Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Glendalough Monastic Settlement

Home to one of the country’s most popular historic sites, a 6th-century monastic complex, Glendalough, or ‘the valley of the lakes’, is set in an idyllic location between two lakes. An hour south of Dublin, Glendalough makes a popular day trip, as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both me and my mum had the most fantastic day on our Wild Wicklow tour. It was more than we could ever have imagined. We didnt expect half of what we got on the trip from our tour guide and driver Niall. He was a superb driver, weaving in and out the narrow streets, and so informative as soon as we stepped on in Dublin city, telling us all the history we could imagine. We hadnt expected that, so it was a very nice surprise. We were very blessed with the weather too, even the locals were surprised, which just added to the day. The only thing i will say, which could have made it better, both me and my mum were taken aback by the breath taking views at the Upper Lake at Glendalough. sadly we were only given 10mins there. This was no where near long enough. I appreciate that there was an itineray to stick to, but from what i could gather from alot of the other visitors on the coach, they too, would have preferred a longer stay there. Preferrable, maybe to a longer stay at the monastic ruins. I appreciate everyones taste is different. But it was still the best day of our holiday, and i would most definately do it again and recommend it to everyone. We have the best photos to last forever. Thankyou.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful day even with the rain. Bus driver was a little disappointing because he assumed we did not want to stop at the Monastic City because of the rain.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Can't say enough great things about this tour. It was BEAUTIFUL! The bus driver was hilarious! Light-hearted! We saw so many georgous sites (Monastic ruins and mountains were highlights!), and heard stories that I'm sure I couldn't forget if I tried! Book this! Your money will not be wasted!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was my favorite tour while in Ireland..The day was beautiful and all of the scenery on this tour was just astounding..There was so much to see and take in from beginning of the tour..and we had just enough time to see everything..the guide even squeezed in any extra stops when he could..The guide on this tour was my favorite..he was funny, kept everyone engaged, full of information about everything..Lots of wonderful stops, Loved the monastic ruins..overall this is a tour that I would highly recommend to everyone..

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A great day out from Dublin, visiting the mountains to the South of Dublin City. The scenery is spectacular, and the various stops along the way offered many photo opportunities. The monastic ruins at Glendalough are worth the trip, as well as the beautiful lake settings in the area. Driver/guide with a great personality.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best tours my wife and I have experienced. The walk to the Upper Lake and the monastic city at Glendalough should be on everyone's list. Kilkenny Castle would have been more interesting if we could have gone to the top of one of the towers for photos. A must-do in Kilkenny is lunch at Kyteler's Inn--great food and interesting history. Spend the 30 minutes on the little sightseeing train when you get off the bus--good overview of Kilkenny that lets you "target" where you want to spend your time.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The tour was great, plenty of time in Killarney(if someone did not visit the caves, I didn't) and plenty of time to Glendalough to walk to the upper lake and also enough time to wander arount the monastic site. Excellent tour guide and driver, i would reccoment this tour, it was great for me

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

One of my favorite tours! Glandalough was beautiful! Plenty of time to take a little hike to the lakes and then tour the monastic city. The stop in Avoca may seem like a touristy gimmick, but it's a great shop with a lot of beautiful Irish-made items.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Wicklow was the most beautiful part of Ireland that I visited. to me it topped the ring of Kerry and the cliffs of Moher. We had the combinaiton of natural beaudty and monastic history. Kevin was entertaining and very professional as our driver. This is not a tirp I would even think about driving on my own -- roads are too narrow and dangerous.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The monastic ruins of St. Kevin's at Glendalough should not be missed! The stories, songs, and jokes shared by Joseph, our guide, entertained us the entire ride!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

my mom and I took this tour together, although the weather didn't really cooperate very well, it was still a great trip! Tea at Avoca was nice, but it's such a tourist trap I wouldn't have minded stopping somewhere less touristy. The walk to the upper Glendalough lake was also definitely more than 20 minutes (the strong hail and headwind probably didn't help). This was disappointing since we didn't have much time at the end to see the monastic ruins (and we only spent about five minutes at upper Glendalough). It was unfortunate that the "highlighted" portion of the tour felt so rushed. In general, we definitely found that the Irish seem to underestimate the amount of time it takes to walk somewhere - and my mom and I are fast walkers! our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable and entertaining, making for a great time!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Glendalough was magnificent. Monastic ruins in beautiful nature. Don't miss walking to the lake. There was also a stop at some dolmen (pre-historic tomb) which was a bonus and then we were off to Kilkenny. We were dropped at Kilkenny castle, which was very nice and definitely worth exploring, but overall not sufficient time was allowed at Kilkenny, as the town has manny attractions. The tour company should plan for an additional hour or two at Kilkenny with a later return to Dublin, as the itinerary the way it is doesn't really allow for much more than a visit to the castle or a quick lunch.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

This tour was nice. It's a short trip and worth the small price to pay. It's a nice excursion for a Sunday, where most attractions in Dublin are closed or close early. The highlight of the tour for us was Glendalough. The monastic ruins are simply amazing. Needed more time at the Avoca Handweavers, but ok.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2011

Beautiful scenery. Probably would have enjoyed Glendalough more if we had seen it earlier in our vacation. By the time we visited Glendalough, we had already seen our share of monastic ruins, high crosses, etc.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message