Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide JOHN was knowledgeable and friendly. Both he and the black taxi drivers were willing to answer any question about the political situation. Giant's causeway is magnificent. The trip was truly enjoyable and highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed this tour to the Giant's Causeway. My tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. As a single traveler, I met a few people to chat with on the bus. I did cross the Carrick-a-Rede bridge as I am a scaredy-cat when it comes to heights. Instead, I got plenty of photos of the scenery. The day was beautiful until we made it to the Giant's Causeway. Make sure to bring a proper rain jacket and because the winds are so strong, don't depend on an umbrella to keep you dry. The Causeway is definitely a must see in Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing. We got to see each stop on the trip in a timely manner.Our driver Matthew was very informative and kind. Even though we had set amount of time at each stop he was kind enough to give us a little extra time knowing the path to and from the rope bridge can take a little bit of time. We also had an amazing time seeing the Giant's Causeway. Matthew gave us a great recommendation for the best to see the area and make best use of our time. When we got to Belfast he had the best recommendation, to go to the dome of the shopping center so we can see the entire skyline of the city. While a short stay, Belfast was great to see. I definitely know I would enjoy spending more time there and can't wait to book my next trip.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a wonderful tour! Great views along the coast. We had a good amount of time at the rope bridge and plenty of time at the giant's causeway. The tour guide and driver were wonderful, gave us a detailed itinerary to help plan our time.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent day trip and we saw so much scenic beauty. The Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge was in an unexpectedly stunning area of the coast with bright green cliffs. The Giant's Causeway was also very cool and I felt like I was right in the middle of a Game of Thrones episode.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the absolute highlights of our trip! our taxi driver Brian took really good care of us and told us his personal story and it really touched us deeply. We learned a lot and got some really great pictures too. the second part of the trip to giant's causeway was breathtaking!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience! I highly recommend the Black Taxi tour and the Giant's Causeway is a must see! The entire tour was awesome.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Paddy was excellent at getting us to the places we needed to be at. The driver/guide was very knowledgeable with events concerning Northern Ireland. I think the rope bridge was probably my favorite stop. I think a little to much time was spent at the Giant's Causeway an hour and 15 minutes is probably time for most people.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour guide for this tour was overly concerned with time and very annoying. There was not enough time allotted for Carrick-A-Rede rope bridge. It was beautiful but we felt terribly rushed and did not get to fully enjoy it. The Giant's Causeway is beautiful scenery and it is only because it was so pretty that I give this tour two stars. I think we could have skipped Belfast altogether - it added nothing to the tour.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Antonio
Portugal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Giant's Causeway and Xarrick a Rede: Excellent.
Visit to Belfast too short.
Jim was a great guide / driver. He made a difference.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The whole trip was organised so well. We had a really interesting tour guide on the coach who was really knowledgable and catered for everyone. The Belfast Black Taxi tour was really informative and I would really recommend it to anyone. Giant's Causeway was stunning and a definite 'must see'.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fun trip and well worth the money. Although the day was long it was packed with fun. The guide and driver were great. The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was good, a few less murals would have been OK. The Giant's Causeway not to be missed wow the views. Only complaint the weather could have been better but not much you can do about weather in Ireland.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Belfast Black Taxi tour was great, very informative and entertaining. Giant's Causeway was under explained and more walking than anticipated.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent day trip. The Black Cab tour in Belfast was very informative, and the scenery near the Giant's Causeway was spectacular. We had a marvelous time crossing the rope bridge too. The tour guide and driver were both excellent. Best day we spent in Ireland.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guys who accompanied us on the train were so nice. We were the only ones in our group so we got a lot of insights on Ireland and it's cultural norms. Belfast was great loved the hotel! and the drive along the coast was stunning. The hanging bridge and Giant's Causeway were just incredible.... so glad we made that trip to Northern Ireland - we saw a LOT in a short time.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fantastic day we had! The scenery was beautiful and the Giant's Causeway amazing. Our guide Bud made the day informative and really fun. He arranged for a Black Taxi tour for most of our group in Belfast and that added a fascinating dimension to the day. