Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent day trip. The Black Cab tour in Belfast was very informative, and the scenery near the Giant's Causeway was spectacular. We had a marvelous time crossing the rope bridge too. The tour guide and driver were both excellent. Best day we spent in Ireland.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guys who accompanied us on the train were so nice. We were the only ones in our group so we got a lot of insights on Ireland and it's cultural norms. Belfast was great loved the hotel! and the drive along the coast was stunning. The hanging bridge and Giant's Causeway were just incredible.... so glad we made that trip to Northern Ireland - we saw a LOT in a short time.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fantastic day we had! The scenery was beautiful and the Giant's Causeway amazing. Our guide Bud made the day informative and really fun. He arranged for a Black Taxi tour for most of our group in Belfast and that added a fascinating dimension to the day. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour! The Black Taxi drivers who provided the tour were exceptionally well-informed, articulate and eager for visitors to understand their perspective. Despite the overcast weather, the Giant's Causeway was stunningly beautiful and very, very weird Our guide, John, and our driver, Mick, were fun, although Mick was a bit preoccupied with the rugby game that day. My only comment is that I would have enjoyed a bit more commentary throughout, and a longer photo stop at Dunluce Castle. Overall, however, this tour is definitely recommended for some stunning natural highlights as well as a comprehensive lesson on Irish/British geopolitics over the past 75-100 years.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is an awesome tour! I highly recommend this tour from Dublin. Northern Ireland is so interesting. Our tour guide, Robbie was super informative and had a plethora of knowledge about Northern Ireland as he was raised there. Colin, the driver was wonderfully kind and deserves a shout out as well! When in Belfast, I would suggest you skip out on the Titanic museum and instead do the Black Taxi tour. On the Black Taxi tour, you will learn first hand experiences of the war that is continuing to go on in Belfast. Our Black Taxi tour guide, Paul, was phenomenal. He was brutally honest about the facts and had a great sense of humour! The Giant's Causeway was such an amazing place to experience as well. Do not skip this tour, you will regret it!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is a must tour for those staying in Dublin. Long day, but very comfortable. The day started with reserved seating on the coach bus, which also included Wi-fi. We chose the Black Taxi Tour, and the local guide was very knowledgeable on the "troubles" of Northern Ireland. Robbie, the tour guide throughout our day, was very fun and kept us informed. Rope bridge was fun, great views, and Giant's Causeway is very unique. Bring Pound Stirling currency and have good walking shoes! I highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great day but a very long day. The train ride was comfortable. The food and drink cart comes to you and you can order hot sandwiches. The bus ride up to northern coast to the Giant's Causeway was absolutely stunning. The rope bridge was fun to cross but it is a long walk to get to it and then back to the bus. Lunch at Bushmills was fine. Nothing special. The Giant's Causway was really cool. It is a little bit of a walk to get down to the ocean. There is a bus for a small fee. The stones are very hard to walk on. They are extremely slippery. You really have to take your time and be careful. We had good weather and could see Scotland. It was a nice time to visit (the end of November) as it wasn't crowded.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Cannot say enough about this tour. Absolutely the most amazing day possible. The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was so interesting, I learned so much about, "The Troubles" as they called it. I learned why so much happened and how they are working for peace now. Then we toured northern England to Giant's Causeway, WOW is all I can say. Beautiful is not a strong enough word for Giant's Causeway. The walk back is a little tough, wear good shoes and leave time for it. The rope bridge was ok, again another long hike out and back and not as interesting. But this trip is worth it for the Giant's Causeway. Truly a unique and stunning place!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful trip and one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The day started early and it was a full day. The schedule was really tight but our driver, Eddie, did his best to keep us on schedule. There really wasn't a proper time to eat so you had to balance your time at a site with making time to eat something. There are plenty of chances but it's at the cost of cutting viewing time. It would be nice to have a proper meal like some other tours I've been on. That might be at the cost of cutting out a stop or having a longer day. Overall, it went smoothly and we had a nice time at all the stops. A longer stop in Belfast may have been nice to see more of it but that was the end of the tour and by then we were playing catch up on time. Maybe it needs to be built in to the tour. Highly recommend seeing Giant's Causeway and the Northern Ireland coast. It was beautiful. Expect a full day of travel though.