Temple Bar is known as the cultural quarter of Dublin. Originally a slum that was to be developed into a bus terminus, it became home to a number of artists' galleries and small businessmen's shops who took advantage of the cheap rent in the 1980s. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is an excellent bargain! It made life so much easier. We could take the bus anywhere, go to the airport at no charge and go sight-seeing as well. I would definitely recommend this to tourists.

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We only went to two pubs besides the one we started in, so it's not much of a crawl. I understand this is because they need dedicated space. The musicians were GREAT! I really enjoyed the music, the sing a long and the history. It was totally worth it. The last pub we went to had a cash only bar and only one bartender. That really slowed things down and it forced a few people to sit out a round as they only had cards. Beware of that.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Good tour but needed more bar staff at meeting pub hard to get service

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Ronan was wonderful. A great combination of real information, fun trivia and jokes. The best bargain in Dublin!

Doing what: The Dublin City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are going to Dublin - go on this tour! The musicians were amazing so talented and so informative. The music, songs and folklore were incredible. There is also a chance to get up and sing/play if you are musically inclined. As well, the musicians were very helpful in explaining which bars to experience authentic Irish music and the protocol of sessions, that is, the jams that go on in pubs and how to participate.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great night with the two muscians. Very informative talk and the music was great, they are very talented. However, we thought that your description misled us a little. We took it that they were leading us round to watch and listen to different musicians in each bar, but it was they would played in each bar we went to. Nevetheless we enjoyed it. Also one of the bars was quite a way out of Temple Bar

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It was nice to see the pubs, from the inside. Music was quite OK, but too much talk. In the second bar we stayed for an hour and there were only four songs in this time, the rest was stories. Music is more important and more fun than stories.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

It was simply awful. It all started half an hour late. We went to 3 different places with the same 2 musicians, and it was not to different pubs with their musicians, but to some other rooms with a bar. We were more than 100 people. It was the worst experiance during our stay in Dublin. It all seemed to be about money. Shame on you!!!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Dublin! Anthony and Larry were absolutely wonderful hosts and fantastic muscians. The tour was thoroughly entertaining, funny and fantastic value for money. Having watched other muscians in Temple Bar area we expected similiar but were very wrong this showed us the real Irish talent in terms of traditional folk music. Outstanding! A visit to Dublin would be wasted without going on this Tour! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A little overpriced, but keeps you out of the touristy pubs of Dublin. The lads were talented, took us to one Temple Bar and two off-the-beaten-path pubs, and kept us well entertained.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good music, good pubs, and good stories too. Anthony and ?? I forgot the girl singers name - sorry about that were very good! I actually learned the difference between a reel and a jig. Barbara F

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Lots of walking. You would think that the bars would be very close together but not so much. Very fun though.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I chose this pass instead of the much pricier Dublin Pass as most of the attractions I wanted to visit offered free entrance. I paid 30 Euros and that included my return airport transfers, the hop on hop off tour, free travel on all buses, free visit to the little museum of Dublin and even a euro off the pricey entrance ticket at the Guinness Storehouse. All these for 72 hours. Sadly I had no time for the free walking tour. The airport transfers are excellent, even in the rush hour traffic on the way back it took about 40 minutes to get to the airport. The hop on hop off goes to all the main tourist attractions of Dublin and it's especially useful for the attractions furthest away from the centre such as the Museum of Modern Art and Phoenix Park. The commentary is prerecorded with live additions by the drivers and I must admit those are very entertaining, I was laughing my head off at some point. I do have some negative points however. Considering that at the airport I had to queue up to collect the ticket behind people buying on the spot, buying online gives little benefit. The free bus travel is great, but as no detailed map is provided, I found myself walking great distances as not sure which bus to take. The drivers are friendly and that helped a lot on certain occasions, however. The ticket comes with advertised attraction discounts, however once again no details are provided so you have to keep asking everywhere you go if there is a discount which can be a little embarrassing. If these little details are sorted out, then the ticket will give excellent value.

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Better than expected! Very informative, good hosts. Plus they played stuff other than the standard Temple Bar stuff.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Having this to get to and from the airport was worth the cost alone, besides everything else that is included. We were able to enjoy touring the city in the open-topped bus seeing all of the major attractions first so we could decide which ones we wanted to spend more time at. This was a very convenient way to see the city and get back to the Temple Bar area each night for great food and wonder street music. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this! Great to hear the musicians talk and hear some traditional music....getting out of Temple Bar area and mixing with the locals. Highly recommend this.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The entertainment was great..two talented Irish musicians. However, the first pub was strictly a gathering of the tour.. You were instructed to check-in and wait for everyone else to gather. All we did was buy a drink and wait. Then we only did two other pubs with about 70 people in tow. They each had a private room and bar for the group tour.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Didn't care for it. It was an hour late starting. I thought it would be a smaller number of people and in amongst other patrons, not in a separate group in a separate room. I also thought we would hear different musicians, not the same two people at each bar. However, the musicians were nice fellows and quite entertaining.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The bar was so busy we could not ever find our guide

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were afraid this would be just going to different pubs in the Temple Bar area and mingling with the masses which is something we could do on our own once we got to know the area. However, it turned out to be so much more fun than we expected. There were separate areas in the different pubs just for our group and the sing a longs were great! We learned so much about Irish music, the different instruments used and the stories behind so many of the tunes. Great Fun!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

So the Meeting spot was easy enough to find though there was no real direction once you arrived( we bought another round then had to go search for the next bar). It was a little bit interactive and the bars were just okay. I wouldn't recommend or do it again

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Very knowledgeable guide, however most places we visited were secondary in importance to places most tourists would rather have seen. It was as if he were skirting the more desired places so that we would also sign up for the hop on, hop off bus tour. We were one block from The Temple Bar (could see it) but the guide took another route and never even mentioned it. He also did not allow time enough for photo ops.

Doing what: The Dublin City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What fun! This is a must to experience the real music of Ireland. The tour leaders/musicians were very informative regarding what is authentic Irish music and how it is played and enjoyed. We visited different pubs and enjoyed wonderful music. This really sets the tone for your future visits to the Temple Bar area and pubs throughout Ireland.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not quite sure what we were expecting but it wasn't quite this... But a good and interesting night.

Despite meeting for 7:15 we didn't start until 7:45 when we moved to pub 1 and this hour was very good. But then we moved on and for some reason spent 20 minutes walking away from Temple Bar across the city to the 2nd and final pub. This session wasn't as strong. Wasn't there somewhere more local?

Worth doing for the interesting stories and roots of trad music but if you just want to hear trad music then do your own thing and just seek out your own venues

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

10 out of 10. Fantastic musicians, wealth of knowledge about Irish culture and musical heritage.
Two really down to earth guys, great music, lovely to go to three different venues, had our own little snug bar in each, small group of us only 14, great evening.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Will certainly do it again when next back in Dublin.
Alistair and Lesley.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message