One may not truly understand the awesome power of Mother Nature’s beauty until you have visited Connemara. With a countryside that will knock your socks off with the sheer beauty of the peninsula, a plethora of gorgeous flora, and remarkable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very pretty drive! Tour Guide was great, may suggest incorporating a lunch spot or suggesting bringing a lunch.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant day. Our tour guide was fab. Absolutely beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It took a lot of time getting out of Galway. Several stops to get people. Trip was good. The driver, guide was good.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was wonderful. It was realistically paced with timely stops. May I suggest a hotel description that includes amenities. I would have appreciated a room with air conditioning.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This trip is really three one day tours, with a hotel in Galway. You wait until the other people coming on the tour take the train from Dublin, so you get a late start and see less than you might. Still, the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara days were good. They were spent on one bus, with one guide all day.

The Aran Islands day should be the highlight, but Railtours totally mishandles that one. They keep passing you off from person or operator to the next. Leaving you someplace with instructions that someone will pick you up in 10 minutes or some other time. They are late, then once they get there, they make you wait until others from some other tour come or they look for more customers.

There was no continuity and so much time was wasted that we saw less and were rushed at what we did see. Frankly, we started worrying that no one would show up at all. And all that time spent waiting, was time that we could have been enjoying the Island.

The hotel in Galway is probably fine in the winter, but having no air conditioning was a real problem The window opens out a tiny bit at the bottom, not enough to let air flow. There is no fan.

But noises from outside do get in. Young people screaming until late at night, what sounded like thousands of birds calling when the dawn starts to brake and then the city vehicles picking up trash and doing other things. We had two straight nights of hardly any sleep.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While the overall tour was quite good, we felt that things could have been organised a bit better - right from sharing some more information about the full itinerary, hand-offs to local tour guides (which wasn't exactly done too well), managing the time overall (for e.g. we were left off at Galway Rail station by the bus driver who drove us from Connemara but there was no one there to guide us further). We completed the tour at Galway much earlier than the scheduled time (dont know why, was something omitted?) and then had to ring up Railtours to check whether we could board the earlier train to Dublin instead of waiting for 2 hours for the planned one. The person on Railtours was nice and promised to ring back but never did. So I called up again whereupon he told me that we could take the earlier train back. The place by itself (Aran islands) are nothing to rave about (in fact a pretty big disappointment) with the only highlight being the 8-minute flight from Connemara to the islands (was quite exciting and organised well). Overall, Not bad is the best rating we can garner for this particular tour.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. We were disappointed with nature as we could not see anything ,Cliff of Mohr, due to
heavy fog.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. When we told some folks in Dublin we were heading to Connemara, they were not excited for us saying it was a barren, un-beautiful area of Ireland. I beg to differ. I thought the terrain was exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled. The boat ride up the fjord was really exciting and you could just picture the vikings traveling down the waterway hundreds of years before and seeing this land for the first time just as we did. Gab, our guide was exceptional. He was funny, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable not to mention he sang us a few Irish favorites to keep us entertained on the drive back. He made our trip very special and personal. Great memories.- The Brennan Family - USA.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Jim was great. He explained a lot about the area. Very nice person. There are no words to describe the beauty of this area. I would give it 5 stars, but is was very rainy and a bit cold.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Demasiado tiempo en Dun Aonghasa, poco tiempo para pasear por playas, ver las focas o simplemente comer en un pub. El vuelo merece la pena aunque el viaje entre galway ir el aerodromo mas la espera es largo. Avioneta vs ferry mas o menos el mismo tiempo de viaje

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

A good tour guide can make all the difference on a tour. On this tour the guides ranged from fair to inadequate. Accommodation was good. The organisational skills of the guides varied. One tour guide Margaret we mistook for one of the participants and was clearly out of her depth. On the last day we had a guide to meet us to assist us onto the train to dublin and escort us. She died not appear at the agreed time aT the meeting point and when we saw her in the platform did not assist. This was left to one of the station staff to assist us and other co travellers. We were arriving late at night and are seniors and asked her about taxis which she said she would follow up. We never saw her again.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were a small group of 7 n Bud our driver guide is wonderful. He was caring enough to ask if we could take twists n turns so drove with extra care ( I can't take turns but thank heaven for travel pills as well) n took us places not on itinerary as we went along. So we got to see a lot more than a set itinerary. Really appreciated that. We had great experience touring with extreme Ireland thru viator.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

While it was a long day, we had a great time with Sarah as our driver and tour guide on this trip. The small bus was full and the weather was typically Irish, but the scenery and tour stops were perfect. I did enjoy the boat ride on Killary Fjord the best.
A huge thank you to Sarah and the tourist office for contacting us within 30 minutes of leaving the bus when we returned about a package we had left on the bus. We were able to get back to the tourist office and receive it that night before they closed.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything ran as smoothly and efficiently as could be! We very pleased with the tours. Brendan and Norman provided terrific service and all of our connections were perfectly coordinated. We even got perfect weather for our days. Imperial Hotel in Galway was very nice. Would have liked more time at Kylemore Abbey, but otherwise, no problems and appreciated how everything ran like clockwork. Way to go, tour company and Viator.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The driver was very charming and the scenery was beyond beautiful. Each stop on the trip was well chosen and very relaxed, and we never felt like we were in some kind of tourist machine, like on so many other trips. The Friary was peaceful and relaxing, the Abbey was expansive and very scenic, and the cherry on top was a 'tea break' in Cong, which is impossibly quaint and charming. Possibly our favorite daytrip of the entire holiday.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message