One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 220 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The folks from Rail Ireland were great...especially Sally Barco who was very helpful!!
From the description of the tour I did not understand that once on the island one had a 20 min up hill hike to see the fort and cliffs of moher. I could not do it and was disappointed...The flight was great fun and our bus tour guide a real hoot.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver's name was Ken. Very knowledgeable and explained sites as we traveled. He didn't overwhelm with info - but answered every questioned asked. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area - as a matter of fact I did. Not sure if they booked - but there at our hotel looking for trips to take.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Easy pace your, with good driver/guide, and scenic Connemara.
My only wish it will be more time in Cong, so we could explore Ashford Castle - extra 30-40 min. could make a difference.
Definitely a winner tour!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it ! The boat trip scenery was beautiful. Liked the Quiet Man bridge and the Abbey also. Ended in Galway city and not Galway Bay , there was nothing really to see there. Overall all was well worth it !!!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip! One of the best we experienced during our visit to Irland. Our driver Michael with his witty personality made the day all the more fun. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was awesome! Well worth the time. Exciting from start to finish!!

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great Rail Trip: Bus ride was a little rough Good commentary Our driver/guide seemed reluctant to
talk too much and I would have happily heard more those things which were shared and explained were
great

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

All in all an excellent tour.
Our driver was certainly knowledgeable, took us the less travelled route and was always very courteous.
I am Irish, but I found his long, one-sided lecture on the Big Hunger grated after a while. Yes things were bad, but that 150 years ago it really is time to move on.
That said, there was ample time to explore the various stops and even the weather obliged by raining when we were travelling, and the sun shinining when we stopped!
To be recommended.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The 8 minute flight was a unique experience. It was great fun exploring around the fortress and the Ruins of 7 churches. The views were beautiful.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized and very good itinerary accomodation very good . We were unfortunate to have some heavy mist and rain several days but enjoyed the trip

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Went very well, met us at station and the tranfers to bus and hotel went well. Good B and B and Radisson hotel in Galway. Weather could have been better. Guide rode with us back to Dublin on train.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Definitely take the 2 days and stay the night in Galway. The first day has breathtaking views of the Cliffs of Moher and you think it can't get better but the 2nd day tour is so beautiful! I want to take the trip all over again!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The description said a photo stop at the Abbey but we were there for 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We enjoyed it, but there really isn't a lot to see.

Doing what: Killary Fjord Boat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A long and rewarding day. Some of my best photos of Ireland came from that trip. The driver kept us entertained with a lot of interesting facts about various landmarks and local lore along the way. It beat driving... something I wasn't comfortable with.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing place! From the moment we arrived at Heuston Train Station in Dublin until we got off again, the tour guides and arrangements were flawless, particularly since one in our group has mobility issues. The puddle-jumper flight was so brief you hardly left Galway before you were landing on Inishmore, and vice versa. This is a VERY highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I went on three day trips while visiting Ireland and this trip was by long and far the best and the most inexpensive! If you picture Ireland as vast rolling green fields, small villages, super friendly people, good food, and picturesque lakes/castles then this is the tour for you! The other two tours where day tours to the Cliffs of Moher this trip was also quite excellent only a bit more generic and to the Giants Causeway and Belfast this tour was rather terrible simply because out tour guide was more interested in meeting ladies than giving a tour. Connemara ended up going from being an interesting time filler to the best day we spent in Ireland. BE SURE to clarify the means of hotel pick up when you call the company to confirm pick up on the phone. We are not sure exactly who or what was going to pick us up but we waited outside our hotel for 30 minutes. We were led to believe a taxi or bus would be picking us up however it appears that it may have actually been an individual that went into the hotel to the lobby, gathered all of the people waiting only those in the hotel, not those outside and walked them to the bus station. Either way, we ran into a different company employee 5 minutes passed the deadline kindly located the driver and got us on the tour just fine! Our Galway Tour Company guide, Mike D there are three Mikes that drive gave 120 and was perhaps the most fun and good hearted Irishman we met, ask for him if you can! Make sure that you actually want to see and pay 7 extra euros per adult Kylemore Abbey for two reasons: 1 It is incredibly beautiful and very interesting 2 because it is 2 hours almost not enough time! of your trip and one of the best highlights for sure. Also if you are looking for unique gifts to bring home as Dublin and Galway are both rather commercialized when it comes to shopping there are some very cool craft shops at Cong village where you stop close to the end of the trip.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This was essentially a very long coach ride. While the time on the boat was fine, for most of the rest of the day we were either in the coach or stopping for rapid tea breaks. In essence, unless you like looking at the view from the window, a longer time is needed to do Connemara justice.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was amazing. It did rain while we were there. But it is Ireland! The train trip was amazing and we had the best escorts! Both were retired train workers and knew everything about the lines and the sights along the lines. Our time on the island was led by locals who knew everything about the islands history, industry, and sights. We highly recommend this and the other train tours (we also did the train tour to the Giants Causeway and highly recommend it too!)!! Thank you. We truly enjoyed our time in Ireland!

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A couper le souffle avec une très bonne organisation a un prix imbattable !!

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Frank was incredible. We had the most amazing time. The sight seeing was absolutely stunning. One of the best tours we have ever been on.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Spectacular. Driver was charming, witty and knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see these places. We did a bit of driving while in Ireland, but the coach option took the worry out of the travel and we all got to sit back and enjoy the outrageously beautiful landscape. Well done!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Kylemore Abbey and Connemara are places you have to visit!! It was a great time and the tourguide knows a lot about the area and like to share his knowledge.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message