Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

An easy bus ride to get away from the bustle of Dublin. Malahide Castle's history is interesting yet relatable. We had a wonderful castle guide. Plus, the cafe and shop from Avoca is heaven! The drive along the bay is full of historical landmarks and beauty. Well worth a half-day of a visit to Dublin for all ages.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is an excellent tour to take when you first arrive in Dublin, because it includes a ride on a double deck bus through the city of Dublin to the castle and Dublin Bay. The tour guide provided excellent commentary and told great stories regarding the history of the city, and also provided information that helped to orient us to the city. The Malahide Castle tour was very informative with respect to the history of Ireland, and the castle itself was beautiful. The tour of Dublin Bay included the same type of excellent commentary, and the views were spectacular. The detailed information provided by the tour guide regarding the history of Dublin made this a fascinating and informative tour. I definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Take the train to the harbor and it will be less rushed and you can see more nature...

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A worthwhile trip from Dublin that gives you a sense of the Irish coastline and beach areas, a representative castle, and information about Ireland and the local area both out to the castle and then back to Dublin. Our guide and the bus driver could not have been nicer.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was fine. The bus was the open top double decker but it was so cold and rainy we all had to huddle down below. We only had enough time to see the inside of the castle but not the grounds or even the gift shop. As for lunch in the bay, the food was amazing but barely had enough time to eat.

It was actually finding where to meet the bus that was a real pain. The confirmation and the website said we could get it at 3 locations and no visitor center in Dublin seemed to know where we should go. We spent half a day going from visitor center to visitor center until we finally found the correct location. As it turned out there was only 1 pick up location.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour for my children and I, so many wonderful sights and my children enjoyed the peacocks at the Malahide Castle. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and I loved to here her stories.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

In our opinion this half day tour was really good value for money. Enjoyed the tour of Malahide Castle found it really interesting and the coastal views were great. Our tour guide Trevor was very knowledgeable and his sense of humour kept us entertained throughout the whole trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We all had a fantastic time, and the history and information of the tour was very interesting. We will deal with your company again. Thank you for the memories.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

this tour was really great. our guide and driver were wonderful. the lunch in the city of howth was worth the trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Noel, tour guide extraordinare, regaled us with many Irish tales and pointed out the "not to miss" sights. The drive from Dublin was on a blue skies day and in addition to Noel's wonderful narrative, we enjoyed many important examples of architecture and a variety of neighborhoods. Cadbury chocolate headquarters too. The castle tour was very interesting...don't miss the walled garden.The coastal part of the tour was wonderful. I enjoyed fresh catch fish n chips at the harbor with 6 Starlings helping me with the chips.
Wonderful tour. Highly recommend it and Noel.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

good trip bus driver was very helpful and castle was excellent longest inhabited castle in Ireland also good to see Howth the town and scenic view where excellent

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The castle and the grounds were pretty. Also you could take pictures in the castle without a flash. The bay was nice and we only say one seal, but the view was beautiful.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message