Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip to the Giant's Causeway was exceptional! Although a long bus ride from Dublin, it is well worth the trip as the Carrick Bridge and the Causeway are 2 sites in Ireland that should not be missed.
The only suggestion we would make (there were 4 of us on the trip) would be to bypass Belfast, unless there is another reason for stopping there. It was felt there was just not enough time at both of these amazing sites and since the stop in Belfast is just an hour, there is really not enough time to see anything there.
There was also an issue with people being late returning to the bus and although not the driver's or company's fault in any way, there should be some consequence for those who detain the bus. In Belfast we waited 25 minutes for 3 ladies because the "noodle were too hot!" The driver was just as frustrated with the other passengers but when he confronted these ladies they just laughed. I've seen other tours where passengers are required to sign something specific to this and a bus will wait a certain amount of time but they then must find their own way back.
Again, these issues did not take away from the spectacular visits to the Causeway and we hope to return some day.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Despite the somewhat rainy weather we encountered, this tour was fantastic. We enjoyed the 2 1/4 hour train ride from Dublin to Belfast - went very quick in the comfort and roominess of train. An escort was with us the entire time. We were taken immediately upon arrival to tour bus. The scenery was just beautiful. We had to trudge through the rain to walk the Carrick Rede Rope Bridge. A little windy and hairy but despite the weather not too bad walking across it. The rain stopped by the time we reach Giant's Causeway. It was very windy, but my boys enjoyed walking along the slippery rocks (due to earlier rain). We climbed a path to the top to overlook to get different perspective. Stopped at Bushmill's Distillery for lunch; great place to warm up! Would totally recommend this trip rain or shine!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I really liked this trip - all of it. I had especially wanted to see the Giant's Causeway and it was just as beautiful as I thought it would be; but the rest of the trip on the train, the bus along the coast, the tour guide, all made for a very enjoyable day. To top it off, we had beautiful weather! Fran C. Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing, it was the highlight of my trip to Ireland! The scenic route taken was absolutely stunning I enjoyed every minute of it. Giant's Causeway was beautiful and well worth the drive. Our tour guide was great and made the ride more entertaining and enjoyable (I believe his name was Phil). I really enjoyed our time in Belfast and Larne as well. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone planning a trip to Ireland!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing tour! Ireland is beautiful so the scenery will always be amazing so what really makes the difference are the guides. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, interesting and funny! Giant's Causeway is a breathtaking place and hearing the amusing stories behind it was the cherry on top. You also have the option of going on a tour of Belfast or the Titanic museum. We chose the Titanic and learned a ton of rich history from another tour guide who was a local and just as interesting and funny (which is not easy to do considering the history itself).

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Giant's Causeway was a highlight of my Irish trip. My 3 friends also agree that it was a well worthwhile addition to our travel plans. The view was fabulous!

D.Quan - Markham, ON Canada

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even in the cold rain this was a great tour. The tour guide, Kevin, was low key yet very informative and attentive to the needs of the travelers. The coastal drive and Giant's Causeway were beautiful--I'd love to go again on a sunny day!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Had a great day. Our guide, Mitch and driver Steven did a great job. Good humour and kept the day flowing. Black taxi was a stand out and the Giant's Causeway was worth the trip. Unfortunately Carrick-a-rede was packed with tourists, so couldn't see all of it in time. Would recommend this as a trip with interest and variety.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The rope bridge was awesome as was the Giant's Causeway. People considering this tour need to know that there's a LOT of walking including a very steep incline at the rope bridge and down 162 steps plus a long downhill trek at the Causeway.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour and our guide Richie was very knowledgable and funny. The Titanic Experience was great, we had 2 hours there and could have spent another 2 hours if we had the time. The Giant's Causeway trip was very scenic. We had a great time and would recommend this as a "must do" trip. It is a long day, our day was 13 hours but we'll worth it!
Thanks You Richie and our driver Bill!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very pictures trip, helpful and professional guide Sara. Unfortunately time to see Belfast was too short but on other side I would give a little bit more time to see top places Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge because to go to these places from bus by foot takes time and for some tourists it is difficult to run.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

OUTSTANDING! Host on the bus trip was very knowledgeable and even enthused about the aspects he pointed out; also appreciated the skills of the experienced bus driver dealing with traffic . The Black Taxi Tour was very evenly handed in explanation. The personal retelling brought to life how the historic as well as current political/cultural situation has evolved. I highly recommend it. Giant's Causeway was absolutely mindboggling! It is a must. This tour was a highlight of being able to see the most of the Belfast and the natural beauty of the country side! Great value in every way.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Black Taxi Tour was amazing. Even my 5 and 8 year olds were interested in listening to Tom's telling of the troubles of Belfast. The Giant's Causeway and rope bridge were beautiful!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our favorite tour of the trip. The Giant's Causeway is difficult to describe. We had excellent weather and visibility and the pictures are post card ready. Easy train ride to Belfast and fun, yet scary bus ride through the mountains. Walking across the suspended bridge was fun. This is a must do trip for anyone going to Dublin.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic day! Fun-filled and packed with interesting information, especially a quick history lesson on the rocky relationship between the Republic and Northern Ireland. The three planned activities were phenomenal...the Titanic exhibit was well-worth it...a great tribute to the hard work of the Irish who built the ship as well as the victims of the tragedy. The Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge was stellar as was the Giant's Causeway....the latter being a heritage site. In addition to these planned events, guests could have opted out of the Titanic exhibit and instead, chosen to take a Belfast taxi tour of "The Troubles," with a Belfast native who provided a lengthy explanation of the tensions that swept the area for the last few decades. In addition to all the great sites and commentary I want to also commend our guide Richie and driver, Carl, for making a judgement call in favor of the majority of passengers. Whilst at the Titanic exhibit, Richie was very clear about the pick-up time in order to stay on schedule for the remainder of the day's events. It turned out that two passengers chose to not return on time. We waited 20 minutes and then left them. I was very pleased this happened because we all paid a lot of money for a tour that was time-specific. I give the guys credit for putting us first. Richie told us later the couple complained via a phone call and couldn't understand what the big deal was. I bet they won't be late for a tour again! Excellent value and a super day! My only criticism is that even though the bus picked us up right in front of our hotel, The Gresham on O'Connell Street...it was unable to drop us off there due to afternoon street construction. After a very long day this was a bit annoying to have to walk from the other side of the Liffey back up to the hotel.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message