Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Eion was amazing! He added so much to the tour and, if you are looking for a half day tour, this is the ticket.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was Eoin who was fantastic. His knowledge of the area was very broad and deep. The Malahide Castle tour was very interesting and there was plenty of time to visit everything we wanted to visit. The tour of the Bay was just as interesting given Eoin's knowledge of the area. Don't miss out on this tour!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a half day tour, but it was absolutely fantastic, I literally booked this because I wanted to fill the time before going to a concert later in the day, I never expected to enjoy this tour so much , please note that this tour also takes you to the village of Howth , I misunderstood and thought that the tour only visits Howth from a distance and booked a separate tour to Howth but this is not necessary as we spent an housr and a half in Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to fill up time between arriving to Dublin and checking into my hotel. The drive has some great views and the commentary from the guide was interesting and insightful.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful area and we enjoyed our day

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was brilliant.
I thank to our guide, a senior Irish citizen who was knowledgeable and very attentive with all of us.
Malahide castle was a pleasant surprise as I had never heard about it but found was important in history.
Visiting Malahide castle was worth its while but the anecdotes from our guide and his lookout throughout ireland 's political and social changes linked to his personal memories was a plus and a privilege.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely half day tour to Malahide Castle. Definitely worth seeing. Great tour guide and a very enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour and guide was more than we expected. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Would have been better as a day tour allowing more time to explore Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip, friendle informative guide. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Only one attraction I wanted to see honored the Dublin Pass. I will never recommend it. Shame on you!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amazing. The castle was beautiful and the driver very entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a nice trip outside Dublin and a scenic return drive along the water.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did not have a lot of time to get outside of Dublin and this tour fit the bill. Guide was well-informed castle was lovely with another great guide. The drive along the coast was a bonus, as well as the stop in Houth. Beer and oysters anyone?

We need to get back to Ireland to see more!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much especially being in such a small group.The castle was very intersting set in a beautiful scenery. Pity we didn't have more time there... Having fish in Howth afterwards was great as well.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly a great deal

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour and it lasted 6 hours so plenty of time to spend at the castle and up the coast. Our tour guide was talkative and knowledgeable. He clearly likes doing these tours.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If only I had more time to see more things .. Deb

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value for money.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver/guide kept us informed about sights along the way from Dublin to Malahide and Howth and on the return journey. Everything was interesting. The castle was a real treat and Howth on a warm, sunny day was a lovely place to visit and spend a short time strolling around the food stalls. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took this tour with a friend (we're both women in our mid 20s) and we both thoroughly enjoyed it! Our tour guide Jeff was absolutely fantastic, knowledgable and having grown up in the area he had loads of stories and anecdotes to keep us all entertained. A highly recommended morning out and about!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of the castle and shoreline. Our tour guide on June 2, 2015, was the best. We had a short stop for lunch at a fishing port, lunch good, nothing else to do or see.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the money!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my tour to Malahide Castle. There were only a small number of people on it and the tour guide was very good. Upon arrival at the Castle, we were placed in the very capable and knowledgeable hands of Aiden, who showed us all around and gave a very thorough and interesting account about the history of this small piece of Irish History. The Castle itself and the beautiful gardens were kept in excellent condition. The Gift Shop had high quality souvenirs and I purchased quite a few for friends back home. After the tour, we headed to Howth where we were left to our own devices to have lunch, etc. I found a lovely Seafood Tapas Bar which was excellent. Then, on the return journey to Dublin we travelled through some very nice areas with beautiful homes and scenery in which some of the rich and famous live. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone stopping over in Dublin. It is one of the best Viator Tours I have done.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Malahide is beautiful and the trip was just long enough.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great half day tour . We all enjoyed it .. it was great to see Dublin Coastline. Darina , the guide at malahide castle was very knowledgeable and made it fascinating and engaging . Well done .

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message