Temple Bar is known as the cultural quarter of Dublin. Originally a slum that was to be developed into a bus terminus, the neighborhood instead grew to become home to a number of artists' galleries and small businesses that took advantage of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Musicians took us to two different pubs where we sat in private rooms with full bar available. They played a variety of music and described the type of music, instruments used, and some history behind the songs. Comparison to the packed pubs where music was being played made this tour even better. The musicians were excellent, both musically and with their story telling. A full two hours of excellent entertainment. I would definitely book again.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Roland T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The musician guides were entertaining. We started at one bar but was only there for about 15 minutes and then on to two other bars for about 50 minutes each. Private rooms were reserved for each the of last two bars and drinks were available to purchase. The music and banter made the experience fun.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Kim L Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I don't know what I was expecting, but the tour wasn't what I thought it was going to be. We all met at Temple Bar to be moved straight away to another bar, where we had a private room and two Irish musicians played to us and explained the history and love of music and the instrument in Ireland. We only had time for one pint before being moved to another establishment, which was great, but I paid money to hear them play, rather than them talk so much. Also, they focused a lot on the audience to participate with a song or Irish jig, which actually was not what I paid money to see.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Tighthead Prop Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great night out. The 2 musicians that lead the tour were a lot of fun, and quite informative about Irish music I now know the difference between a jig and a reel. The 3 pubs we visited were great, but be warned, if you buy a pint at the meeting point at Oliver St. John Gogarty's pub, you will pay Temple Bar prices ouch. A bit of a shock after travelling around the rest of Ireland the other 2 pubs we visited weren't as pricey, as they were out of the centre of Temple Bar. The musicians / guides also gave us a few pointers about other pubs to visit if you wanted to see more traditional Irish music after the tour.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

steve s

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The Pub Crawl was good but could have been better. Why meet at the first bar? Nothing happens there, you just wait and wait. Disorganized on who was checking and selling tickets and started late. At 8:15 you walk to first pub for a great music session but what is the purpose of the 2nd pub? Same musicains we just walked 10 minutes. Musicians were great, process could use lots of imporvement!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Arpar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed live Irish Music with two private musician and private bar.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Booked this for the second night in Dublin and it was wonderful! Two very talented and entertaining musicians, three different pubs. Was a bit crowded the night we went - about 50 people in the group - so getting a drink was difficult -- we didn't bother trying to get to the bar, and still enjoyed the night very much!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Nidale T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We took the Highlights and Hidden Corners walking tour with Gerry. It is about 2 hours and very affordable. Gerry was very informative and helpful. We went through many places like the city hall, Dublin Castle, Temple Bar, etc... This tour is highly recommended and you will learn a lot.

Doing what: The Dublin City Walking Tour

skclaudi

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The music was fantastic. We enjoyed our tour of Temple Bar and the pubs. Great adventure. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Lori H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We and B liked the two musicians a lot and they made the evening fun, but we thought a pub crawl would go to multiple pubs, so you can listen to different musicians at each. Following the same two musicians around was committing an entire evening to them, when maybe we want to hear a variety of performers. Even though we ended up very near our B and B, which was handy for us, we all had to walk quite far from Temple Bar across the river and up the hill several blocks to get to the last pub.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Claudia R E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is an excellent bargain! It made life so much easier. We could take the bus anywhere, go to the airport at no charge and go sight-seeing as well. I would definitely recommend this to tourists.

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

Sherae D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We only went to two pubs besides the one we started in, so it's not much of a crawl. I understand this is because they need dedicated space. The musicians were GREAT! I really enjoyed the music, the sing a long and the history. It was totally worth it. The last pub we went to had a cash only bar and only one bartender. That really slowed things down and it forced a few people to sit out a round as they only had cards. Beware of that.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Glenn M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Good tour but needed more bar staff at meeting pub hard to get service

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Howard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Ronan was wonderful. A great combination of real information, fun trivia and jokes. The best bargain in Dublin!

Doing what: The Dublin City Walking Tour

Morag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are going to Dublin - go on this tour! The musicians were amazing so talented and so informative. The music, songs and folklore were incredible. There is also a chance to get up and sing/play if you are musically inclined. As well, the musicians were very helpful in explaining which bars to experience authentic Irish music and the protocol of sessions, that is, the jams that go on in pubs and how to participate.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Deborah S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great night with the two muscians. Very informative talk and the music was great, they are very talented. However, we thought that your description misled us a little. We took it that they were leading us round to watch and listen to different musicians in each bar, but it was they would played in each bar we went to. Nevetheless we enjoyed it. Also one of the bars was quite a way out of Temple Bar

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Catalin P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It was nice to see the pubs, from the inside. Music was quite OK, but too much talk. In the second bar we stayed for an hour and there were only four songs in this time, the rest was stories. Music is more important and more fun than stories.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

bentn1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

It was simply awful. It all started half an hour late. We went to 3 different places with the same 2 musicians, and it was not to different pubs with their musicians, but to some other rooms with a bar. We were more than 100 people. It was the worst experiance during our stay in Dublin. It all seemed to be about money. Shame on you!!!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

carole.anne.honeyman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Dublin! Anthony and Larry were absolutely wonderful hosts and fantastic muscians. The tour was thoroughly entertaining, funny and fantastic value for money. Having watched other muscians in Temple Bar area we expected similiar but were very wrong this showed us the real Irish talent in terms of traditional folk music. Outstanding! A visit to Dublin would be wasted without going on this Tour! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A little overpriced, but keeps you out of the touristy pubs of Dublin. The lads were talented, took us to one Temple Bar and two off-the-beaten-path pubs, and kept us well entertained.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Barbara F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good music, good pubs, and good stories too. Anthony and ?? I forgot the girl singers name - sorry about that were very good! I actually learned the difference between a reel and a jig. Barbara F

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Susan D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Lots of walking. You would think that the bars would be very close together but not so much. Very fun though.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Marios P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I chose this pass instead of the much pricier Dublin Pass as most of the attractions I wanted to visit offered free entrance. I paid 30 Euros and that included my return airport transfers, the hop on hop off tour, free travel on all buses, free visit to the little museum of Dublin and even a euro off the pricey entrance ticket at the Guinness Storehouse. All these for 72 hours. Sadly I had no time for the free walking tour. The airport transfers are excellent, even in the rush hour traffic on the way back it took about 40 minutes to get to the airport. The hop on hop off goes to all the main tourist attractions of Dublin and it's especially useful for the attractions furthest away from the centre such as the Museum of Modern Art and Phoenix Park. The commentary is prerecorded with live additions by the drivers and I must admit those are very entertaining, I was laughing my head off at some point. I do have some negative points however. Considering that at the airport I had to queue up to collect the ticket behind people buying on the spot, buying online gives little benefit. The free bus travel is great, but as no detailed map is provided, I found myself walking great distances as not sure which bus to take. The drivers are friendly and that helped a lot on certain occasions, however. The ticket comes with advertised attraction discounts, however once again no details are provided so you have to keep asking everywhere you go if there is a discount which can be a little embarrassing. If these little details are sorted out, then the ticket will give excellent value.

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

Nigel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Better than expected! Very informative, good hosts. Plus they played stuff other than the standard Temple Bar stuff.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Sndy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Having this to get to and from the airport was worth the cost alone, besides everything else that is included. We were able to enjoy touring the city in the open-topped bus seeing all of the major attractions first so we could decide which ones we wanted to spend more time at. This was a very convenient way to see the city and get back to the Temple Bar area each night for great food and wonder street music. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message