fortunate to have. I would advise taking the climb up both sides to the Cliffs to get the best views and photos. Inside the hill, is a restaurant and shops, and an exhibit with a green screen to stand in front of different scenes of the Cliffs, and the ability to send an E mail post card to whoever you want. The Burren was a remarkable geologic scene that was very fascinating to walk over and photograph some of the various rock formations. Andy, our Tour Guide, remained with us the entire trip and was very knowledgeable and most helpful in keeping us informed on what we would see and detailed background information for each stop. As someone else previously mentioned, the tour wording makes it sound like your lunch is included, but all that is included is the actual stop at a Pub. Once inside, after reviewing the menu, you go to the bar order and pay for your food. In the late afternoon , you depart the bus in Gallway and have sufficient time to visit another local pub for dinner. I strongly recommend you take advantage of trying the Pub food, as it will be superior to the
pre-made sandwiches you'll encounter on the train back to Dublin. Plus, the Pub we visited had live Irish music to enjoy with Dinner. Ask Andy which Pub has the live music.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Kathya F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved seeing the cliffs but wish we would have had more time there. If anything can be done about timing and allowing tourists to see for a longer period of time I would recommend that.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Liz E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Joseph was a very informative, entertaining tour guide. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The cliffs were stunning.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was outstanding. our driver, Budd Weiser was the best. entertaining, informative and nice, he interacted with everyone. he set the rules and reminded some people of the rules tactfully. loved him. the tour was great. we saw a lot, learned a lot, took a lot of pictures and had a very good trip. the cliffs were spectacular as was the lunch and the stop along the road where we got out a walked a bit to see the atlantic ocean. I would do a tour again with this company and certainly the driver.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

jreinke22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I did three of the Irish Day Tours and cannot say enough great things! The guides are professional, knowledgeable, and entertaining. Pickup and drop off happened to be right by our hotel which we loved. Lots of bathroom breaks along the way as there are no bathrooms on the bus.

Cliffs of Mohr tour- Sarah was our guide and driver and was phenomenal. This was our first tour of our whole trip and a great way to kickoff. She is super accommodating, hilarious, and knows her stuff! Great tour and plenty of time in each spot.

Connemara- A great trip out west with James and Derrick. Beautiful land and we fell in love with Galway. Our only criticism is that we only had an hour and would have loved more time there to explore.

Blarney-Jen and Larry were great and pleasant. Was surprised at how beautiful the blarney grounds were given the tourist trap it's been called. Also visited Cork which was nice.

Great tour company to work with! You get to see a lot and will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Ketul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took the Cliffs of Moher your yesterday and it was excellent. Although one needs to be prepared for the extreme winds blowing at 40 to 50 mph that can literally knock you off the ground if not careful. Our tour guide Joesoph was just too good had a great history knowledge of all the local areas.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

danielles85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing tour and our tour guide Mike was the reason why. He was so knowledgeable about the country and made the ride enjoyable the entire time. He gave us facts, sang songs, and made jokes along the way.

The tour was nicely set up with stops in different towns to and from the Cliffs of Moher so you were never in the bus for an extended amount of time. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Ireland!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

TIM G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very Much worth the money and time......the Cliffs are amazing

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Ellyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was lucky enough to go on a day with wonderful weather. The tour guide, Joey, was very friendly and interactive. He began the trip with a song and then talked for almost the entire time that he was driving. He was very funny and had a lot of interesting facts and stories to tell. The cliffs were magnificent and well worth the time and money. In addition to the cliffs, there are several other shorter stops as you head back towards Dublin that I thoroughly enjoyed. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in seeing western Ireland!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

bs65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The sun was out and this tour was the best of all I took. We ate at a great pub in Doolin and spent adequate time at the Cliffs. I wish we had more time in Galway but will save that for another trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Brynn E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My tour guide was enthusiastic and fun. It was interesting, informative, and funny. The cliffs were breathtaking and the ride was pleasant.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Sarat P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Lucky have had clear skies. Could have used a bit more time at the cliffs but I understand the time constraint.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Kelly E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Cliffs were worth the 15 hour trip beautiful! The trip was long, but it was advertised as such. The train was about 2.5 hours and the rest of the day was in the bus. On this particular trip you do spend quite a bit of time on the bus, although it is a nice bus. We felt that the trip could have easily been shortened by 2-3 hours, and at times it felt like we were trying to fill time. That could be a logistics thing, though. Meals are always factored into your time, but not included in the price. These tours are great because you're not lead by the hand they really let you go at your own pace and just give you the information you need and when to be back at the bus. Norman was our guide twice and was outstanding. The guides are always around and happy to answer any questions they keep you up to date on timing and they are very knowledgeable about the area. We have used Viator several times in several countries and I have nothing but great things to say about them. They are well organized and well executed they only work with reliable local partners so it's an easy choice.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

