Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Felicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was well worth our money. Henry was a fantastic driver and tour guide. Gotta give him a high five for driving a bus on the small Ireland roads all while trying to explain the history behind each site we went to. There was never a dull moment during the tour because Henry kept us entertained. We absolutely loved how the tour guide added a few extra stops into the itinerary. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour. My only suggestion for improvement is the restaurant we stopped at. Yes, the food was cheaper then most places but my food was cold I think it sat to long in the pan at the buffet table. I like how Henry mentioned he order sunshine at 1pm for the Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede bridge. Thought it was funny how it was raining but as soon as we arrived to the bridge it was sunshine. Great tour. Thank you for starting my adventure in Ireland on a good note.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Eric R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fun. I didn't plan on crossing the Carrick-a-Rede bridge because we have two small children. But we did it! The view at this spot was very pretty. I would have liked about 30 more minutes at Giant's Causeway. And it definitely wasn't near enough time in Belfast. For lunch we stopped at a place called The Barn. It wasn't kid friendly food. Overall, it was a good experience and I'm glad we did it.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Jodi P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was great to see Giant's Causeway and the rope bridge, but I wish there was more warning about the amount of walking involved. Also, I wish there had been more time to explore Belfast.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

MrNandoJr Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The weather was against us as storm Henry was in full force on the shores of the Giant's Causeway. Despite strong winds, the place is stunning. Instead of visiting Titanic Visitor Experience, I took the black taxi tour in Belfast, which revealed to be a great city tour, with our driver Tom telling the story of the long living conflict between catholics and protestants to this day. JP, Wild Rovers tour guide, made all the difference in this tour by telling us lots of information about Irish history.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Astrid G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tour. This tour will give you history and country side all in one day.
The black taxi tour was simply wonderful, it gives you a real perspective of what actually happened as all black taxi tour guides lived during this time and will tell you what they experienced. The giant's causeway is absolutely beautiful.

If you are considering this tour, do it!! You wont regret it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

pipiphwy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Giant's Causeway is a breath taking view even though the weather that day was rather severe. The taxi drivers also gave us a brief heartfelt talk on the history of Belfast. It's a trip worth going regardless of the weather :

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Antonio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great mix of history in Belfast and great outdoors at Giant's Causeway!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Rochelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. It makes for a long day, but is worth it if you are short on time, based out of Dublin, and want the opportunity to learn about Belfast and see Giant's Causeway. The rope walk was fun and there were great coastline views there. Our favorite part of tour was the Black Taxi Tour in Belfast very informative! The Giant's Causeway was beautiful, even with the December Ireland weather! Our guide, Yoan, and driver, John, were fantastic!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour.... The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was great. Our taxi driver knew everything and we got to take lots of photos of the murals and actually take the time to understand the history behind each mural. The Carrick-a-Rede bridge was a lot of fun, just a shame you get held up by tourists indecision to cross or not, which eats into your time to explore more of the coast line and we were able to see Scotland in the distance. The giant's causeway was smaller than I expected, but still a very unusual formation of rocks to see. Reminded me of Superman and his crystal cave, if anyone knows this reference. Overall the tour was great and we got to see a lot in the time provided to us.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Kimberly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We decided last minute to do this and don't regret the decision one bit! We were recommended to to see Giant's Causeway and didn't really know how to get there so we stumbled across this day trip. We ended having a wonderful time and actually, our favorite part was the Black Taxi Tour with Tom. He gave a detailed and very personal tour of the history of Belfast, hands down the best city tour I have ever experienced. They also take you to the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, which was a surprise to me to be honest. Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge were crazy cool to see in person, pictures do not do justice! Overall, I highly recommend this entire day trip!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Karin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were traveling in both England and throughout Ireland and this was the best day trip we took. The taxi drivers in Belfast were very informative and added their personal stories as well as facts. On the Giant's Causeway portion of the trip we were rained on and hailed on! And still the experience was amazing. I'd recommend this trip to everyone. Only a handful of people passed the taxi portion of the trip up to see the Titanic museum thankfully.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

cwg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I were super happy with our 1 day trip, Shane was our driver and he was fantastic! our trip, time spent and the drive to the Giant's Causeway was excellent!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

jonlegro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable bus with a good audio system. Length of time was reasonable for the distance and all we saw. The Coast of Antrum was breathtaking, the Rope Bridge a great hike and fun experience and the Giant's Causeway was awesome. Our bus driver/tour leader/friend and ally was MAC. He deserves a ten star rating. He was sensitive to the needs of the travelers and his commentary was interesting and meaningful. We had Irish sunshine which put frosting all over the shamrock. Therese

