One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fun tour! Great way to get out of the city and see the countryside. Had I driven myself, I would have gotten lost around Connemara. Totally worth doing.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike D was awesome very imformative and funny had a great time!! I would highly recommend the tour

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Brian S. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful two-day tour with charming, knowledgeable, personable guides! We also went on a Paddywagon Tour later In our trip and we'd recommend this company over theirs. We felt like this tour took us to great spots, gave us enough time to explore, and weren't focused on just the touristy stops. Great tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide helped make our final day in Ireland a memorable experience!!! Phil was hilarious, informative and accommodating. He not only brought context to the sights and sounds of Ireland, but helped us appreciate the spirit of the Irish people. A beautiful tour in all respects!!! Thank you, Phil!!!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Joanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These tours are a fantastic way to see other parts of the country without having to take on the challenge of driving in a country you're unfamiliar with. My husband and I did feel like we were on the bus A LOT, however, we still saw A LOT and it was beautiful!! Because Connemara and Galway are about 3 hours from Dublin, I'm not sure being on the bus so much can be changed, so it's just sort of a double edged sword. This trip was definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Hwee-Leng L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a very enjoyable time. The weather was kind and the tour guide Kieran was very helpful, informative, giving us a lot history of the area. He was very friendly and obliging, he is a credit to your company. We recommend highly your tour.

Doing what: Ireland's West Coast: 3-Day Drive to Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara

BETH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved every minute of the day! Fabulous tour guide and lovely area of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful landscape. Very knowledgeable tour guide. We learned so much! The bus was brand new and beautiful. Picked us up at our hotel. Very accommodating.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

JAMES E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I took this tour with Darren as our driver,
We had a fantastic time which was enhanced by Darren's friendliness and his entertainment skills.
Darren's knowledge and light hearted banter really contributed to a great day.
At one point he had the whole bus singing the chorus of The Irish Rover and I joined with him in a rendition of Seven Drunken Nights and learned the two verses of Saturday and Sunday night,
Once again a great day and many thanks to Darren.
Jim and Sue Glanvill Gosport UK

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Cynthia S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great...the bus driver excellent...the only negative was the bus itself. The weather was terrific but from what we were told by all the Irish much sunnier and warmer than what is typical. The air conditioning on the bus was not working so it made for quite a warm ride. For the people in the back it was much worse. Everything we saw was great though especially kylemore abbey.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

John E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great trip from Dublin across the beautiful Ireland countryside to Connemara. It was a wonderful experience and our guides made the trip memorable. It was a great way to see the beauty and experience the flavor of Ireland if you are limited on time. We only had two days to spend in Ireland and this trip was definitely worth the effort.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Gina S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting, but we didn't see wild horses as we were told....

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Peter J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour - it was a pity that it was not possible to visit the Ross Eerily Friary.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Diane C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved Mike and #39;s jokes and information on history. Good tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

mesophia565

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Abbey is the highlight of the experience. The Friary felt like an afterthought and the lack of shared knowledge from the tour guide was disappointing.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Dr Peter J S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The organisation of this tour, by Railtours Ireland, was immaculate. Meet the guide in the yellow fleece 20 minutes before the train departs, get reserved seats from Dublin to Galway with the guide offering commentary and advice. On the outbound rail journey, there were just six of us, of which we were the only two joining the Connemara tour. On arrival, the guide took us out into the station car park where our tour bus was waiting.

It was here that the arrangements broke down or, rather, the coach did! Since there were insufficient takers for the tour, we were consolidated with the same tour, but by Lally's, a different company. A brand new Volvo luxury coach - looked good, but the sensors that confirm the main passenger door is locked failed. So the furthest we went for 75 minutes was round the corner, to await another bus to come from the depot. OK, no one can legislate for such mechanical/electronic problems, but what an initial waste of the morning.

When we got going, we did cover the same ground - hills and mountains, dark brooding lakes, rhodedendron covered hillsides, Kylemore Abbey with its Victorian gardens, lakes, etc. But by then the edge was taken off the day. The second part of the drive was more of the same, then rocky coastline, views of the Arran Islands, and a drive along Galway Bay. It even seemed the driver's attention had been upset by the ealier difficulties because the commentary was factual but not over-informative.

Then we had about an hour in Galway for a very good ice cream, and back on the train to Dublin. This time there were so many Railtours' guests we had a complete coach reserved for us, and were entertained to a small taster 'nip' of one of Ireland's whiskeys.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Boris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Phil was an excellent guide and driver.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Patti J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a wonderful tour. If you are in the Galway area this tour is a must see.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Patti J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a wonderful tour. If you are in the Galway area this tour is a must see.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Norman Foster was probably the best tour guide that I encountered. I enjoyed the trip more because of his attention to details. Darren on the Conemarra was also excellent. We did experience fog on the Ring of Kerry segment but everything else went OK. I liked the Noraville B and B in Kellarney but it was not conveniently located to the downtown area costs 6 Euros for taxi. The Kelarney Court Hotel was nearby - good pub.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The driver was superbly entertaining, and the trip was amazing. Very Happy to recommend this trip to all who want to see the area. The Kylemore Abbey was actually just a bit disappointing, as there were so many people and you don't get to see many rooms. Had much more fun on the road and at the Friary.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

PJ was awesome, and couldn't have asked for a better trip

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

goudy03

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I booked this tour after reading the reviews and was really glad we did, it was excellent. The bus departs from the COACH station not the bus station, this was not stated on the itinerary.
The driver Mike D was superb, spoke in great detail about the areas we were passing, clear on instructions of where to go and when to return to the bus and navigating along the narrow country roads.
We stopped off at Kylemore Abbey first, which is quite spectacular along with the gardens and church, there's a cafe and shop on the grounds. We made several stops to take photo's of the amazing views of the Connemara mountains and surrounding areas. We had a look around the village Cong, which is where the film The Quiet man was filmed.
Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Joy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip to Connemara, led by Derek, was most enjoyable from start to finish. We enjoyed the Irish music en route too. The trip was relaxing and informative and we learnt snippets of the countrys history which encouraged us to find out more. We will recommend this company to others and will book again with you if we return to Ireland. Thank you.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message