One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

tour was very informative with beautiful scenic routes. the Acara B and B in Kilarney was very nice with wonderful breakfast. The Imperial hotel was nice but bed was too firm, it was located in the heart of Galway. But make sure you have everything when you leave because you won't see it again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our trip to Aran Islands (Inis Mor) was very different. The actual travel time is quite lengthy, but that is because we left from Dublin. Next time we will leave from Galway, The flight was exciting, and the views from the air amazing. Our tour bus driver was a local, and his bus very old. It actually broke down and we had to wait for another bus to come get us. It was all part of the adventure! Beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I'm sure it would have been a lot more enjoyable if our guide/driver had been more interesting, and interested in his job. His choice of music was quite questionable, I could have done without the "explicit lyrics" and gangster rap! The speed of his driving hit or exceeded the limit I'm sure.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I used this tour company for 3 tours while In Galway. This was my least favorite. The sites were beautiful as was the Abby. However the bus driver Mike O. Seemed like he would have rather not been at work for the day. Especially disappointing was the lack of real information and the abundance of bad jokes. Upon our return to the station as I have gathered from other tours, people are redeposited to the places they were picked up from in the morning. Mike pulled into the station, pointed the way to the town center and proceeded to unload the bus. A lot of people were confused and didn't know how to get back to their respective hotels. Myself and four other people stayed on the bus and asked him who was going to take us back to our drop off spots. His answers were curt and it was clear that he didn't want the responsibility of doing more than helping us exit the bus. Since several of us were miles away we stayed fast until he begrudgingly agreed to take is back. I would strongly recommend this tour but would encourage you to ask for a different driver.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very pretty drive! Tour Guide was great, may suggest incorporating a lunch spot or suggesting bringing a lunch.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant day. Our tour guide was fab. Absolutely beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It took a lot of time getting out of Galway. Several stops to get people. Trip was good. The driver, guide was good.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was wonderful. It was realistically paced with timely stops. May I suggest a hotel description that includes amenities. I would have appreciated a room with air conditioning.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This trip is really three one day tours, with a hotel in Galway. You wait until the other people coming on the tour take the train from Dublin, so you get a late start and see less than you might. Still, the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara days were good. They were spent on one bus, with one guide all day.

The Aran Islands day should be the highlight, but Railtours totally mishandles that one. They keep passing you off from person or operator to the next. Leaving you someplace with instructions that someone will pick you up in 10 minutes or some other time. They are late, then once they get there, they make you wait until others from some other tour come or they look for more customers.

There was no continuity and so much time was wasted that we saw less and were rushed at what we did see. Frankly, we started worrying that no one would show up at all. And all that time spent waiting, was time that we could have been enjoying the Island.

The hotel in Galway is probably fine in the winter, but having no air conditioning was a real problem The window opens out a tiny bit at the bottom, not enough to let air flow. There is no fan.

But noises from outside do get in. Young people screaming until late at night, what sounded like thousands of birds calling when the dawn starts to brake and then the city vehicles picking up trash and doing other things. We had two straight nights of hardly any sleep.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While the overall tour was quite good, we felt that things could have been organised a bit better - right from sharing some more information about the full itinerary, hand-offs to local tour guides (which wasn't exactly done too well), managing the time overall (for e.g. we were left off at Galway Rail station by the bus driver who drove us from Connemara but there was no one there to guide us further). We completed the tour at Galway much earlier than the scheduled time (dont know why, was something omitted?) and then had to ring up Railtours to check whether we could board the earlier train to Dublin instead of waiting for 2 hours for the planned one. The person on Railtours was nice and promised to ring back but never did. So I called up again whereupon he told me that we could take the earlier train back. The place by itself (Aran islands) are nothing to rave about (in fact a pretty big disappointment) with the only highlight being the 8-minute flight from Connemara to the islands (was quite exciting and organised well). Overall, Not bad is the best rating we can garner for this particular tour.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. When we told some folks in Dublin we were heading to Connemara, they were not excited for us saying it was a barren, un-beautiful area of Ireland. I beg to differ. I thought the terrain was exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled. The boat ride up the fjord was really exciting and you could just picture the vikings traveling down the waterway hundreds of years before and seeing this land for the first time just as we did. Gab, our guide was exceptional. He was funny, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable not to mention he sang us a few Irish favorites to keep us entertained on the drive back. He made our trip very special and personal. Great memories.- The Brennan Family - USA.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Jim was great. He explained a lot about the area. Very nice person. There are no words to describe the beauty of this area. I would give it 5 stars, but is was very rainy and a bit cold.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Demasiado tiempo en Dun Aonghasa, poco tiempo para pasear por playas, ver las focas o simplemente comer en un pub. El vuelo merece la pena aunque el viaje entre galway ir el aerodromo mas la espera es largo. Avioneta vs ferry mas o menos el mismo tiempo de viaje

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message