Temple Bar is known as the cultural quarter of Dublin. Originally a slum that was to be developed into a bus terminus, it became home to a number of artists' galleries and small businessmen's shops who took advantage of the cheap rent in the 1980s. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this! Great to hear the musicians talk and hear some traditional music....getting out of Temple Bar area and mixing with the locals. Highly recommend this.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were afraid this would be just going to different pubs in the Temple Bar area and mingling with the masses which is something we could do on our own once we got to know the area. However, it turned out to be so much more fun than we expected. There were separate areas in the different pubs just for our group and the sing a longs were great! We learned so much about Irish music, the different instruments used and the stories behind so many of the tunes. Great Fun!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

So the Meeting spot was easy enough to find though there was no real direction once you arrived( we bought another round then had to go search for the next bar). It was a little bit interactive and the bars were just okay. I wouldn't recommend or do it again

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Very knowledgeable guide, however most places we visited were secondary in importance to places most tourists would rather have seen. It was as if he were skirting the more desired places so that we would also sign up for the hop on, hop off bus tour. We were one block from The Temple Bar (could see it) but the guide took another route and never even mentioned it. He also did not allow time enough for photo ops.

Doing what: The Dublin City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What fun! This is a must to experience the real music of Ireland. The tour leaders/musicians were very informative regarding what is authentic Irish music and how it is played and enjoyed. We visited different pubs and enjoyed wonderful music. This really sets the tone for your future visits to the Temple Bar area and pubs throughout Ireland.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not quite sure what we were expecting but it wasn't quite this... But a good and interesting night.

Despite meeting for 7:15 we didn't start until 7:45 when we moved to pub 1 and this hour was very good. But then we moved on and for some reason spent 20 minutes walking away from Temple Bar across the city to the 2nd and final pub. This session wasn't as strong. Wasn't there somewhere more local?

Worth doing for the interesting stories and roots of trad music but if you just want to hear trad music then do your own thing and just seek out your own venues

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

10 out of 10. Fantastic musicians, wealth of knowledge about Irish culture and musical heritage.
Two really down to earth guys, great music, lovely to go to three different venues, had our own little snug bar in each, small group of us only 14, great evening.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Will certainly do it again when next back in Dublin.
Alistair and Lesley.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very interesting . I do recommend this tour and guide . Barbara from Poland

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent night, the musicians were comedians as well and we followed them after to the palace pub near temple bar for a free night of Irish music, would recommend this tour to everyone and we would do this again if we went back.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

My expectation was that we would meet up with some walking guide and he'd tell us a funny story and then would dump us off in a loud bar that advertises 'live music tonight'.The realization was a quiet upper floor of a noisy bar with 2 musicians who were very passionate about their life's work, telling stories about the folk songs and the rhythm of the tunes. They played and played and then walked us to the next 2 bars, also to a quiet upper floor, to tell stories and sing and play various instruments. It wasn't exactly a party atmosphere but it was enchanting Irish music. I really liked it, especially when the guy sharing a table with us, got up and sang at the end of the evening (well, they asked if anyone was so inclined).

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent. Was easy to meet at the main gate of Trinity. The tour guide was experienced, informative and low key. We had a relatively easy stroll across some main areas adjacent to Temple Bar, and saw some "secret" locations. It was a great way to become familiar with the core area of Dublin. I could have done the tour again, later, as I was a bit jet lagged and didn't retain all of the information. Our guide was very informative!! It was an excellent overview, though, of Irish history near and distant and the complex way it has woven together. I recommend taking this tour before going to see Kilmainham Gaol as it will contextualize the story of the Gaol's history. I would also recommend going to see the Post Office afterward. I really appreciate the careful, even handed way Ireland has chosen to represent its struggle for independence. Very eye opening. Our guide had many small personal details that made the stories come alive.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Talented musicians, great bar locations, and an enjoyable overview of the history of Ireland's music. A perfect way to start off your visit to Dublin!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I would not go on this. 2 bars! It only went to two bars and at those two bars you were yelled at by other "pub crawlers" for talking. Oh and that second bar? After 15 minutes the bartender left never to be seen again. Over crowded and over rated.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Det er bare en tur man skal på. Rigtig god fortællinger om de musikalske traditioner og gode råd om hvor man skal tage hen og opleve god musik.
Herlig Stemning

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The two musicians in our group were very good. What wasn't good? They don't appear to have a limit to the number of tickets they sell for these things, so it was extremely crowded. We met in the upstairs of one bar/restaurant where it was packed with customers, and we had to find a spot to stand around the perimeter to wait for the pub crawl to begin. They say 7:15; we actually got started closer to 8:00. We then walked to two pubs, and if you didn't hurry to be in the front of the line, it was difficult to get a seat once you got inside. The second pub was quite a distance from where we started, so it was a pretty good hike back to our hotel. All in all it was okay, but it would have been much more enjoyable had they limited the number of people so you weren't sitting on top of someone. I will probably check out something different next time we go.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message