Dublin Castle has served many functions since it was built by King John of England in 1230. At that time, the castle was meant to act as a defense center against the current invaders, the Normans, and serve as the seat of the English government. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was prompt and friendly. We found the tour very interesting and discovered new places that we never knew existed eg Meeting Square and back alleys through Dublin Castle. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we found the tour terrific value for money. I would feel confident guiding our foreign friends through Dublin in future.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Highlights Walking Tour

alexa_ctin
Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Perfect for free access to the main attractions of the city and around the city. We also used it to cut the line in Guinness store. Not included the entrance to Dublin castle and Trinity library.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Highly recommended for anyone interested in detailed history of inner Dublin, i.e. Trinity College, Old Parliament, Townhouse, etc. Unfortunately Ireland is president of the EU this year which leads to a closed Dublin Castle - so no Chance to get inside that area. Our guide (who was very good!) had to fill this gap with some extra Details at the other spots....which made the hole story quite long. However, we booked this tour to take part the day we arrived in Dublin and with this you get a good first overview of the city centre and where to go during your stay.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed this, would have given it a 5 star if we could have seen the inside of some of the Trinity College and the Dublin Castle. The Castle had some type of political meetings so we couldn't go in. The tour guide was very informative and nice.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Highlights Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The weather was not cooperating at all, it was raining all the time, but we managed to visit all the places - Trinity College, Old Irish Parliament, Dublin Castle, City Hall and Temple Bar area. Our guide - Peter was very knowledgeable, he tried to make Irish history more comprehensive for us.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Lots of walking. Parts were boring. Dublin does not have the history or preservation that London has. The "Gardens" of Dublin Castle was a real disappointment. No real gardens. All concrete and parking lot. But you can't beat the price!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Highlights Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The tour was not as expected as the Queen was visiting the next day and both Trinity College and Dublin Castle were closed for security reasons. Our tour guide more than made up for these problems by amending the tour contents and provided a very entertaining and informative tour which was enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

You have to really like history in order to appreciate this tour. We were hoping to take a tour to get an introduction to the city and see some of the bigger sites. We did see them about 4 places total including the college, Christchurch, and Dublin Castle and at each place we were given about 20 minutes of history. If you like history then that's great, but if you tend to be bored by history then this probably is not the tour for you. I thought it went on a little long at times, and the tourguide was not terribly entertaining. Obviously the tour is called a "historical walking tour" - just be warned that that's what it is, more so than a way to get to know the city.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Michelle X
Trinidad and Tobago

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2009

The entire tour is a lot to do in 1 day. I would more suggest a 2-day tour, but if you only have 1 day, it's the best was to see the most sites you can. Just make sure to do your research on the places you really want to get off and see, as some of them have tours at only particular times. Dublin Castle has tours in different languages throughout the day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Dublin Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

This tour was great, although it would have been even better had we been able to enter some of the buildings we stopped at, like Dublin Castle, Christchurch Cathedral, or Trinity College. Instead, we stood outside while the guide spoke. Also, when we first arrived along with another couple, the woman running the tour that day did not accept the Viator voucher and did not know of any affiliation. Later on she did receive confirmation that the vouchers were valid.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message