Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was really knowledgeable, really fun and really knew what he was doing. When we met up, the main gates to Trinity College were closed, so we couldn't access the meeting point - no worries, the guide was actively asking people waiting around the gates if there were there for his tour! Great service!
He asked if there was anything in particular anyone wanted him to focus on, and he was really good about making sure that people were engaged. I'm Australian, and he was very funny about pointing out that a lot of Irish rebels were deported to Australia after various rebellions. My ancestors!
The walk around the city was amazing, and I think this tour is a great way to be introduced to the city - it's history, it's layout and to get ideas for other things to visit, both within Dublin and in the surrounding areas. I would definitely recommend it, and I actually plan to tell some relatives visiting Dublin to take this tour.

P.S. I wrote a big, detailed review of this tour and then had to log in and didn't have a password and had to set one up, and lost the review, dammit. So annoying! This is a shortened version.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour with lots of interesting information!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Gavin, our tour guide, was informative, friendly and engaging. He did a great job leading us through Trinity College, the Temple Bar neighborhood, Dublin Castle and other places of note in Dublin. It is a good way to see the city and learn some of its history.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Decent tour, nothing special though.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a really good walking tour which allowed you to get a better sense of Dublin. You get to see quite a few things, and the guide was very good and knowledgeable especially being a history graduate from Trinity College. If you don't have much time in Dublin, I would definitely recommend this walking tour!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very informative. A lot of history. I was expecting more of an overview of things to see in Dublin; this was more history. Places were closed because it was Good Friday.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was very informative but i recommend it only if one has spare time..it doesnt includes any visits in the most important buildings..

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended. Our guide, Tommy, displayed energy and passion that warmed my group on a particularly chilly day. If you are a lover of history, this tour is a must.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Easy, informational walking tour of the City. It was nice to do this to get introduced to the city. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I found this tour very informative we also did a lot of walking which was great way to see Ireland as well

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour to get to know historical Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Was a solid overview of the area but you can't Check Off that you've really seen Trinity/Dublin Castle/Christ Church without doing separate tours and fees.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

was supposed to be 2 hours and our tour guide decided to make it 2.5-3 hours and after about an hour we stopped for a break for a half hour in a coffee shop. was a waste of time and did not go inside many places.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

given the weather VERY COLD - too much talk without enough walk !

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was tremendous. Very knowledgeable and intellectual and also entertaining without being silly. Our tour took place on a very cold and blustery day over Christmas break but nonetheless it was fascinating and informative and covered a lot of territory. A great introduction to old Dublin to get you oriented and help you know what you'd like to go back to tour in more detail. You don't go inside any of the building stops so then I went back on my own and toured St Patricks and Christchurch and a few other of the stops.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Even though it was pouring down rain, this was an amazing tour. The young PhD student was extremely knowledgeable, and actually quite funny. Our group was small and for me, I had been to many of the sights the previous day, and this tour tided all the information I had known and learned together. It really is a must for all individuals visiting Ireland and especially Dublin for the first time.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was fab! The guide was extremely knowledgable and managed to capture our attention rather well.
Thank you!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour! Our guide had a doctorate in history from Queen's Colliege and was extremely knowledgeable about the history and culture of Dublin. He was able to answer any and all questions- we learned quite a lot about the area and people. Would highly recommend this to others.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

2 hours is not a long time to cover Dublin/Ireland's long and colourful history but this tour does a grand job of it. Centred on a few of Dublin's famous heritage buildings the narrative b the tour guide brings the past to life. Well worth it.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very informative, The guide was very interesting and knowledgeable, renewed our interest in our own history and capital city,

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Donal was fantastic - so knowledgeable and friendly, even in the pouring rain. The route was easily walkable, even for those of us who have difficulty getting around. One cannot appreciate Ireland unless you have an understanding of her history, and this young man was wonderful. Absolutely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

really enjoyed this.....the guide was very informative and funny....always had a story to go with the history...great guy

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message