Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip to the Giant's Causeway was exceptional! Although a long bus ride from Dublin, it is well worth the trip as the Carrick Bridge and the Causeway are 2 sites in Ireland that should not be missed.
The only suggestion we would make (there were 4 of us on the trip) would be to bypass Belfast, unless there is another reason for stopping there. It was felt there was just not enough time at both of these amazing sites and since the stop in Belfast is just an hour, there is really not enough time to see anything there.
There was also an issue with people being late returning to the bus and although not the driver's or company's fault in any way, there should be some consequence for those who detain the bus. In Belfast we waited 25 minutes for 3 ladies because the "noodle were too hot!" The driver was just as frustrated with the other passengers but when he confronted these ladies they just laughed. I've seen other tours where passengers are required to sign something specific to this and a bus will wait a certain amount of time but they then must find their own way back.
Again, these issues did not take away from the spectacular visits to the Causeway and we hope to return some day.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Despite the somewhat rainy weather we encountered, this tour was fantastic. We enjoyed the 2 1/4 hour train ride from Dublin to Belfast - went very quick in the comfort and roominess of train. An escort was with us the entire time. We were taken immediately upon arrival to tour bus. The scenery was just beautiful. We had to trudge through the rain to walk the Carrick Rede Rope Bridge. A little windy and hairy but despite the weather not too bad walking across it. The rain stopped by the time we reach Giant's Causeway. It was very windy, but my boys enjoyed walking along the slippery rocks (due to earlier rain). We climbed a path to the top to overlook to get different perspective. Stopped at Bushmill's Distillery for lunch; great place to warm up! Would totally recommend this trip rain or shine!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I really liked this trip - all of it. I had especially wanted to see the Giant's Causeway and it was just as beautiful as I thought it would be; but the rest of the trip on the train, the bus along the coast, the tour guide, all made for a very enjoyable day. To top it off, we had beautiful weather! Fran C. Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to get a glimpse of Northern Ireland! Train was the way to go from Dublin to Belfast - quick, convinient, and relaxing. Unfortunately, it made us last to get on the tour bus in Belfast so we didn't have very good options for seats. Even so, Giant's Causeway should not be missed!!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both the Titanic experience and the Giant's Causeway were phenomenal. The bus trip from Dublin to Belfast allowed for the exquisite views of the countryside and the small towns through which we passed. Additionally, I marveled at the expertise with which the bus driver maneuvered his vehicle through the narrow roads and the on-coming traffic. The good graces of the Irish were with us regarding the perfect weather.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Belfast Black Taxi Tour was an enlightening experience. If you want to know the rest of the story when unrest in Northern Ireland was ongoing, then take this tour. If you just want to see the sights, then take the tour, too, knowing that you'll be getting a history lesson at the same time. Highly interesting and emotionally packed, you see what both sides were living, but the traditional Irish side comes through a little stronger. I'm not a history buff, but really appreciated this experience and the education it afforded. On the lighter side, the Giant's Causeway was a lovely look at prehistory, which likely had our ancestors scratching their heads for millennia. No wonder it's such an attraction! Very photogenic. Fun to crawl around on. It is definitely something to see on your trip to Ireland. Be careful, though. They're unforgiving if you slip and fall. But you won't be disappointed at going to see them. Ride the bus down and back, too, for a few Euros - us oldsters had a tough enough time just climbing the rocks. Definitely a five star experience.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing, it was the highlight of my trip to Ireland! The scenic route taken was absolutely stunning I enjoyed every minute of it. Giant's Causeway was beautiful and well worth the drive. Our tour guide was great and made the ride more entertaining and enjoyable (I believe his name was Phil). I really enjoyed our time in Belfast and Larne as well. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone planning a trip to Ireland!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing tour! Ireland is beautiful so the scenery will always be amazing so what really makes the difference are the guides. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, interesting and funny! Giant's Causeway is a breathtaking place and hearing the amusing stories behind it was the cherry on top. You also have the option of going on a tour of Belfast or the Titanic museum. We chose the Titanic and learned a ton of rich history from another tour guide who was a local and just as interesting and funny (which is not easy to do considering the history itself).

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Giant's Causeway was a highlight of my Irish trip. My 3 friends also agree that it was a well worthwhile addition to our travel plans. The view was fabulous!

D.Quan - Markham, ON Canada

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even in the cold rain this was a great tour. The tour guide, Kevin, was low key yet very informative and attentive to the needs of the travelers. The coastal drive and Giant's Causeway were beautiful--I'd love to go again on a sunny day!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Had a great day. Our guide, Mitch and driver Steven did a great job. Good humour and kept the day flowing. Black taxi was a stand out and the Giant's Causeway was worth the trip. Unfortunately Carrick-a-rede was packed with tourists, so couldn't see all of it in time. Would recommend this as a trip with interest and variety.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The rope bridge was awesome as was the Giant's Causeway. People considering this tour need to know that there's a LOT of walking including a very steep incline at the rope bridge and down 162 steps plus a long downhill trek at the Causeway.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour and our guide Richie was very knowledgable and funny. The Titanic Experience was great, we had 2 hours there and could have spent another 2 hours if we had the time. The Giant's Causeway trip was very scenic. We had a great time and would recommend this as a "must do" trip. It is a long day, our day was 13 hours but we'll worth it!
Thanks You Richie and our driver Bill!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very pictures trip, helpful and professional guide Sara. Unfortunately time to see Belfast was too short but on other side I would give a little bit more time to see top places Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge because to go to these places from bus by foot takes time and for some tourists it is difficult to run.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

OUTSTANDING! Host on the bus trip was very knowledgeable and even enthused about the aspects he pointed out; also appreciated the skills of the experienced bus driver dealing with traffic . The Black Taxi Tour was very evenly handed in explanation. The personal retelling brought to life how the historic as well as current political/cultural situation has evolved. I highly recommend it. Giant's Causeway was absolutely mindboggling! It is a must. This tour was a highlight of being able to see the most of the Belfast and the natural beauty of the country side! Great value in every way.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message