Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a half day tour, but it was absolutely fantastic, I literally booked this because I wanted to fill the time before going to a concert later in the day, I never expected to enjoy this tour so much , please note that this tour also takes you to the village of Howth , I misunderstood and thought that the tour only visits Howth from a distance and booked a separate tour to Howth but this is not necessary as we spent an housr and a half in Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful area and we enjoyed our day

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour and guide was more than we expected. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Would have been better as a day tour allowing more time to explore Howth.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was amazing. The castle was beautiful and the driver very entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a nice trip outside Dublin and a scenic return drive along the water.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did not have a lot of time to get outside of Dublin and this tour fit the bill. Guide was well-informed castle was lovely with another great guide. The drive along the coast was a bonus, as well as the stop in Houth. Beer and oysters anyone?

We need to get back to Ireland to see more!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much especially being in such a small group.The castle was very intersting set in a beautiful scenery. Pity we didn't have more time there... Having fish in Howth afterwards was great as well.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour and it lasted 6 hours so plenty of time to spend at the castle and up the coast. Our tour guide was talkative and knowledgeable. He clearly likes doing these tours.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver/guide kept us informed about sights along the way from Dublin to Malahide and Howth and on the return journey. Everything was interesting. The castle was a real treat and Howth on a warm, sunny day was a lovely place to visit and spend a short time strolling around the food stalls. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took this tour with a friend (we're both women in our mid 20s) and we both thoroughly enjoyed it! Our tour guide Jeff was absolutely fantastic, knowledgable and having grown up in the area he had loads of stories and anecdotes to keep us all entertained. A highly recommended morning out and about!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of the castle and shoreline. Our tour guide on June 2, 2015, was the best. We had a short stop for lunch at a fishing port, lunch good, nothing else to do or see.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my tour to Malahide Castle. There were only a small number of people on it and the tour guide was very good. Upon arrival at the Castle, we were placed in the very capable and knowledgeable hands of Aiden, who showed us all around and gave a very thorough and interesting account about the history of this small piece of Irish History. The Castle itself and the beautiful gardens were kept in excellent condition. The Gift Shop had high quality souvenirs and I purchased quite a few for friends back home. After the tour, we headed to Howth where we were left to our own devices to have lunch, etc. I found a lovely Seafood Tapas Bar which was excellent. Then, on the return journey to Dublin we travelled through some very nice areas with beautiful homes and scenery in which some of the rich and famous live. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone stopping over in Dublin. It is one of the best Viator Tours I have done.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Malahide is beautiful and the trip was just long enough.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great half day tour . We all enjoyed it .. it was great to see Dublin Coastline. Darina , the guide at malahide castle was very knowledgeable and made it fascinating and engaging . Well done .

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Look for another tour. My husband and I do not recommend this one. First, because its services is awful and beyond. Second, because we considere that the Dublin Bay part of the tour was a waste of money and time.

We received two different meeting points information very far one of each other. Therefore, I decided to confirm the location by phone provided for the tour operator. Unfortunately, nobody answered the call, and a voice recorded message said It was closed and we need to call the next day. Here, I want to highlight it was Saturday at 11 am. We decided to go to the last meeting point, the tour operator offices, and the lady in the reception was extreamly rude with us. She barely spoke, she did not greeting us, she only commanded us: wait outside it was a raining day with 12 degrees Celsius. She did not mentioned what or who we need to ask or wait for. Before, we went outside, I tryed to explain her the phone call problem. She did not do anything, she only looked straight at us with a sarcastic smile. It was a extreamly discusting moment.

The Dublin Bay tour was a waste of money and time. Only 30 minutes to take a lunch, NO BAY near. You can do this by your own with a train ticket, no more than 6 euros.

The rescuable things, the Malahide Castle and the guide tour. The Malahide Castle was good. However, I need to add that the guide tour was supplied for the Malahide Castle tour as It is include with your purchased ticket.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great driver!! Weather was beautiful and the Castle very interesting. Never enough time to see all that we want.Very happy with using Viator makes picking out and pre-paying tours so easy.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was excellent and the guide was a delight!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

it was great, really enjoyed it. the guide was full of information, kept us entertained all the way through, well worth it.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

very interesting trip out to Malahide Castle and beautiful Dublin bay. Great way to spend a free afternoon .

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Eion the tour guide really went out of his way to make sure we had a good time on a dreary day.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good tour, guide/driver Harry was very entertaining.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly and knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour and Eion our driver guide was FANTASTIC! He was funny, informative and personable. I would recommend this day trip out of Dublin to anyone visiting. Because it had been pouring most of the early part of the day, we only had 5 people with a bus and guide to ourselves, it made for a great tour. And, the afternoon weather cleared making for the most awe-inspiring coastal views.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour castle very impressive with informative guide! Tour guide on bus also excellent

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a nice way to see a castle and some beautiful countryside outside the city if you do not have a rental car. Interesting commentary along the way. Malahide Castle was very interesting. We also had a stop long enough to get lunch in the bay area.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message