• USD ($)
  • English
Temple Bar is known as the cultural quarter of Dublin. Originally a slum that was to be developed into a bus terminus, it became home to a number of artists' galleries and small businessmen's shops who took advantage of the cheap rent in the 1980s. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not quite sure what we were expecting but it wasn't quite this... But a good and interesting night.

Despite meeting for 7:15 we didn't start until 7:45 when we moved to pub 1 and this hour was very good. But then we moved on and for some reason spent 20 minutes walking away from Temple Bar across the city to the 2nd and final pub. This session wasn't as strong. Wasn't there somewhere more local?

Worth doing for the interesting stories and roots of trad music but if you just want to hear trad music then do your own thing and just seek out your own venues

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

10 out of 10. Fantastic musicians, wealth of knowledge about Irish culture and musical heritage.
Two really down to earth guys, great music, lovely to go to three different venues, had our own little snug bar in each, small group of us only 14, great evening.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Will certainly do it again when next back in Dublin.
Alistair and Lesley.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very interesting . I do recommend this tour and guide . Barbara from Poland

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent night, the musicians were comedians as well and we followed them after to the palace pub near temple bar for a free night of Irish music, would recommend this tour to everyone and we would do this again if we went back.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

My expectation was that we would meet up with some walking guide and he'd tell us a funny story and then would dump us off in a loud bar that advertises 'live music tonight'.The realization was a quiet upper floor of a noisy bar with 2 musicians who were very passionate about their life's work, telling stories about the folk songs and the rhythm of the tunes. They played and played and then walked us to the next 2 bars, also to a quiet upper floor, to tell stories and sing and play various instruments. It wasn't exactly a party atmosphere but it was enchanting Irish music. I really liked it, especially when the guy sharing a table with us, got up and sang at the end of the evening (well, they asked if anyone was so inclined).

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent. Was easy to meet at the main gate of Trinity. The tour guide was experienced, informative and low key. We had a relatively easy stroll across some main areas adjacent to Temple Bar, and saw some "secret" locations. It was a great way to become familiar with the core area of Dublin. I could have done the tour again, later, as I was a bit jet lagged and didn't retain all of the information. Our guide was very informative!! It was an excellent overview, though, of Irish history near and distant and the complex way it has woven together. I recommend taking this tour before going to see Kilmainham Gaol as it will contextualize the story of the Gaol's history. I would also recommend going to see the Post Office afterward. I really appreciate the careful, even handed way Ireland has chosen to represent its struggle for independence. Very eye opening. Our guide had many small personal details that made the stories come alive.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Talented musicians, great bar locations, and an enjoyable overview of the history of Ireland's music. A perfect way to start off your visit to Dublin!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I would not go on this. 2 bars! It only went to two bars and at those two bars you were yelled at by other "pub crawlers" for talking. Oh and that second bar? After 15 minutes the bartender left never to be seen again. Over crowded and over rated.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Det er bare en tur man skal på. Rigtig god fortællinger om de musikalske traditioner og gode råd om hvor man skal tage hen og opleve god musik.
Herlig Stemning

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The two musicians in our group were very good. What wasn't good? They don't appear to have a limit to the number of tickets they sell for these things, so it was extremely crowded. We met in the upstairs of one bar/restaurant where it was packed with customers, and we had to find a spot to stand around the perimeter to wait for the pub crawl to begin. They say 7:15; we actually got started closer to 8:00. We then walked to two pubs, and if you didn't hurry to be in the front of the line, it was difficult to get a seat once you got inside. The second pub was quite a distance from where we started, so it was a pretty good hike back to our hotel. All in all it was okay, but it would have been much more enjoyable had they limited the number of people so you weren't sitting on top of someone. I will probably check out something different next time we go.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was a very interesting tour that explained a lot about background of Irish music. Although we enjoyed the stories by the two musicians that traveled to the 3 pubs with us, it was not what we had expected. We thought it would be listening to Irish music by different groups at different pubs. Spent a lot of time trying to get someone from our audience to play/sing. One man did and almost upstaged the Irish musicians as he was a professional himself. The long walk in rain to third pub away from Temple Bar area was a little disappointing. Irish musicians were very good however so it was an entertaining evening.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

If I could rate this less than '1' I would. This was the worst guided tour I've ever taken!! I'm sure with a good guide it would have been wonderful but our guide, John, was a total idiot!! We met outside the entrance to Trinity College - probably the most well known site in Dublin. Would you believe that we didn't even walk around/through the campus?? We literally just wandered down the street where he took us aside at a plaza that had an interesting sculpture. There he spent 20 minutes talking about Ireland's housing bubble and bank bailout (similar to what happened in the US) while the eyes of everyone in the group glazed over. When he paused I asked about the significance of the sculpture. His response - "just somebody's idea of sidewalk art". I asked what his point was of stopping in this plaza. His response - "None". John has a very deep loud baritone voice and I think all he really wanted to do was listen to himself talk (perhaps pontificate is more appropriate). Wjen he got going on a topic, his voice would get louder and soon everyone within half a block was turning to see what was going on! It was a tortuous 2 hours! I left group near the end to explore on my own. Thankfully I taken the Hop On Hop Off bus tour earlier that morning where the guides outstanding!!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was super fun. We were looking for light humor and a scenic way to see the Temple Bar area without the craziness. The musicians were fun and had great attitudes to get the crowd involved,

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was super fun. We were looking for light humor and a scenic way to see the Temple Bar area without the craziness. The musicians were fun and had great attitudes to get the crowd involved,

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We enjoyed the evening although the first bar where we met was crowded and there was not enough time to eat. The 2 performers were talented and engaging.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message