Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An excellent way to see the city and then to be able to go back and see the sights you want to see more of later. We like doing the hop on- hop off trips as an overview.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the best way to explore Dublin. We covered almost all stops on the both Pink and Purple routes in 2 days. Worth the money and extremely informative due the live commentary by the driver.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

When I got into the red bus at Dublin and showed my voucher and the driver said It does not state if the voucher is for red bus or green bus He was right the voucher only had viator written on it but dd not mention which bus. My money was wasted. I booked all my trips with Viator for other family members who went to Paris. But now I think I should have chosen some other company.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour of Dublin sites. Great drivers with Irish history to share.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great way to see Dublin and good to be able to use the voucher over 2 days. We used it on the second day to get to places on the route where we wanted to get off bus and walk around.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good way to get acclimated to the city.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good way to get around the sites of the city. Only note was that some of the stops were hard to find and not marked well or at all.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Drivers on all the buses we travelled on were very entertaining as well as the knowledge they had about Dublin all was very interesting. The bus stops are easy to find and are regular the hop-on-hop-off is a very good idea and you get to see lots of attractions.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of our best Dublin experiences! Our guide was prompt, friendly and knowledgable. This was a great value and an A experience! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus drivers really bring the city to life with their commentary and funny stories with even the occasional song along the way. A very pleasant way to get around Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Terrible very disappointing! No early access as promised! Waited on same line for over 30 minutes with those who paid 12 and we paid 43! Felt cheated

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Note from Viator: Thank you for your message! We received a reply to this review, we are posting some of the response below (edited for length):

The morning of their tour the original time was 8:30 am however we notified the guests through VIATOR that the tour would start at 9:00 a.m. However the guests turned up at 8:30 am which was fine as out Guide was already there and offered the guests a pre tour of Temple Bar and the Ha’Penney Bridge which they accepted. The guide then returned back to Book of Kells entrance whereupon a very large cruise ship group arrived causing the entrance staff to put our group in the line. Our guide went in to resolve the situations which he did and our 4 person group was brought to the front of the line. Apologies were made to the group from the staff and the manager at the Book of Kells who personally spoke to the guests to further apologize. The guests received the full tour of the Book of Kells including the Treasury and the Old Library.

Finally the guest were offered a complementary lunch at The Dublin Castle Bistro as a goodwill gesture for the inconvenience they experienced at the Book of Kells, these customers refused the lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a good way to get around Dublin center and see the sights. We did however encounter on not so nice driveLiam who skipped 3 stops one of which was the one we wanted to get off at. When we asked him why he skipped them he insisted he did not and basically said the 3 of us that wanted to get off at 1 of the stops he skipped were wrong.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good experience ...lots to see and great way to check out what you want to go back and see another day. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

ABSOLUT EMPFEHLENSWERT

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ms. Dana
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour and I would definitely recommend getting the 3 day Freedom Pass offered here on Viator, if you are spending more than 3 days in Dublin, it gives greater access to their easy to use transportation system. It's slightly higher but you will save in the long run. The drivers were friendly and a few drivers gave the tour LIVE and did not use the pre-recorded version. I loved Dublin!!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good tour, very convenient but expected more live description and commentary by the driver/guide. Tour descriptions were mostly prerecorded.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour, excellent drivers and buses are on time.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Trip was really informative Handsome Harry was amazing. Xx

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We spent the first day doing both tours fully, and then going back to the castle. The second day after reviewing what we wanted to see we did the hop on hop of thing. It was brilliant, I have walking difficulties so the tour were perfect for me, . All the driver we had were brilliant, well done highly recommended.M.D.L. March 24/25th 2015

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great taxi! Easy to find bus stations.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

very handy to see some sites

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this your. Great way to see Dublin. The tour guides really informative as well

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message