One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Michael Rooney was an excellent, kind, and generous tour guide. His stories were funny, insightful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It's really the best way to enjoy the West Coast of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Rail Tours staff were organized and went above and beyond to make sure we all knew where to be at which time. This tour was fabulous due to the tour guide 'John Beaumont' who suggested extra things to do and even arranged transportation to do them sheep herding and The Spirit of Ireland show. The only complaint I would have is in the B and B in Killarney 2 nights. It was musty and had mould in the shower. If you have a chance to pay more, I would suggest the 'International Hotel' as it was beautiful and it was the meeting place for all activities while in Killarney.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour except for driver/narrator who continuously told horrible jokes and got angry if anyone on the bus talked to interfere with his joke/story telling. He needs to give his career in comedy a break and stick to the narrating the tour!!!! Otherwise, very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Cliffs of Moher is great but the travel time from Dublin is quite long. Don't want to make it a day trip so choose to stay at Galway and go Connemara the next day. Arrangement of Railtour is seamless and Galway is a lovely city, But Connemara isn't really impressive.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour itself was absolutely stunning! The driver named Robbie was horrible! The road was bad with loads of pot holes and Robbie kept speeding over them which caused us anxiety and a lot of pain. A lot of people flew out of their seats a lot during the drive and he never apologized. Robbie rushed us at every stop and made the trip unpleasant .

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver's name was Ken. Very knowledgeable and explained sites as we traveled. He didn't overwhelm with info - but answered every questioned asked. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area - as a matter of fact I did. Not sure if they booked - but there at our hotel looking for trips to take.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy pace your, with good driver/guide, and scenic Connemara.
My only wish it will be more time in Cong, so we could explore Ashford Castle - extra 30-40 min. could make a difference.
Definitely a winner tour!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it ! The boat trip scenery was beautiful. Liked the Quiet Man bridge and the Abbey also. Ended in Galway city and not Galway Bay , there was nothing really to see there. Overall all was well worth it !!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip! One of the best we experienced during our visit to Irland. Our driver Michael with his witty personality made the day all the more fun. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great Rail Trip: Bus ride was a little rough Good commentary Our driver/guide seemed reluctant to
talk too much and I would have happily heard more those things which were shared and explained were
great

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

All in all an excellent tour.
Our driver was certainly knowledgeable, took us the less travelled route and was always very courteous.
I am Irish, but I found his long, one-sided lecture on the Big Hunger grated after a while. Yes things were bad, but that 150 years ago it really is time to move on.
That said, there was ample time to explore the various stops and even the weather obliged by raining when we were travelling, and the sun shinining when we stopped!
To be recommended.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized and very good itinerary accomodation very good . We were unfortunate to have some heavy mist and rain several days but enjoyed the trip

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Went very well, met us at station and the tranfers to bus and hotel went well. Good B and B and Radisson hotel in Galway. Weather could have been better. Guide rode with us back to Dublin on train.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Definitely take the 2 days and stay the night in Galway. The first day has breathtaking views of the Cliffs of Moher and you think it can't get better but the 2nd day tour is so beautiful! I want to take the trip all over again!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The description said a photo stop at the Abbey but we were there for 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We enjoyed it, but there really isn't a lot to see.

Doing what: Killary Fjord Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A long and rewarding day. Some of my best photos of Ireland came from that trip. The driver kept us entertained with a lot of interesting facts about various landmarks and local lore along the way. It beat driving... something I wasn't comfortable with.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I went on three day trips while visiting Ireland and this trip was by long and far the best and the most inexpensive! If you picture Ireland as vast rolling green fields, small villages, super friendly people, good food, and picturesque lakes/castles then this is the tour for you! The other two tours where day tours to the Cliffs of Moher this trip was also quite excellent only a bit more generic and to the Giants Causeway and Belfast this tour was rather terrible simply because out tour guide was more interested in meeting ladies than giving a tour. Connemara ended up going from being an interesting time filler to the best day we spent in Ireland. BE SURE to clarify the means of hotel pick up when you call the company to confirm pick up on the phone. We are not sure exactly who or what was going to pick us up but we waited outside our hotel for 30 minutes. We were led to believe a taxi or bus would be picking us up however it appears that it may have actually been an individual that went into the hotel to the lobby, gathered all of the people waiting only those in the hotel, not those outside and walked them to the bus station. Either way, we ran into a different company employee 5 minutes passed the deadline kindly located the driver and got us on the tour just fine! Our Galway Tour Company guide, Mike D there are three Mikes that drive gave 120 and was perhaps the most fun and good hearted Irishman we met, ask for him if you can! Make sure that you actually want to see and pay 7 extra euros per adult Kylemore Abbey for two reasons: 1 It is incredibly beautiful and very interesting 2 because it is 2 hours almost not enough time! of your trip and one of the best highlights for sure. Also if you are looking for unique gifts to bring home as Dublin and Galway are both rather commercialized when it comes to shopping there are some very cool craft shops at Cong village where you stop close to the end of the trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This was essentially a very long coach ride. While the time on the boat was fine, for most of the rest of the day we were either in the coach or stopping for rapid tea breaks. In essence, unless you like looking at the view from the window, a longer time is needed to do Connemara justice.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Spectacular. Driver was charming, witty and knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see these places. We did a bit of driving while in Ireland, but the coach option took the worry out of the travel and we all got to sit back and enjoy the outrageously beautiful landscape. Well done!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Kylemore Abbey and Connemara are places you have to visit!! It was a great time and the tourguide knows a lot about the area and like to share his knowledge.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The BEST part of this tour was going to Killary Sheep Farm. It was there where we saw Roy, the dog, listen very carefully to Tom, his owner, and round up the sheep. It was amazing, and so funny for some reason. The best part of the whole entire day was bottle feeding the baby lambs and holding the baby lamb! Seriously made my trip. I've wanted to be up close and personal with the sheep for my whole time in Ireland. Apparently they only go to the sheep farm during winter months and I'm so happy it was still March and I could do that. When I booked the tour I was a little bummed I wasn't going to do the boat tour but this was so much better.
Our tour guide was okay, didn't talk very much. I like it more when the tour guide talks and tells you stories and history. We barely got any of that.
Also, this tour has A LOT of bus time so if you can't stand being on a bus I wouldn't take it. Lots and lots of driving but it was beautiful even if the weather was a little crazy at times. Wish we could have had a bit more time in Galway City, not just 1 hour. Lots more to see and there.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to see this beautiful region of Ireland. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message