One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CLEBER P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour incrível, especialmente pela beleza natural da região de Connemara e pela charmosa cidade de Galway. Nosso guia foi ótimo. Um dos pontos altos deste tour é a visita a uma fazenda de ovelhas onde o dono nos mostra como conduzi-las com seu cão. Realmente demais.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fun tour. We were on the bus a lot, but that is because you need to travel a long distance. The Connemara was amazing and beautiful. As part of the tour, there was a sheep roundup demonstration, which was amazing being on the side of a mountain, with the lake down the bottom and spectacular mountains all around and a sheep dog in the distance being told directions with whistles and calls in the distance. We then proceeded onto the Abbey for lunch, which was great, I just wish we had a little more time there to explore the grounds. Galway was fun, but not enough time to see things.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

newtownsqkitty

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Met the small bus at the Molly Malone statue in Dublin. Was kind of confusing because a number of other tours met there at the same time and it was difficult to hear the drivers and figure out which bus was yours. The driver was very knowledgeable and provided really good information. Only problem was during the ride there were two women form Portugal that were really rude and would not stop talking while he was trying to speak. Had a rest stop on the way then on to Kyle Abbey for a quick stop then to a 1.5 hour cruise in the only fjord in Ireland, Killary Harbour. There were soup and sandwiches aboard for purchase and lots of sheep on the sides of the hills. Then on to Galway City. The bus could not go into the city and we walked from a church parking lot. Would have liked more than 1 hour for this. Back to Dublin around 7p.m.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Juanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent way to see the country side and Kylemore Abbey if you do not have a car. Scenery was beautiful. Very good tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Cate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great. The scenery spectacular. Paul was very knowledgeable and a great guide. Only downside was the pouring rain at the abbey

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Tahd D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lots of fun! Had great weather and a lovely time.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the best time. Don't know the name of our driver, but he was funny as well as very informative about the sites we visited. Great trip. Glad we did it!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Anna C V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The 4 Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail tour were fantastic.
We had a wonderful, funny, informative tourguide Norm who kept everyone on time so we got to see all and more then expected. The places we stayed in at night were all first class. We had wonderfull weather, not a drop of rain, which made this trip extra special. Highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Tracey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we all really enjoyed this tour Mick Dee our driver was brilliant and very entertaining. We got some beautiful photos and would go on a tour again thanks for a great day

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour and guides were phenomenal! Our only asterisk is that Viator did not keep us abreast of the local tour operator's touring schedule - to the point that the trip disappeared from the Viator web site We missed out on their disseminated information..

Doing what: 8-Day West of Ireland Tour from Dublin

southendman

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It would have been better if for the boat trip had been for the 12.30 sailing- we went on the 2.30 which meant the return journey was very long due to heavier traffic.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Rana M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall a very well organized tour, although if issues arose there was no customer care as too many people are involved. A very great way to get a taste of Ireland via train and bus. Of course it is subjective but it would have been to have more stops in some places, or more time in others. Note that the first two nights we were put up at a 'Bed and Breakfast' as Killarney was fully booked. The tour involves a lot of walking, stairs if you want to enjoy the stops to the fullest so be aware before booking.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Weather was great- scenery was fantastic.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Rebecca I

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Mac and Caroline were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Our boat tour was not at the normal time which caused us to see Galway in the morning when it was not quite bustling yet, then on our way home we hit Galway rush hour so we didn't get back to Dublin until 9:15pm, not 8pm.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Olivia H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour itself was fun and the places were beautiful. Just wish it had been a smaller group. There was also confusion at the beginning of where I was being picked up. The coach driver was very rude when I didn't have my confirmation number handy. In hindsight, I wish I would have booked with a different company.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Lindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, great accommodations, great scenery.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Dayton T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Friendly driver/guide with interesting history of Ireland. Lots of good stops with more time off the bus than the Wicklow Mountains tour we took with the same company. It was difficult to find the right bus in the morning. This company generally tells you a one block radius they'll be in, but the bus is not clearly marked and is surrounded by other tour buses. Since the same employee has to be guide and driver, traffic problems sometimes distract from the tour. At one stop we were unceremoniously dumped off in a traffic jam and not told where to meet.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Annilise F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

If you remove the bus accident which delayed our trip for ninety minutes and removed the fact we didn't stop in Galway which doesn't have much to do but shop Connemara is not to be missed! Due to th accident, we did not have enough time at the Abbey to see the castle or garden.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Lyndon S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent commentary from the driver. The poor weather meant that some views were quite limited. Otherwise, the Abbey gardens are very nice and the overall countryside well worth the visit.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Geoff L Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I loved the tour path we took, we got to see a lot of the country, had a great driver as well. I would have preferred to spend less time at Kylemore Abbey and more time in CONG. instead of a 35 minute stop - It had so much to do and see that I found would have been more interesting than 2 and 1/2 hours at Kylemore abbey -that could have been cut down and would have preferred a hour and a half at each place

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

hargrove.laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Michael Rooney was an excellent, kind, and generous tour guide. His stories were funny, insightful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It's really the best way to enjoy the West Coast of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Debra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Rail Tours staff were organized and went above and beyond to make sure we all knew where to be at which time. This tour was fabulous due to the tour guide 'John Beaumont' who suggested extra things to do and even arranged transportation to do them sheep herding and The Spirit of Ireland show. The only complaint I would have is in the B and B in Killarney 2 nights. It was musty and had mould in the shower. If you have a chance to pay more, I would suggest the 'International Hotel' as it was beautiful and it was the meeting place for all activities while in Killarney.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

h.rothschild

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour except for driver/narrator who continuously told horrible jokes and got angry if anyone on the bus talked to interfere with his joke/story telling. He needs to give his career in comedy a break and stick to the narrating the tour!!!! Otherwise, very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Michael Taiwan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Cliffs of Moher is great but the travel time from Dublin is quite long. Don't want to make it a day trip so choose to stay at Galway and go Connemara the next day. Arrangement of Railtour is seamless and Galway is a lovely city, But Connemara isn't really impressive.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message