catherinefriedman

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Sally met us at the train and traveled with us to Galway. She was very informative and made sure we had everything we needed. Tony met us in Galway and provided us place to store our bags. Then he showed us to Eyre Square and the main strip where there is shopping, pubs, street performers, etc! The place was beautiful and Tony recommended a few places, so we hit them all in our four hour layover. Our bus arrived and John took us to Bunratty Village where we were able to check in and get ready for the medieval dinner, which was awesome and I highly recommend! The next day, we met the rest of our group for a tour of Bunratty Castle, then headed to the Cliffs of Moher. Beautiful spot! We headed back to the train and back to Dublin. All in all, it was a great trip and would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Best 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a great trip. The bus ride is a little long, but the cliff's are breathtaking. We were fortunate to have a beautiful day when we visited. Check the weather before you go. If the rain is blowing sideways at 50 MPH, I am not sure I would make the trip. We went through the Burren, which is beautiful, in an eerie sort of way. We also stopped briefly in Limerick, which is underwhelming. We did have a nice lunch at a pub in Doolan, not far from the cliffs. There are plenty of opportunities to jump off the bus for photos, assuming the weather is conducive to doing so. Our bus driver, Shane, did a great job. He has a great sense of humor, and provided tremendous insight into the history of the area, along with Ireland in general. This is a great tour, but check the weather before you go.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

weather was a let down. but the trip was awesome, lots of stops, i recommend being near the front of the coach if you want to get to eat sooner and get seats. the cliffs were an amazing scene, and i even go to propose even with it raining. i highly recommend it was a beautiful place!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Dona G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was worth every penny. Our guide Bob was excellent, our driver John very clearly skilled he actually had to back up down a cliffside road!, and every place we went well worth the effort.
One very minor thing I would say: everyone on our tour was from North America, and in North America, when it says Lunch at an Irish pub is included we take that to mean part of the price. The food and atmosphere at said pub were terrific, but as we paid for the meal, it wasn't included in the tour.

Carolee from Canada

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Judy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience, very helpful/entertaining driver. Only got to spend 1.5 hrs at the cliffs, wish we had more time. Some other fun little stops along the way too.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Arfah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was amazing! Both me and my friend had a fantastic time. Our guide, Wayne, was absolutely brilliant. Such a funny guy, we laughed the whole day because of him! The sights and Cliffs were absolutely amazing! The whole experience was amazing, worth every single penny.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Jodi P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Actually, we had booked the 3-day tour to find out that it wasn't available due to St. Patrick's Day, so we had to switch to the 2-day tour omitting the Cliffs of Moher. We had wonderful guides to start - Bob and Margaret, but the last guide, Alan, wasn't good at all. We might as well had been escorting ourselves back on the train from Killarney to Dublin.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Cliffs were amazing and very cool! The tour was very insightful and I feel like I learned a lot about the culture and history of Ireland. It was a great experience to go outside of Dublin for the day.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

lauren s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is great! Sara is an awesome guide, great value for the money. It was so foggy when we got to the cliffs that you couldnt see them but that was obviously unpredictable and not the fault of the tour company. You also go to a lot of other really cool little stops. Some suggestions I would make to the tour company, that you give a recommended dress code rain boots or hiking boots wouldve been great and that you give more information regarding the food stops. All we were told is that food wasnt provided so we thought we needed to bring a lunch, that infact went to waste because we made plenty of stops where food was available. Overall i would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Maurice V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great experience, I had a great time and the Cliffs were awesome, very memorable. You were treated like royalty by the tour guides, first class on the train.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Starlite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely breathtaking. My only complaint is that I wish we could have stayed longer and that I had gone further up and back in the cliffs. We also stopped at this great Irish pub in Doolin named O'Connor's where the food was magnificent. The tour to and through Bunratty Castle was a great history lesson. Our tour guide Andy was informative, knowledgeable, personable, patient, funny and kind, he was a true pleasure and made the trip tons of fun. There was also a candy shop named the Doolin Chocoate Shop near the pub that had the most amazing variety of chocolate and toffee that I had ever seen and it was incredibly delicious. I would say that this tour is an absolute must. The train ride along the coast of this beautiful little isle and lovely green country was worth it and Galway was also beautiful.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message