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day but worth it! The driver was very knowledgable and friendly. He was not constantly talking, only when there were points of interest or to keep is informed of what was next. Giant's Causeway was like nothing I've ever seen before!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great! Everything exceeded my expectations, and the highlight turned out to be the black taxi tour in Belfast. There's plenty of time to explore Giant's Causeway and have lunch at a cosy pub, as well as some other enjoyable attractions along the way.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific way to visit Belfast and Northern Ireland from Dublin, all in one day. It is a long day, but just sit back and relax during the bus part of the trip as you'll need your walking energy during the stops at The Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge stops. The Northern Ireland Coastline locations are beautiful and stunning to see. The Black Taxi tour, with our driver Tom, was fantastic; he gave us the perspective of both sides of the "Troubles" and took us to all the interesting streets and mural walls in Belfast. We also got to briefly see the Titanic Museum and area after our Black Taxi tour, some had picked just the Titanic over the Taxi tour. On our particular Tour, the police closed the Highway somewhere south of Belfast and north of Dundalk, due to a bad car accident, so we had to revert to taking little country and town roads for almost an hour, adding that much time to out trip. So in all it lasted from 7AM to 9:30PM… Keep that in mind when booking.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unbelievable. As promised, Brendan, our rail tour guide was there with his yellow jacket on to identify himself as our guide at the train station.
He gave us our itinerary and tickets and guided us to a car on the train. On the ride over, he sat with each of us in our group and gave us the rundown of what to expect in Belfast, as well as the Causeway tour.
The only thing I will add is that you will definitely need some British Pounds in order to transact any business while in Northern Ireland. That information was a little incorrect. So, ask the hotel desk about the nearest ATM to draw out some pounds.
The next morning, they corralled us all onto the coach. We had very nice seats reserved for the "railtour" people, and the bus accommodated our overnight bags--underneath.
Our tour guide for the day was Patrick, and I have to say that he was truly a one-man tourism guide of Northern Ireland. He even explained the "troubles" that occurred in Ireland years ago. It was an informative history lesson that I wasn't expecting, but gladly soaked it up.
Patrick was very kind and knowledgeable of all the surrounding scenery, villages, and historical markers.
This trip was especially wonderful for me as I got to ride in the front, beside the driver. As I was traveling alone, I enjoyed being up front and seeing the countryside change as we barreled along.
The Giant's Causeway was breathtaking. I can't even put into words how tremendous the site was to behold. The hike to the Carrick-a-Rede bridge and the crossing was also a once-in-a-lifetime adventure that I'm glad I didn't miss.
We stopped in Bushmills and had lunch at the distillery after the bridge hike. You can purchase a nice bottle to bring home there.
I'd definitely do this tour again--hopefully with Patrick as my guide!
Make sure you bring good hiking/ climbing shoes and a good windbreaker/ rain coat. The weather can be quite fickle and it's blustery on the cliffs and causeway.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful tour along the coast! Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable and made the bus ride a great sightseeing experience. Giant's Causeway itself was beautiful beyond words. The Carrick-a-rede rope bridge was also a great site to walk around and explore the landscape. My only complaint about the whole tour is the lack of time to do things around Belfast. I had a great dinner at Crown Liquor Saloon, but I wish the tour had gotten in town early enough to take a Black Taxi tour or see the Titanic museum!

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour....Black taxi tour was very informative, giant's causeway what a sight to behold and the rope bridge walk was hair raising. Ireland is a beautiful country to visit. The only concern I have with the tour was the drop off. Returning back to Dublin late and dark with few solo travellers and female travellers who were bit disorientated with the location of the drop off. We were told to catch taxis to our hotels and were not aided to hail down the taxis and given direction where to the nearest taxi ramp. Another female friend and I had to help a solo (female) traveller hail down a taxi for her and then when walked around looking for one ourselves. As it was 8:30-9pm in the night and raining, we as tourists were very unaware of our location and surrounding. I would highly recommend that the tour organisers make sure that all their clients, after a great day, to hail down taxis for those who need them and direct the taxis to their hotels. This will make the solo travellers and female traveller feel safer in a new city and recommend the tour to others. I can not recommend this tour to solo female travellers as it gets back to Dublin late and there is only one drop off point in the city.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message