Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MrNandoJr Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The weather was against us as storm Henry was in full force on the shores of the Giant's Causeway. Despite strong winds, the place is stunning. Instead of visiting Titanic Visitor Experience, I took the black taxi tour in Belfast, which revealed to be a great city tour, with our driver Tom telling the story of the long living conflict between catholics and protestants to this day. JP, Wild Rovers tour guide, made all the difference in this tour by telling us lots of information about Irish history.

Doing what: Best Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Antonio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great mix of history in Belfast and great outdoors at Giant's Causeway!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Rochelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. It makes for a long day, but is worth it if you are short on time, based out of Dublin, and want the opportunity to learn about Belfast and see Giant's Causeway. The rope walk was fun and there were great coastline views there. Our favorite part of tour was the Black Taxi Tour in Belfast very informative! The Giant's Causeway was beautiful, even with the December Ireland weather! Our guide, Yoan, and driver, John, were fantastic!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour.... The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was great. Our taxi driver knew everything and we got to take lots of photos of the murals and actually take the time to understand the history behind each mural. The Carrick-a-Rede bridge was a lot of fun, just a shame you get held up by tourists indecision to cross or not, which eats into your time to explore more of the coast line and we were able to see Scotland in the distance. The giant's causeway was smaller than I expected, but still a very unusual formation of rocks to see. Reminded me of Superman and his crystal cave, if anyone knows this reference. Overall the tour was great and we got to see a lot in the time provided to us.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Kimberly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We decided last minute to do this and don't regret the decision one bit! We were recommended to to see Giant's Causeway and didn't really know how to get there so we stumbled across this day trip. We ended having a wonderful time and actually, our favorite part was the Black Taxi Tour with Tom. He gave a detailed and very personal tour of the history of Belfast, hands down the best city tour I have ever experienced. They also take you to the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, which was a surprise to me to be honest. Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge were crazy cool to see in person, pictures do not do justice! Overall, I highly recommend this entire day trip!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Karin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were traveling in both England and throughout Ireland and this was the best day trip we took. The taxi drivers in Belfast were very informative and added their personal stories as well as facts. On the Giant's Causeway portion of the trip we were rained on and hailed on! And still the experience was amazing. I'd recommend this trip to everyone. Only a handful of people passed the taxi portion of the trip up to see the Titanic museum thankfully.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

cwg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I were super happy with our 1 day trip, Shane was our driver and he was fantastic! our trip, time spent and the drive to the Giant's Causeway was excellent!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

jonlegro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable bus with a good audio system. Length of time was reasonable for the distance and all we saw. The Coast of Antrum was breathtaking, the Rope Bridge a great hike and fun experience and the Giant's Causeway was awesome. Our bus driver/tour leader/friend and ally was MAC. He deserves a ten star rating. He was sensitive to the needs of the travelers and his commentary was interesting and meaningful. We had Irish sunshine which put frosting all over the shamrock. Therese

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Ilona S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a fantastic day out.Guide was good and very informative.New stylish Titanic museum experience was great. i really loved the Giant's Causeway.There are lots of walking to the Giant's Causeway and to the Carrick-a-rede bridge but all worth.The sun shine the whole day and places were overcrowded. Didn't have enough time to get back from Carrick-a-rede bridge. We had nearly to run back to get to bus in time. Trip worth doing.A most enjoyable day. Thanks.

