Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour and extremely knowledgeable guide. This is a great way to start a visit in Dublin. I really appreciate that the guide we had is a professor at Trinity College and had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Donal was excellent, interesting and very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to connect Irish history to the histories of the countries that the people in the group hailed from.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very detailed information, captivating and funny in the same time

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Donall, was great! I thought it was a treat to have a Ph.D student as our guide. I would recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Elizabeth S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to explore the city and to learn about it's history. Our guide, Daniel, was very knowledgeable and did a great job mixing humor and facts while explaining the history of the various places and famous people of Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great introduction of Dublin. It was very informative and also learned of a few spots that I didn't know about and I read quite a few tour books. Definitely worth the money and time.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of our best Dublin experiences! Our guide was prompt, friendly and knowledgable. This was a great value and an A experience! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good and very informative! Highly recommend. The tour guide was a former student of Trinity College and was happy to answer really in-depth questions about Irish history. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Completely met our expectations. Guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Tour was heavy on the history, but that was as advertised. Recommend this tour for adults - kids might be a little bored by the historical/political explanations.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fun and quick introduction to the city. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a two hour walking tour of Dublin, with Connor as our guide. What a splendid way to be introduced to Dublin and Ireland! Connor walked us at a comfortable pace through the city streets, and gave us a delightful look into Dublin and the friendliest people on the Earth. It is the very Best way to get the Most from your Visit to Dublin and Ireland! Do not miss the Opportunity, a Real Value for the cost.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Tour guide, Galen was outstanding and full of local knowledge. Just the right amount of time too.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Took a bus to the city center and had an enjoyable 2.5- hour walking tour with a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Now here is a man who knows his stuff! Tommy Dowson is a very knowledgeable man and quite humorous and entertaining. For me the history side of things was a little heavier than I had anticipated but enjoyed it nevertheless.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful opportunity to tour Dublin from the pedestrian perspective. Our guide was a Trinity College graduate and very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the history. Well Done!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting and informative. Would like to have seen more of the actual buildings, but the guide was great. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and showed great passion for what he did. I would recommend it for those wanting a history lesson without expecting too much architecture study.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Terrible very disappointing! No early access as promised! Waited on same line for over 30 minutes with those who paid 12 and we paid 43! Felt cheated

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour was very concentrated on a few sites, I thought we would get to see more of Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was really knowledgeable, really fun and really knew what he was doing. When we met up, the main gates to Trinity College were closed, so we couldn't access the meeting point - no worries, the guide was actively asking people waiting around the gates if there were there for his tour! Great service!
He asked if there was anything in particular anyone wanted him to focus on, and he was really good about making sure that people were engaged. I'm Australian, and he was very funny about pointing out that a lot of Irish rebels were deported to Australia after various rebellions. My ancestors!
The walk around the city was amazing, and I think this tour is a great way to be introduced to the city - it's history, it's layout and to get ideas for other things to visit, both within Dublin and in the surrounding areas. I would definitely recommend it, and I actually plan to tell some relatives visiting Dublin to take this tour.

P.S. I wrote a big, detailed review of this tour and then had to log in and didn't have a password and had to set one up, and lost the review, dammit. So annoying! This is a shortened version.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tommy Graham, our tour guide, presented a great potted history of Ireland and had good suggestions for the best of Dublin nightlife as well. This is the second time I've done the tour and it still came across as a fresh experience.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message