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Ilona S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a fantastic day out.Guide was good and very informative.New stylish Titanic museum experience was great. i really loved the Giant's Causeway.There are lots of walking to the Giant's Causeway and to the Carrick-a-rede bridge but all worth.The sun shine the whole day and places were overcrowded. Didn't have enough time to get back from Carrick-a-rede bridge. We had nearly to run back to get to bus in time. Trip worth doing.A most enjoyable day. Thanks.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So happy we were able to work this tour into our itinerary!!!
The Black Taxi Tour was very informative and interesting, Giant's Causeway beautiful and walking across the rope bridge very cool. The coastal views are amazing. It was a great day, I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Black Taxi Tour of Belfast really shows you how the Troubles have impacted the average person in Belfast. Our guide told us about his experiences growing up during such difficult times. He was also knowledgeable about the murals and took the time to show us a beautiful cathedral. The Giant's Causeway is breathtaking, as is the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. There weren't too many crowds in either place, so we were able to see everything we wanted to see and still have a few minutes left over to get some food at the Giant's Causeway buyer beware, there are only two restaurants at the Causeway, and they can get busy and some hot tea at the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Theresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip. Our guide Yoan and driver John were wonderful. The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was the best. Very informative and sobering. Giant's Causeway was impressive.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great historical back cab tour, beautiful natural tour with Giant's Causeway. Well timed and operated.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Abigail C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, the tour was great and was a good way to see a Belfast and Giant's Causeway easily from Dublin. Our tour guide was not particularly helpful in terms of informing us of the history of the Troubles in Belfast or the history/science behind the Giant's Causeway, so if you're looking for more narrative in the tour or more context for the visits, either read up ahead of time or find a different tour for example, she spent a lot of time playing her favorite Irish music, talking about her ex and playing with the children on the bus. We ended up paying for a black cab tour to take us around quickly while in Belfast and spent a lot of time reading signs at Giant's Causeway. It would have been nice to have more time at each place, but can understand it's a lot of ground to cover in a short amount of time perhaps less time at rest stops and no need to stop by the castle?. Overall, we'd recommend it as a quick way to see a lot in a short time, but if you have more time, then you should spread out the Northern Ireland visits. I will definitely be returning to Belfast directly another time!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Jonathan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The sights are definitely worth seeing, but think twice before taking tour. Everything is VERY tightly scheduled. After Belfast we ran into some traffic, and the bus driver had to get back by a certain time or couldn't work next day. We literally ran through through the Giant's Causeway and Rope Bridge Stops. It's a long walk to either attraction from the Visitor's Center. Fortunately, there was a bus at the Giant's Causeway. At the Rope Bridge many people didn't go as they only gave us an hour there. The walk was @2 Km roundtrip, then you had to wait in line to go over bridge. Barely made it! If you want to enjoy the places you are going to, find another tour or rent a car!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Irene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience! Black taxi tour was informative and balanced. Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge at Carrick-a-Rede was a jaw-dropper!!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful scenery at Giant's Causeway and the rope bridge is a lot of fun and also a beautiful little walk to get to the bridge. The black taxi tour is really informative and interesting.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! Promptly on time for pick up and throughout the day. Comfortable coach with friendly and approachable guides, Kevin and John. We were very impressed with Kevin's vast knowledge of Ireland's history and myths. I'd recommend this tour for anyone with time for a day trip. We were able to get a brief history of the Northern Ireland politics as well as ample amounts of time at both the Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge. Worth every dollar :

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Brian c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a fantastic time on this trip! Owen was a great driver and Jim was a trove of historical information. Everything was well-organized, on-time and well-planned. We especially enjoyed the black taxi tour in Belfast. Even having read about the 'troubles' and followed it in the media, it is impossible to understand the plight of the Irish in the North without seeing firsthand the oppression and animal like conditions they live in. Titanic was an architectural masterpiece, but not on the same level. The Giant's Causeway is absolutely incredible and our only regret was that we wasted 45 minutes of this 2 hours eating. Next time, we'll pack a lunch and spend more time exploring the coast

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Arpar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had very best experience with Wild Rover Tour to explore Belfest and Giant's Causeway. Well worth it for a day tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message