One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the best time. Don't know the name of our driver, but he was funny as well as very informative about the sites we visited. Great trip. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, great accommodations, great scenery.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Friendly driver/guide with interesting history of Ireland. Lots of good stops with more time off the bus than the Wicklow Mountains tour we took with the same company. It was difficult to find the right bus in the morning. This company generally tells you a one block radius they'll be in, but the bus is not clearly marked and is surrounded by other tour buses. Since the same employee has to be guide and driver, traffic problems sometimes distract from the tour. At one stop we were unceremoniously dumped off in a traffic jam and not told where to meet.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

If you remove the bus accident which delayed our trip for ninety minutes and removed the fact we didn't stop in Galway which doesn't have much to do but shop Connemara is not to be missed! Due to th accident, we did not have enough time at the Abbey to see the castle or garden.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent commentary from the driver. The poor weather meant that some views were quite limited. Otherwise, the Abbey gardens are very nice and the overall countryside well worth the visit.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I loved the tour path we took, we got to see a lot of the country, had a great driver as well. I would have preferred to spend less time at Kylemore Abbey and more time in CONG. instead of a 35 minute stop - It had so much to do and see that I found would have been more interesting than 2 and 1/2 hours at Kylemore abbey -that could have been cut down and would have preferred a hour and a half at each place

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Michael Rooney was an excellent, kind, and generous tour guide. His stories were funny, insightful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It's really the best way to enjoy the West Coast of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Rail Tours staff were organized and went above and beyond to make sure we all knew where to be at which time. This tour was fabulous due to the tour guide 'John Beaumont' who suggested extra things to do and even arranged transportation to do them sheep herding and The Spirit of Ireland show. The only complaint I would have is in the B and B in Killarney 2 nights. It was musty and had mould in the shower. If you have a chance to pay more, I would suggest the 'International Hotel' as it was beautiful and it was the meeting place for all activities while in Killarney.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour except for driver/narrator who continuously told horrible jokes and got angry if anyone on the bus talked to interfere with his joke/story telling. He needs to give his career in comedy a break and stick to the narrating the tour!!!! Otherwise, very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Cliffs of Moher is great but the travel time from Dublin is quite long. Don't want to make it a day trip so choose to stay at Galway and go Connemara the next day. Arrangement of Railtour is seamless and Galway is a lovely city, But Connemara isn't really impressive.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour itself was absolutely stunning! The driver named Robbie was horrible! The road was bad with loads of pot holes and Robbie kept speeding over them which caused us anxiety and a lot of pain. A lot of people flew out of their seats a lot during the drive and he never apologized. Robbie rushed us at every stop and made the trip unpleasant .

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver's name was Ken. Very knowledgeable and explained sites as we traveled. He didn't overwhelm with info - but answered every questioned asked. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area - as a matter of fact I did. Not sure if they booked - but there at our hotel looking for trips to take.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy pace your, with good driver/guide, and scenic Connemara.
My only wish it will be more time in Cong, so we could explore Ashford Castle - extra 30-40 min. could make a difference.
Definitely a winner tour!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it ! The boat trip scenery was beautiful. Liked the Quiet Man bridge and the Abbey also. Ended in Galway city and not Galway Bay , there was nothing really to see there. Overall all was well worth it !!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip! One of the best we experienced during our visit to Irland. Our driver Michael with his witty personality made the day all the more fun. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great Rail Trip: Bus ride was a little rough Good commentary Our driver/guide seemed reluctant to
talk too much and I would have happily heard more those things which were shared and explained were
great

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

All in all an excellent tour.
Our driver was certainly knowledgeable, took us the less travelled route and was always very courteous.
I am Irish, but I found his long, one-sided lecture on the Big Hunger grated after a while. Yes things were bad, but that 150 years ago it really is time to move on.
That said, there was ample time to explore the various stops and even the weather obliged by raining when we were travelling, and the sun shinining when we stopped!
To be recommended.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized and very good itinerary accomodation very good . We were unfortunate to have some heavy mist and rain several days but enjoyed the trip

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Went very well, met us at station and the tranfers to bus and hotel went well. Good B and B and Radisson hotel in Galway. Weather could have been better. Guide rode with us back to Dublin on train.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Definitely take the 2 days and stay the night in Galway. The first day has breathtaking views of the Cliffs of Moher and you think it can't get better but the 2nd day tour is so beautiful! I want to take the trip all over again!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The description said a photo stop at the Abbey but we were there for 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We enjoyed it, but there really isn't a lot to see.

Doing what: Killary Fjord Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A long and rewarding day. Some of my best photos of Ireland came from that trip. The driver kept us entertained with a lot of interesting facts about various landmarks and local lore along the way. It beat driving... something I wasn't comfortable with.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message