• USD ($)
  • English

Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour and our guide Richie was very knowledgable and funny. The Titanic Experience was great, we had 2 hours there and could have spent another 2 hours if we had the time. The Giant's Causeway trip was very scenic. We had a great time and would recommend this as a "must do" trip. It is a long day, our day was 13 hours but we'll worth it!
Thanks You Richie and our driver Bill!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very pictures trip, helpful and professional guide Sara. Unfortunately time to see Belfast was too short but on other side I would give a little bit more time to see top places Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge because to go to these places from bus by foot takes time and for some tourists it is difficult to run.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

OUTSTANDING! Host on the bus trip was very knowledgeable and even enthused about the aspects he pointed out; also appreciated the skills of the experienced bus driver dealing with traffic . The Black Taxi Tour was very evenly handed in explanation. The personal retelling brought to life how the historic as well as current political/cultural situation has evolved. I highly recommend it. Giant's Causeway was absolutely mindboggling! It is a must. This tour was a highlight of being able to see the most of the Belfast and the natural beauty of the country side! Great value in every way.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Black Taxi Tour was amazing. Even my 5 and 8 year olds were interested in listening to Tom's telling of the troubles of Belfast. The Giant's Causeway and rope bridge were beautiful!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our favorite tour of the trip. The Giant's Causeway is difficult to describe. We had excellent weather and visibility and the pictures are post card ready. Easy train ride to Belfast and fun, yet scary bus ride through the mountains. Walking across the suspended bridge was fun. This is a must do trip for anyone going to Dublin.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic day! Fun-filled and packed with interesting information, especially a quick history lesson on the rocky relationship between the Republic and Northern Ireland. The three planned activities were phenomenal...the Titanic exhibit was well-worth it...a great tribute to the hard work of the Irish who built the ship as well as the victims of the tragedy. The Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge was stellar as was the Giant's Causeway....the latter being a heritage site. In addition to these planned events, guests could have opted out of the Titanic exhibit and instead, chosen to take a Belfast taxi tour of "The Troubles," with a Belfast native who provided a lengthy explanation of the tensions that swept the area for the last few decades. In addition to all the great sites and commentary I want to also commend our guide Richie and driver, Carl, for making a judgement call in favor of the majority of passengers. Whilst at the Titanic exhibit, Richie was very clear about the pick-up time in order to stay on schedule for the remainder of the day's events. It turned out that two passengers chose to not return on time. We waited 20 minutes and then left them. I was very pleased this happened because we all paid a lot of money for a tour that was time-specific. I give the guys credit for putting us first. Richie told us later the couple complained via a phone call and couldn't understand what the big deal was. I bet they won't be late for a tour again! Excellent value and a super day! My only criticism is that even though the bus picked us up right in front of our hotel, The Gresham on O'Connell Street...it was unable to drop us off there due to afternoon street construction. After a very long day this was a bit annoying to have to walk from the other side of the Liffey back up to the hotel.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Giant's Causeway is now my favorite place in the world! The drivers/guides put on a fantastic ride! The drive up and down is a bit of a doozy, but believe me you will be tired enough to nap. This tour is not for anyone who easily exerts themselves physically. I thought I was in good shape but the hike to and back from Carrick-a-Rede was hard. If you have trouble with heights, I would also highly suggest not going on the rope bridge. I thought it was awesome, but it's not for everyone. Also, you should exercise caution in all the places you visit, but especially the Giant's Causeway. The rocks can be a bit treacherous if you aren't careful and the waves can be very strong. It's not dangerous, you just can't blither about mindlessly. All in all, despite my high level of fatigue, this was my favorite tour I went on while in Ireland. This is where you get to see the true natural beauty of the island.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Belfast Black Taxi tour very interesting but short; giant's causeway breathtaking.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The Titanic Experience was very interesting and well-done, but I'd say it was good - not great. We had hoped for something a bit more interactive, this is basically a museum (not an experience). The Giant's Causeway and Rope Bridge at Carrick-a-Rede were out of this world!!! Absolutely breathtaking and the highlight of our Ireland trip! On a very negative note, however, the day was hot and sunny which meant the bus was sweltering. The tour info said "air-conditioned coaches" but the AC was never turned on - despite many complaints. We all felt motion sick and exhausted by time we got back simply from the horrible bus ride. I would have rated this a 5 based on the Causeway and Carrick, but given the nausea-inducing bus, I'm going down to 3.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

It was not as described on the web. There was no black taxi tour of Belfast, we were told not to visit the interpretation centre at the Giant's Causeway, "it was not worth it". We only had a fleeting look at the castle and as soon as we got to the rope bridge we had to turn back, because of the queue we would not have had the time to cross. The commentary by the bus driver was crass and largely invented: "that Jack Lynch wanted to invade the North" etc. a very disappointing trip, not to be recommended.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I was in Dublin for four days and decided to take the Giant's Causeway day trip. It was a long bus drive, but it was a good decision and I would recommend it. The scenery was gorgeous. Make sure your camera is fully charged as mine died at the end of the day from all the pictures I took! Our bus driver was very informative and helpful if you had questions. It was well worth the money. The only thing I had to note was that I would have rather had more time at Giants Causeway (only had 1.5 hours) instead of trying to squeeze in a stop at Belfast. We only stopped in Belfast for 45 minutes when most things were closed so I feel I would have enjoyed Belfast better with more time and through a separate tour. Overall, I enjoyed this trip and would do it again. I would also be interested in the other tours that the agency offers.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Giant's Causeway. Would have liked more of a tour of Belfast - we had an hour or so there but were basically on our own to explore. A little bit more of a history lesson tour would have been nice.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Giant's Causeway was a last second trip while I was in Ireland, but I was glad I went. Our tour guide was brilliant, funny, and a great guide all around. The weather was great and I thought it was well worth the price. I would do this trip again if I came back with friends or family for sure.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Giant's Causeway was a last second trip while I was in Ireland, but I was glad I went. Our tour guide was brilliant, funny, and a great guide all around. The weather was great and I thought it was well worth the price. I would do this trip again if I came back with friends or family for sure.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

pberan
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely amazing, it was really long day, but Giant's Causeway under the blue sky was fantastic, our driver was really good and knowledgable, big thanks for this trip :).

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message