Doing what: Best Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So happy we were able to work this tour into our itinerary!!!
The Black Taxi Tour was very informative and interesting, Giant's Causeway beautiful and walking across the rope bridge very cool. The coastal views are amazing. It was a great day, I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Black Taxi Tour of Belfast really shows you how the Troubles have impacted the average person in Belfast. Our guide told us about his experiences growing up during such difficult times. He was also knowledgeable about the murals and took the time to show us a beautiful cathedral. The Giant's Causeway is breathtaking, as is the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. There weren't too many crowds in either place, so we were able to see everything we wanted to see and still have a few minutes left over to get some food at the Giant's Causeway buyer beware, there are only two restaurants at the Causeway, and they can get busy and some hot tea at the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Theresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip. Our guide Yoan and driver John were wonderful. The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was the best. Very informative and sobering. Giant's Causeway was impressive.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great historical back cab tour, beautiful natural tour with Giant's Causeway. Well timed and operated.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Abigail C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, the tour was great and was a good way to see a Belfast and Giant's Causeway easily from Dublin. Our tour guide was not particularly helpful in terms of informing us of the history of the Troubles in Belfast or the history/science behind the Giant's Causeway, so if you're looking for more narrative in the tour or more context for the visits, either read up ahead of time or find a different tour for example, she spent a lot of time playing her favorite Irish music, talking about her ex and playing with the children on the bus. We ended up paying for a black cab tour to take us around quickly while in Belfast and spent a lot of time reading signs at Giant's Causeway. It would have been nice to have more time at each place, but can understand it's a lot of ground to cover in a short amount of time perhaps less time at rest stops and no need to stop by the castle?. Overall, we'd recommend it as a quick way to see a lot in a short time, but if you have more time, then you should spread out the Northern Ireland visits. I will definitely be returning to Belfast directly another time!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Jonathan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The sights are definitely worth seeing, but think twice before taking tour. Everything is VERY tightly scheduled. After Belfast we ran into some traffic, and the bus driver had to get back by a certain time or couldn't work next day. We literally ran through through the Giant's Causeway and Rope Bridge Stops. It's a long walk to either attraction from the Visitor's Center. Fortunately, there was a bus at the Giant's Causeway. At the Rope Bridge many people didn't go as they only gave us an hour there. The walk was @2 Km roundtrip, then you had to wait in line to go over bridge. Barely made it! If you want to enjoy the places you are going to, find another tour or rent a car!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Irene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience! Black taxi tour was informative and balanced. Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge at Carrick-a-Rede was a jaw-dropper!!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful scenery at Giant's Causeway and the rope bridge is a lot of fun and also a beautiful little walk to get to the bridge. The black taxi tour is really informative and interesting.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour! Promptly on time for pick up and throughout the day. Comfortable coach with friendly and approachable guides, Kevin and John. We were very impressed with Kevin's vast knowledge of Ireland's history and myths. I'd recommend this tour for anyone with time for a day trip. We were able to get a brief history of the Northern Ireland politics as well as ample amounts of time at both the Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge. Worth every dollar :

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Brian c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a fantastic time on this trip! Owen was a great driver and Jim was a trove of historical information. Everything was well-organized, on-time and well-planned. We especially enjoyed the black taxi tour in Belfast. Even having read about the 'troubles' and followed it in the media, it is impossible to understand the plight of the Irish in the North without seeing firsthand the oppression and animal like conditions they live in. Titanic was an architectural masterpiece, but not on the same level. The Giant's Causeway is absolutely incredible and our only regret was that we wasted 45 minutes of this 2 hours eating. Next time, we'll pack a lunch and spend more time exploring the coast

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Arpar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had very best experience with Wild Rover Tour to explore Belfest and Giant's Causeway. Well worth it for a day tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Patricia O

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We had a tour guide and he was great but the bus driver's narrative could not be heard very well or understood. The views were great of the glens. Because of an accident on the road or so we were told we did not go to Dunluce Castle. At the Giant's Causeway we noticed others hiking with headsets. When we inquired we were told that they were an audio guide tour. We listened in on someone else's and it was a delightful narrative. They told us they were available at the visitors center.Unfortunately our tour did not come with admission to the visitors center or that audio tour. It would have been an extra fee, but I feel our tour guide should have at least given us that option. We had plenty of extra time there because we did not go to the Castle, but feel we missed half the experience.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Kathleen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Titanic Experience was great, especially the gondola ride through the shipyards while the ship was being made. Well worth the money. Giant's Causeway was great. The rope bridge, for the person who doesn't do much walking, was too rough to get there. But the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Best Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and guides. Loved the Black Taxi Tour-very interesting our driver was amazing! Giant's Causeway and bridge were beautiful.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Rhonda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip from Dublin. Our guide gave us an excellent insight into Irish life and history. The taxi ride through Belfast highlighted many of this troubled city's past. The Giant's Causeway was spectacular and the weather was kind. Altogether an experience I would recommend to anyone visiting Ireland.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Giant's Causeway day trip was great, our guide Shane was amazing and funny. Our 1st stop was Carrick-a-Rede which is about 1 km walk to reach the rope bridge. The bridge holds up to 8 people at the same time. The path is not easy and you have to be in good shape to do it. There are so many magnificent views and breathtaking landscapes to admire. You stay there for around 1 hour and 1/2.Then after that we were taken to a retaurant called Fullerton Arms - Prices were acceptable, food was ok - service was a bit slow. After lunch which was also about 1 hour or so, we went for the peak of this trip the Giant's causeway.It is unbelievably beautiful. You do not need an audio guide to admire and enjoy this amazing natural site. Once you are at the top you can use a Bus to take you down the cliff or when you want to return for 1 Pound or 1.3 Euro it takes you about 15-20 minutes walk to the stones. Once there enjoy and take your time to explore/walk around the place. Pictures cannot express how gorgeous the place is. You stay for around 1 hour and 1/2 there. Last, heading back to Dublin you stop for 1 hour in Belfast - at this stop you can't see much except the City Hall and maybe have a coffee.

Highly recommended as a tour!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message