Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

This was a nice way to spend a half day but we would have preferred a full day so we did not have to rush so much. Malahide Castle was really nice and the gardens were beautiful. The drive along the coast in Hoath was fantastic and we stopped in the picturesque village of Hoath. We were told that we had 20mins for lunch so by the time we picked up lunch we had to go back to the bus and eat it on the return trip to Dublin. We would have gladly paid extra money for a full day trip to enjoy the beautiful village and sit down for a nice lunch. Our tour guide and bus driver Eoin was wonderful. He had such a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. He made all the rushing around seem easier than it was.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guy was great, shared many of his Irish tunes. He was informative and friendly. The castle tour was well paced and lovely to see. Don't miss the gardens.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very enjoyable, the guide is extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything was excellent except one thing - our guide/driver talked all the way. He was enthusiast and tried to inform us about everything and we appreciate it, but sometimes passengers need some silent minutes to observe surroundings. All other was at its best.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Claudia S
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We saw more of Howth than Malahide Castle or Dublin Bay. It was a good trip but tried to cover too much.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice to be able to skip lines and enter right away. Didn't use it as much as I thought, but worth it during high tourist season.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The driver was excellent and the tour was ok. I didn't think the castle was all that interesting but the grounds were great. The rest of it was a drive along the coast which was ok, but where we stopped for food was horrible. I had fish and chips and the fish was cooked properly but it was over battered and the batter didn't stick well. The fries were just fries and I expected a little better than just fries. None of this was the fault of the driver or the company both of which were excellent.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The guide and the lady driver were very nice. The guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour itself is only if you have nothing better to do.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Eion was amazing! He added so much to the tour and, if you are looking for a half day tour, this is the ticket.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was Eoin who was fantastic. His knowledge of the area was very broad and deep. The Malahide Castle tour was very interesting and there was plenty of time to visit everything we wanted to visit. The tour of the Bay was just as interesting given Eoin's knowledge of the area. Don't miss out on this tour!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a half day tour, but it was absolutely fantastic, I literally booked this because I wanted to fill the time before going to a concert later in the day, I never expected to enjoy this tour so much , please note that this tour also takes you to the village of Howth , I misunderstood and thought that the tour only visits Howth from a distance and booked a separate tour to Howth but this is not necessary as we spent an housr and a half in Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to fill up time between arriving to Dublin and checking into my hotel. The drive has some great views and the commentary from the guide was interesting and insightful.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful area and we enjoyed our day

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was brilliant.
I thank to our guide, a senior Irish citizen who was knowledgeable and very attentive with all of us.
Malahide castle was a pleasant surprise as I had never heard about it but found was important in history.
Visiting Malahide castle was worth its while but the anecdotes from our guide and his lookout throughout ireland 's political and social changes linked to his personal memories was a plus and a privilege.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lovely half day tour to Malahide Castle. Definitely worth seeing. Great tour guide and a very enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour and guide was more than we expected. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Would have been better as a day tour allowing more time to explore Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Lovely trip, friendle informative guide. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Only one attraction I wanted to see honored the Dublin Pass. I will never recommend it. Shame on you!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amazing. The castle was beautiful and the driver very entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a nice trip outside Dublin and a scenic return drive along the water.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did not have a lot of time to get outside of Dublin and this tour fit the bill. Guide was well-informed castle was lovely with another great guide. The drive along the coast was a bonus, as well as the stop in Houth. Beer and oysters anyone?

We need to get back to Ireland to see more!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much especially being in such a small group.The castle was very intersting set in a beautiful scenery. Pity we didn't have more time there... Having fish in Howth afterwards was great as well.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly a great deal

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour and it lasted 6 hours so plenty of time to spend at the castle and up the coast. Our tour guide was talkative and knowledgeable. He clearly likes doing these tours.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If only I had more time to see more things .. Deb

Doing what: The Dublin Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message