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour! The Black Taxi drivers who provided the tour were exceptionally well-informed, articulate and eager for visitors to understand their perspective. Despite the overcast weather, the Giant's Causeway was stunningly beautiful and very, very weird Our guide, John, and our driver, Mick, were fun, although Mick was a bit preoccupied with the rugby game that day. My only comment is that I would have enjoyed a bit more commentary throughout, and a longer photo stop at Dunluce Castle. Overall, however, this tour is definitely recommended for some stunning natural highlights as well as a comprehensive lesson on Irish/British geopolitics over the past 75-100 years.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is an awesome tour! I highly recommend this tour from Dublin. Northern Ireland is so interesting. Our tour guide, Robbie was super informative and had a plethora of knowledge about Northern Ireland as he was raised there. Colin, the driver was wonderfully kind and deserves a shout out as well! When in Belfast, I would suggest you skip out on the Titanic museum and instead do the Black Taxi tour. On the Black Taxi tour, you will learn first hand experiences of the war that is continuing to go on in Belfast. Our Black Taxi tour guide, Paul, was phenomenal. He was brutally honest about the facts and had a great sense of humour! The Giant's Causeway was such an amazing place to experience as well. Do not skip this tour, you will regret it!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is a must tour for those staying in Dublin. Long day, but very comfortable. The day started with reserved seating on the coach bus, which also included Wi-fi. We chose the Black Taxi Tour, and the local guide was very knowledgeable on the "troubles" of Northern Ireland. Robbie, the tour guide throughout our day, was very fun and kept us informed. Rope bridge was fun, great views, and Giant's Causeway is very unique. Bring Pound Stirling currency and have good walking shoes! I highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great day but a very long day. The train ride was comfortable. The food and drink cart comes to you and you can order hot sandwiches. The bus ride up to northern coast to the Giant's Causeway was absolutely stunning. The rope bridge was fun to cross but it is a long walk to get to it and then back to the bus. Lunch at Bushmills was fine. Nothing special. The Giant's Causway was really cool. It is a little bit of a walk to get down to the ocean. There is a bus for a small fee. The stones are very hard to walk on. They are extremely slippery. You really have to take your time and be careful. We had good weather and could see Scotland. It was a nice time to visit (the end of November) as it wasn't crowded.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Cannot say enough about this tour. Absolutely the most amazing day possible. The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was so interesting, I learned so much about, "The Troubles" as they called it. I learned why so much happened and how they are working for peace now. Then we toured northern England to Giant's Causeway, WOW is all I can say. Beautiful is not a strong enough word for Giant's Causeway. The walk back is a little tough, wear good shoes and leave time for it. The rope bridge was ok, again another long hike out and back and not as interesting. But this trip is worth it for the Giant's Causeway. Truly a unique and stunning place!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful trip and one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The day started early and it was a full day. The schedule was really tight but our driver, Eddie, did his best to keep us on schedule. There really wasn't a proper time to eat so you had to balance your time at a site with making time to eat something. There are plenty of chances but it's at the cost of cutting viewing time. It would be nice to have a proper meal like some other tours I've been on. That might be at the cost of cutting out a stop or having a longer day. Overall, it went smoothly and we had a nice time at all the stops. A longer stop in Belfast may have been nice to see more of it but that was the end of the tour and by then we were playing catch up on time. Maybe it needs to be built in to the tour. Highly recommend seeing Giant's Causeway and the Northern Ireland coast. It was beautiful. Expect a full day of travel though.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day but worth it! The driver was very knowledgable and friendly. He was not constantly talking, only when there were points of interest or to keep is informed of what was next. Giant's Causeway was like nothing I've ever seen before!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great! Everything exceeded my expectations, and the highlight turned out to be the black taxi tour in Belfast. There's plenty of time to explore Giant's Causeway and have lunch at a cosy pub, as well as some other enjoyable attractions along the way.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific way to visit Belfast and Northern Ireland from Dublin, all in one day. It is a long day, but just sit back and relax during the bus part of the trip as you'll need your walking energy during the stops at The Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge stops. The Northern Ireland Coastline locations are beautiful and stunning to see. The Black Taxi tour, with our driver Tom, was fantastic; he gave us the perspective of both sides of the "Troubles" and took us to all the interesting streets and mural walls in Belfast. We also got to briefly see the Titanic Museum and area after our Black Taxi tour, some had picked just the Titanic over the Taxi tour. On our particular Tour, the police closed the Highway somewhere south of Belfast and north of Dundalk, due to a bad car accident, so we had to revert to taking little country and town roads for almost an hour, adding that much time to out trip. So in all it lasted from 7AM to 9:30PM… Keep that in mind when booking.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message